Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 15 Oct 2019, 02:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS Pyro 1.2.5 October 8, Buster 2.1.6 October 9, 2019
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 122 of 127 [1892 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127 Next
Author Message
eowens2

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Mon 16 Sep 2019, 19:09    Post subject:  

I am having difficulty booting (from USB stick) Buster 2.1.3 (had the same problem with 2.1.1). The boot-up messages and Easy icon are present, but give way to a black screen with a cursor that is movable with the mouse for about 20-30 seconds, but after that time the cursor is frozen in place.

None of the keys on the keyboard seem active, and a power-off is required to get control of the computer.

I am using an Asus UX305F laptop, with a Core M-5Y10c processor, Intel 5300 HD graphics (Broadwell GT2) and 8 GB ram.

I had screwy graphics and mouse-cursor activity on Easy version 0.6.8, but this was pretty much corrected by using the boot parameter 'i915.modeset=1'.

But the above problems occur with and without this boot parameter, and also if I use 'nomodeset'.

If I boot with 'i915.modeset=0', the process tries to start X but drops to a command prompt. It offers to let you 'choose a driver' but then tells you it has 'fully automatic detection'. Typing 'xwin' at the prompt leads to the black screen as described above.

I can boot to a command prompt, and the system seems to be working OK, but typing 'xwin' leads to the black screen.

Any help would be appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9041
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 16 Sep 2019, 20:08    Post subject:  

eowens2 wrote:
I am having difficulty booting (from USB stick) Buster 2.1.3 (had the same problem with 2.1.1). The boot-up messages and Easy icon are present, but give way to a black screen with a cursor that is movable with the mouse for about 20-30 seconds, but after that time the cursor is frozen in place.

None of the keys on the keyboard seem active, and a power-off is required to get control of the computer.

I am using an Asus UX305F laptop, with a Core M-5Y10c processor, Intel 5300 HD graphics (Broadwell GT2) and 8 GB ram.

I had screwy graphics and mouse-cursor activity on Easy version 0.6.8, but this was pretty much corrected by using the boot parameter 'i915.modeset=1'.

But the above problems occur with and without this boot parameter, and also if I use 'nomodeset'.

If I boot with 'i915.modeset=0', the process tries to start X but drops to a command prompt. It offers to let you 'choose a driver' but then tells you it has 'fully automatic detection'. Typing 'xwin' at the prompt leads to the black screen as described above.

I can boot to a command prompt, and the system seems to be working OK, but typing 'xwin' leads to the black screen.

Any help would be appreciated.


Don't use that boot parameter.

Choose the boot option to bootup to commandline only, no X, then run "xorgwizard".

You should get various choices. You should be able to try 'intel' and 'modesetting', worst case, 'vesa'. Hopefully one of those will work.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
eowens2

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Tue 17 Sep 2019, 17:32    Post subject:  

Barry K wrote
Quote:
Choose the boot option to bootup to commandline only, no X, then run "xorgwizard".

You should get various choices. You should be able to try 'intel' and 'modesetting', worst case, 'vesa'. Hopefully one of those will work.


Booting to the CLI as you suggested, I entered 'xorgwizard' which took me to the Xorg Video Wizard. The instructions were to use the up-arrow and down-arrow keys to select a video driver, the default values being 'None' and 'Fully Automatic Detection'.

Unfortunately the up-arrow and down-arrow keys did not seem to be functional, so that the only possible choice for drivers was the default values.

The tab key is functional, so using it to select 'OK' takes me to some notes suggesting entering 'xwin' at the command prompt.

Xwin in the command prompt then takes me to the previously described black screen.

Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Equatorial Denizen

Joined: 02 Sep 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 17 Sep 2019, 18:37    Post subject: Easy 2.1.3
Subject description: ASTRILL VPN
 

My Innostor 32 GB USB Key is rated "83" by EasyDD.

So each boot up is a bit slow but fine, on my old INSPIRON

Previously, ASTRILL (DEB 64 bit) would load, but would not or could not channel any internet traffic

I read something about DEB packages not being totally comfortable with Easy or vice-versa.

So I used the RPM 64 bit package. This time, ASTRILL does channel internet traffic generated by Firefox browser.

However, my Newshosting traffic bypasses completely ASTRILL, in Easy (all versions tested). This does not happen with SCPUP64.

By the way, Deadbeef 1.8.1 from the repository works fine and produces punchy bass notes. Very nice.

As a final note, I would like to report that my LaCIE USB-C external disk works fine with the current Easy, and that it cannot be mounted by SCPUP19.06+5, though it worked with earlier versions.

Thank you for a job well done !

Greetings from the Equator ... :
;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eowens2

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Wed 18 Sep 2019, 12:25    Post subject:  

Here is a little more info regarding the Easy Buster 2.1.3 'Boot to Black Screen' problem described above.

On initial attempts, in the boot process, I pressed 'Enter' to select a US keyboard.

I then re-installed Easy 2.1.3 to the USB stick, and during boot entered '44' to select a US keyboard.

In both instances, in the Xorg Video Wizard dialogue, the Tab key works, but the up-arrow and down-arrow keys fail to change the option in the driver field, making he default value 'NONE - Fully Automatic Detection' the only choice, which, as described, leads to the black screen.

I should add that on this computer the up-arrow and down-arrow keys work as intended on several other Linux distros.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1496
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Thu 19 Sep 2019, 12:32    Post subject: scanning  

I might have a problem.

Connected an new HP printer/scanner. HP Officejet Pro 7740. Had too, the old HP 3310 finally died after 15 years of service.
Installed the matching ppd file in /usr/share/ppd/cupsfilters.
Setup the cups printing 'bits', removing the 3310, adding the 7740, and all that is printing all works beautifully.

However, as far as scanning is concerned.
The scanner parts show up in the Pupscan Interface Information, so that seems ok.
But neither pscan or xsane can pickup the scanner, both give a "no scanner detected" message window.

Any sugestions where to start from?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Rodney Byne

Joined: 31 Jan 2014
Posts: 226

PostPosted: Thu 19 Sep 2019, 14:25    Post subject: Scanning  

To scsijon,

Hi, I just installed simple-scan downloaded from Buster-main
and with my flatbed already usb plugged in, it identified
it correctly as a Canon scanner known as Canoscan.
Then scanned a document on command and located
the image where I asked it successfully.

Hope this helps, Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1496
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Thu 19 Sep 2019, 19:46    Post subject: Re: Scanning  

Rodney Byne wrote:
To scsijon,

Hi, I just installed simple-scan downloaded from Buster-main
and with my flatbed already usb plugged in, it identified
it correctly as a Canon scanner known as Canoscan.
Then scanned a document on command and located
the image where I asked it successfully.

Hope this helps, Regards.


thanks rodney, i'll give it a go. I had thought though scanning should have worked out-of-the-box though, maybe their's a file missing or in the wrong spot in buster somewhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rameshiyer

Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 279
Location: Calicut, Kerala, India

PostPosted: Fri 20 Sep 2019, 00:26    Post subject: Easy Buster 2.1.3
Subject description: Canon Network Printer - Institutional Setup
 

Why my Canon IR ADV 4225 is not printing once Job accounting feature of printer is enabled. The Printer is directed connected to IP address socket//192.168.1.28:9100. No Pop Up window coming up for providing Departmental ID and password. After so much trail and error, now I am able to take printout while job accounting feature is disable in our Printer. It is not possible to keep job accounting feature in a disable condition due to Institutional printing. So I need a permanent solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
lp-dolittle

Joined: 25 Apr 2016
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Fri 20 Sep 2019, 03:11    Post subject: scanner issue  

@scsijon

quite a long time ago, experimenting with PeasyScan and xsane, in Puppy Precise 5.7.1, I realised that the settings of the two tools may interfere if they are used alternately or simultaneously.

The problem disappeared when the configuration of either PeasyScan or Xsane was totally reset to the pristine default values and only one of the tools was used.

Maybe, this method might contribute to the elimination of your problem

kind regards

lp-dolittle

Last edited by lp-dolittle on Fri 20 Sep 2019, 14:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Argolance


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3674
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)

PostPosted: Fri 20 Sep 2019, 09:39    Post subject:  

Bonjour,
BarryK wrote:
Ha ha, I didn't even know there is an ebook reader! Where is that in the menu?

apps desktop button, second tab, first entry...
Quote:
Multi-screen, with two monitors. I have never tried it. Anyone else got that hardware setup? Are both screens the same resolution?

This cans easily be solved by editing the /etc/eventmanager file and changing the ICON_PLACE_EDGE_GAP value to 160 (for me) and I now have desktop drive icons just above the taskbar. May be this should be settable from the eventmanager interface?
Quote:
OK, I will post to the French thread about latest EasyOS.

Done! Thanks.

Note: The desktop Xlock icon doesn't seem to work. Running /usr/local/apps/Xlock/AppRun in the terminal does nothing.

Cordialement.

_________________

A second life for your PCs...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
wdt

Joined: 27 Dec 2011
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Fri 20 Sep 2019, 11:32    Post subject:  

213 iso
Still will not reboot or shutdown via gui (start, right click Desktop, setup icon Desktop,,this says it is doing, but nothing happens)
So... terminal, sync 3x, reboot,, have not tried shutdown -h now yet
after 'service zz-x11vnc stop', service zz-x11vnc start ,, & vncviewer gives connection refused
is the firewall seizing 5900?
How to tell with pupget which files and where?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9041
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Sep 2019, 05:32    Post subject:  

Argolance wrote:
Bonjour,
BarryK wrote:
Ha ha, I didn't even know there is an ebook reader! Where is that in the menu?

apps desktop button, second tab, first entry...


That's the Evince PDF reader. I ran in a terminal:

Code:
# pupapps
# EXIT="Ready"
/usr/local/PupApps/defaultapps/bookreader: line 2: Evince: command not found


...it is trying to run "Evince", but the executable is "evince". Looks like a bug in EasyApps (PupApps).

I will need to fix the EasyApps PET, but just trying a little experiment:

Code:
# ln -s evince /usr/bin/Evince


...yep, Evince now launches.

Probably should have a proper ebook reader in EasyOS.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9041
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Sep 2019, 05:36    Post subject:  

wdt wrote:
213 iso
Still will not reboot or shutdown via gui (start, right click Desktop, setup icon Desktop,,this says it is doing, but nothing happens)
So... terminal, sync 3x, reboot,, have not tried shutdown -h now yet
after 'service zz-x11vnc stop', service zz-x11vnc start ,, & vncviewer gives connection refused
is the firewall seizing 5900?
How to tell with pupget which files and where?


You can turn off the firewall, to eliminate chances that it is interfering.
Menu Setup -> QuickSetup, and untick the firewall checkbox.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
blgs

Joined: 07 Dec 2018
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sun 22 Sep 2019, 05:20    Post subject: "copy into ram" BIOS mode  

No "copy into ram" for BIOS computers?
Only available for uefi computers?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 122 of 127 [1892 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2283s ][ Queries: 12 (0.1316s) ][ GZIP on ]