Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Oct 2019, 20:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS Pyro 1.2.5 October 8, Buster 2.1.6 October 9, 2019
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 101 of 127 [1899 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, ..., 125, 126, 127 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9042
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2019, 06:47    Post subject:
Subject description: EasyOS 1.013 and 1.0.14
 

blgs wrote:
Frugal Installation of EasyOS 1.0.13 and EasyOS 1.0.14 on my netbook and usb is solved now. Also an upgrade from previous version (excl. 1.0.11) to 1.0.13 and 1.0.14 is solved now.

Quote
The Xorg GUIs are still there though, and can be turned on. They will be enabled by default for the non-English builds.
Unquote

How to enable it (XORG GUI's) for the English builds?


Go to /mnt/wkg/sfs/settings/initrd/ and you will see a file there that you can edit, change content from "no" to "yes".

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9042
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2019, 07:15    Post subject:  

cthisbear wrote:
I posted here on Whirlpool.

https://whirlpool.net.au/

833,928 registered members

EasyOS 1.0 Distrowatch review

https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/thread/2788863

Had to shoot down one of the only smarties.

But you know what I'm like....
never been nice...never been kissed...Not even twice.

As it is an Aussie forum it would be great if Barry
just introduced himself.
Probably a first that a dev says hello on that forum.

Think about it BK, although I know you are Mr modest by nature.
Probably why you are so respected here.

Cheers...Chris.


I posted there!

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5355
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2019, 13:43    Post subject:  

Quote:


don570 wrote:
It didn't recognize my ethernet initially so it had to be set up with Simple Network Setup.
Code:
Ethernet controller : Intel Corporation 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 04)


I am surprised that your ethernet didn't work with UltraSNS.

Next time that you test, after bootup, wait a couple of minutes to be sure that it hasn't connected (watch the network icon in the tray).

If not, unplug the ethernet cable, wait several seconds, then replug it, see if that kicks usns into recognising it



I've been testing my easy 1.0.11 setup and found that I must include

/oe/pyro folder from a previous easy 1.0 install. Otherwise I get a kernel panic
on bootup. I wonder if I didn't drag in proper files when I made my
frugal setup.

By the way I bought a used computer recently (dell optiplex)
and maybe the kernel recognized a different chip set for ethernet and audio, because I
am not booting a totally new install i.e. there are old folders inside
easy/1.0 folder from previous easy 1.0 install when I was using an older computer?????

Ethernet and audio is now recognized at bootup but I am including /oe/pyro folder.
______________________________________

I will test easy 1.0.14 more carefully and not mix up installs.
__________________________________
________________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rodney Byne

Joined: 31 Jan 2014
Posts: 226

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2019, 16:45    Post subject: Network 1.0.14  

To Barry Kauler,

I tested 1.0.14 Network Wireless connection and it works flawlessly on my laptop,
moved to another room further away from the broadband router.

First, for me keys fn f4 to enable the laptop wifi receiver.
Then, a right click on the task tray network icon to Setup networking,
seems to be a straightforward approach to the helpful new gui NMTUI

Thanks, regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9042
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2019, 07:42    Post subject: Re: Network 1.0.14  

Rodney Byne wrote:
To Barry Kauler,

I tested 1.0.14 Network Wireless connection and it works flawlessly on my laptop,
moved to another room further away from the broadband router.

First, for me keys fn f4 to enable the laptop wifi receiver.
Then, a right click on the task tray network icon to Setup networking,
seems to be a straightforward approach to the helpful new gui NMTUI

Thanks, regards.


Good. ramchandran also reported success with NetworkManager for a static-ip lan -- he couldn't figure it out with usns.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5355
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2019, 16:21    Post subject:  

Review
EasyOS 1.0.14 frugal install on Dell Optiplex 990 desktop

Easy to install using instuctions for frugal install using a previous Easy install.
https://easyos.org/install/easy-frugal-installation.html

Audio and ethernet was connected automatically.
Krita paint program continues to be unstable.
__________________________________________________

Operating system noted that I had wlan0

Code:
# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 18:03:73:C4:67:18 
          inet addr:192.168.1.107  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::ea5e:6d8a:3c77:a46f/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:400 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1242 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:30054 (29.3 KiB)  TX bytes:86232 (84.2 KiB)
          Interrupt:20 Memory:e4b00000-e4b20000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:480 (480.0 B)  TX bytes:480 (480.0 B)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 1A:AC:F4:82:C8:75 
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)



USB network adaptor was easy to setup with SNS,
however when I rebooted the USB network adaptor didn't connect automatically,
Whereas the ethernet did connect automatically.

Are there any instructions to do this??

____________________________________________

Suggestion:
In the Start menu there should be

Start > Network > Network wizard

or

Start > Network > SNS


...because I had to use Radky's menu program instead.
I don't believe clicking on the tray icon launched SNS if I remember correctly.
__________________________________________________
screenshot899.png
 Description   
 Filesize   64.95 KB
 Viewed   938 Time(s)

screenshot899.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9042
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 17 Mar 2019, 21:30    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
Review
EasyOS 1.0.14 frugal install on Dell Optiplex 990 desktop

Easy to install using instuctions for frugal install using a previous Easy install.
https://easyos.org/install/easy-frugal-installation.html

Audio and ethernet was connected automatically.
Krita paint program continues to be unstable.
__________________________________________________

Operating system noted that I had wlan0

Code:
# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 18:03:73:C4:67:18 
          inet addr:192.168.1.107  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::ea5e:6d8a:3c77:a46f/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:400 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1242 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:30054 (29.3 KiB)  TX bytes:86232 (84.2 KiB)
          Interrupt:20 Memory:e4b00000-e4b20000

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:480 (480.0 B)  TX bytes:480 (480.0 B)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 1A:AC:F4:82:C8:75 
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)



USB network adaptor was easy to setup with SNS,
however when I rebooted the USB network adaptor didn't connect automatically,
Whereas the ethernet did connect automatically.

Are there any instructions to do this??


With 1.0.14, the default is NetworkManager, not SNS. When you click on the "connect" icon, it will start the NetworkManager GUI.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3562

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2019, 09:29    Post subject:  

Quite like this layout. Main desktop's jwm tray reduced down ... and add in a short form of the easy containers jwm tray in that space.

In the attached image, everything after the xload tray icon is the easy containers jwm tray. I've reversed that to have the menu button at the far right. For the main desktop I've set the clock as the 'menu button', left mouse shows the menu, right mouse performs a show/hide desktop toggle.

The containers Xephyr is sized to leave the jwm tray showing. The image is showing the easy containers desktop.
s.png
 Description   
 Filesize   44.85 KB
 Viewed   807 Time(s)

s.png


_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 1265
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2019, 10:49    Post subject:  

I would like to experiment with EasyOS and running a LHMP ( Linux,Hiawatha,mariaDB, PHP7 ) supporting ZoneMInder, zmeventserver, and python and the modules needed for object,face,number recognition,and PERL..

I would like to start with Hiawatha 10.9 and PHP7.2.3 and mysql or better yet, mariaDB.......how can I best install PHP on EasyOS?

The potential of EasyOS to be a excellent platform for this is huge.

I need a bit of guidance to begin the installation of the PHP libs and components.

I am experimenting with the differences in using devx in containers which is so easily done with this OS.

I am using EasyOS on a 32 gig usb flash drive booting a Dell Optiplex 990, 4 core, cpu 8 gigs of RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9042
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2019, 20:29    Post subject:  

rockedge wrote:
I would like to experiment with EasyOS and running a LHMP ( Linux,Hiawatha,mariaDB, PHP7 ) supporting ZoneMInder, zmeventserver, and python and the modules needed for object,face,number recognition,and PERL..

I would like to start with Hiawatha 10.9 and PHP7.2.3 and mysql or better yet, mariaDB.......how can I best install PHP on EasyOS?

The potential of EasyOS to be a excellent platform for this is huge.

I need a bit of guidance to begin the installation of the PHP libs and components.

I am experimenting with the differences in using devx in containers which is so easily done with this OS.

I am using EasyOS on a 32 gig usb flash drive booting a Dell Optiplex 990, 4 core, cpu 8 gigs of RAM


You would have to compile php from source.

I haven't done much testing of running devx in a container. For compiling, you would need to retain a lot of capabilities/rights. One thing to consider is to chroot into a container with /usr/local/easy_containers/ec-chroot-admin, which will allow you to do just about anything in the container.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4443
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2019, 22:01    Post subject:  

Please keep releasing Isos BK.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1022398#1022398

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3562

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2019, 04:14    Post subject:  

EasyOS easy container tip :

If you're using the easy container to browse a online page that contains text that you want to paste into a main system file, then you can open geany for instance in the main system using a DISPLAY=:1 geany prefix (i.e with the container already open, Alt-F6 to the main session and open a terminal and type DISPLAY=:1 geany ... and press Enter). That geany text editor will then be visible inside the container (so you can cut and paste from the web browser running inside the container into the geany text editor), whilst being able to open/edit/save any main system file (/etc/profile for instance) with that geany text editor.

Be mindful however that does weaken security (acceptable risk for a single user desktop setup) whilst the main session geany program is open within the container i.e. should only be open for as long as necessary.

Easier than copying text from the web browser running inside the container to a text editor also running inside the container and then moving that file across to the main system via the shared folder - to then cut and paste the text into a main session file.

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 1265
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2019, 11:26    Post subject:  

hello BarryK,

thank you for the info! I am attempting the first build of PHP7.2.3. And the tip to chroot into a container with /usr/local/easy_containers/ec-chroot-admin looks like the route I will experiment with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9042
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 19 Mar 2019, 20:12    Post subject:  

rockedge wrote:
hello BarryK,

thank you for the info! I am attempting the first build of PHP7.2.3. And the tip to chroot into a container with /usr/local/easy_containers/ec-chroot-admin looks like the route I will experiment with.


php can also be built in OpenEmbedded, including my fork, oe-qky-src, however, there is a huge learning curve to use OE.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3562

PostPosted: Wed 20 Mar 2019, 13:15    Post subject:  

I'm still running 1.0, moderately modified and its working great.

Set the clock in the tray to also be the menu button (or showdesktop if right mouse clicked, show the calendar is middle/scrollwheel pressed). Reduced size main tray, with the container tray that fills the free space when the container is active.

Fundamentally I'm just using the main easy container setup, and have it set so that each reboot uses the last 'clean' snapshot sfs for the main system, and each time the container is loaded it also uses the last 'clean' snapshot. So to save-changes a new snapshot has to be created. Mostly however, as I store all data outside of EasyOS space, I infrequently create new snapshots, only for instance like the other day when portable firefox updated to a later version.

First image is my main desktop (with modified version control shown), also note that in the main tray I have another geany launch button, that launches a real root geany editor within the container X session. Second image is my container desktop (note the far right lighter coloured tray for that). Again the menu button for that (far right) has left, middle, right mouse click options for the menu/calendar/showdesktop options).

That simplification works for me. I also like the more extensive busybox contained within that. I did remaster first, to add in vlc and audacity, so that they're also both available within the container.
s1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   103.14 KB
 Viewed   457 Time(s)

s1.png

s2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   169.09 KB
 Viewed   455 Time(s)

s2.png


_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 101 of 127 [1899 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, ..., 125, 126, 127 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1677s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0528s) ][ GZIP on ]