Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Jul 2019, 16:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS 1.0.29 (1.1RC) July 19, 2019
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 73 of 106 [1581 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, ..., 104, 105, 106 Next
Author Message
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1664

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2018, 07:04    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
I have just gone through the exercise of doing a frugal install on my "workhorse" laptop, and discovered a couple of bugs.




I got lucky, as I always thought we were supposed to edit the BOOT_SPECS file manually. Smile


What was the other "gotcha?" Easy has been running well for me in frugal on the days I use it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 258
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2018, 14:06    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
rufwoof wrote:
FeodorF wrote:
At very first boot you'll see the message *Easy $[DISTR_VERSION] instead of "0.9.9".

I had the same in a earlier version. Subsequent boots were fine.


I am not sure where this is. Do you mean the little popup message that appears briefly, just before the QuickSetup window?

.. that one disappears so fast, I never read it.


I was talking about the first boot up window while the system will create the second (ext) partition.

Ups problem!

After taking the photo I realized that the communication with the pop up window went dead. Had to hard boot the PC.
First-Bootup-Screen.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   8.55 KB
 Viewed   828 Time(s)

First-Bootup-Screen.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8924
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2018, 19:00    Post subject:  

FeodorF wrote:
BarryK wrote:
rufwoof wrote:
FeodorF wrote:
At very first boot you'll see the message *Easy $[DISTR_VERSION] instead of "0.9.9".

I had the same in a earlier version. Subsequent boots were fine.


I am not sure where this is. Do you mean the little popup message that appears briefly, just before the QuickSetup window?

.. that one disappears so fast, I never read it.


I was talking about the first boot up window while the system will create the second (ext) partition.


Ah, that's why I never knew what you guys were complaining about! Wink

I usually test on my UEFI-BIOS machines, which have a different boot menu (using refind).

When boot on a traditional BIOS machine, Syslinux handles the bootup and you get the Syslinux menu.

My circa-2011 Acer laptop, that I am using right now, running the frugal install, mostly sits neglected these days.

OK, will get onto it.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 258
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2018, 06:39    Post subject:  

FeodorF wrote:
Ups problem!

After taking the photo I realized that the communication with the pop up window went dead. Had to hard boot the PC.


Boy, I had some fun with this problem - but it is solved!

My Dell screen comes with a built-in USB hub. As soon as there is no more data running through the USB for over 30 minutes this thing goes dead. Dead as dead can be even with the 5 Volts still being present.

Greetings to all,
FeodorF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 258
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2018, 07:46    Post subject: AMI BIOS problem
Subject description: EasyOS will not boot [solved]
 

Murphy kept me busy today.

Problem - solution!

As soon as I have two USB sticks connected to my PC at the same time one with EasyOS the other with data I'll get a surprising black screen with a white cursor at top.

Looking at 'GParted' shows that both sticks have the same descriptor 'SanDiskCruzerBlade...'. AMI BIOS version 02.58 uses only 'SanDisk' as identifier in the boot menu therefor it'll crash the USB boot.
AMI-BIOS-v02.58.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   13.1 KB
 Viewed   690 Time(s)

AMI-BIOS-v02.58.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3252

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2018, 15:34    Post subject: ALT-F6 container message disappears after android scan  

(Duplicated here https://easyos.org/forum/index.php?topic=34.msg277#msg277)

Frugal boot 0.9.9
Start Easy Container ... as usual the ALT-F6 message appears in the centre of screen
Alt-F6 to main desktop
Connect Android phone via USB
Open Menu, Network, Easy Share network and printers
Check/tick the Android option and run Scan
Initially not found, but my phone prompts to activate Developer Mode (answer yes)
Rescan and finds the phone (I can then click the mount option and view the phones folders) ... but at that point, flipping back to the Easy Desktop container ... and the Alt-F6 message has disappeared. Would be nice if that persisted as it generally does as its a visual reminder you're running in a container.

Repeating ... and it looks like opening network shares restarts the firewall (ALT-F6 message still present), then it does a probe ... at which point the ALT-F6 message has gone.

Cursory glance through /usr/sbin/easyshare indicates some occurrences of killall popup ... one of which I suspect may also be killing the ALT-F6 message/popup ??? Perhaps the Alt-F6 message needs to be something other than a popup message ???

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 258
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2018, 19:23    Post subject: Re: ALT-F6 container message disappears after android scan  

rufwoof wrote:
Perhaps the Alt-F6 message needs to be something other than a popup message ???


How about a little ugly tray icon?
ALT-F6.png
 Description   
 Filesize   933 Bytes
 Viewed   591 Time(s)

ALT-F6.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3252

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2018, 20:25    Post subject:  

... Or putting the ALT-F6 popup into a backgrounded while loop so if it is killed it just loops back around again.

Or just using a distinctly different wallpaper

Or see http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1011536#1011536 (note that freemem tray applet when run in the easy container shows how much space is available but if clicked wont show further details (as access to that is restricted).
s.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   32.27 KB
 Viewed   439 Time(s)

s.jpg


_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh

Last edited by rufwoof on Wed 28 Nov 2018, 08:10; edited 11 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3252

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2018, 20:34    Post subject:  

The container manager, advanced, help text for Xephyr could do with being changed IMO. To something like ...
Quote:
Xephyr is a server that outputs to a window on a pre-existing host X display. Somewhat like Xnest but unlike Xnest which is a X proxy, i.e. limited to the capabilities of the host X server, Xephyr is a real X server which uses the host X server window as a "framebuffer".

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3252

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2018, 06:03    Post subject:  

-deleted ... see next post
_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh

Last edited by rufwoof on Wed 28 Nov 2018, 08:06; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3252

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2018, 08:05    Post subject:  

Having reverted back to the default rox pinboard, if I simply comment out /usr/local/easy-containers/start-container line 216
Code:
#rm -f ${DIRSESSION}/root/Choices/ROX-Filer/* 2>/dev/null

then for me the easy container works much better when I move icons, change background wallpaper/icon themes/jwm theme ...etc.

If additionally I change ..../containers/easy/.session/.control/easy (created by /usr/local/sfsget/dir2sfs) and comment out all of the code from "# start rox" comment onwards and replace that with just
Code:
rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin
jwm

and modify /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc to add in some StartupCommands so it looks something like ....
Code:
<JWM>

 <!-- IMPORTANT, ONLY EDIT /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc -->
 <!-- jwm menu for puppy Linux -->

 <StartupCommand>killall ROX-Filer</StartupCommand>  <!-- ensure rox is clean -->
 <StartupCommand>rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin</StartupCommand> <!-- show pinboard -->
 <StartupCommand>/root/Startup/pmcputemp_tray</StartupCommand>
 <StartupCommand>/root/Startup/freememapplet_tray</StartupCommand>
 
 <RootMenu label="Menu" labeled="false" height="24" onroot="3">

then as jwm isn't backgrounded as per current, then you can run jwm -exit and the container closes and drops you back to the main session. As-is if you run jwm -exit it leaves just rox running (no jwm panel).

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3252

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2018, 14:24    Post subject:  

For the easy container, rather than starting rox, starting jwm in the background, killing rox, restarting rox, I just ran jwm (without background), but in the .jwmrc had it starting rox using <StartupCommand>leafpad;rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin;killall leafpad</StartupCommand> and that seems to work (or running then killing galculator instead of leafpad).

Looks like when you just run jwm without rox and try and launch sakura or whatever from the jwm tray then the first one or two clicks just launches and immediately closes that program, only on the 2nd or 3rd try does it actually activate (stay open). So the issue seems to be with jwm with Xephyr rather than rox. I did try installing a different jwm version, but that encountered the same issue.

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8924
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2018, 19:32    Post subject:  

rufwoof wrote:
Having reverted back to the default rox pinboard, if I simply comment out /usr/local/easy-containers/start-container line 216
Code:
#rm -f ${DIRSESSION}/root/Choices/ROX-Filer/* 2>/dev/null

then for me the easy container works much better when I move icons, change background wallpaper/icon themes/jwm theme ...etc.

If additionally I change ..../containers/easy/.session/.control/easy (created by /usr/local/sfsget/dir2sfs) and comment out all of the code from "# start rox" comment onwards and replace that with just
Code:
rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin
jwm

and modify /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc to add in some StartupCommands so it looks something like ....
Code:
<JWM>

 <!-- IMPORTANT, ONLY EDIT /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc -->
 <!-- jwm menu for puppy Linux -->

 <StartupCommand>killall ROX-Filer</StartupCommand>  <!-- ensure rox is clean -->
 <StartupCommand>rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin</StartupCommand> <!-- show pinboard -->
 <StartupCommand>/root/Startup/pmcputemp_tray</StartupCommand>
 <StartupCommand>/root/Startup/freememapplet_tray</StartupCommand>
 
 <RootMenu label="Menu" labeled="false" height="24" onroot="3">

then as jwm isn't backgrounded as per current, then you can run jwm -exit and the container closes and drops you back to the main session. As-is if you run jwm -exit it leaves just rox running (no jwm panel).


Yes, that looks like a good way to do it. Will add that to the to-investigate list.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3252

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2018, 19:39    Post subject:  

Launching Xephyr :2 &
and then running
DISPLAY=:2 jwm
in normal mode has jwm start up cleanly (ready to go). So not a rox/xephyr nor a jwm/xephyr issue.

env at the point when starting something just flashes without locking open)
Code:
HOSTNAME=EASYPC10092
XDG_DATA_HOME=/root/.local/share
TERM=xterm
SHELL=/bin/bash
HISTSIZE=1000
QT_XFT=true
GTK2_RC_FILES=/root/.gtkrc-2.0
DEFAULTDRAW=inkscape
QT5DIR=/usr
MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME=/usr/lib/seamonkey
XLIB_SKIP_ARGB_VISUALS=1
USER=root
HISTFILESIZE=2000
LS_COLORS=bd=33:cd=33
GDK_USE_XFT=1
LANGORG=en_GB.UTF-8
RGBDEF=/usr/share/X11/rgb.txt
OOO_FORCE_DESKTOP=gnome
DEFAULTIMAGEVIEWER=gpicview
MOZ_DISABLE_PANGO=1
DEFAULTPAINT=mtpaint
MOZ_PLUGIN_PATH=/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins:/usr/lib/seamonkey/plugins
XDG_CONFIG_DIRS=/etc/xdg
PATH=/usr/local/bin:/.control:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin
DEFAULTBROWSER=mozstart
DEFAULTMEDIAPLAYER=xinewrapper
_=/usr/bin/env
QT_QPA_PLATFORMTHEME=gtk2
EC_CAP_DROP=
PWD=/
INPUTRC=/etc/inputrc
DEFAULTIMAGEEDITOR=mtpaint
EDITOR=mp
LANG=en_GB.UTF-8
XFINANSDIR=/root/.xfinans
DEFAULTHTMLEDITOR=mozedit
DEFAULTSPREADSHEET=exec
HISTCONTROL=ignoredups
HOME=/root
SHLVL=8
XDG_CONFIG_HOME=/root/.config
MAKE=make
XDG_CACHE_HOME=/root/.cache
LOGNAME=root
G_FILENAME_ENCODING=@locale
PREFIX=/usr
XDG_DATA_DIRS=/usr/share:/usr/local/share
PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/usr/share/pkgconfig:/usr/lib/pkgconfig
TEXTDOMAIN=xwin
WINDOWPATH=4
DISPLAY=:1
MM_RUNASROOT=1
container=pflask
DEFAULTTEXTEDITOR=geany
DEFAULTWORDPROCESSOR=swriter
NO_AT_BRIDGE=1
OUTPUT_CHARSET=UTF-8


and capsh --print (I've added some NL's so the text doesn't blow the forums screen width)
Code:
Current: = cap_fsetid,cap_setgid,cap_setuid,cap_linux_immutable,
cap_net_bind_service,cap_net_broadcast,cap_net_raw,cap_ipc_lock,
cap_ipc_owner,cap_sys_rawio,cap_sys_pacct,cap_lease,cap_audit_write,
cap_audit_control,cap_mac_override,cap_mac_admin,cap_syslog,
cap_wake_alarm,cap_block_suspend,cap_audit_read+ep
Bounding set =cap_fsetid,cap_setgid,cap_setuid,cap_linux_immutable,
cap_net_bind_service,cap_net_broadcast,cap_net_raw,cap_ipc_lock,
cap_ipc_owner,cap_sys_rawio,cap_sys_pacct,cap_lease,cap_audit_write,
cap_audit_control,cap_mac_override,cap_mac_admin,
cap_syslog,cap_wake_alarm,cap_block_suspend,cap_audit_read
Ambient set =
Securebits: 00/0x0/1'b0
 secure-noroot: no (unlocked)
 secure-no-suid-fixup: no (unlocked)
 secure-keep-caps: no (unlocked)
 secure-no-ambient-raise: no (unlocked)
uid=0(root)
gid=0(root)
groups=


I can't see anything obviously wrong/different there to what env shows when it is working.

Inclined towards it being something to do with gtk needing 'knocking'. For instance with jwmrc launching rox using a command of
<StartupCommand>yad;killall yad;rox -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin</StartupCommand> it runs OK. Knock just X i.e. replacing yad with xcalc ... and it doesn't work (similarly does work for leafpad or galculator).

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 258
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2018, 20:36    Post subject:  

FeodorF wrote:
My Dell screen comes with a built-in USB hub. As soon as there is no more data running through the USB for over 30 minutes this thing goes dead. Dead as dead can be even with the 5 Volts still being present.


Problem returned - it wasn't the Dell screen!

The BIOS setup needed a check mark at: 'PS/2 Mouse' to make the USB mouse work properly in the 'Legacy USB Mode'.

Yes, I have changed the CMOS Battery not to long ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 73 of 106 [1581 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, ..., 104, 105, 106 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0777s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0164s) ][ GZIP on ]