Big opportunity to promote puppy! Need advice.

Promote Puppy !
xalixo

Big opportunity to promote puppy! Need advice.

#1 Post by xalixo »

Hi everyone.

I currently find myself in the position of being able to promote puppy linux to possibly hundreds of people and am in need of the community's opinions.

Here's the situation. I am a technical consultant for a charity that sends refurbished PCs and laptops to developing countries, mainly in Africa. For years I volunteered with them as a technician. When I started I used to recommend we send puppy on USB drives with the PCs as none of the computers really end up being for personal use, instead they go to schools or other environments where they have to be shared. Back then I was seen as just a volunteer and nobody really took much notice of my suggestions, so I didn't bother suggesting it anymore.

Then a year or so later the charity was being contacted by the makers of keepod who wanted to sell their USB drives that live booted an x86 version of android. I wouldn't have been involved if it wasn't for the fact that the managers at the charity couldn't get it to work. They needed to edit and run a script, but didn't know how to use the command line in linux. I got it working, made my suggestions of using puppy which is "free and better than android!", but again they didn't take much notice. I don't think they were that impressed with the keepods either. The charity wasn't very forward thinking at that time, but that has all changed recently.