Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 19 Nov 2017, 20:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-710 Final [4 Dec 2016]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 38 of 42 [623 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42 Next
Author Message
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Tue 29 Aug 2017, 23:27    Post subject: Fatdog 64 kernel 3,18,7 (Gnumeric Abiword) working to day.  

Fatdog 64 kernel 3,18,7 (Gnumeric Abiword) working to day. Really pleased, Xvidcap installed for test. Nothing bad. Everything working (audio recording too)
Seamonkey is enough for me.
VLC 2,1,5
Gnumeric and Abiword for homework, they are more HQ personal tools for remember, not for doing my accounting. The right size and service.
Fotoxx is really a very efficient tool photo editing.
Just some doubt about saving session.. To be verified (only a gnumeric file or test is still here at reboot).

_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Tue 29 Aug 2017, 23:40    Post subject: That is not bad, really.  

Session saved , my setting and files available at reboot.. I will test wireless to-morrow (very important, i just bought a battery to keep mobility, outdoor computing with my laptop in my car, with a dongle)
Of course i have enough Puppies available to get happy, it's being curious i try Fatdog, with a negative souvenir in the past. I was wrong. FatDog is Really easy to use.

I am still to be convinced about 64 bits necessity, because my Medion Akoya 64 bits never had the smallest trouble in running 32 bits apps with our tiny Puppy..

# Frugal installed Puppy

title Puppy tahr 6.0.2 (sdb1/puppybang)
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /puppybang/initrd.gz
kernel /puppybang/vmlinuz psubdir=puppybang pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck
initrd /puppybang/initrd.gz

title Puppy precise 5.7.3 (sdb1/MATE573)
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /MATE573/initrd.gz
kernel /MATE573/vmlinuz psubdir=MATE573 pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck
initrd /MATE573/initrd.gz

title Fatdog64 (sdb1/FATDOG)
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /FATDOG/initrd
kernel /FATDOG/vmlinuz psubdir=FATDOG pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck savefile=direct:device:sda3:/FATDOG/fd64save
initrd /FATDOG/initrd

# Windows

_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4755
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 07 Sep 2017, 15:14    Post subject:  

I found a partial solution to the icons not showing in mypaint appimage.

I noticed that the perspective icon in newest version will show so I
investigated where the perspective icon is located...
/tmp/.mount_MyPainYJvjkc/usr/share/icons/hicolor/scalable/actions

Most icons in this folder are colored grey ---> However perspective is black.

This is path to the perspective icon...
/tmp/.mount_MyPainYJvjkc/usr/share/icons/hicolor/scalable/actions/mypaint-tool-perspective-symbolic.svg

Here is my method.....
- I ran the mypaint image app
Code:
./MyPaint-1.3.0-git.78e083f.glibc2.15-x86_64.AppImage

It mounts (hidden) in /mnt
and made copy of /tmp/. mount files
to /opt/mypaint-1.3/

- then ran in terminal (or just double click)

Code:
/opt/mypaint-1.3/AppRun


Now I rename the svg files that are causing the trouble
ie I put the .bak extension on the end so the file won't be read.

Result ---> The file not found icon being used (see image)

This works nicely in layer visibility panel.
screenshot-renamed.png
 Description   svg file renamed with new extension
 Filesize   8.52 KB
 Viewed   808 Time(s)

screenshot-renamed.png

screenshot-icon.png
 Description   perspective icon can be seen
 Filesize   9.81 KB
 Viewed   800 Time(s)

screenshot-icon.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
art_

Joined: 10 Sep 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 10 Sep 2017, 21:11    Post subject: NFS shares  

Hi,
I'm very new to fatdog or puppy. I can't seems to mount nfs shares on my network. There is no mount.nfs in the sbin folder and my search of this topic or google didn't produce anything.

Could somebody let me know if mounting nfs shares is possible, if so how?

I just installed 710 version on my laptop's hdd.


Thanks,
art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chiron²

Joined: 21 Jan 2014
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 00:50    Post subject:  

NFS is an issue in all puppies so far. You need the nfs-utils that I attached to this post. After converting it to FD710 txz package format and installing this, it usually works, maybe have to tweak some options.

Converting to txz format works straightforward by clicking on it, then FD recognizes old pet format and offers to convert. Then right click on the package and select 'install'. Sorry, got that wrong. Right click on the pet, in the context menu select convert. Left clicking on the pet does nothing.
nfs-utils-1.2.5.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  nfs-utils-1.2.5.pet 
Filesize  151.86 KB 
Downloaded  27 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
art_

Joined: 10 Sep 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 18:45    Post subject:  

chiron² wrote:
NFS is an issue in all puppies so far. You need the nfs-utils that I attached to this post. After converting it to FD710 txz package format and installing this, it usually works, maybe have to tweak some options..........


Thanks! That worked (almost) great, I got an error about
"rpc.statd is not running but is required for remote locking"
but an option "nolock" let me mount the share, I'll have to research that, when I have some time... Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chiron²

Joined: 21 Jan 2014
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 23:36    Post subject:  

Actually, I never got past that. But using nolock in a small LAN, where ever only one client accesses the share at the same time is no risk. On some machines I have to set the version of NFS, on some it just works (with nolock).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Yoliano

Joined: 27 Feb 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Fri 15 Sep 2017, 17:28    Post subject: pmcputemp
Subject description: Stability of Temp Icon in tray.
 

@SFR

Sorry that I am a bit late in reporting back to you. But I just want to let you know that your second patched version of pmcputemp, which I installed, is very stable and working well. Since my last, previous post, I have been monitoring it's performance daily. In all sessions, the Temperature Icon has remained present in the tray from boot to shutdown. Also, the varying temperatures presented have all been in the range previously seen on this PC. Nor have I seen any pauses in the temp. display. So, everything appears normal. Your second patch has overcome my problem.

I appreciate very much your willingness to give attention to my minor problem and to provide an excellent solution. Thank you very much for your most kind help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Wed 20 Sep 2017, 11:38    Post subject:  

It's good to see new kernels posted in the repositories . I got new hardware lately and I liked the improvement I noticed from k-4.10.8 to k-4.12.10 on my iGPu . 3 months ago I installed an i7-7700 in my PC .
2 days ago I also put a new Nvidia graphic card and I wanted to install the proprietary module from Nvidia . I did not find the kernel-source-4.12.10.sfs in the repositories so I turned back to k-4.10.8 . The Nvidia module installed succesesfully . Very Happy
Is there any chance to have the kernel sources sfs for k-4.12.10 in the repos Question
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   96.61 KB
 Viewed   479 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 950

PostPosted: Wed 20 Sep 2017, 16:23    Post subject:  

@Gobbi,

md5 https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B932fvbgcXnMUlp3cDdhLUxwUmM
sfs https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B932fvbgcXnMSmlrR2VzRWktZHc

_________________
Fatdog64-710|+Packages|Kodi|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Thu 21 Sep 2017, 06:05    Post subject:  

Thank you step for the links Exclamation Very Happy
The NVIDIA module installed too with the kernel 4.12.10 Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 397

PostPosted: Sun 01 Oct 2017, 15:44    Post subject: Questions about QEMU  

I recently discovered QEMU and have been enjoying it. Thanks to developers for including it in the devx and to jamesbond for the qemu-vm-manager.sh gui.

I have two questions. First, how to access an image assigned to SD Card slot in the gui? I can't find it in the VM. Second, where does the icon fd0 ("fd0 vfat 1M") on VM desktop come from, and what is it for? It can't be mounted or seen by gparted.

Finally, a suggestion: Advanced/Other parameters -drive file=/dev/sdc is useful to get files into the VM. Could this be added to the gui as an option?

EDIT: from QEMU user documentation:
Quote:
The QEMU PC System emulator simulates the following peripherals:
...
- 2 PCI IDE interfaces with hard disk and CD-ROM support
- Floppy disk
...
There doesn't seem to be any way to get rid of fd0 or to make any use of it --??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 950

PostPosted: Tue 03 Oct 2017, 14:32    Post subject: Re: Questions about QEMU  

Wognath wrote:
where does the icon fd0 ("fd0 vfat 1M") on VM desktop come from, and what is it for? It can't be mounted or seen by gparted.

EDIT: from QEMU user documentation:
Quote:
The QEMU PC System emulator simulates the following peripherals:
...
- 2 PCI IDE interfaces with hard disk and CD-ROM support
- Floppy disk
...
There doesn't seem to be any way to get rid of fd0 or to make any use of it --??
Give QEMU an image file for sd0 and you'll be able to mount and use it. For instance:
Code:

# dd bs=512 count=2880 if=/dev/zero of=/tmp/imagefile.img
2880+0 records in
2880+0 records out
1474560 bytes (1.5 MB) copied, 0.00254197 s, 580 MB/s
# mkfs.msdos /tmp/imagefile.img
mkfs.fat 3.0.28 (2015-05-16)

Start QEMU with some ISO file of your liking and boot the distro. While in the distro QEMU GUI press Ctrl+Alt+2 to enter the QEMU console and type
Code:

change floppy0 /tmp/imagefile.img

Press Ctrl+Alt+1 to levae the QEMU console then mount fd0 in the distro desktop, i.e., double-click the fd icon as appropriate. Create an empty file "TEST" in the mounted folder.
Press Ctrl+G to free the cursor from QEMU and type in a Fatdog64 terminal window
Code:

filemnt /tmp/imagefile.img

You should see a rox filer window with file "TEST" in it. Repeat the filemnt command to unmount the floppy drive image file in Fatdog64.

_________________
Fatdog64-710|+Packages|Kodi|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 950

PostPosted: Tue 03 Oct 2017, 14:32    Post subject: Re: Questions about QEMU  

Wognath wrote:
where does the icon fd0 ("fd0 vfat 1M") on VM desktop come from, and what is it for? It can't be mounted or seen by gparted.

EDIT: from QEMU user documentation:
Quote:
The QEMU PC System emulator simulates the following peripherals:
...
- 2 PCI IDE interfaces with hard disk and CD-ROM support
- Floppy disk
...
There doesn't seem to be any way to get rid of fd0 or to make any use of it --??
Give QEMU an image file for sd0 and you'll be able to mount and use it. For instance:
Code:

# dd bs=512 count=2880 if=/dev/zero of=/tmp/imagefile.img
2880+0 records in
2880+0 records out
1474560 bytes (1.5 MB) copied, 0.00254197 s, 580 MB/s
# mkfs.msdos /tmp/imagefile.img
mkfs.fat 3.0.28 (2015-05-16)

Start QEMU with some ISO file of your liking and boot the distro. While in the distro QEMU GUI press Ctrl+Alt+2 to enter the QEMU console and type
Code:

change floppy0 /tmp/imagefile.img

Press Ctrl+Alt+1 to levae the QEMU console then mount fd0 in the distro desktop, i.e., double-click the fd icon as appropriate. Create an empty file "TEST" in the mounted folder.
Press Ctrl+G to free the cursor from QEMU and type in a Fatdog64 terminal window
Code:

filemnt /tmp/imagefile.img

You should see a rox filer window with file "TEST" in it. Repeat the filemnt command to unmount the floppy drive image file in Fatdog64.

_________________
Fatdog64-710|+Packages|Kodi|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 397

PostPosted: Tue 03 Oct 2017, 15:05    Post subject:  

Sweet!! Thank you, step.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 38 of 42 [623 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2262s ][ Queries: 14 (0.1194s) ][ GZIP on ]