Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 22 Oct 2017, 04:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-710 Final [4 Dec 2016]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 35 of 40 [586 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40 Next
Author Message
Yoliano

Joined: 27 Feb 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Tue 08 Aug 2017, 18:53    Post subject: Fatdog64-710/Pmcputemp
Subject description: Temperature Icon disappears.
 

@smokey01

Following your suggestion, I made a Relative Symlink in /etc/xdg/Startup pointing to /usr/bin/pmcputemp, (the binary file with gearwheel icon). Then I made various tests, as follows:

1 - Rebooted 710. Temp. Icon present in tray. Completed 2 Hr. working session on PC. Temp. Icon remained present until shutdown. All OK.

2 - Made 2 more tests, as in 1. But Temp Icon disappeared from tray before end of session, in each case. Failure.

3 - Downloaded new ISO Image file of 710, from Ibiblio. Installed it on a new, unused USB3.1 16 GB Kingston Memory Stick, (genuine, bought from K. official online store). All in accordance with Jamesbond's instructiojns. Booted it Without Savefile option. 710 OS came up all good. Made minimal configuration, installing Pmcputemp from Gslapt. Went to /aufs/devsave/ and changed name of original Savefile. Closed session and made new Savedirectory. Rebooted 710 from same memstick. All good. Temp. Icon present in tray. Made 1.5 Hr. work session, including emailing and other tasks. But the Temp Icon disappeared from tray somewhere in the middle of the session! Failure. Note: Google-Chrome Browser NOT installed yet.

4 - Made relative symlink in /etc/xdg/Startup, as described above. Rebooted again and all good, with Temp. Icon in tray. Left PC running, without making operations, for 1 Hr. But Temp. Icon disappeared during that time. Failure.

So, it looks like there is some corruption going on somewhere. Maybe it originates in my hardware. It is difficult to understand how the Temp. Icon can survive for a while and then disappear. It is very weird behaviour. Also, I note that I cannot now restore the Icon to the tray by clicking on the binary file, as I could before. Things seem to be getting worse.

My ability to analise the intestines of my PC are minimal. So if you, or anyone else have some useful thoughts on this subject, I shall be very pleased to receive them. Many thanks for your interest and help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2651
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Tue 08 Aug 2017, 22:25    Post subject:  

@Yoliano try deleting the /root/.config/pmcputemp directory. It should regenerate a new directory on the fly.

The contents of my /root/.config/pmcputemp/pmcputemprc are:
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:02.0/0000:01:00.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_input

Do you have something similar?

It's a bit of a mystery as it works for some but not others.

_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 931

PostPosted: Wed 09 Aug 2017, 08:58    Post subject:  

borzeh wrote:

is there any location to upload them (permanent) and let others use them?
If you follow the link "+packages' in my signature you'll find the thread for user-user-contributed Fatdog packages, and you could share yours there.
_________________
Fatdog64-710|+Packages|Kodi|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 281
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Thu 10 Aug 2017, 16:12    Post subject:  

2 days ago I did some updates via gslapt, which i hadn't done for quite a while. When I log in now using openbox I no longer have the lxqt-panels being displayed. When I attempt to execute lxqt-panel from a termnal I get an error:
"error while loading shared libraries: /usr/lib64/libglapi.so.0: file too short."

Checking /usr/lib64, there is no libglapi.so.0. So it appears that something that I updated stopped the panels I had from running.

Any assistance greatly appreciated.




Edit: fixed typo.

Last edited by Terry H on Thu 10 Aug 2017, 18:17; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4718
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 10 Aug 2017, 17:02    Post subject:  

Quote:
Checking /usr/lib64, there is no libglapi.so/0

Did you make spelling error?

------------------------------------------------------



I would boot up , putting 'savefile=none' in menu.lst file
and copy over an undamaged file
libglapi.so.0

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/enlarge-savefile.html

____________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 281
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Thu 10 Aug 2017, 18:21    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
Quote:
Checking /usr/lib64, there is no libglapi.so/0

Did you make spelling error?

------------------------------------------------------



I would boot up , putting 'savefile=none' in menu.lst file
and copy over an undamaged file
libglapi.so.0

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/enlarge-savefile.html

____________________________________________


Yes, fixed typo. Thanks I'll give that a try. Going out now so will do it tomorrow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 281
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Thu 10 Aug 2017, 22:00    Post subject:  

I booted with savefile=none and checked for libglapi.so.0. There isn't one in the base fatdog-710 either.

On checking the updates that were installed the other day, mesa was updated to 17.0.3. It seems to me that this update is possibly causing my issue of the 2 lxqt-panels I have not being displayed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1636

PostPosted: Fri 11 Aug 2017, 06:33    Post subject:  

Terry H wrote:
I booted with savefile=none and checked for libglapi.so.0. There isn't one in the base fatdog-710 either.

This lib is a part of Mesa, so it is in the base.
I'd suggest you to reinstall Mesa and see if it helps.
Alternatively, since /usr/lib64/libglapi.so.0 is merely a symlink to /usr/lib64/libglapi.so.0.0.0, check if the latter exists and if so, just create a symlink to it.

Btw, I've upgraded it to 17.0.3 some time ago and no probs...

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 281
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Fri 11 Aug 2017, 12:13    Post subject:  

SFR wrote:
Terry H wrote:
I booted with savefile=none and checked for libglapi.so.0. There isn't one in the base fatdog-710 either.

This lib is a part of Mesa, so it is in the base.
I'd suggest you to reinstall Mesa and see if it helps.
Alternatively, since /usr/lib64/libglapi.so.0 is merely a symlink to /usr/lib64/libglapi.so.0.0.0, check if the latter exists and if so, just create a symlink to it.

Btw, I've upgraded it to 17.0.3 some time ago and no probs...

Greetings!


Thanks for your assistance. I reinstalled mesa, restarted X and also rebooted, still the same, no panels. Checked /usr/lib64 again, nothing starting libgl....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1636

PostPosted: Fri 11 Aug 2017, 13:14    Post subject:  

Strange... Ok, what's the output of:
Code:
ls /usr/lib64/libglapi*

and
Code:
ls /aufs/pup_save/usr/lib64/libglapi*

?

If still nothing, what if you just unpack the Mesa package and copy all the files manually to their destinations?

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 281
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Fri 11 Aug 2017, 16:14    Post subject:  

I restarted without a savefile, then updated mesa only. On reboot the panels were displayed successfully. Completed other updates via gslapt, all still OK. I then copied the panel.conf and my mozilla .default file from the old save file. After several reboots, all working normally now with a new savefile. I checked the /usr/lib64 and missing files are there now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Yoliano

Joined: 27 Feb 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Mon 14 Aug 2017, 17:16    Post subject: Pmcputemp
Subject description: Temp Icon disappearing
 

@ Smokey01

Thanks for your suggestion, which I have followed. The content of pmcputemprc
on my PC is as shown in the image below. Any thoughts?
pmcputemprc.png
 Description   
 Filesize   50.74 KB
 Viewed   146 Time(s)

pmcputemprc.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Yoliano

Joined: 27 Feb 2012
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Mon 14 Aug 2017, 17:32    Post subject: Pmcputemp
Subject description: Temp Icon disappearing
 

@ Smokey01

Forgot to mention your first suggestion! My apologies. I deleted /root/.config/pmcputemp and it regenerated instantly. But it changed nothing. Icon still disappearing. Did this before copying content of pmcputemprc shown in previous post. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2651
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Mon 14 Aug 2017, 17:35    Post subject:  

@Yoliano, I'm running out of ideas.

I have Fatdog64-710 installed on an ext4 partition. Are you using something different? I can't see this being the culprit but you never know.

_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1636

PostPosted: Tue 15 Aug 2017, 12:53    Post subject:  

@Yoliano: Did you try to launch pmcputemp from terminal?
Any error messages when it stops working?

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 35 of 40 [586 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0887s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0138s) ][ GZIP on ]