Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Sep 2017, 17:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-710 Final [4 Dec 2016]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 24 of 38 [566 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, ..., 36, 37, 38 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11580
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 30 Mar 2017, 12:29    Post subject:  

@Keef: I may have found the problem with Fatdog.

Open the file /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown

Comment out line 131

Code:
#/etc/rc.d/rc.network stop

The PWF version of rc.network is not built to recognize the "stop" option, so it would try to run at shutdown.

[Edit] This same problem will occur in some (all?) versions of Puppy. But since PWF introduced its own rc.network in 2014, this is the first report. If you can confirm that the above fix works, I will give you a better fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 846
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Thu 30 Mar 2017, 13:24    Post subject:  

Yes, that was a success.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11580
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 30 Mar 2017, 13:45    Post subject:  

Keef wrote:
Yes, that was a success.

Excellent. Here is the better solution. Open /etc/rc.d/rc.network and make this change at the top

Code:
#!/bin/sh
#rcrsn51 2014-08-23

[ "$1" = "stop" ] && exit #to abort calls to rc.network stop

When I started working on the PWF version of rc.network in 2014, I hunted through the current Puppy rc.network and rc.shutdown scripts, and couldn't find a reason to make it a start|stop|restart type of service. This has turned out to be a mistake.

In regular Puppies, the messages don't appear and it might just cause a slight delay in shutdown. So no one has ever reported it. Or they experienced the same thing as you, but couldn't be bothered.

Thanks.

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Sat 01 Apr 2017, 06:55; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mini-jaguar

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 574

PostPosted: Fri 31 Mar 2017, 10:02    Post subject:  

mini-jaguar wrote:
I know it's not compatible with the FatDog64 600 series, but it loaded from the hard disk with the same menu and it worked fine.

It's probably been covered before, but why won't it boot from a USB drive?

Actually it worked fine on a 16GB stick formatted to ext2, I just can't get it to work on a 32GB stick with ext4.

Some error on my part is not out of the question though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2642
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Fri 31 Mar 2017, 16:24    Post subject:  

mini-jaguar wrote:
mini-jaguar wrote:
I know it's not compatible with the FatDog64 600 series, but it loaded from the hard disk with the same menu and it worked fine.

It's probably been covered before, but why won't it boot from a USB drive?

Actually it worked fine on a 16GB stick formatted to ext2, I just can't get it to work on a 32GB stick with ext4.

Some error on my part is not out of the question though.


I think ext4 may be the culprit. Have you tried 32G with ext3?

_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zeno

Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed 05 Apr 2017, 10:53    Post subject:  

I get a kernel panic when I boot from a frugal install: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(1,0)

menuentry "FatDog64" {
set root='(hd0,7)'
linux /vmlinuz
initrd /initrd
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11580
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 05 Apr 2017, 14:07    Post subject:  

Try:

Code:
menuentry "FatDog64" {
set root='(hd0,7)'
linux /vmlinuz rootfstype=ramfs
initrd /initrd
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1421
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed 05 Apr 2017, 15:12    Post subject:  

Many thanks rcrsn51! I was booting my fatdog64-710 from a usb-stick because I was unable to boot it by grub4dos or your grub2. Now I'm typing in fatdog64-710 after booting it by grub2 with the following menu entry in grub.cfg:

Code:
menuentry "Fatdog64-710 ISO on sda1" {
 set root=(hd0,1)
 loopback loop /Fatdog64-710.iso
# linux (loop)/vmlinuz waitdev=5 savefile=direct:device:sdb1:/fd64save dofsck
 linux (loop)/vmlinuz rootfstype=ramfs waitdev=5 search=2 dofsck
 initrd (loop)/initrd
}


rootfstype=ramfs in linux line was needed. Many thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zeno

Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed 05 Apr 2017, 16:21    Post subject:  

Thank you, it works.

Why does this puppy need that option?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mini-jaguar

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 574

PostPosted: Thu 06 Apr 2017, 01:27    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
mini-jaguar wrote:
mini-jaguar wrote:
I know it's not compatible with the FatDog64 600 series, but it loaded from the hard disk with the same menu and it worked fine.

It's probably been covered before, but why won't it boot from a USB drive?

Actually it worked fine on a 16GB stick formatted to ext2, I just can't get it to work on a 32GB stick with ext4.

Some error on my part is not out of the question though.


I think ext4 may be the culprit. Have you tried 32G with ext3?

I don't think I want to wipe the stick for that experiment, but you're probably right because it gets stuck on "loading ext2fs" or something like that. Used "showerr" and it didn't show anything else, but just got stuck there and didn't boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rasul

Joined: 08 Sep 2012
Posts: 31
Location: Tehran, Iran

PostPosted: Thu 06 Apr 2017, 03:51    Post subject: encrypted SaveFile  

First thank you for the great job ... it works fine out of the box on a machine that most operating systems (puppy and else) fail in one or another way out of the box ... Thank you Smile

Only some minor issues ... Seemingly FatDog is a bit different from the other puppies ... for example it seems not to contain the application that mount an encrypted puppy save file (extension 2fs) when double-clicking on the save file ... How can I fix it? which application should I add to fatdog? any binary already available?

Also, sorry if inconvenience but I couldn't get certain about what binaries does fatdog support? It seems to be slackware's applications but not slacko's, am I correcct? What about pet files? sfs's and deb files? Is there any easy way to use them for fatdog? please bear with me I'm totally novice here using fatdog ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11580
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 06 Apr 2017, 04:42    Post subject:  

zeno wrote:
Why does this puppy need that option?

Jamesbond will have to answer that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1421
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 06 Apr 2017, 04:45    Post subject: Re: encrypted SaveFile  

rasul wrote:

Only some minor issues ... Seemingly FatDog is a bit different from the other puppies ... for example it seems not to contain the application that mount an encrypted puppy save file (extension 2fs) when double-clicking on the save file ... How can I fix it? which application should I add to fatdog? any binary already available?


I can do it manually using a losetup-old from an old testing version of xenialpup64 which I attach. Delete the fake gz and move losetup-old in /sbin. Then in console:

Code:
losetup -a


and watch a free loop device. Say it can be /dev/loop2. Then in console for a lightencrypted savefile (I have used in the test a lightencrypted slackosave from slacko 5.7):

Code:
# losetup-old -E 1 /dev/loop2 /mnt/sda1/slacko57/slackosave_cryptx-s57-bk.2fs
Password:
#mkdir /mnt/dir
# mount /dev/loop2 /mnt/dir
# ls /mnt/dir
bin  dev  etc  initrd  lib  lost+found  mnt  opt  root  sbin  sys  usr  var
# umount /mnt/dir
# losetup-old -d /dev/loop2


For an heavy encrypted savefile you can use in the example:

Code:
losetup-old -e aes /dev/loop2 slackosave_save_crypta-s57-bk.2fs
losetup-old.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  losetup-old.gz 
Filesize  42.66 KB 
Downloaded  19 Time(s) 

Last edited by watchdog on Thu 06 Apr 2017, 08:21; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zeno

Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 06 Apr 2017, 06:42    Post subject:  

Impressive control panel and out-of-the-box functionality, there are many recent packages (4.10 kernel, qt5, gtk3 and other chrome/firefox deps...).

I think that you should aim to achieve full compatibility with one big repository (debian/arch/rpm).

Another minor issue: On my netbook when I change the brightness/backlight, it saves the setting but it doesn't 'apply' it when I reboot.
A possible solution would be to append "tee /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/brightness <<< 0" (change 0 with the number) to the init start script or to the .bash_profile, is this problem common?

Edit: It doesn't seem to execute the command, maybe I should put it in the /root/Startup folder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rasul

Joined: 08 Sep 2012
Posts: 31
Location: Tehran, Iran

PostPosted: Thu 06 Apr 2017, 14:35    Post subject: Re: encrypted SaveFile  

watchdog wrote:
rasul wrote:

Only some minor issues ... Seemingly FatDog is a bit different from the other puppies ... for example it seems not to contain the application that mount an encrypted puppy save file (extension 2fs) when double-clicking on the save file ... How can I fix it? which application should I add to fatdog? any binary already available?


I can do it manually using a losetup-old from an old testing version of xenialpup64 which I attach. Delete the fake gz and move losetup-old in /sbin. Then in console:

Code:
losetup -a


and watch a free loop device. Say it can be /dev/loop2. Then in console for a lightencrypted savefile (I have used in the test a lightencrypted slackosave from slacko 5.7):

Code:
# losetup-old -E 1 /dev/loop2 /mnt/sda1/slacko57/slackosave_cryptx-s57-bk.2fs
Password:
#mkdir /mnt/dir
# mount /dev/loop2 /mnt/dir
# ls /mnt/dir
bin  dev  etc  initrd  lib  lost+found  mnt  opt  root  sbin  sys  usr  var
# umount /mnt/dir
# losetup-old -d /dev/loop2


For an heavy encrypted savefile you can use in the example:

Code:
losetup-old -e aes /dev/loop2 slackosave_save_crypta-s57-bk.2fs

thanks for the tip and the file, it saved me a lot of effort, wish I could write a script to automate it ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 24 of 38 [566 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, ..., 36, 37, 38 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0633s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0097s) ][ GZIP on ]