Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Apr 2017, 00:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-710 Final [4 Dec 2016]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 19 of 27 [397 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Author Message
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 822

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 10:39    Post subject:  

@jamesbond, I misconfigured wpa_supplicant on purpose, just to show an example I could capture for my post.
_________________
Fatdog64-710|+Packages|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3048
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 11:37    Post subject:  

@step - yes, of course.

@stemsee: Thank you stemsee.

To run wpa_supplicant so it can support multiple wifi interface, do it like this:
wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -N -i wlan1 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant1.conf -N -i wlan2 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant2.conf ... ad nauseam.

wpa_supplicant.conf, wpa_supplicant1.conf, wpa_supplicant2.conf etc can be the same file if you wish (which is what I did for my example).

Fatdog uses wpa_supplicant (for obvious reasons), wpa_cli (for automatic IP address setting) and wpa_gui. To support multiple interfaces, wpa_gui does not need to change; wpa_supplicant needs to be modified as above; and wpa_cli needs to be run multiple times, one for every interface.

EDIT: the "pt" workaround is to run setxkbmap -query as soon after running setxkbmap.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3363
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 15:05    Post subject: solution for poulsbo graphics
Subject description: kms
 

Never got any new puppy or fatdog or quirky run on my computer before.

Archlinux gave me a solution.

No xorg driver modesetting needed
Only disadvantage: resolution cannot be changed without reboot.

Other operation systems which I could get running are slacko64 and remixOS (matter of kernel configuration).
poulsboro_grahic_successfully_used.png
 Description   booted from grub4dos
 Filesize   123.37 KB
 Viewed   837 Time(s)

poulsboro_grahic_successfully_used.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drunkjedi


Joined: 24 May 2015
Posts: 676

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 23:54    Post subject:  

Thanks James for the Gif screencapture help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 822

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2017, 11:16    Post subject: Re: solution for poulsbo graphics
Subject description: kms
 

Hi L18L, good t o se e you in the forum! Your post reminded me of the only computer I ever owned with poulsbo graphics. It was a Dell netbook. It worked very well with Windows XP but behind that, Windows 7 or Linux regardless, getting decent graphics output was a nightmare. I got rid of that computer. Glad you got yours tamed.

L18L wrote:
Never got any new puppy or fatdog or quirky run on my computer before.

Archlinux gave me a solution.

No xorg driver modesetting needed
Only disadvantage: resolution cannot be changed without reboot.

Other operation systems which I could get running are slacko64 and remixOS (matter of kernel configuration).

_________________
Fatdog64-710|+Packages|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 1929
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2017, 11:58    Post subject:  

Fatdog desktop drive icons .... How do I increase the spacing between the desktop drive icons?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3048
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2017, 13:18    Post subject:  

@L18L: Greeting!
I'm glad to see you back, I hope everything is good for you.

@stemsee:
1. Open Control Panel
2. Find the "desktop" tab.
3. Launch "Fatdog Event Manager"
4. Change the "Grid width"
5. Click Save, then Quit.
6. Right-click any drive icon, then choose "Redraw all icons".
7. Repeat 3-6 until satisfied.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dr. Dan

Joined: 20 Apr 2015
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2017, 20:30    Post subject:  

@jamesbond: I thought I posted my reply, but apparently not.

I manually downloaded and checked the update, and installed it without issue. I'm sure you had already tested it, and knew it was correct! So, is it safe to uninstall and reinstall Gslapt? Are there any warnings or instructions for doing so?
Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 1929
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Sun 19 Feb 2017, 22:35    Post subject:  

Thanks Jamesbond.

I had trouble with screencaster; when changing directory for recordings to ~/Downloads, the recordings were being deleted. on examing the script I commented out one line and now its fine.

I am also having trouble getting host name change to persist!
xscreenshot-20170219T153023.png
 Description   
 Filesize   23.71 KB
 Viewed   651 Time(s)

xscreenshot-20170219T153023.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 822

PostPosted: Mon 20 Feb 2017, 16:20    Post subject:  

stemsee wrote:

I had trouble with screencaster; when changing directory for recordings to ~/Downloads, the recordings were being deleted. on examing the script I commented out one line and now its fine.

Hi stemsee, the real issue is that screencaster doesn't expand ~/Downloads into /root/Downloads as you expected. I think you can uncomment that line and enter the save path without ~, as in /root/Downloads. The output file name will end with .mp4 if you selected mp4 in the screencaster dialog. *.video and *.audio are partial files, and should be deleted.

Even if you had run screencaster from a terminal you wouldn't see any error messages, but this is a different issue that needs to be fixed in the script.

edit: fixed tilde expansion in my development copy of this script, now testing it...

_________________
Fatdog64-710|+Packages|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3363
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Fri 24 Feb 2017, 14:34    Post subject: Native Language Support  

Thank you @step and @jamesbond for your welcome back messages.

momanager-2017.02.24-noarch-1.txz is successfully uploaded.

It is useable for English only devs now
you can use one TEXTDOMAIN for app and md doc
check the resulting pot file
avoid common mistakes like
e.g. having OK and Ok

@all
Nobody here who would like to add his language?
Just 2 TEXTDOMAINS:
fatdog for all the fatdog scripts
fatdoghelp for translation of fatdog's Help

Simply add fd64-nls_719.sfs to extrasfs parameter in boot code.
And install momanager-2017.02.24 using updated gslapt.

EDIT

Package attached as upload was not successful

EDIT
Attached package deleted as it was buggy
use package attached 2 posts downwards please
MoManager.png
 Description   
 Filesize   151.51 KB
 Viewed   442 Time(s)

MoManager.png


Last edited by L18L on Sun 26 Feb 2017, 06:44; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3048
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sat 25 Feb 2017, 11:56    Post subject: Re: Battery meter, battery usage, beautification  

Original post: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=938714#938714
Back in early Jan 20167, dr. Dan wrote:
Hello all, I decided to try to improve the fatdog-battery-meter.sh script myself. It was a poor use of my time, but I know a little bit about the language now. Anyway, I added a rudimentary time left estimate which works on two different laptops so far.

dr. Dan, thank you for this. Apology for the very long delay. I've finally managed to review this.

Your changes are good, but I can't include it as is into Fatdog64 because it seems the changes you've done is very specific to your laptop - for one thing, in my laptop I don't have any variable "charge_now" which you use for estimating power drain (it's "energy_now" in my laptop). I'll see if I can improve it.

Quote:
Compared with 702, my battery life seems diminished. I don't know whether it is from using Seamonkey, but it seems to use a lot of memory.
It's very difficult to asses, because 710 comes with newer kernel, newer graphics drivers, etc. Any of these could have impact on power usage. I would say that 710 is a bit bigger than 702 due to newer version of software, however it should not impact much. If you still can, run "htop" and to comparison between 702 and 710 when your system is idle. The difference should be minimal.

Quote:
Thanks for letting me play the home version of Fatdog64, it's a lot of fun. I keep finding additional features!
You are very much welcome.

@L18L, I hope you're doing well. I was a bit worried to not to see you in the forum for a while. I'm going to take your latest momanager and push it to the official repo, thanks!

And yes, so far there are only German translations (from you) ... still waiting to see others Smile

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3363
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Sun 26 Feb 2017, 06:40    Post subject: Re: momanager in official repo  

jamesbond wrote:
I'm going to take your latest momanager and push it to the official repo, thanks!

Thanks

Embarassed bugs everywhere Embarassed
Must work in working directory WD
Code:
CACHE=$WD/cache ;  mkdir -p $CACHE #130505
cd $WD #170224-2


Made it (cd $WD) as build number 2 (thanks Fatdog's Help files)

Made and used in Fatdog64 (and latest slacko64)
Not intended to run in arm architectures.
momanager-2017.2.24-noarch-2.txz.gz
Description  remove fake .gz
The only change is insert of line
cd $WD
after
CACHE=$WD/cache ; mkdir -p $CACHE #130505
gz

 Download 
Filename  momanager-2017.2.24-noarch-2.txz.gz 
Filesize  33.69 KB 
Downloaded  10 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3048
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb 2017, 01:01    Post subject: Re: momanager in official repo  

Thanks L18L! Very Happy
Uploaded this to the official repo again, as build 2 too.

L18L wrote:
Made and used in Fatdog64 (and latest slacko64)
Not intended to run in arm architectures.
To effect that comment, I added this snippet at the very top:
Code:
## jamesbond - check arch
case $(uname -m) in
   x86_64|i*86) ;; # good to go
   *) Xdialog --title "MoManager" --infobox "Unsupported architecture: $(uname -m)" 0 0 10000
      exit 1;;
esac

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jd7654

Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Mon 27 Feb 2017, 06:05    Post subject: Question about humongous initrd and base sfs file sizes  

Question about humongous initrd and base sfs file sizes:

Been running Fatdog64 700 series on hard drive frugal installs for a while. And I always split out the fd64.sfs from the humongous initrd due to the booting being so painfully slow on all the machines I tried it on. But I noticed something different about the resulting file sizes with 710 Final compared to earlier versions like 702 and 700.

After following the same procedure for each, using the included fatdog-split-initrd.sh script, this is the results for 710:
- humongous initrd: 344M
- split fd64.sfs: 438M, plus small initrd: 3.5M = 441M

Compare that to 702: (with 702 script)
- humongous initrd: 250M
- split fd64.sfs: 255M, plus small initrd: 3M = 258M

And other older versions were similar, with the split files total only being a few MB larger than the humongous initrd. But with 710, the split out base sfs is huge for some reason, almost 100M more total. Is there something different about 710 that would cause this?

If using the copy out and repack method for 710, result is:
- fd64.sfs: 285M, plus large initrd: 59M = 344M (same as humongous)

Everything seems to be working OK though. But not sure if something in the script is over duplicating or possibly corrupting some files in the split process?

Just my observations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 27 [397 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 25, 26, 27 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0783s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0095s) ][ GZIP on ]