Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 26 Aug 2019, 05:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to get NetFlix running in FireFox 49.....
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5287
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 27 Sep 2016, 16:58    Post subject:  How to get NetFlix running in FireFox 49.....
Subject description: .....short-term workaround till NetFlix push the big green button!
 

Evening, all.

As y'all know, I'm not the biggest fan of Firefox; Chrome's my main 'squeeze', and has been for the last 8 years. But I'm well aware that many of my fellow Puppians abhor the incessant 'nosiness' that comes with the big G's flagship browser, and have been anticipating the much-hyped inclusion of the Widevine modules into FireFox 49.....which will enable the playing of, among other things, NetFlix.

I've been experimenting with the 64-bit version in Tahr64 earlier this evening, although there's no reason why this workaround shouldn't work just as well in the 32-bit version (though I have reservations about this, which I will explain later.)

So, without further ado, let's get to it!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Obviously, you'll need FF 49 installed. There's not much to this 'workaround', although there's a bit of 'faffing-around' to perform.

1) Go into Preferences>Content, and check the box for 'Playback of DRM content'.

2) Then, from the Add-ons store, you'll need to install 'User Agent Overrider'. We've gotta make NetFlix think we're running Chrome for now, till they get their act together..... Rolling Eyes

3) Then, we need to go into Add-ons>Extensions>User Agent Overridrer>Preferences. A window will appear, containing the installed user-agent strings. You'll need to leave this box open for a few moments.

4) Courtesy of the askubuntu.com site:-

http://askubuntu.com/questions/828286/now-that-i-have-firefox-49-how-do-i-watch-netflix

.....we need to copy the following string:-

Code:
Linux / Chrome 53: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Ubuntu; Linux x86_64) AppleWebKit/535.11 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/53.0.2785.34 Safari/537.36


.....then paste it at the bottom of the list of strings in the Preferences window you opened a coupla minutes ago. Leave a line between this entry and the previous one, since the other entries have been listed the same way. When this is done, just close the window.

Left-click on the 'User Agent Overrider' button on the toolbar. You should have an entry at the bottom for 'Linux / Chrome 53'. Click the radio-button for this entry.

That's it!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The only reason I have reservations about this working in 32-bit FF 49 is because of this very user agent string. Chrome hasn't been supported under 32-bit Linux since version 48, so I'd be dead curious to see if this workaround applies there, too. I haven't yet had a chance to try it myself.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now, if you go to NetFlix, sign in, and choose summat to watch, you should, all things being equal, be able to watch NetFlix in Linux Firefox for the first time.

You may find that you have to refresh the page, when you choose to resume anything you're in the middle of watching before you get the big red 'spinner', followed by the movie starting to play. This is mentioned in the Askubuntu.com workaround. It does work.

Anybody who wants to try this, let me know how you get on with it, please. I can't be the only one to be able to get this working..!


Mike. Wink

Last edited by Mike Walsh on Tue 27 Sep 2016, 17:23; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8015
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 27 Sep 2016, 17:21    Post subject:  

Maybe tmrw Mike, on my clients machine. My old dog ain't got the hp.. Mr. Green
powered-by.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   21.17 KB
 Viewed   1065 Time(s)

powered-by.jpg


_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5287
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 27 Sep 2016, 17:28    Post subject:  

^^^ Laughing

Touchè, Semme; same here. It all runs fine on the 'big' Compaq PC, 'cos she's got the grunt. My favourite (the old Dell lappie) hasn't. NetFlix kinda plays.....but there's bags of hesitation and stuttering. Whadd'ya expect from a P4 and a gig of RAM? Curiously, despite that awful Intel 'Extreme' graphics adapter, there's no tearing...

Weird.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8015
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 28 Sep 2016, 19:51    Post subject:  

Yo Mike, by creating a "user.js" file in FF's profile folder, you can load your preferred user agent like this:
Code:
//
// user.js: Personal prefs which mozilla shouldn't overwrite.
//

// Override the default user-agent string:
user_pref("general.useragent.override", "Linux / Chrome 53: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Ubuntu; Linux x86_64) AppleWebKit/535.11 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/53.0.2785.34 Safari/537.36");

PS -- I'll be back before my carriage turns into a bumpkin! Very Happy

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8015
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2016, 12:05    Post subject:  

Cool Hey, how about that.. She (T)ROLLS!
tahr_605-32.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   25.2 KB
 Viewed   975 Time(s)

tahr_605-32.jpg


_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5287
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2016, 15:42    Post subject:  

Hey, ya got 'er working... Nice one.

You're on 32-bit there, aren't you? I didn't get it working in Tahr32; the WideVine module keeps crashing. Whether it's because of summat you have installed, and I don't.....well, can't really say. But it does at least prove the principle is sound.

Did you find, like I said, that you have to refresh the page to actually get things going..?

I guess when NetFlix start to co-operate and actually provide a workable stream for FireFox, it'll all fall into place (hopefully!) Should keep the FireFox fans happy.....like your good self! Laughing


Mike. Wink
NetFlix(1).jpg
 Description   Star Trek : Enterprise on NetFlix in FF 49...
 Filesize   56.95 KB
 Viewed   960 Time(s)

NetFlix(1).jpg


_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8015
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2016, 19:50    Post subject:  

Yep, 32bit Tahr on a 64bit box. Fast connects aside, cable here, me thinks your video card's gotta be up to snuff.

Again, with my friends great card, no refresh, simply hit play.

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anotherpuppyfan

Joined: 31 Oct 2016
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2016, 23:10    Post subject:  

Got a really old Gateway single core laptop last weekend for $10US. Added a 60GB IDE HD, Tahr 6.0.5 (no PAE), Firefox 32 which updated to 49. Saw your how-to and did it. Very cool to be able to view Netflix on Puppy, Linux in general, and this ancient laptop. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5287
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2016, 05:45    Post subject:  

anotherpuppyfan wrote:
Got a really old Gateway single core laptop last weekend for $10US. Added a 60GB IDE HD, Tahr 6.0.5 (no PAE), Firefox 32 which updated to 49. Saw your how-to and did it. Very cool to be able to view Netflix on Puppy, Linux in general, and this ancient laptop. Thanks!


You're very welcome! Have fun (oh, and BTW; 'Welcome' to the kennels, if I haven't already bid you such!)


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TeX Dog

Joined: 06 Jul 2016
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2016, 15:58    Post subject:  

does this work on Raspberry Pi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8015
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2016, 19:28    Post subject:  

Have you attempted to make it work?
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TeX Dog

Joined: 06 Jul 2016
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2016, 19:33    Post subject:  

lol, I am no trailblazer. I am lucky to find my car keys. Cool My cable company will start charging for the digital converters they where forced by Government to make free for allowing conversion to digital only format, can login to chrome or other mixed browsers with DRM to play netflix also plays the cable TV stuff on my computer. Would like to have this work to replace one TV rooms box.
If You got those freebie converters they will not be free with Decembers bill for January service.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TeX Dog

Joined: 06 Jul 2016
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2016, 23:27    Post subject:  

OK before working on the raspberry I was able to update fatdog64 to v49.0.2 is that compatible also user.js is it automatically loaded if exists?

[edited minutes later]
Never mind FF49 is broken with FD64
Code:
# firefox
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /usr/lib64/firefox-49.0.2/libmozgtk.so:
libgtk-3.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM.
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8015
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2016, 00:24    Post subject:  

So open Gslapt and install what looks like gtk3-3.18.7-x86_64-1.txz and any additional dependencies that go along with it.

As for the rest of the tweak, stick to Mike's recipe.

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TeX Dog

Joined: 06 Jul 2016
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2016, 02:41    Post subject:  

Ouch 80Mgs later, this defeats why I was going to give up Chrome!!! thanks for the tip. Does make FF work Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0717s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0122s) ][ GZIP on ]