Slacko32/64 700 BETA 2

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
watchdog
Posts: 2021
Joined: Fri 28 Sep 2012, 18:04
Location: Italy

#466 Post by watchdog »

I'm using it. All basics are working. Ready for release?

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

puppyapps(Default Applications Chooser) fails

#467 Post by shinobar »

puppyapps(Default Applications Chooser) fails hen you select category ALL button.
Tow lines to be fixed:

Code: Select all

# diff -u puppyapps.old puppyapps
--- puppyapps.old	2016-09-18 16:40:26.000000000 +0900
+++ puppyapps	2017-02-25 16:35:37.000000000 +0900
@@ -232,7 +232,7 @@
 update_defaults () {
 	LANG=C
 	# change the default*** files, using the 'change_default' util
-	for I in $DEFAULTAPPS ; do
+	for I in $appz ; do
 	  case ${I#default} in
 		archiver)      change_default 'archiver' "$ARCHIVER" ;;
 		audioeditor)   change_default 'audioeditor' "$AUDIOEDITOR" ;;
@@ -679,7 +679,7 @@
   
 supported TYPEs:
 ----------------'
-default_apps | tr ' ' '\n'
+echo ${default_apps} | tr ' ' '\n'
 
 			exit
 			;;
The first chunk is to fix this. The second is to avoid command line error(puppyapps --help).
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

boolean

#468 Post by boolean »

How to hibernate??

i am recompiling the kernel to add hibernate function

my problem is in init script

in previous puppies ( the last one i used was slacko 5.3 32bit), i would add

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=59336

Code: Select all

##############END MODULE LOADING TO ACCESS DRIVES####################

# piratesmack: Resume after hibernation
#
# Note: boot parameter 'resume' must be set
# e.g. resume=sda3, where sda3 is the swap partition you hibernated to
#
RESUME="$(tr ' ' '\n' < /proc/cmdline | grep '^resume=' | cut -d= -f2 | sed -e 's:^/dev/::')"
if [ -n "$RESUME" -a -e "/sys/power/resume" ]; then
  PTRN="$RESUME$"
  # get major and minor number of resume partition
  MAJMIN="$(grep "$PTRN" /proc/partitions | tr -s ' ' | cut -d' ' -f2,3 | tr ' ' :)"
  echo -n $MAJMIN > /sys/power/resume
fi
########################################

#######################FINDING PUPPY FILES########################### 
but this puppy( slacko 6,9) have an unusual init script

does any body know where exactly to add the above script?

User avatar
sszindian
Posts: 807
Joined: Sun 25 Apr 2010, 02:14
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

Insite

#469 Post by sszindian »

@mick01

How about some insite as to the future of slacko64-6.9.6.4-uefi.iso?

Any updates coming... Is a new version in progress... or is what we have the final version?

It certainly appears the 'testing' on this is at its end! For sure, so far what we have is the making of a beautiful distro, would like to see it go just a tad-bit further.

>>>---Indian------>
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
[url]http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192[/url]

User avatar
norgo
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri 13 Nov 2015, 17:19
Location: Germany
Contact:

Localization issue

#470 Post by norgo »

Slacko32 - 700 Beta

checked yesterday some applications in Slacko 700 Beta and noticed a localization bug.
Launching of a GUI application via terminal shows always an error message like this:

Code: Select all

#geany
(process:20759): Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
		Using the fallback 'C' locale.

So I checked the locales and got following output:

Code: Select all

#locale -a
locale: Cannot set LC_CTYPE to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_MESSAGES to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_ALL to default locale: No such file or directory
C
POSIX
The next step I did was to check the folder where the locales should be stored.
but /usr/lib/locale did not exist !!!

So I launched /usr/sbin/quicksetup to create new locales ( so I thought )
But creating failed with error message:
cannot write output files to 'de_DE.utf8': No such file or directory

It seems that the /usr/lib/locale folder has to exist mandatory because quicksetup doesn't check presence

So I created manually the missing locale folder and launched quicksetup once again.
Now quicksetup created under /usr/lib/locale a folder de_DE.utf8 and the belonging LC_*** files

After that the error messages during launching of an application are not present anymore.

@Sailor Enceladus
most probably you've already again the newest version running ;-)
Could you check this bug for confirmation please
Thanks in advance

Sailor Enceladus
Posts: 1543
Joined: Mon 22 Feb 2016, 19:43

Re: Localization issue

#471 Post by Sailor Enceladus »

norgo wrote:@Sailor Enceladus
most probably you've already again the newest version running ;-)
Could you check this bug for confirmation please
Thanks in advance
Hi norgo!

I think they fixed the locale issue in Woof-CE on January 23rd? This is what I get now (attached), but I'm only using en_US. :)
Attachments
Screenshot.png
(4.76 KiB) Downloaded 1779 times

User avatar
norgo
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri 13 Nov 2015, 17:19
Location: Germany
Contact:

locale issue

#472 Post by norgo »

Hello @Sailor Enceladus

You are absolutely right, this issue has been fixed on January 23rd.
Unfortunately I did not read this, sorry.
But now I know my version of January 17th is totally outdated ;-)

Thank you very much for quick response

User avatar
Billtoo
Posts: 3720
Joined: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 13:47
Location: Ontario Canada

Slacko32/64 700 BETA 2

#473 Post by Billtoo »

I did a new woof-CE auto build today and did a manual frugal install to
the hard drive:

System: Host: puppypc4094 Kernel: 4.4.56-4G i686 (32 bit) Desktop: Openbox 3.6.1 Distro: Slacko Puppy 6.9.6.4
Machine: System: Compaq-Presario product: AU194AA-A2L CQ5123F serial: MXX9300M0F
Mobo: MSI model: Boston v: 1.0 Bios: Phoenix v: 5.24 date: 06/19/2009
CPU: Dual core Pentium E5200 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1200/2500 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 driver: nvidia tty size: 133x44 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (8.1% used)
Info: Processes: 153 Uptime: 2:05 Memory: 301.8/3153.9MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.0

I'm using radky's FbBox-4.1

Works good so far.

******************************************************************

Edit: I compiled the 4.10.5 kernel with the woof-CE kernel kit and have
done a manual frugal install of the new iso to the hard drive of my hp desktop:

System: Host: puppypc9918 Kernel: 4.10.5-4G i686 (32 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2 Distro: Slacko Puppy 6.9.6.4
Machine: Device: desktop System: Hewlett-Packard product: HPE-410f serial: MXX0370KF3
Mobo: FOXCONN model: 2AB1 v: 1.00 BIOS: American Megatrends v: 6.02 date: 07/21/2010
CPU: Hexa core AMD Phenom II X6 1045T (-MCP-) speed/max: 800/2700 MHz
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5550/5570/5630/6510/6610/7570]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
tty size: 163x55 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (2.3% used)
Info: Processes: 204 Uptime: 1:56 Memory: 304.9/3281.0MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8

PPM gave an error about a missing kodi-1.6 file but I was able to find
and download it with a DuckDuckGo search.
Attachments
Screenshot.jpg
(43.2 KiB) Downloaded 1475 times
Screenshot.jpg
(66.25 KiB) Downloaded 1596 times

User avatar
Billtoo
Posts: 3720
Joined: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 13:47
Location: Ontario Canada

Slacko32/64 700 BETA 2

#474 Post by Billtoo »

I did a manual frugal install to the hard drive of my Compaq desktop:

System: Host: puppypc20266 Kernel: 4.10.5-4G i686 (32 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2 Distro: Slacko Puppy 6.9.6.4
Machine: System: Compaq-Presario product: AU194AA-A2L CQ5123F serial: MXX9300M0F
Mobo: MSI model: Boston v: 1.0 Bios: Phoenix v: 5.24 date: 06/19/2009
CPU: Dual core Pentium E5200 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1600/2500 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,nv,vesa)
tty size: 130x43 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (8.6% used)
Info: Processes: 167 Uptime: 2:16 Memory: 466.2/3153.3MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.0

The proprietary nvidia driver failed to compile with the new kernel but
notes on the kernel say the nouveau driver is improved over previous
versions.
Vlc will only run using the cvlc command but it works well with
Smtube.
Kodi was missing one file but I have the missing file saved to a flash
drive so that works :)
*******************************************************************

Edit: The 4.10.6 kernel was released so I compiled it with the kernel
kit and did a new manual frugal install:

System: Host: puppypc18619 Kernel: 4.10.6-4G i686 (32 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2
Distro: Slacko Puppy 6.9.6.4
Machine: System: Compaq-Presario product: AU194AA-A2L CQ5123F serial: MXX9300M0F
Mobo: MSI model: Boston v: 1.0 Bios: Phoenix v: 5.24 date: 06/19/2009
CPU: Dual core Pentium E5200 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1600/2500 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,nv,vesa)
tty size: 89x51 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller
driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (9.0% used)
Info: Processes: 163 Uptime: 3:25 Memory: 471.5/3153.3MB
Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.0

PPM barely works, it was slow before, it's even worse now.

Apart from that the new install is working okay.
Attachments
Screenshot2.jpg
(86.08 KiB) Downloaded 1367 times
Screenshot.jpg
(103.87 KiB) Downloaded 1456 times

Sailor Enceladus
Posts: 1543
Joined: Mon 22 Feb 2016, 19:43

#475 Post by Sailor Enceladus »

belham2 wrote:
Sailor Enceladus wrote:It seems that the battery icon show colors for me on the 64-bit version, but on the 32-bit version it always shows as empty (on at least 6.9.6.3, 6.9.6.4, and r4711). Does this difference happen for anyone else, or possibly something specific to my laptop?
Hi Sailor E,

The blue is ok on my laptop w/ Slacko 32-bit 6.9.6.4, and provides all the feedback as you show above. Here's a closeup of it:
Great news! I switched from kernel 3.14.79 to 4.1.39 in my latest 32-bit build, and now the battery icon finally shows colors! (at least, I think that's the reason :) )

edit: Yup, tried a 3.14 kernel in it and the battery icon shows up as empty/dead again.

User avatar
Billtoo
Posts: 3720
Joined: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 13:47
Location: Ontario Canada

Slacko32/64 700 BETA 2

#476 Post by Billtoo »

I did a new Slacko64-6.9.6.4 woof-CE build that's using the pre-configured 4.9.18 kernel:

System: Host: puppypc18028 Kernel: 4.9.18-x86_64 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2
Distro: Slacko64 Puppy 6.9.6.4
Machine: System: Compaq-Presario product: AU194AA-A2L CQ5123F serial: MXX9300M0F
Mobo: MSI model: Boston v: 1.0 Bios: Phoenix v: 5.24 date: 06/19/2009
CPU: Dual core Pentium E5200 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1600/2500 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 driver: nvidia tty size: 135x47 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
Card-2: D-Link System AirPlus G DWL-G122 Wireless Adapter(rev.C1) [Ralink RT2571W] driver: rt73usb
Drives: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (9.5% used)
Info: Processes: 153 Uptime: 2:06 Memory: 334.7/3951.1MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.0

I added some applications with PPM, also compiled the proprietary
nvidia driver.

It also has the new Firefox ESR 52.0.2

The eth0 isn't supported but the usb wireless adapter is working fine.

***********************************************************
Also did a manual frugal install to my Acer laptop:

System: Host: puppypc21557 Kernel: 4.9.18-x86_64 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2
Distro: Slacko64 Puppy 6.9.6.4
Machine: System: Acer (portable) product: Aspire V5-571P v: V2.17 serial:
Mobo: Acer model: Aspire V5-571P v: V2.17 serial:
Bios: Phoenix v: V2.17 date: 02/27/2013
Battery BAT0: charge: 20.0 Wh 97.4% condition: 20.5/25.0 Wh (82%)
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3-3227U (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 779/1901 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 driver: intel tty size: 109x35 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Card-2: Broadcom Limited BCM43228 802.11a/b/g/n driver: bcma-pci-bridge
Drives: HDD Total Size: 508.1GB (3.7% used)
Info: Processes: 186 Uptime: 2:52 Memory: 294.2/5766.0MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.0

The built-in wireless is supported, the touchscreen isn't.
Attachments
Screenshot2.jpg
(80.47 KiB) Downloaded 1235 times
Screenshot.jpg
(102.87 KiB) Downloaded 1252 times

User avatar
Billtoo
Posts: 3720
Joined: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 13:47
Location: Ontario Canada

Slacko32/64 700 BETA 2

#477 Post by Billtoo »

I did a new Slacko-6.9.6.4 woof-CE auto build using the 4.10.7 kernel which was compiled with the kernel kit:

System: Host: puppypc17708 Kernel: 4.10.7-4G i686 (32 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2 Distro: Slacko Puppy 6.9.6.4
Machine: Device: desktop System: Hewlett-Packard product: HPE-410f serial:
Mobo: FOXCONN model: 2AB1 v: 1.00 BIOS: American Megatrends v: 6.02 date: 07/21/2010
CPU: Hexa core AMD Phenom II X6 1045T (-MCP-) speed/max: 800/2700 MHz
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5550/5570/5630/6510/6610/7570]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
tty size: 143x48 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1008.2GB (6.1% used)
Info: Processes: 207 Uptime: 51 min Memory: 201.6/3280.3MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8

Working well so far.

******************************************************************

I also installed it to my Acer laptop:

System: Host: puppypc6855 Kernel: 4.10.7-4G i686 (32 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.2 Distro: Slacko Puppy 6.9.6.4
Machine: System: Acer (portable) product: Aspire V5-571P v: V2.17
serial:
Mobo: Acer model: Aspire V5-571P v: V2.17 serial:
Bios: Phoenix v: V2.17 date: 02/27/2013
Battery BAT0: charge: 19.8 Wh 96.7% condition: 20.5/25.0 Wh (82%)
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3-3227U (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 800/1901 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
Display Server: X.org 1.18.3 driver: intel tty size: 112x38 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Card-2: Broadcom Limited BCM43228 802.11a/b/g/n driver: bcma-pci-bridge
Drives: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (2.5% used)
Info: Processes: 198 Uptime: 1:44 Memory: 206.0/3341.2MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.0

The built-in wireless and the touchscreen work.
Attachments
Screenshot2.jpg
(116.94 KiB) Downloaded 1056 times
Screenshot.jpg
(53.49 KiB) Downloaded 1151 times
Last edited by Billtoo on Fri 31 Mar 2017, 20:22, edited 1 time in total.

Sailor Enceladus
Posts: 1543
Joined: Mon 22 Feb 2016, 19:43

#478 Post by Sailor Enceladus »

There's an updated puppy_icon_theme and busybox and parcellite template available. They have not been made into pets in the repository yet for woof-CE to grab them though so I guess we need to compile them to see them (or something like that :) ):

https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/puppy_icon_theme and http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 089#949089
https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/p ... slacko_142

User avatar
battleshooter
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed 14 May 2008, 05:10
Location: Australia

#479 Post by battleshooter »

Epic multiscreen wallpaper you got going there Billtoo hah
[url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94580]LMMS 1.0.2[/url], [url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94593]Ardour 3.5.389[/url], [url=http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94629]Kdenlive 0.9.8[/url]

Sailor Enceladus
Posts: 1543
Joined: Mon 22 Feb 2016, 19:43

#480 Post by Sailor Enceladus »

I noticed that even though Slacko 6.9.x doesn't have unrar (and the one in Slackware doesn't align the fields in Xarchive correctly), you can use 7z to extract rar archives. I wonder how hard it would be to make a 7z wrapper for rar instead...

Sailor Enceladus
Posts: 1543
Joined: Mon 22 Feb 2016, 19:43

#481 Post by Sailor Enceladus »

Something random --- If you have dreams of recording an 18 hour video with Pavrecord in Slacko, don't be surprised if the audio stops recording at exactly 3:20:53 (3 hours, 20 minutes, and 53 seconds) while the video continues to record. I tried this twice, saving to /mnt/sda2/capture (not in ram) on a drive with a lot of space, the first time using 320kbps mp3 cbr and the second time using 192kbps mp3 cbr, and each time the sound stopped recording/writing to disk at exactly that second. I wonder what the significance of 3:20:53 is... (I told you this message would be random, but it's true :lol: ).

User avatar
rufwoof
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 17:47

#482 Post by rufwoof »

Sailor Enceladus wrote:Something random --- If you have dreams of recording an 18 hour video with Pavrecord in Slacko, don't be surprised if the audio stops recording at exactly 3:20:53 (3 hours, 20 minutes, and 53 seconds) while the video continues to record. I tried this twice, saving to /mnt/sda2/capture (not in ram) on a drive with a lot of space, the first time using 320kbps mp3 cbr and the second time using 192kbps mp3 cbr, and each time the sound stopped recording/writing to disk at exactly that second. I wonder what the significance of 3:20:53 is... (I told you this message would be random, but it's true :lol: ).
Barring any better advice ... rings a bell, but I can't recall from where :(

200 minute XML sound setting in ffmpeg or something like that. I did a quick google search to no avail.

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#483 Post by 01micko »

@sailor.. 32 or 64? Might be an integer overflow. 64 should fare better.

BTW.. can you point me to that firmware sfs that you use to fix your wireless?
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

mcewanw
Posts: 3169
Joined: Thu 16 Aug 2007, 10:48
Contact:

#484 Post by mcewanw »

Sailor Enceladus wrote:Something random --- If you have dreams of recording an 18 hour video with Pavrecord in Slacko, don't be surprised if the audio stops recording at exactly 3:20:53 (3 hours, 20 minutes, and 53 seconds) while the video continues to record. I tried this twice, saving to /mnt/sda2/capture (not in ram) on a drive with a lot of space, the first time using 320kbps mp3 cbr and the second time using 192kbps mp3 cbr, and each time the sound stopped recording/writing to disk at exactly that second. I wonder what the significance of 3:20:53 is... (I told you this message would be random, but it's true :lol: ).
No idea what would cause that... I would be interested to know if weX has the same issue - I'm of course hoping it doesn't. I suggest that weX performs better than pAVrecord anyway. Though it also relies on ffmpeg to do the underlying recording, weX works differently (recording audio and video streams at same time whereas pAVrecord records them separately and then joins them at the end).

William
github mcewanw

mcewanw
Posts: 3169
Joined: Thu 16 Aug 2007, 10:48
Contact:

#485 Post by mcewanw »

Hmmm... just read that the plastic ends up converted to ethylene glycol (antifreeze...). Alas that ethylene glycol is more than a little toxic (and can apparently cause abnormal births if pregnant women exposed to its fumes as far as I've read elsewhere). Perhaps I'm missing something about this wonder-process?
github mcewanw

Post Reply