(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 25 Jan 2021, 15:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko32/64 700 BETA 2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 20 of 35 [522 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, ..., 33, 34, 35 Next
Author Message
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 461
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Wed 21 Sep 2016, 15:01    Post subject:  

Sailor Enceladus wrote:
jlst wrote:
Regarding the puppy saves, you have your stuff hidden somewhere. do you use the PSUBDIR boot param?

This is a new thing. It doesn't look in the subdirectories in all partitions unless you specify
where, to save time for those (most?) who don't want it to search everywhere, I think.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107178


I normally just boot off the CD without entering any boot params and wasn't aware of the changes listed in the post you've linked to (I've only recently returned to Puppy testing so am still a little out of the loop). To be honest I've never really had any problems with waiting for it searching for the files, the only occasions where it causes a significant delay are when I've forgotten to eject a floppy disk.

IIRC Puppy knows how it's booted, would it be possible for it to detect it's booted from a CD and search one directory deep (thus finding my files) in that instance? I know that on a typical Frugal or Full one has usually told the system where the files are in menu.lst (for example).

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 21 Sep 2016, 15:27    Post subject: Slacko64-v7a3 testing  

Boots via DVD without issues to a BIOS 64bit non-touch PC. Must commend the author for the latest Utility to add JAVA to the running system. Excellent, straight-forward, easily understood.

SAMBA SSM clearly sets up folders for sharing content with other Home devices.

ON this BIOS system, no real issues, thus far. On pristine boot, video, audio, keyboard, firewall, wired-network, all working without issues. Thanks to all on this alpha3's current progress.

This system is "really" a VERY USER FRIENDLY PUP distro. It demonstrates how far PUPPY LInux has come in making it so easy for users to use, understand as well as to extend its ability to integrate within the home.

Have seen an issue with the current pBurn when complete blanking a disc. (This has been reported on another thread). And, there seems to be a minor issue with its buffering as noted in the progress screen.


Next test is to start KVM (QEMU) to use for booting-testing PUP ISO/IMG(s).

Update1:ROX icon issue; not showing green indicator f/mounted CIF resource. I have a mount of a LAN resource mounted at /mnt/TV/Download. Although the green indicator doesn't show, the folder is populated as it should be. Low priority as all functions well.

Update2: PPM issue 1 In preparation for QEMU's addition to the pristine system, I Used the PPM to config itself. When it updated, it ran into issues as noted in the last screen, below. Not sure what to make of the Update error shown in the Update Progress file attached below.



Update3: PPM issue 2 Searched for QEMU. PPM shows 3 items: V2.6 available (Salix), V2.4 available and the QEMU Control Center (none of which is showing "Installed"). I selected V2.6 only. After successful completion, the PPM screen now shows V2.4 AND V2.4 INSTALLED.
I NEVER selected V2.4. Confusing is the issue in this update. Low priority assuming all functions well.


...................................................................................
Report, below, applies to Update2, above
PPMupdateError.txt.fake.gz
Description  Remove the "FAKE" extension and review the last few lines of the PPM update report.
gz

 Download 
Filename  PPMupdateError.txt.fake.gz 
Filesize  4 KB 
Downloaded  169 Time(s) 

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Wed 21 Sep 2016, 17:31; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6629
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 21 Sep 2016, 17:08    Post subject:  

Info in usr/share/doc/home.htm is somewhat outdated, isn't it.

Actually, many of the Puppy pages in /usr/share/doc should have been updated. Maybe a task for someone with the liking of written words...

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6629
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 21 Sep 2016, 17:10    Post subject:  

gcmartin
Did you follow the instructions on your screenshot? Did you reload the disc before verifying? I can't see any unusual with the screenshot.

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1566

PostPosted: Wed 21 Sep 2016, 17:19    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
Info in usr/share/doc/home.htm is somewhat outdated, isn't it.

Actually, many of the Puppy pages in /usr/share/doc should have been updated. Maybe a task for someone with the liking of written words...

I tried making a wi-fi page for "How to get on the Internet" once, maybe someone can do better? Laughing
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=916955#916955
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 21 Sep 2016, 17:35    Post subject:  

@Zigbert. Yes, I did. This has occurred on several occasions last couple days with the recent use in 3 different distros; 32bit and 64bit with .16 and .17 versions.

If there is other reports you want from me, I will post where you indicate I should. The 5 64bit PC&Laptops I have are almost a decade old.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 21 Sep 2016, 19:30    Post subject:  

Additional findings:
PPM Seamonkey addition is missing libs

HDMI on NUC6i7KYK has video but no sound. Already reported, but, if this info is helpful, I am including it:

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6629
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 26 Sep 2016, 17:29    Post subject:  

I looked through DISTRO_PKGS_SPECS and found these packages...
Why are these required?

Code:
yes|cdparanoia|cdparanoia|exe,dev,doc,nls
yes|libcdio-paranoia|libcdio-paranoia|exe,dev,doc,nls
yes|bacon||exe
yes|libid3tag|libid3tag|exe,dev,doc,nls
yes|normalize|normalize|exe,dev,doc,nls

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 26 Sep 2016, 21:45    Post subject:  

Mick, as you move to Beta, check PM.
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1566

PostPosted: Tue 27 Sep 2016, 16:48    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
I looked through DISTRO_PKGS_SPECS and found these packages...
Why are these required?

Code:
yes|cdparanoia|cdparanoia|exe,dev,doc,nls
yes|libcdio-paranoia|libcdio-paranoia|exe,dev,doc,nls
yes|bacon||exe
yes|libid3tag|libid3tag|exe,dev,doc,nls
yes|normalize|normalize|exe,dev,doc,nls

I guess you have been following this? I don't know if anything still needs Bacon in Slacko 6.9.6.1 or its repository, if so I think the file /usr/bin/bacon can be moved to the devx though (as it seems to need the /usr/share/BaCon files and cc files from there to compile anyway). I actually liked the bacon welcome1stboot design more though, it had bigger writing and felt more inviting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Insomniacno1


Joined: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2016, 05:26    Post subject:  

Hi 01micko, good news. I got to the desktop on this 32bit Slacko. Touchscreen works - but not good to use as its extremely hard to hit anything, so it would be better with keyboard/mouse attached. My USB hub is out at a friends place(he is trying to find a power adapter) so can't test that right now, but here is the HW and followed by my procedure:

Odys WinTab 8 is an 8" Windows 8.1 Tablet powered by Intels Bay Trail-T platform with an Intel Atom Z3735E quadcore 64bit processor. Built in is a microSDHC slot for expansion of storage of up to 32GB. 1GB of RAM. 1 microUSB port which is host(OTG) capable and a 3.5mm headphone jack.

Manufacturer Odys
Model name Wintab 8
CPU type Intel Atom Z3735E
CPU speed 1330 Mhz
Graphics Intel HD (Gen 7 Baytrail)
Fanless YES
OS Microsoft Windows 8.1
Display Size 8.0" 1280 X 800
Screen Type LED-Backlit LCD
Touchscreen type Multi-touch
RAM 1024 MB
SSD 16 GB
Battery capacity 16 Wh
802.11 b/g/n
BT 4.0
No Wireless WAN (e.g. 3G cellular)

32bit UEFI bios

The bios can be accessed by holding both volume buttons while turning on the tablet, so you don't have to boot to windows first. Secure boot and quick boot is turned off by me.

The partition scheme is as follows:

1. 100MB EFI
2. Windows C: - Windows 8.1 with bing - 9.30GB with 3.20GB free
3. Recovery - 5.15GB used

Seems to be using Wimboot.

Procedure(with allot of help from people here):

I used mkusb to wipe my usb(Sandisk 32GB Dual USB drive, usb 2.0) totally, then gdisk to zap GPT partition table and remove MBR. Then partitioned and formatted with Gparted to Fat32 and made boot flag - and extracted Ted Dog's uefi.zip to the usb drive and copied slacko iso files to the usb, the edited grub.cfg with geany and added

Code:
kernel vmlinuz  pmedia=usbflash i915.modeset=0


made sure everything were as suppose to.

Files on usb :

devx_slacko_6.9.6.1.sfs
fdrv_slacko_6.9.6.1.sfs
puppy_slacko_6.9.6.1.sfs
zdrv_slacko_6.9.6.1.sfs
drivers (folder)
grub.cfg
Shellx64.efi
EFI (folder)
initrd.gz
slacko-6.9.6.1-uefi (folder)
keys (folder)
slacko-6.9.6.1-uefi.iso


Added the renamed grubia32.efi, now bootia32.efi to /EFI/boot/

Unmount the usb and eject it.

Then boot to Tablets boot manager, and choose boot options.
Choose EFI USB Device

I get the boot menu were I can choose slacko-6.9.6.1-uefi.iso

I choose slacko-6.9.6.1-uefi.iso then it starts booting and find the required .sfs files and goes to desktop.


The 64bit did the same but hanged after reaching the desktop.


I have sent you pm with a link to a file that contains my setup, just extract it to a "clean" Fat32 formatted usb with boot flag. You should add devx yourself. Let me know when you have downloaded it so i can remove it from Dropbox:)


For anyone interested, they can follow my efforts here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=108295
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 807
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2016, 17:09    Post subject: Slacko64 Alpha 3  

FYI

It appears Slacko64 Alpha 3 has taken care of the HP printing issue!

Installed hplip package from PPM... printer and scanner both work now on my HP 1050 All-In-One.

On with testing........

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8787
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2016, 19:10    Post subject:  

gyro wrote:


1. Major problems displaying application windows, e.g. geany.
Soloution: Add /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-intel.conf file containing:
Code:
Section "Device"
   Identifier  "Intel Graphics"
   Driver      "intel"
   Option      "AccelMethod"  "uxa"
EndSection
I have the same problem with xenialpup.


Ok, I now see this too on my wife's mackbook air (using 'el capitan'), so I added the intel.conf and it is fixed.

I tested out a script to make a USB install for UEFI (this machine requires it - only one in the house) and it works fine on a FAT 32 stick based on jamesbonds method here.

I see Insomniaco1 has sent me something similar in a PM. I'll check it out soon.

Whatever eventuates, I'll include some sort of UEFI install to usb script in the grub-efi package in woof.


-----------------------------------

sszindian - thats good. Cool. Glad you can now print. I have some troubles scanning. But I do think its my scanner (canon mp490 - old now) as it is acting up in my old slacko install too after being stable for a long while; printing is fine though.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   shot showing savefile and UEFI boot stuffs.
 Filesize   46.3 KB
 Viewed   426 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg


_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8787
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2016, 19:52    Post subject:  

@Insomniaco1

So your problem is that you need 32 bit UEFI? That isn't good as only a small number (supposedly) require 32 bit. I suppose for final testing (in a month or 2) I can add that but for now I don't have the bandwidth to upload 3 or 4 iso images.

Anyway, attached is my pet for UEFI USB installing. As mentioned, I tested on the mackbook air and it is working acceptably. The touchpad is crap (no right click or scrolling) but I use a mouse on it anyway. Sound and wifi [bcrmsmac] worked ootb, as they have in previous slackos (before the thing needed EFI boot).
UEFI-usb-installer-0.1-noarch.pet
Description  Only useful if you want to boot an UEFI machine. Legacy BIOS is NOT supported.
pet

 Download 
Filename  UEFI-usb-installer-0.1-noarch.pet 
Filesize  5.26 KB 
Downloaded  149 Time(s) 

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2016, 20:35    Post subject:  

@01Micko. If you have a HDMI TV, would you test a boot to it? Video has worked on the few test TVs, but, seem to be an issue with sound. Are you and anyone else experiencing sound issues over the HDMI cable to the TV's speakers?
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 20 of 35 [522 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, ..., 33, 34, 35 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0888s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0302s) ][ GZIP on ]