Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 27 Jun 2017, 17:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
FluxPup 1.6.1 PAE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [37 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 888
Location: Alaska

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2016, 21:08    Post subject:  FluxPup 1.6.1 PAE
Subject description: ext4 fixed
 

Hello Everyone,

FluxPup-1.6.1. pae this is a 32bit os I had a lot of trouble woofing this pup for some reason woof-CE would not recognize some files that I had added so I built the main iso and than added what files I needed to put in.

SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS:
1gb of ram and 1.5ghz single core processor Do try this on older hardware and see how it does.

DOWNLOAD:
FluxPup-1.6.1 http://smokey01.com/Oldyeller/fluxpup/fluxpup-1.6.1.iso It's 163mb md5 ef7a41f63ee5a5bdef0f18238817115c

devx_fluxpup-1.6.1.sfs http://smokey01.com/Oldyeller/fluxpup/devx_fluxpup_1.6.1.sfs md5 32fdc2aebcdb834effe46cba147f3a87

INFORMATION:
I have kept 3.9.11 kernel in the build. I have added updated pets to this, but since I had to add them manually test everything well and let me know what doesn't work if anything. I have installed LaZY-FReD so one can download more sfs and pets from other repositories such as fluxpup repository. One can still build sfs files such as zdrive and adrive as well as taking sfs and turning them into pets. I have installed FireFox-23. This will be the last FluxPup built from precise. I have added updated pets to the fluxpup repository. The latest pmusic does play on this pup you will just need to download it.

If anyone wants to put the root menu on the taskbar this is how to do it.

find this line in the init, it is in ~/.fluxbox folder- session.screen0.toolbar.tools: RootMenu, prevworkspace, workspacename, nextworkspace, iconbar, systemtray, clock. You can just copy and paste this into it as well.

If anyone wants to compile any new pets post them here and I will up load them to the repo

Enjoy

Last edited by oldyeller on Wed 28 Dec 2016, 18:28; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1449
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2016, 21:13    Post subject:  

mirrored here: http://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_FluxPup

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6696
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2016, 02:40    Post subject:  

Just a quick live test. All basics working on initial boot.

Updated Firefox to 45.0.2. Looks good from just a quick test.

Code:
-Computer-
Processor      : 6x AMD FX(tm)-6300 Six-Core Processor
Memory      : 16530MB (311MB used)
Machine Type      : Physical machine
Operating System      : FluxPup - 1.6.1
User Name      : root (root)
Date/Time      : Mon 15 Aug 2016 01:35:38 AM CDT
-Display-
Resolution      : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer      : Gallium 0.4 on NVA8
X11 Vendor      : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter      : HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
Audio Adapter      : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia

Code:

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: FluxPup, version 1.6.1

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GT218 [GeForce 210] (rev a2)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
  Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768x16
  Depth (bits, or planes):              24
  Modules requested to be loaded:       dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
  Driver loaded (and currently in use): nouveau
  Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 exa extmod fb glx kbd mouse record shadowfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
  Resolution:  1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
  Depth:       24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Belham

Joined: 07 Jan 2016
Posts: 133

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2016, 06:16    Post subject: Sublime  

Downloaded ISO, md5sum checked.

Frugal install to 1GB SDHC card.

Loaded Grub4dos after copying over ISO contents.

Boots right up, nice & fast.

Installed ARandR, dual monitors smooth w/ no problems. Basically all else needed is already included.

Machine specs install is on:
-Computer-
Processor : 2x AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+
Memory : 1805MB (207MB used)
Machine Type : TimeFusion Einstein machine
Operating System : FluxPup - 1.6.1
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Mon 15 Aug 2016 11:29:22 AM CEST
-Display-
Resolution : 2560x1024 pixels
Dual Monitors
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on AMD RS780
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA ATI HDMI
-Input Devices-
Logitech Logitech USB Keyboard/Mouse
Power Button
Power Button
HDA ATI SB Line
HDA ATI SB Front Mic
HDA ATI SB Rear Mic
HDA ATI SB Front Headphone
HDA ATI SB Line Out Side
HDA ATI SB Line Out CLFE
HDA ATI SB Line Out Surround
HDA ATI SB Line Out Front
HDA ATI HDMI HDMI/DP,pcm

Browser updated (sort of, lol) to FF27, running Https Everywhere, Better Privacy, Ublock Origin & Self-Destructng Cookies...all no problems.

Gnome player, tried with various format videos, all play.

The speed, simplicity & fun of fluxbox....the true essence of puppy, at only 187MB ISO (207MB in RAM). Thank you, Oldyeller! Smile Very Happy
fluxpup2c.png
 Description   
 Filesize   180.81 KB
 Viewed   2867 Time(s)

fluxpup2c.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Volhout

Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 487

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2016, 13:10    Post subject: Test on EeePC
Subject description: works fine
 

Hi Oldyeller,

Your Fluxpup 1.6. works fine on my eeePC X101CH. Via Frisbee been able to connect to wireless (SNS does not work).
Since this is a small screen (1024x600) I needed to run xorgwizard to select modesetting and the correct size, but from there it works.
Only noticed one problem on my eeePC (or is it my limitted knowledge of fluxbox): I cannot use the mouse at the edges of a window to scale the window to my likings (useful on a small screen).

works:
wifi, touchpad (multifinger gestures also), browser, youtube (didn't ven complain about updates), mounting (running from USB stick now). Save file, custom config (wbar bottom, drive icons left side, concky config), sound (also Fn keys) brightness (als Fn keys), battery,

Any idea about resizing windows ?


Any help ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 888
Location: Alaska

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2016, 16:17    Post subject:  

Hi Volhout,

I have adjusted many windows, the corners are very touchy with the pointer use the corners of the window the edges are not adjustable. Some windows are not adjustable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Volhout

Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 487

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2016, 16:38    Post subject: Fluxbox is new to me  

Hi Oldyeller,

I realized soo after asking the question that only the corners are sensitive, but thanks for the confirmation.

You could help me get familiar with fluxbox by answering following questions.

- can I set the default opening size of windows? Currently they are too wide. I saw a setting of 75% somewhere, but they open at 1300 pixels or so where my screen is 1024.

- How does the fluxbox menu generate. On JWM/ROX you add desktop files to /usr/share/applications, type 'fixmenus' and restart JWM. How does that work in fluxbox ? I want to add arduino. I managed to drag the desktop file to the desktop. I managed to get arduino on WBAR, but did not find how to get it in the menu.

Thanks in advance for your answers....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 888
Location: Alaska

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2016, 18:52    Post subject: Re: Fluxbox is new to me  

Volhout wrote:
Hi Oldyeller,


- can I set the default opening size of windows? Currently they are too wide. I saw a setting of 75% somewhere, but they open at 1300 pixels or so where my screen is 1024.

- How does the fluxbox menu generate. On JWM/ROX you add desktop files to /usr/share/applications, type 'fixmenus' and restart JWM. How does that work in fluxbox ? I want to add arduino. I managed to drag the desktop file to the desktop. I managed to get arduino on WBAR, but did not find how to get it in the menu.

Thanks in advance for your answers....



As far as opening size of window I don't think yo can change that but I could be wrong you can message dejan555 on that question he knows a lot more than me.

Fluxbox menu=put the desktop file in /usr/share/applications than on the menu go to Fluxbox-Menu Refresh Menu is what you press and than arduino should show up.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Robert123

Joined: 20 May 2016
Posts: 292
Location: Pacific

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2016, 03:08    Post subject:  

Machine: Dell D620 2 gig ram.
Sound and booting to desktop correct resolution work well. Connects to internet fine with intel 3945 wireless card using frisbee. Only thing noticed that wbar and conky took a while to boot up.

suggestion a Non-pae version would be nice.

_________________
Runs Stardust 013, AnitaOS 431 version - AnitaOS for retro hardware based on 4.31 but heavily updated:http://sourceforge.net/projects/anitaos/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 11743
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2016, 04:00    Post subject: Happy that my wake-up topics get Fluxpup at the top !  

Frecnch keyboard was the default on last version. Perhaps oldyeller took it in account. 1.6.1 will be downloaded soon, not in a hurry, 1.6.0 still available on a pendrive.
Happy that my wake-up topics make people consider again so nice Puppies, prepaired and released after so many controls : Olldyellers's Puppies are always bêta !
" You, and your wife who did the artwork, did a great job creating one of the most beautifull pups ever made. " Ah, I did not know that Smile
With 1.6.0 i appreciated the way of loading SFS (see 1.6.0 topic)
Fluxpup.jpg
 Description   Virtual Box Windows Seven
 Filesize   43.89 KB
 Viewed   865 Time(s)

Fluxpup.jpg


_________________
Damned Puppy, come back home with Papy Evil or Very Mad !

Last edited by Pelo on Thu 23 Feb 2017, 04:20; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 888
Location: Alaska

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2016, 04:24    Post subject:  

Robert123 wrote:
Machine: Dell D620 2 gig ram.
Only thing noticed that wbar and conky took a while to boot up.


Hi Robert123,
Yes I have notice that when changing the icons. will see if I can do anything about that or not.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Robert123

Joined: 20 May 2016
Posts: 292
Location: Pacific

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2016, 04:57    Post subject: Re: Happy that my wake-up topics get Fluxpup at the top !  

[quote="Pelo"
Happy that my wake-up topics make people consider again so nice Puppies, prepaired and released after so many controls : Olldyellers's Puppies are always bêta ![/quote]

Maybe when you postings on that topic are focused on that topic and actually have something to do with it. In this particular case it was Old Yellers's own decision.

_________________
Runs Stardust 013, AnitaOS 431 version - AnitaOS for retro hardware based on 4.31 but heavily updated:http://sourceforge.net/projects/anitaos/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 888
Location: Alaska

PostPosted: Wed 17 Aug 2016, 19:33    Post subject:  

Hello Everyone,

I have just uploaded the FluxPup-1..6.1 release I have fixed a few things that I saw.

The defaultaudioplayer is now set. pwidgets is removed didn't like the looks of it and it did make the changing of the icons just a tad bit faster.

Enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
117woofer

Joined: 01 Dec 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu 18 Aug 2016, 11:02    Post subject:  

Hello oldyeller
Thank you for your hard work.

I installed Fluxpup1.6.1 in usbstick( Ext4 format ) using UNetbootin.
Fluxpup was not able to make fluxpupsave.4fs.

Desktop drive icon(Ext4 format hard disc) indicated Ext3.
Why ?


My Fluxpup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 888
Location: Alaska

PostPosted: Thu 18 Aug 2016, 20:56    Post subject:  

117woofer wrote:
Hello oldyeller
Thank you for your hard work.

I installed Fluxpup1.6.1 in usbstick( Ext4 format ) using UNetbootin.
Fluxpup was not able to make fluxpupsave.4fs.

Desktop drive icon(Ext4 format hard disc) indicated Ext3.
Why ?


My Fluxpup


Hi 117woofer,
Will take a look at this as soon as I get a flash drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [37 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0683s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0084s) ][ GZIP on ]