Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 27 Aug 2016, 14:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Puppy's Firewall checkbox is checked by default
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
MichaelT

Joined: 01 Jun 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 00:06    Post subject:  Puppy's Firewall checkbox is checked by default
Subject description: "Query icanhazip.com for your external ip"
 

I just noticed that the check box next to the above subject description is checked by default.

1. What is the relevance?
2. Is there a security risk?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Robert123

Joined: 20 May 2016
Posts: 115
Location: Pacific

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 00:33    Post subject:  

Hi and welcome,

You may want to peruse this thread:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=749199
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 485

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 00:36    Post subject: Re: Firewall
Subject description: "Query icanhazip.com for your external ip"
 

MichaelT wrote:
is checked by default.

I think that's only true on older puppies?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 853
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 10:39    Post subject:  

Well, Slacko 5.7 isn't too old, and its checked. Wink
_________________
Linux user #498913
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 485

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 13:48    Post subject:  

8Geee wrote:
Well, Slacko 5.7 isn't too old, and its checked. Wink

Touché! Laughing 8Geee has made an up-to-date version of Slacko 5.7 here, for anyone who is curious. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6608
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 15:26    Post subject:  

Hello @MichaelT

On your question:
  1. BarryK, the current owner-developer of FirstRUN, seen at initial boot of your distro, made a mistake that he has since corrected, IIRC.
  2. In your distro, you may be using that flawed FirstRUN which starts it no matter what you select.
  3. If you are not using that flawed version, you can, quite by accident, mouse over the taskbar icon and accidentally start the Firewall (F/W) even after you may have stopped it.
  4. No, there is NO concern of issues or invasions, the F/W is placed there for the use by those whose PCs are DIRECTLY connected to the Internet via a modem or cell-modem.
For many of us, our PCs sit behind a router with F/W features rendering a PC F/W redundant. Thus, this community turns off and removes it from the taskbar to eliminate inadvertent clicking which will impact services we might have active on our PCs.

Others find additional comfort in use of a personal PC firewall. Thus it is a personal decision to use/not.

Hope this is helpful

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MichaelT

Joined: 01 Jun 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 22:46    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Hello @MichaelT

On your question:
  1. BarryK, the current owner-developer of FirstRUN, seen at initial boot of your distro, made a mistake that he has since corrected, IIRC.
  2. In your distro, you may be using that flawed FirstRUN which starts it no matter what you select.
  3. If you are not using that flawed version, you can, quite by accident, mouse over the taskbar icon and accidentally start the Firewall (F/W) even after you may have stopped it.
  4. No, there is NO concern of issues or invasions, the F/W is placed there for the use by those whose PCs are DIRECTLY connected to the Internet via a modem or cell-modem.
For many of us, our PCs sit behind a router with F/W features rendering a PC F/W redundant. Thus, this community turns off and removes it from the taskbar to eliminate inadvertent clicking which will impact services we might have active on our PCs.

Others find additional comfort in use of a personal PC firewall. Thus it is a personal decision to use/not.

Hope this is helpful
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0467s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0078s) ][ GZIP on ]