Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Sep 2018, 21:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Xenialpup64 CE 7.5 / 25 Nov 2017
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 47 of 49 [731 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 45, 46, 47, 48, 49 Next
Author Message
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1183

PostPosted: Wed 20 Jun 2018, 05:33    Post subject:  

watchdog wrote:
I do not recommend using pulseaudio in puppy but I did some experiments.

I didn't talk about how to use it or how to install it, or if it is recommended or not. I talk about a bug, that's all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1663
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed 20 Jun 2018, 06:23    Post subject:  

linuxcbon wrote:

I didn't talk about how to use it or how to install it, or if it is recommended or not. I talk about a bug, that's all.


I do not think it's a bug: puppy does not use pulseaudio but some libs (example libpulse) are required so PPM declares pulseaudio installed but it's not the full pulseaudio: only what makes puppy working with alsa.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1183

PostPosted: Wed 20 Jun 2018, 06:36    Post subject:  

watchdog wrote:
I do not think it's a bug: puppy does not use pulseaudio but some libs (example libpulse) are required so PPM declares pulseaudio installed but it's not the full pulseaudio: only what makes puppy working with alsa.

It's a bug because pulseaudio is declared as installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lcpuppy

Joined: 18 Jun 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 21 Jun 2018, 00:14    Post subject: apache server  

rockedge wrote:
I have set up hundreds of Apache servers on Puppy Linux. Xenial runs a LAMP server very well.
I always select ALL in /etc/apache2/conf-avialable and SYM-LINK them in conf-enabled.
This I also must do to /etc/apache2/mods-avialable. With the mods be sure to disable mpm-worker and mpm-events by removing the symlinks in mods-enabled.

be sure to also enable the sites config in /etc/apache2/sites-enabled.

look up the utility a2enmod and a2dismod ...I just manually create the needed symlinks.... on Ubuntu the install does do some of these tasks in Puppy Linux I have only found the manual way to work 100%


Rockedge, Thank You for the feedback. That gives me the lay-of-the-land.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1183

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jul 2018, 20:23    Post subject:  

Xenialpup64 7.5

I installed steam from quickpet -- fun , and it says :
Code:
root# steam
Setting up Steam content in /root/.local/share/Steam
  File "/usr/bin/steamdeps", line 367
   
    ^
SyntaxError: EOF while scanning triple-quoted string literal
Running Steam on puppy_xenialpup64 7.5 64-bit
STEAM_RUNTIME is enabled automatically
Error: You are missing the following 32-bit libraries, and Steam may not run:
libstdc++.so.6
/root/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/steam: error while loading shared libraries: libstdc++.so.6: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64
/root/.local/share/Steam/steam.sh: line 444: no match: ssfn*


I installed 32 bit compatibility libraries sfs and then I got the same error.
What did I miss ?

----

OK I solved it by running
Code:
#ldconfig

after loading the sfs libraries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pp4mnklinux


Joined: 23 Aug 2013
Posts: 214

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jul 2018, 09:46    Post subject: Is it possible to install COMPIZ FUSSION IN XENIAL PUP?  

Hello every body:

Is it possible to install compiz fussion in xenial pup?

if "Yes" How must I do it?

THANKY

_________________
Kernel : Linux 4.9.58 (x86_64)
Version : #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Nov 13 15:54:01 GMT 2017
C Library : GNU C Library version 2.23 (stable)

Distribution: xenial pup 7.5 x64


http://www.protopage.com/pp4mnkt3am#puPPy_Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3550
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2018, 15:23    Post subject: Xenialpup64 CE 7.5 / 25 Nov 2017  

New install of xenialpup64 to a 64gb flash drive:

System: Host: puppypc5044 Kernel: 4.9.113 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.7 Distro: xenialpup64 7.5
Machine: Mobo: Acer model: Aspire X3950 serial: U02C120500059
Bios: American Megatrends v: P01-A3 date: 05/05/2010
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3 540 (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 1200/3067 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
tty size: 116x25 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 563.2GB (1.6% used)
Weather: Conditions: 82 F (28 C) - Partly Cloudy Time: July 17, 3:09 PM EDT
Info: Processes: 186 Uptime: 1:19 Memory: 267.7/5895.4MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35

Added some applications with PPM, also downloaded and added the Kodi
sfs from the ibiblio puppy linux website.
Compiled the newest kernel and changed to that.

Working well so far,
Thanks.

EDIT: I took a shortcut to install xenialpup64 to a 32gb flash drive by
booting Slacko64,preparing the drive with gparted,then copying the
xenialpup64 savefile to the 32gb flash drive and running grub4dos to
the 32gb drive only.

System: Host: puppypc5044 Kernel: 4.9.113 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.7 Distro: xenialpup64 7.5
Machine: System: Hewlett-Packard product: HPE-410f serial: MXX0370KF3
Mobo: FOXCONN model: 2AB1 v: 1.00 Bios: American Megatrends v: 6.02 date: 07/21/2010
CPU: Hexa core AMD Phenom II X6 1045T (-MCP-) speed/max: 1400/2700 MHz
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5550/5570/5630/6510/6610/7570]
Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 driver: radeon tty size: 124x24 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1031.7GB (1.0% used)
Weather: Conditions: 77 F (25 C) - Mostly Cloudy Time: July 17, 9:03 PM EDT
Info: Processes: 205 Uptime: 58 min Memory: 274.5/7984.2MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35

On first boot I had to run xorgwizard to setup the graphics, also
changed a couple of other settings.

Working well on this pc too.
screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   96.73 KB
 Viewed   764 Time(s)

screenshot2.jpg

screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   75.92 KB
 Viewed   792 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3550
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 19 Jul 2018, 23:06    Post subject: Xenialpup64 CE 7.5 / 25 Nov 2017  

I used the same shortcut as in the above post to install to a 32GB
SDHC card:

System: Host: puppypc5044 Kernel: 4.9.113 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: JWM 2.3.7 Distro: xenialpup64 7.5
Machine: System: Acer product: Aspire R3610 serial: PTSCX0205302001AC12700
Mobo: Acer model: FMCP7A-ION-LE serial: U020102009703
Bios: American Megatrends v: P01-A4 date: 11/03/2009
CPU: Dual core Intel Atom 330 (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 1599/1600 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA ION VGA
Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
tty size: 105x26 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: NVIDIA MCP79 Ethernet driver: forcedeth
Card-2: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Drives: HDD Total Size: 192.1GB (3.8% used)
Weather: Conditions: 68 F (20 C) - Partly Cloudy Time: July 19, 10:47 PM EDT
Info: Processes: 181 Uptime: 1:07 Memory: 219.9/1496.4MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35

The nouveau driver is working well, sound configured and worked fine
with Kodi but had trouble with Vlc so I'm using an usb sound card that
works well with both.

Thanks.

EDIT:
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Fri 20 Jul 2018 on xenialpup64 7.5 Linux 4.9.113 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation ION VGA (rev b1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: MCP79 Board - hornet-0 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.18.4
dimensions: 1600x900 pixels (442x251 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: ION/integrated/SSE2
OpenGL core profile version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 340.107

Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU 330 @ 1.60GHz
Core 0: @1599 1: @1599 2: @1599 3: @1599 MHz

I decided to try the proprietary driver so downloaded and compiled the
newest.
The processor uses less resources when streaming video and runs cooler
as well.

Edit: I updated the kernel and loaded the new kernel sources sfs, then compiled the nvidia driver again.
screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   100 KB
 Viewed   543 Time(s)

screenshot2.jpg

screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   70.43 KB
 Viewed   695 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Tue 24 Jul 2018, 22:52; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3550
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 21 Jul 2018, 15:50    Post subject: Xenialpup64 CE 7.5 / 25 Nov 2017  

I did a new install to a usb-3.0 SSD, computer is a Macmini:

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sat 21 Jul 2018 on xenialpup64 7.5 Linux 4.9.113 x86_64
2.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)
oem: Intel(R) Sandybridge/Ivybridge Graphics Chipset Accelerated VGA BIOS
product: Intel(R) Sandybridge/Ivybridge Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0

X Server: Xorg Driver: evdev
X.Org version: 1.18.4
dimensions: 3840x1080 pixels (1013x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Intel Open Source Technology Center
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ivybridge Mobile
OpenGL core profile version string: 3.3 (Core Profile) Mesa 17.0.7

Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3210M CPU @ 2.50GHz
Core 0: @1200 1: @1200 2: @1300 3: @1200 MHz


I changed kernels to the newest,added applications with PPM.

It's working great, there is an annoying bug (up arrow key triggers mtpaint), I know that there is a
fix for this bug but have to do more reading to find it.
Also had to add intel_pstate=disable to the menu.lst file.

Thanks.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   29.29 KB
 Viewed   632 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
koulaxizis


Joined: 17 Jul 2011
Posts: 454
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2018, 10:34    Post subject:  

Hello everyone! Smile

Fisrt of all, thank you very much for this great release, absolutely loved it!!

Not sure if anyone came across those issues, so I'm gonna report them anyway! :p

- Missing battery icon. There is just a "blank placeholder" where the battery icon should appear. If I hover it, I can view the battery status, right-click it etc, but there is no icon at all.

- Missing Steam icon. There is just a white icon with an "X" symbol on it. Just like the above case, I can fully interact when I hover it, but there is no actual Steam icon.

- False Pplog shortcut. If you start the Hiawatha server and then press PPLOG to start, you will get the "Puppy Printing" window instead of PPLOG.

- Keyboard configuration error. I added a second layout, choose the variant, choose the toggle setting, works fine until I reboot the system. I have to set it up all over again each time.

That's all for now. If you can help me somehow with the above issues (especially the last one, it's frustrating), I'd be grateful!

_________________
Christos Koulaxizis
Woof woof from Greece!

[ Puppy Stuff Repository ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11018
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jul 2018, 00:27    Post subject:  

Quote:
Keyboard configuration error. I added a second layout, choose the variant, choose the toggle setting, works fine until I reboot the system. I have to set it up all over again each time.

Try this.
Go to startup directory.
Inside there is the disabled directory.
Open the disabled directory.
There is a file keyboardlayoutfix
Move this file to the startup directory.
Reboot.
Now try your keyboard setup

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11018
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jul 2018, 00:30    Post subject:  

About the icons.
Have you changed icons set being used?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
koulaxizis


Joined: 17 Jul 2011
Posts: 454
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jul 2018, 05:36    Post subject:  

Quote:
Go to startup directory.
Inside there is...


Tried that after doing some search on the forum. No luck, unfortunately.

Quote:
About the icons.
Have you changed icons set being used?


Also tried! Same result. Not a big deal though, I can live with that!

Thank toy for the suggestions!! Smile

_________________
Christos Koulaxizis
Woof woof from Greece!

[ Puppy Stuff Repository ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3550
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jul 2018, 11:12    Post subject: Xenialpup64 CE 7.5 / 25 Nov 2017  

I moved this install from the SDHC card to the 2nd partition of the
hard drive and ran grub4dos,dual boots with Slacko64.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Fri 27 Jul 2018 on xenialpup64 7.5 Linux 4.9.115 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation ION VGA (rev b1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: MCP79 Board - hornet-0 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.18.4
dimensions: 1600x900 pixels (442x251 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: ION/integrated/SSE2
OpenGL core profile version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 340.107

Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU 330 @ 1.60GHz
Core 0: @1599 1: @1599 2: @1599 3: @1599 MHz

Updated kernel and re-installed the proprietary nvidia driver, also
switched to gkrellm from conky.
Works better from the hard drive.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   113.63 KB
 Viewed   410 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4148
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jul 2018, 20:55    Post subject:  

Evening, all.

I stated, quite early on in this thread, that I'd given Xenialpup64 a try, and.....well, I had problems with it. Multiple problems, in fact.

(This was back somewhere around version 7.0.8.1, or something like that. My Tahr64, getting somewhat long in the tooth nowadays, though still a darn good Pup, needs.....supplementing. With something a bit more modern.)

So; here we are, with Xenialpup64 7.5. And.....my goodness. What a difference! Running from a sub-directory on the big old Compaq's data drive, and using a save-file, formatted to ext3. (I've eschewed the save-folders. They might have their advantages in some ways, but they take an unholy long time to back-up. Save-files are much quicker.....and so long as you run pfix=fsck at boot, it'll usually nip any 'corruption' in the bud.)

I've got no reservations with it at all now. None whatsoever.

Wine; installed without a hitch from Quickpet. Likewise several other items. And everything's working as it should.

And, of course, it'll give me the chance to run a lot of AppImages, since they're almost all 64-bit nowadays.....

----------------------------------------------------

I've kinda lost track of just exactly who's working on it nowadays (I believe it was Phil's baby, originally).....but whoever it is, congratulations are definitely in order. Well done, whoever you are!

Posting this from my newly-produced Chrome 68 package.

Nice one.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 47 of 49 [731 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 45, 46, 47, 48, 49 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1774s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0968s) ][ GZIP on ]