Xenialpup64 CE 7.5 / 25 Nov 2017

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
User avatar
GeraSats
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri 24 Feb 2012, 19:56
Location: Ukraine, Donbass

#646 Post by GeraSats »



User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#647 Post by bigpup »

Xenialpup64 7.5
Frugal with save folder.

Cpu-frequency scaling tool
set to use the intel_pstate scaling driver.

This driver only has powersave or performance governors.
That is by design, so normal.

It defaults to performance.
If changed to powersave.
The change is shown as being made.
However it does not actually change.

The change is suppose to be recorded in /etc/init.d/wcpufreq

wcpufreq file has only this in it

Code: Select all

#!/bin/busybox ash
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

Ledster
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat 26 Aug 2006, 15:33
Location: Devon, England

#648 Post by Ledster »

HP 15bs162sa laptop, Intel i5-8250U quad core with Intel UHD graphics 620 chip built in, 4 Gb ddr4 memory, 1Tb hard disk, UEFI, Intel radio chip 3168NGW (AC3168).

Still sorting out my new laptop (running xenialpup64 7.5, frugal with save folder, usbstick).
Wireless and printing sorted, now it's the graphics turn.
The screen is rather dim and the keyboard keys for controlling brightness do not work. Windows 10 has complete control using the "Intel UHD Graphics Control Panel". Intel say the chip is supported on linux but they do not themselves supply a driver and I lost my way trying to follow there links for someone that does.
I did find files called "brightness" , "max_brightness" and "actual_brightness" in /sys/class/backlight/intel_backlight/. The brightness" file has the number 300 in it (and nothing else) and the file called "max_brightness" has 1500 in it. So tried changing the 300 to 500. Instant success! BUT it is not persistent and reverts to 300 on next restart.
So now I know it's possible to change the brightness, can anyone tell me how I should be doing it. I'm guessing there must be a program somewhere that can, but where?

Another minor problem I have is that the cpu temperature icon always says 27 degrees and only shows cpu frequencies when clicked. Haven't got anywhere with that yet.

All help/advice gratefully received!

Ledster

User avatar
greengeek
Posts: 5789
Joined: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 09:34
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

#649 Post by greengeek »

If you try the following syntax does it brighten the screen?

echo 500 > /sys/class/backlight/intel_backlight/brightness

If so, you could put that command into a /root/Startup script and it should set the brightness each time you boot or restart the X server.

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#650 Post by bigpup »

Go to menu->setup->Screen/Graphics wizard->monitor gamma calibration
In each color entry adjust equally
Negative number - to lower brightness
Positive number - to increase brightness.
Apply
exit
After closing program:
Select Yes to save current configuration.
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

Ledster
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat 26 Aug 2006, 15:33
Location: Devon, England

#651 Post by Ledster »

@Greengeek: It works.
I have made several files that write different numbers to "brightness" (300,500, 600, 700, 800). Just click on the files to vary the brightness - and putting the best one in startup works. Many thanks!

@bigpup: Also works - but colours look a little washed out. Sticking to Greengeek's idea.

Thanks for the help folks - best forum I've come across.

User avatar
ally
Posts: 1957
Joined: Sat 19 May 2012, 19:29
Location: lincoln, uk
Contact:

#652 Post by ally »

it took me a lot of trawling to resolve the brightness control on my lenovo x230, I also found how to get cpu frequency control

see the last 2 arguments on the end of my grub

Code: Select all

  kernel /xenial64_7.5/vmlinuz   psubdir=xenial64_7.5 pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck intel_pstate=disable acpi_osi="!Windows 2012"
:)

yuan
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu 07 Jan 2016, 13:12

Wine64 installation problems

#653 Post by yuan »

The installation of wine64-3.1_v4.1.pet, the following problems。

Code: Select all

sh-4.3# winecfg
Wine cannot find the ncurses library (libncurses.so.5).
Wine cannot find the FreeType font library.  To enable Wine to
use TrueType fonts please install a version of FreeType greater than
or equal to 2.0.5.
http://www.freetype.org
0009:err:module:load_builtin_dll failed to load .so lib for builtin L"winex11.drv": libXext.so.6: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64
0009:err:user:load_desktop_driver failed to load L"C:\\windows\\system32\\winex11.drv"
0009:err:module:load_builtin_dll failed to load .so lib for builtin L"l3codeca.acm": libmpg123.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
sh-4.3# 

User avatar
headfound
Posts: 371
Joined: Sun 25 Jun 2006, 00:58
Location: England
Contact:

#654 Post by headfound »

Greengeek and Ledster
I had the same problem with adjusting the brightness on my laptop and using your advice I now have three files to adjust my brightness at a click. Thanks!
Download a better Computer :)
[url=http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=rDTLJYDHX3g]Puppy Linux Song[/url]
[url=http://www.letterbyletter.co.uk]www.letterbyletter.co.uk[/url]

User avatar
greengeek
Posts: 5789
Joined: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 09:34
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

#655 Post by greengeek »

headfound wrote:I had the same problem with adjusting the brightness on my laptop and using your advice I now have three files to adjust my brightness at a click. Thanks!
Great, glad to hear that worked.

Some other users will find that their machines do not use "intel" backlight and will need a different script - the following one might work for some users:

Code: Select all

echo 5 > /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/brightness
However - the actual number which represents max brightness will be different for different hardware. On many machines it is possible to discover what value your machine sees as the max brightness level by running the following code:

Code: Select all

 cat /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/max_brightness
On my machine I also used a different method - I used "xbacklight" and put a couple of icons in the system tray to increase or decrease backlight intensity as required (see pic below). The good thing about xbacklight is that it allows you to increment and decrement the brightness rather than setting an absolute value. This means you can bind an "increment" script and a "decrement" script to the keyboard keys that should normally have these functions.

Hopefully xbacklight will be available in the xenial repos.
Attachments
xbacklight_controls.jpg
(12.76 KiB) Downloaded 1008 times

witekjeden
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue 12 Feb 2013, 03:36

#656 Post by witekjeden »

After installation XFCE cant replace Jwm. Wmswitcher not working.

Code: Select all

root# wmswitcher
woops, unsupported
root# 
How to switch on Xfce or other window manager?

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#657 Post by bigpup »

Where did you get a 64bit version of XFCE?

Well, I got it to work for me by doing this:
In Puppy Package Manager(PPM)
Searched for xfce.
Downloaded and installed xfce4_4.12.2 meta-package
It also downloaded and installed a bunch of xfce support and added files/packages.
So, it seems to have gotten the xfce needed files/packages.

Need to load the 32bit compatibility libs_xenial.sfs to probably run this version of wmswitcher. I think it is 32bit.

Installed this pet of wmswitcher and ran it from the menu>Desktop> WMswitcher

Note:
May have to restart graphical server to get wmswitcher to work.
Also, PPM still lists other added programs, specific to xfce, you can download.
Attachments
wmswitcher-0.18.pet
(18.5 KiB) Downloaded 182 times
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

User avatar
mikeslr
Posts: 3890
Joined: Mon 16 Jun 2008, 21:20
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

#658 Post by mikeslr »

Hi bigpup,

Thanks for finding the pet. I've unsuccessfully looked for one several times. And thanks for the information regarding how to obtain the xfce window manager.

bigpup: "Need to load the 32bit compatibility libs_xenial.sfs to probably run this version of wmswitcher. I think it is 32bit. "

I'm not sure that's necessary. Other than some icons and a /usr/share/applications/ desktop file, the pet consists of a bash script: /usr/sbin/wmswitcher. I didn't see any call to a binary or a library, 32-bit or 64-bit. anywhere in the script.

The section relating to changing to xfce reads:

#xfce4 changer #ditto icewm comment
XFCE(){
if [ -f $HOME/.gtkrc-2.0 ];then mv -f $HOME/.gtkrc-2.0 $HOME/.gtkrc-2.0.bak
fi
restartwm startxfce4
[ "$CURRENTWM" = "openbox" ]&& killall fbpanel
[[ "$CURRENTWM" = "startxfce4" || "$CURRENTWM" = "startfluxbox" || "$CURRENTWM" = "startkde" ]]&& killall X
}

As I always run wine, among the first things I do is install the 32-bit libraries. So I have no current way of checking. I'll try to remember to do so the next time I set up a 64-bit Puppy.

mikesLr

p.s. If you add the Whisker Menu plugin, you may find this information of value to "Puppifying" its structure. http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 426#961426

witekjeden
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue 12 Feb 2013, 03:36

#659 Post by witekjeden »

Thanks for reply. Yes, it was Xfce from PPM. The Xenialpup64 including wmswitcher 19 version. But now i guess a problem was my pendrive crashes because on the next one the wmswitcher starts works ok. Some of my poor pendrives crashes after format 2 partitions: fat32 for system and ext2 (or f2fs) for pupsave.

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#660 Post by bigpup »

bigpup: "Need to load the 32bit compatibility libs_xenial.sfs to probably run this version of wmswitcher. I think it is 32bit. "

I'm not sure that's necessary. Other than some icons and a /usr/share/applications/ desktop file, the pet consists of a bash script: /usr/sbin/wmswitcher. I didn't see any call to a binary or a library, 32-bit or 64-bit. anywhere in the script.
OK!
first things I do is install the 32-bit libraries
I do also. Just seems to eliminate problems with installing some of the pets I like to install.

I am still unclear on what makes a program 32bit or 64 bit with Puppy.
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

tutao
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu 22 Feb 2018, 14:17

boot up issue

#661 Post by tutao »

Download ISO image to usb flash then start up the computer from usb flash.
Could enter the 1st menu of Xenialpup.
Then choose an option. It showes to load Xenial pup linx but it will fail.

The error log shows can not find the puppy_xenialpup64_7.5.sfs.
Error is too critical, dropping out to conole....
Refer to the attached pictures for more details.
Some error log information is:

Feb 22 20:57:22 (none) kern.notice kernel: sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] 30310400 512-byte logical blocks: (15.5 GB/14.5 GiB)
Feb 22 20:57:22 (none) kern.notice kernel: sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Write Protect is off
Feb 22 20:57:22 (none) kern.debug kernel: sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Mode Sense: 45 00 00 00
Feb 22 20:57:22 (none) kern.notice kernel: sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Write cache: disabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
Feb 22 20:57:22 (none) kern.info kernel: sdb: sdb1
Feb 22 20:57:22 (none) kern.notice kernel: sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Attached SCSI removable disk
Feb 22 20:57:22 (none) kern.info kernel: clocksource: Switched to clocksource tsc
Feb 22 20:57:22 (none) kern.warn kernel: FAT-fs (sdb1): Volume was not properly unmounted. Some data may be corrupt. Please run fsck.
Feb 22 20:57:22 (none) kern.notice kernel: random: crng init done
Feb 22 20:57:35 (none) kern.warn kernel: FAT-fs (sdb1): Volume was not properly unmounted. Some data may be corrupt. Please run fsck.

It seems that sdb1 is mounted error in the puppy startup process.
Search the web and can not find a fix.

Then I made a frugal installation mannual by picking some files from ISO image. Start up it and will meet the same problem.

Any hints or suggestion? thanks.
Attachments
1stmenu.PNG
(197.9 KiB) Downloaded 3199 times
error.PNG
(231.02 KiB) Downloaded 3214 times

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#662 Post by bigpup »

I would reformat the USB drive.
I assume you are formatting to fat32.
Hopefully that will make sure the file system is clean and not corrupted or fragmented.

Maybe do a fresh new download of the Xenialpup64 7.5 iso. To make sure it is good.

When you install to the USB it needs to have all the files that are in the Xenialpup iso installed on it.

You seem to understand how to do this, so will not explain.

Could try a different USB port to plug into.

Added info:
In the complete total Xenialpup files you installed on the usb flash drive.

I am not sure which boot menu is being used by your computer, so look in both of them.
grub.cfg
isolinux.cfg

open in a text editor.
Look for pmedia=cd in an entry that does a normal boot.
Change it to pmedia=usbflash

That tells the boot process stuff is on a usb flash drive. That may help.
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

tutao
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu 22 Feb 2018, 14:17

#663 Post by tutao »

@bigpup, Thank you for your suggestions.

I tried some of your methods and did more investigations. Did find some interesting clues.

I actually met two issues with the same error information which are shoed in the earlier post.
I am using GRUB as the boot loader and config the menu.lst file.

1. Frugal installation.
I put all the xenial files in /xenialpup64-7.5/....
The relating menu.lst contentes are:
title Puppy xenialpup64 7.5 in sdb1 dir xenialpup64-7.5
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /xenialpup64-7.5/initrd.gz
# kernel /xenialpup64/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck
kernel /xenialpup64-7.5/vmlinuz rootwait rw
initrd /xenialpup64-7.5/initrd.gz

Then I met issue when puppy is booting to find sfs file.

I tried moving puppy_xenialpup64_7.5.sfs and zdrv_xenialpup64_7.5.sfs to the root directory /.
I got supprising result. xenialpuppy could start up succesfully. xenialpup64save file was also
saved in the root diretory.

How did other people handle with the frugal instalation? Did I missed some parameters to load xenial
in configuration file?

2. ISO image.
The ISO image is corect. I tried burning it to the CD then it could boot the computer succesfully.
Originally I also put it to the USB and use GRUB to load ISO image directly by menu.1st.

title LIVE CDROM xenialpup64-7.5
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /cdrom/xenialpup64-7.5-uefi.iso
map --mem --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 (hd0,0)/cdrom/xenialpup64-7.5-uefi.iso (hd32)
map --hook
chainloader (hd32)

Then I could enter the xenial CD menu. But failed in the xenial linux booting.

Again, how did other people to install xenial using usbflash? Did I missed some parameters?

Thanks again.

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#664 Post by bigpup »

I am not so sure your grub menu entry is correctly made for how Xenialpup boots.

Code: Select all

# kernel /xenialpup64/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck
That (#) is keeping this line from loading.
xenialpup64 is not the name of the directory you are using.

The second kernel line

Code: Select all

kernel /xenialpup64-7.5/vmlinuz rootwait rw
That is actually being used.
It should look like this to be correct.

Code: Select all

kernel /xenialpup64-7.5/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck
However, that may not be all that is wrong with the Grub menu entry.

If you just put all the files that are in the Xenialpup64 7.5.iso on the USB flash and not have them in a directory(folder) it should boot just like the CD.
Have no added boot loader.
The boot loader is already one of the files in the iso.
That is a live usb install.

If you are going to do the install inside of a directory.
That is a frugal install.
You will need a boot loader and it's menu.

The Grub4dos bootloader config, that is in any Puppy, will install the Grub4dos boot loader that is specially made to work with Puppy installs.
You could run it from the live CD you made.
When you run Grub4dos config select the USB as the device to install on.
Select search only within this device.
(all other settings are good as they are)
OK.
OK.
OK.
Done.

This is a typical Grub4dos menu entry for a frugal install on a USB flash drive.
Example:
The usb is sdd and Xenialpup is installed on partition sdd1.

Code: Select all

title Puppy xenialpup64 7.5 (sdd1/xenialpup6475uefi)
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /xenialpup6475uefi/initrd.gz
  kernel /xenialpup6475uefi/vmlinuz   psubdir=xenialpup6475uefi pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck
  initrd /xenialpup6475uefi/initrd.gz
That name you are giving to your directory could be a problem.
Notice in the example xenialpup6475uefi is the name used.
Keeping the name specific to the Puppy version and simple is best.
If the boot process has to search for stuff. It is looking for a specific directory name that is kind of coded into the initrd.gz.

If you did the frugal install using the Puppy Universal Installer, it would know what to name the directory the frugal install is in.

I have a USB flash drive with several frugally installed Puppies on it.
Grub4dos boot loader installed on the USB and an entry to boot each Puppy.
Works great.
Add or delete a Puppy.
Just rerun Grub4dos config to adjust the boot menu to the change.
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

User avatar
WB7ODYFred
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun 14 Dec 2008, 02:15
Location: Oregon & Washington

Etcher.io Tool to write a .ISO File to a USB Flash Drive

#665 Post by WB7ODYFred »

The internal format of the xenialpup64-7.5-uefi.iso file has a buggy MBR partition format information. Maybe the GPT table is not correct either.

Could someone check the MBR boot sector and partition table information on the present xenialpup64-7.5-uefi.iso file dated November 24, 2017 330M in size
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/puppy-xenial/64/

Using Command line

Code: Select all

dd if=xenialpup64-7.5-uefi.iso of=/dev/sdb bs=1M conv=sync
Produces the following error with a direct byte by byte copy from file to a usb flash drive.
fdisk -l /dev/sdb
WARNING: GPT (GUID Partition Table) detected on '/dev/sdb'! The util fdisk doesn't support GPT. Use GNU Parted.

Disk /dev/sdb: 15.7 GB, 15664676864 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1904 cylinders, total 30595072 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x63374e06



Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 * 0 675839 337920 0 Empty
/dev/sdb2 116 8307 4096 ef EFI (FAT-12/16/32)
Partition 1 at /dev/sdb1 does not have a partition format ID Type

Reading ArchLinux Wiki USB Flash installation media document for inspiration, they have you create the partitions table first then copy over the files to the newly created partitions.

So how do you create a USB Flash drive for XenialPup 7.5?
What is the official method from Windows to create a bootable flash drive for XenialPup 7.5?


Arch Linux Docs USB Flash Installation
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/US ... tion_media

Note Windows and Linux documentation for writing USB Flash with tools in the above Arch Docs



FatDog flash docs instructions

http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/fa ... ystem.html
http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/fa ... drive.html
http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/fa ... rive2.html

Ted Dog and Cat&Dog instructions to make a bootable UEFI USB Flash Drive
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 727#818727
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 706#865706


Chromiums OS disk format design docs
https://www.chromium.org/chromium-os/ch ... isk-format Chromium OS details the information for creating a GPT disk and has some visual charts.

Gentoo Wiki Installation Disks
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:A ... tion/Disks
Good information on Gentoo Wiki
Related Information:


How I ,Fred, made a bootable USB flash with Puppy for UEFI
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 913#983913
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... f33ee0a2fa

LIfeWire Master Boot Record MBR article
https://www.lifewire.com/what-is-a-mast ... br-2625936[/url]
Last edited by WB7ODYFred on Mon 26 Feb 2018, 14:48, edited 3 times in total.

Post Reply