Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Nov 2017, 12:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
ACER ASPIRE E15 no wireless connection(SOLVED)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
SFTMartin

Joined: 30 Aug 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon 27 Jun 2016, 18:55    Post subject:  ACER ASPIRE E15 no wireless connection(SOLVED)
Subject description: I cannot work out which module to install for acer aspire e 15
 

Hallo,
I have a new acer aspire e 15 which came with windows 10.
trying to run slacko 6.3.0 . Have tried all 3 internet tools but cannot connect to my router I tried MORE/ Autoprobe but it gave me " no new interfaces were detected"--can anyone point me to a way to identify the module I need ? Thank you !

Last edited by SFTMartin on Fri 01 Jul 2016, 10:53; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 254
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Mon 27 Jun 2016, 22:39    Post subject:  

I suspect you have a Broadcom chip & need Peebee's wl driver. Which one will depend on if your version of 6.3.0 - pae or non 32 bit or 64bit. You need to have bcma & others blacklisted also.
See link below (from halfway down page to end of next page):

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=884946
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFTMartin

Joined: 30 Aug 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 10:03    Post subject: network acer e15 aspire
Subject description: which module for acer e15 aspire
 

thanks for the link, I have downloaded the pet
for the 4.11.64 bit kernel // in mavrotils post 1 feb 2016
but no success so far.
you say i should blacklist bcma and others
bcma doesnt appear in my list of modules // which others should i blacklist ?

further i ran pupscan interfaces which gave me
NETWORK CONTROLLER ATHEROS DEVICE 0042
so maybe i dont have the broadcom ?
thanks for your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11721
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 10:13    Post subject:  

Run the command: lspci -nnk

Find the Network Controller section and identify the [vendor:product] ID codes, like [0846:9001].

Is a kernel driver being loaded for the device?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFTMartin

Joined: 30 Aug 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 10:22    Post subject:  

thanks
the terminal gives me 168c> 0042 rev 30
kernel module wl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11721
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 11:26    Post subject:  

Your [168c:0042] device is definitely Atheros, so the Broadcom wl driver is wrong.

But you need a new Atheros driver named ath10k_pci which is only available in recent 4.x kernels.

I found it in LxPupSc-16.06.203-R.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFTMartin

Joined: 30 Aug 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 12:54    Post subject:  

Hi, I downloaded
LxPupSc-16.06.203-R
and loaded the module ath10K_pci via the puppy network wizard but it reported back no interface found.

one detail I maybe should mention, I have a working wired connection on eth0
any ideas ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11721
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 13:27    Post subject:  

SFTMartin wrote:
and loaded the module ath10K_pci via the puppy network wizard

You should not need to do that. The module should be auto-detected and loaded.

Start again. Run "lspci -nnk" and "lsmod". Is ath10k being loaded?

Run "modinfo ath10k_pci" and check the list of firmware files. It looks like these are missing from LxPup. You can get them here.

Download the files and put them in /lib/firmware/ath10k.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 254
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 20:50    Post subject:  

Sorry for the earlier misdirection. Should have checked chipset first. I'm used to Acer having Broadcom chips in recent years.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFTMartin

Joined: 30 Aug 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2016, 07:03    Post subject:  

ozsouth and rcrsn51 : many thanks for your help so far.

still not getting there
i checked the list of firmware using modinfo then put the files that were missing in a new folder ath10k at lib/firmware/
when i run modinfo again they are not in the list
lpsci -nkk tells me that ath10k_pci is the network controller
--yet when i run network wizard i do have th eoption to load the module but when i do this it still doesnt give me an interface.

any ideas ?
thank you martin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11721
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2016, 07:27    Post subject:  

SFTMartin wrote:
i checked the list of firmware using modinfo then put the files that were missing in a new folder ath10k at lib/firmware/
when i run modinfo again they are not in the list

I don't know what you mean. The modinfo command just shows you what firmware files are required by the module. It is your job to provide them.

Quote:
--yet when i run network wizard i do have th eoption to load the module but when i do this it still doesnt give me an interface.

Again, you shouldn't have to do that. Run "lsmod". Is the ath10k_pci module loaded?

Run "dmesg". Check for error messages about ath10k.

Run "iwconfig". Does it list your WiFi adapter, like wlan0?
Run "ifconfig wlan0 up". Do you get an error?
Run "iwlist wlan0 scan". Do you get a list of your WiFi neighbourhood?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFTMartin

Joined: 30 Aug 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2016, 07:39    Post subject: ACER ASPIRE E15 no wireless connection
Subject description: ndis ?
 

i tried to use ndis but it reported no module loaded

Lxpup sc 16.06.203R

Driver from
driver-wireless.com/acer aspire .....win10
in the zipped file there were two inf files, i tried pointing the ndiswrapper at the one and then the other, no module loaded

grateful for all ideas and help
martin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11721
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2016, 07:41    Post subject:  

Trying to install the Windows driver just confuses things.

1. Reboot.
2. Run "lsmod".
3. Is the ath10k_pci module auto- loaded?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFTMartin

Joined: 30 Aug 2006
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2016, 10:52    Post subject: ACER ASPIRE E15 no wireless connection(SOLVED)
Subject description: successful wlan connection with aspire e15
 

GOOD NEWS
i have now managed to connect. To sum up
ACER ASPIRE E 15 Windows 10
running
LxPupSc-16.06.203-R
using the module
ath10k_pci

To get the module working
I ran
modinfo ath10k_pci
to get the list of files that the module needs,

downloaded these files from
http://www.fishprogs.software/puppy/firmware/ath10k/

and put them in /lib/firmware/ath10k

From then on the wizard recognised the interface and I followed the wizards instructions

BIG THANKS TO rcrsn51 !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11721
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2016, 11:29    Post subject:  

Excellent. Thank you for having the patience to work through this. It will be good information for the next user.

BTW, when I checked the firmware for ath10k_pci, I believe that there were more files listed than are in the repo at fishprogs.software. It sounds like the ones you downloaded were good enough?

A big thanks goes to gyro for maintaining this firmware repo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0716s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]