Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 27 May 2017, 00:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Google Chrome 64-bit SFS packages
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 9 [135 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2562
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jan 2017, 11:14    Post subject:  

Hi, Jake.

We-e-e-lll.....according to the Chrome release blog, that was an update for the Stable channel of Chrome OS (the operating system for Chromebooks); not the Chrome browser. I'll have a look, but I don't think the browser's been updated for a while. The next release for the stable version of Chrome is scheduled for about a week's time, AFAIK.

I'll check it out, and let you know what I discover.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2562
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jan 2017, 11:35    Post subject:  

Hi again, Jake.

Yep; just checked. The version you have should be 55.0.2883.75; the one currently on offer is 55.0.2883.87.....not 55.0.2883.105. I checked out the current build a couple of weeks ago, and there was so little changed that I figured it would be better to wait for the release of 56 at the end of this month. There's apparently quite a few changes on the way.

I've been testing the beta of 56 for a while now, but I don't like making beta versions available for general use, as I explained before. The stable version is called 'stable' for a reason..... Laughing

Just be patient for a few more days; as soon as 56 is released, I'll re-package it. Scout's honour..!


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Fri 20 Jan 2017, 16:49; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jake29

Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 52

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jan 2017, 14:39    Post subject:  

Thanks Mike. Apologies for the error. I should have known better than to assume you were asleep at the wheel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2562
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jan 2017, 16:46    Post subject:  

Hi, Jake.

Nah, that's alright, mate. Not only are all the forums very quiet at the moment, but I've got a few other irons in the fire myself, so I haven't been spending as much time at my usual pursuits as I normally do.

It'll change; it always does. You can guarantee things will be quiet after Xmas & the New Year; happens every year without fail..!

Roll on spring time....


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2562
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jan 2017, 13:36    Post subject:  

(**deleted**)
_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Fri 10 Mar 2017, 07:59; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
orrin


Joined: 05 Sep 2016
Posts: 88
Location: sparks, NV

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jan 2017, 22:30    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
***NEW VERSION***

Afternoon, all.

The current version, 56.0.2924.76, released yesterday, is now available for download from the usual location.

https://www.mediafire.com/folder/l8lkuo39z6gq8/Chrome_SFS_packages

Details of 'fixes' available here, for those interested in such things:-

https://chromereleases.googleblog.com/



I got version 56... so far no issues... seems to work fine!
Thanks for your efforts!

_________________
Orrin - Engineer/Photographer/Webmaster

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2562
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jan 2017, 12:52    Post subject:  

You're very welcome, orrin. As always..!

Like I said, it's darned annoying about the sand-boxing.....but, in much the same way that Oscar describes his packages as experimental, that's really what these are, too.

The 32-bit packages of SlimJet and Iron have been working that way for long enough... All depends just how much it bothers you, I guess.

I think this has got something to do with the 'root:root' ownership permissions on the 'chrome' folder.....but I don't really know how you go about changing those away from 'root'.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
orrin


Joined: 05 Sep 2016
Posts: 88
Location: sparks, NV

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jan 2017, 23:10    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
You're very welcome, orrin. As always..!

Like I said, it's darned annoying about the sand-boxing.....but, in much the same way that Oscar describes his packages as experimental, that's really what these are, too.


Maybe you can point me to a link that explains what sand-boxing is and why do I need it!

_________________
Orrin - Engineer/Photographer/Webmaster

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
drunkjedi


Joined: 24 May 2015
Posts: 684

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jan 2017, 01:40    Post subject:  

orrin wrote:
Maybe you can point me to a link that explains what sand-boxing is and why do I need it!
Maybe this link will help, or confuse you all together...
https://chromium.googlesource.com/chromium/src/+/master/docs/linux_sandboxing.md?_e_pi_=7%2CPAGE_ID10%2C2065670614


Also take a look at this discussion too,
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=109527


@Mike, I haven't been using latest chrome for long time.
I just got busy in other things.
I will see if Fatdog's run as spot scripts make it run good when I go home from work (I am in maintenance so have to work when everyone's not). Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drunkjedi


Joined: 24 May 2015
Posts: 684

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jan 2017, 07:30    Post subject:  



Fatdog's Get chrome script downloads latest, repackages it in .txz format (keeps copy in /root folder), and installs it.

The latest chrome is working as Spot, with Sandboxing.
As shown in pics.

Here's download link for sfs for Fatdog.
http://www.mediafire.com/file/z2cq31riwccirck/google-chrome-01292017-x86_64-official.sfs

Or You can make one yourself
If you have fatdog, run fresh, click on the Google chrome entry in menu>>Internet.
It will install chrome but you will also get the package in /root.
Move it where you want to work on it.

Unpack it by rightclicking and selecting "Extract Tarball".
Right click the extracted directory and select "Permissions", select "a+x (Make executable/searchable)" option, enable "Recurse" tick mark click "Quiet".
Open terminal in the extracted directory and run following commands in a row
Code:
chown -R root ./opt/google/
chmod 4755 ./opt/google/chrome/chrome-sandbox
mkdir ./usr/lib64
ln -s /usr/lib64/seamonkey/*.so ./usr/lib64/
rm -r ./install
cd ..
mksquashfs ./google-chrome-01292017-x86_64-official ./google-chrome-01292017-x86_64-official.sfs
That should give you a working .sfs for Fatdog.
Now reboot fatdog without saving, and boot normally to test that sfs.

I haven't tested extensively as I just came from work. Will see later...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
orrin


Joined: 05 Sep 2016
Posts: 88
Location: sparks, NV

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jan 2017, 14:01    Post subject:  

drunkjedi wrote:
orrin wrote:
Maybe you can point me to a link that explains what sand-boxing is and why do I need it!
Maybe this link will help, or confuse you all together...
https://chromium.googlesource.com/chromium/src/+/master/docs/linux_sandboxing.md?_e_pi_=7%2CPAGE_ID10%2C2065670614


Also take a look at this discussion too,
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=109527


@Mike, I haven't been using latest chrome for long time.
I just got busy in other things.
I will see if Fatdog's run as spot scripts make it run good when I go home from work (I am in maintenance so have to work when everyone's not). Wink


Thanks for the information!

_________________
Orrin - Engineer/Photographer/Webmaster

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 2697
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 02 Feb 2017, 03:29    Post subject:  

Here is the command line that I've found works for 32-bit Chromium-56 on LxPupSc:
Code:
run-as-spot /usr/lib/chromium/chromium --ppapi-flash-path=/usr/lib/chromium/PepperFlash/libpepflashplayer.so --ppapi-flash-version=24.0.0.194 --disk-cache-size=10000000 --media-cache-size=10000000 --allow-outdated-plugins "$@"
Sandboxing is as before....downloads and config go to /root/spot/Downloads and /root/spot/.config/chromium....
_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2562
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 02 Feb 2017, 08:09    Post subject:  

Hiya, Peter.

That's done it..!

Using your example as a guide, I did some experimenting, and found that by changing the exec-line in /opt/google/google-chrome from

Code:
exec -a "$0" /opt/google/chrome/chrome --user-data-dir=/root/.config/google-chrome --no-sandbox --disable-infobars "$@"


to

Code:
exec -a "$0" run-as-spot /opt/google/chrome/chrome --user-data-dir=/root/spot/.config/google-chrome --disable-infobars "$@"


.....followed by doing

Code:
chown spot:spot -R /opt/google


appears to have done the trick. (It's not quite the same for my own, personal set-up, as I run all my browsers from a remote partition, but that's what the publicly available version will now be like.)

So; I owe you a big 'Thanks' for that. Summat else I've learnt; I didn't know about the 'run-as-spot' parameter. I do now!

Cheers!

PS: The only peculiarity I've noticed is that the cursor configuration appears to reset to the default. I have the cursor themes pack installed, and use the 'Polar Cursors' theme. No biggie; I'm just curious as to why it does that. Permissions again, I suspect.....

Many thanks.


Mike. Very Happy Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 2562
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 02 Feb 2017, 09:47    Post subject:  

Chrome now to run as 'Spot'

Afternoon, all.

Following peebee's timely intervention above (again, thanks for the advice!), the 'no-sandboxing' problem with the newest release of Chrome has now been resolved.

From now on, to get around the 'won't run as root' problem, my Chrome packages will henceforth be running as 'Spot'.

The /opt/google directory has had a

Code:
chown spot:spot -R /opt/google


performed on it, and the launcher script in /opt/google/chrome (which is sym-linked into /usr/bin) now starts with 'run-as-spot', and directs the 'user-data-directory' to /root/spot/.config.

When you load & start this version of Chrome for the first time, it will act like a brand-new install, as it has to create a new profile in /root/spot/.config. Subsequent loading of new versions will act as before, since the profile now exists.

The easiest way to get Flash up-and-running for the first time is just to go to

http://www.adobe.com/software/flash/about/

Where the animated graphic usually shows at the top of the page, it will say 'Downloading...', followed shortly after by 'Please re-start Chrome to use Adobe Flash'. So re-start, and Flash will be working. Subsequent upgrades will happen in the background, as they have done for the last few releases.

I've also included a /root/spot/Downloads directory (with the appropriate permissions/ownership) for the first time, as this is where anything you download with Chrome will now go to.

Downloads are to be found in the usual location in post #1, as always.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I would strongly urge anybody who's recently downloaded this version of Chrome in the last few days to download and use the new version instead, as proper 'sandboxing' is now restored, with its attendant increase in security.





Thanks are due to peebee, and also to drunkjedi (for making me consider this in the first place).

Feedback would be appreciated as to whether this works properly or not. It works for me, but I have a peculiar set-up, running from a remote partition with many, many sym-links..! I'd just like to know if this new package runs as it should. If it does, then I'll be building the Chrome packages this way in future.

Enjoy! Smile


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1526
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 02 Feb 2017, 12:04    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
PS: The only peculiarity I've noticed is that the cursor configuration appears to reset to the default.

Hi Mike,
The custom cursor theme is read from the hidden $HOME/.icons directory.
$HOME is usually /root but if you run as spot it changes to /root/spot for the running program so it will revert back to default theme when hovering anywhere over the browser.
Try symlinking the .icons directory into /root/spot (or copy it if you prefer) and restart X of course.
Oh you may need to chown it to spot:spot as well.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 9 [135 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0814s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0213s) ][ GZIP on ]