Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 16 Aug 2018, 09:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Rationalisation of init
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 6 [88 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1542
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jul 2016, 08:33    Post subject:  

A question:
Given "huge" kernels, is the zdrv critical to a boot?
By critical, I mean don't continue on with the boot without it.

My current version considers puppy...sfs as critical, everything else is optional.

gyro

Last edited by gyro on Tue 12 Jul 2016, 14:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jul 2016, 10:10    Post subject:  

zdrv is your drivers, gyro. Not just for your network card... Wink
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1540

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jul 2016, 10:36    Post subject:  

When I boot Slacko 6.3 without the zdrv it makes it to desktop, but my mouse/trackpad doesn't work, even with using the dead mouse trick, and neither my wireless or wired ethernet show up. I did manage to hit Alt-F1 to get to Pmount to mount a drive that had the zdrv in it and put it back in with terminal commands though. Interestingly, "depmod" runs when I remove the zdrv but not when I keep it, and the pcmcia part says 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 before continuing. Maybe this info will be useful, or not...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1542
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jul 2016, 13:59    Post subject:  

I have accidently booted without a zdrv, and it did boot to a desktop, but of course without any kernel modules, lots of hardware simply did not work.

I guess my question really is:
If the init script detects that there is no zdrv, should it abandon the boot or continue?

My current thinking is that it should continue, since it will most likely still boot to a desktop (although it will most likely be a crippled one).

Whereas, if the main puppy...sfs is missing the boot is abandoned.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
learnhow2code

Joined: 12 Jun 2016
Posts: 1015

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jul 2016, 18:03    Post subject:  

gyro wrote:
I guess my question really is:
If the init script detects that there is no zdrv, should it abandon the boot or continue?


puppalyzer can help you answer this question.

here is a list of several puppy isos (including modern ones) and whether they contain a zdrv or not:


contains a zdrv sfs file / name of iso

NO / puppy-4.2.1-k2.6.25.16-seamonkey.iso
YES / tahr-6.0-CE_PAE.iso
NO / slacko-5.6-4G-NON-PAE.iso
NO / wary-5.5.iso
YES / Legacy OS 2.1
LTS.iso?r=https%3A%2F%2Fsourceforge.net%2Fprojects%2Flegacyoslinux%2Ffiles%2FLegacy%2520OS%25202.1%2520LTS%2520Extra%2520Packages%2F&ts=1467656308&use_mirror=heanet
YES / puppy-3.01-seamonkey.iso
NO / precise-5.7.1-retro.iso
NO / squeeze-5.X.15-SCSI.iso
YES / puppy-2.17.1-nolzma-seamonkey-fulldrivers.iso
NO / pup-431.iso
YES / tahr-6.0.5_PAE.iso
YES / tahr-6.0-CE_noPAE.iso
YES / tahr64-6.0.5.iso
YES / slacko64-6.3.2-uefi.iso
NO / slacko-5.6-PAE.iso
NO / slacko-5.4-firefox-4g.iso
YES / slacko-6.3.2-uefi.iso
NO / slacko-5.7.0-PAE.iso
NO / Lxpup_13.01.iso?r=https%3A%2F%2Fsourceforge.net%2Fprojects%2Fcheckmatelxde%2Ffiles%2FLxpup-
13.04%2F&ts=1467655822&use_mirror=tenet
NO / racy-5.5.iso
NO / slacko-5.7-NO-pae.iso
YES / yara.iso
NO / slacko-5.4-opera-4g.iso
NO / lupu-520.iso
NO / slacko-5.4-opera-PAE.iso

_________________
users | devs
fig os 1.3 md5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8678
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jul 2016, 20:29    Post subject:  

Hi gyro

Maybe someone could put the zdrv in the main sfs as part of a manual remaster? In that case boot should continue if zdrv is not found.

2 c

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1542
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jul 2016, 13:45    Post subject:  

Hi 01micko,

I think you are agreeing with me, only the main puppy...sfs should be considered critical.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1542
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jul 2016, 13:40    Post subject:  

Another question:
The "upgrade" code in the current init script, is it really needed?
Does any one know?
gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jlst

Joined: 23 Nov 2012
Posts: 571

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jul 2016, 14:41    Post subject:  

I triggered involuntarily one day... when i replaced only the sfs files but forgot to delete the savefile, apparently it did detect a new version.

That's the only time it happened to me since 2012
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jul 2016, 18:26    Post subject:  

Yes, as I remember, when booting a newer version of a PUP from CD/DVD, I am often presented with an option to upgrade prior version session data.

Never knew if the init code was doing this.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1542
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2016, 05:15    Post subject:  

Yes, I know it's there, and it's triggered if it thinks the version being booted is newer than the one in the save.
But, does it do anything that is not done by "rc.update"?
If nobody knows, then I'll have to sort it out the hard way.
(I never do updrades, always start with new savefolder.)

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1542
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2016, 06:32    Post subject:  

The current version does boot ok from hd and usb.
It contains support for pupmodes 5, 6, 7, 12, 13, and 77. Although 6, 7 and 77 are untested.

If I don't post any thing in the next week, it's because I do have a life apart from puppy.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jlst

Joined: 23 Nov 2012
Posts: 571

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jul 2016, 23:14    Post subject:  

I think rc.update should take care of this.

But there is something to take into account.

The initrd DISTRO_SPECS is copied to /etc on each boot... rc.shutdown should copy that file to /var/log/DISTRO_SPECS .. so rc.update can try to determine if a newer version is being booted.

Regarding testing for other pupmodes.. well, this is the difficult part.. actually the reality is discouraging.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moose On The Loose


Joined: 24 Feb 2011
Posts: 778

PostPosted: Sun 17 Jul 2016, 17:01    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
(see above)


I suggest the following change

Code:
while [ "$1" ]; do
case "$1" in
   quiet)QUIET=1;;
   #other cases here
   *): WhineAndWhineAndWhine '"Unrecognized parameter $1 ignored" ;;
esac
shift
done
[ "$QUIET" ] || echo now doing step XX


Saying what is ignored can be helpful to the "why didn't that work" question when the problem was the seplling of the parameter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1542
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jul 2016, 04:58    Post subject:  

@Moose On The Loose,

I assume that you are referring to the code processing the "pfix=" boot parameter?

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 6 [88 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0555s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0083s) ][ GZIP on ]