Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 09 Dec 2019, 13:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
XenialDog (Ubuntu 16.04 'Xenial Xerus' LTS, 32-bit)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 69 [1024 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 67, 68, 69 Next
Author Message
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 3200

PostPosted: Wed 04 May 2016, 07:22    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:

If "xendog" is on a ext partition you can use save to folder,
Code:
 changes=EXIT:/xendog/


Hope it's clear now.

Fred


But is it correct, as far as I recall, that if xendog is on a fat32 or ntfs partition you can use a save file called changes.dat (in /xendog folder)? And you should construct changes.dat first, in that xendog folder, to whatever size is most suitable for you needs. And on kernel line of menu.lst you then need this part:

Code:
changes=EXIT:/xendog/changes.dat


when underlying partition for the changes.dat save file is ntfs or fat32?

William

_________________
github mcewanw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4206
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 04 May 2016, 08:15    Post subject:  

William wrote:
changes=EXIT:/xendog/changes.dat

when underlying partition for the changes.dat save file is ntfs or fat32?


Yes, savefile placed on fat32 works in any case, but for ntfs, I think hibernation should be disabled (in Windows).
If it's enabled it probably won't work.

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4206
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 04 May 2016, 14:14    Post subject:  

Pelo wrote:
Now i am facing to recording applications. No sound (Xvidcap and Precord)
Precord help told me that FFmpeg not needed for MP3.


Yes, I could not record sound with xvidcap either, thanks for reporting.
I must admit that some apps I didn't test properly yet, for next ISO release it will be different.

New version of xvidcap, 1.1.7a, install:
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install xvidcap

Or from Synaptic: First: Reload, then search xvidcap and install/upgrade.
Changed: removed dependency of pulseaudio, (works fine with oss driver /dev/dsp)
This way install space required will be a lot smaller also.

New version of precord, 9.0.4, install:
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install precord

Changed: Added dependency: lame
Or from Synaptic: First: Reload, then search precord and install/upgrade.

Changes added to Changes and fixes list

Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 14529
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2016, 00:14    Post subject:  

Hi, FredX.

I tested your XenialDog on a HP Compaq 6715b portable.

The boot process got me to the X window and jwm (?), but it was unusable: the screen
was full of triangles (such as "dented fanions with mites eating at the colors".) That
sentence sounds like poetry but it isn't! No fun at all!

Never had that problem before. I got boots to black screen now and then on a very small
number of Puppies, but this is new.

BFN

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 3200

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2016, 02:59    Post subject:  

Hello musher0,

I haven't myself tried out DDXenial but will do tonight so my experiences with it may help you out since my machine is an old HP Elitebook 2530P. Most of these older HP machines are pretty similar and I can also later try out DDXenial on an HP 6730P, which one of my friends have. It would be useful to know the complete specs of your machine including processor, RAM, and the graphics chip it has, in order to make a comparison.

Also, I note there is a XenialPup now available in beta; have you tried that out? If that works for you then I expect it should be easy enough to get DDXenial working on your machine too since most of the underlying software/drivers are likely the same.

FYI, my HP Elitebook 2530P main specs (just read whilst in TahrPup) are Intel CPU Core2 Duo L9600 2.13GHz; 2 GB RAM; Intel Integrated Graphics with Kernet driver i915 (VGA controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07) Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 30e1); 1200 x 800 pixel resolution LCD (your machine probably more since bigger screen);

I'll let you know my own results once I have them (never had any problem with any of the DebianDogs or Mintpup on my HP machines as yet).

William

_________________
github mcewanw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 3200

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2016, 04:33    Post subject:  

Hi musher0 and also Fred,

On my above-mentioned HP Elitebook 2530P laptop.

Created folder called DDXenial32 on my /dev/sda7 ext2 partition, downloaded XenialDog iso and, whilst in tahrpup, clicked on it and extracted its whole casper folder (only) into that DDXenial32 folder. Used the following grub4dos menu.lst entries to boot XenialDog:
Code:

title PorteusDog Xenial32 openbox (sda7)
root (hd0,6)
kernel /DDXenial32/casper/vmlinuz noauto from=/DDXenial32/ changes=EXIT:/DDXenial32/casper/
initrd /DDXenial32/casper/initrd1.xz


Booted fine and no X display issues on this machine as it turns out.

Only problem is that I rely on wifi for connection and Frisbee wouldn't connect, but I'm pretty sure that is simply because you have forgotten to include rfkill command again Fred, which is required for these particular HP machines to connect! ;-)

By the way, I've forgotten (assuming I ever knew) how to post screenshots in the nice uncluttered form you use Fred.

William
xendog1-20160505081600.jpg
 Description   XenialDog after no issue booting on HP Elitebook
 Filesize   62.08 KB
 Viewed   1023 Time(s)

xendog1-20160505081600.jpg


_________________
github mcewanw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2016, 04:53    Post subject:  

Maybe this is the problem:
Why Radeon Users May Want to Avoid Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
musher0 wrote:
...HP Compaq 6715b portable...

VGA ATI Radeon X1250
mcewanw wrote:
... HP Elitebook 2530P...
...HP 6730P...

VGA Intel GMA 4500MHD
VGA Intel GMA 4500MHD
VGA Intel GMA X4500 HD

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 3200

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2016, 04:57    Post subject:  

Ah... It seems your HP Compaq machine is very different with AMD Turion 64 X2 CPU and ATI Radeon X1250 graphics? Sorry, musher0, I can't help with that one.

William

EDIT: Yes, Toni, I think the same - didn't notice your post since was just posting my above response at about same time...

_________________
github mcewanw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2016, 12:29    Post subject: A pendrive couldn't be partionned Fat32 and ext 3  

mcewanw m'a écrit :
"Correct me if I am wrong Fred, but I think with porteus boot you cannot save changes to directory if ntfs or fat32 but you can save to these formats if you instead use changes.dat save file. Otherwise, Pelo, yes, you could create separate ext2 partition and use changes to directory with porteus boot. "

My goal was saving on my pendrive, it's my usage at home.
Now i save on Hard drive, linux Partition formated ext3.
I erased what i wrote on the forum about my failing tries,
one of them was partioning pendrive in one fat32 section (ISO) and the second ext2 for my data. At reboot the computer made a continuous sound, nothing started.
Conclusion : what i am interested in is what applications are available for download which i could not install with a classic Puppy. So i will keep save on my Hard drive, it's not a huge handicap, just a change in my habits.

_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2016, 12:50    Post subject: lame missing for audio recording  

about lame missing for audio recording, to-day i saw thar Asri edu has lame available in its blog. If anyone knows where lame is available elsewhere, i would not refuse the information.
Solved : available in the packages. Recording voice with Precord without trouble.

_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.

Last edited by Pelo on Sat 07 May 2016, 11:21; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 14529
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2016, 14:48    Post subject:  

mcewanw wrote:
Ah... It seems your HP Compaq machine is very different with AMD Turion 64 X2 CPU and ATI Radeon X1250 graphics? Sorry, musher0, I can't help with that one.

William

EDIT: Yes, Toni, I think the same - didn't notice your post since was just posting my above response at about same time...
Many thanks, William and Toni.
Quite informative. BFN.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 3200

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2016, 18:15    Post subject:  

Hi Fred,

Just confirming that I got my wlf1 wireless connected after first installing rfkill. Did have problem getting Frisbee to connect (had to go to Diagnostics and Edit config to allow restart networks). Presumably Frisbee connection would be fine if I first remastered with rfkill included. I haven't remastered.

William

_________________
github mcewanw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 3200

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2016, 18:28    Post subject: Re: lame missing for audio recording  

Pelo wrote:
about lame missing for audio recording, to-day i saw thar Asri edu has lame available in its blog. If anyone knows where lame is available elsewhere, i would not refuse the information.


That lame you mention is a dotpet for Puppies of course. In Debian/Ubuntu Dogs you can, as Fred said, simply install lame with:
Code:

apt-get update

followed by:

apt-get install lame


or via GUI package manager 'Synaptics'

lame is available in the other DebianDog OS's already and Fred will include it in next iso for XenialDog.

Note that you also need to change some habits when using Debian-style package management. Pretty much all available Linux software is available straight from the Debian/Ubuntu repositories. You can search for packages using Synaptic Package Manager or via commandline using 'apt-cache search'. For example:

Code:
apt-cache search abiword


which returns a whole lot of info including the needed one:

"abiword - efficient, featureful word processor with collaboration"

which you could then install from the commandline (including its auto-resolved dependencies) with:

Code:
apt-get install abiword


(assuming you have already or recently run 'apt-get update')

Or again, if you prefer, you can find and install using GUI package manager from StartMenu -> System -> Synaptic Package Manager

If you ever want to get rid of it (or any other program installed) you can either use Synaptic Package Manager to do so or at command line:

Code:
apt-get remove abiword

or more thorough removal to (include the apps configuration files) with

apt-get purge abiword


Occasionally the underlying packaging database system (dpkg) tells you some stuff has been left behind but is not being used. You can then remove such junk with:

Code:
apt-get autoremove


Similarly, it very occasionally happens (more often when using dpkg utility directly rather than the apt utility) that some dependencies haven't been fully installed. You generally can get that auto-fixed by typing command:

Code:
apt-get install -f


Worth mentioning also that Fred has created/included some utilities for creating sfs (squashfs) files from apt fetched packages (rather than installing them directly). For example in MainMenu -> Module Tools -> AptToSfs. Note also that you can create a special small sfs for ffmpeg from MainMenu -> Module Tools -> FFmpeg2sfs. You can activate/load/unload these sfs files directly from File Manager via provided right-click activate/deactivate module commands. And you can quickly remaster your installed system via MainMenu -> System -> RemasterDog. Its a very very flexible system. You can also stick your squashfs files (which should have that extension) inside your casper folder and that causes them to be auto-loaded at boot time.

William

_________________
github mcewanw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1413

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2016, 19:02    Post subject:  

Correct me if I am wrong.

The one thing to remember about remastering, is that it includes the things that are in any *.squashfs files you've loaded but that those things are not included in the database that is keeping track of all the installed files.

So remember to unload any *.squashfs files before remastering so apt-get doesn't get confused later on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2016, 23:57    Post subject: Mcewanw, merci, your information is useful.  

Mcewanw, merci, your information is useful. My computer has to produce what i ask it, not me to satisfy what is provided.
Sad lame was not found by XenialDog packags manager. lame-3.98.4-i686.sfs: 512 K provided via adri edu repo, to be tested
XenialDog with recording not available was not worth leaving Puppy Linux.
What i Miss in Puppy is stuff for video editing, and recording the audio is part of it.
I have Dolby system in my computer and NVIDIA Optimus. Until now both are not usable by Linux. But i don't really them for my comments.
The goal is to extract from national videos the part concerning the local soccer teams. and join them to other local information, mostly cultural... free of charge Exclamation

_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 69 [1024 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 67, 68, 69 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1613s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0177s) ][ GZIP on ]