Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 30 Sep 2016, 08:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Firefox gtk3
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 5 [62 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2101
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2016, 05:46    Post subject:  Firefox gtk3  

I updated firefox which didn't restart, got this in the terminal
Code:
# firefox
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /usr/lib/firefox/libmozgtk.so:
libgtk-3.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM.

This looks like a game changer.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1335
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2016, 07:51    Post subject:  

The official builds of the standard Firefox are now compiled with gtk-3 as the default toolkit as from version 46.0

I see that there is a gtk-2 sub-directory and lib inside the package so it may be possible that there is a runtime option which you can use to force use of gtk-2 but I am not sure about that.

If you use the ESR branch the equivalent of 46.0 is 45.1.0 and these will still use gtk-2 for a while, but presumably this will also change a few months down the line.

Dpup Wheezy already has libgtk-3 plus a couple of themes so Firefox 46.0 runs OK. In Slacko 5.7 it works if I install package GTK-3 via PPM. In Tahr you install libgtk-3 but that is now being added as an update. Not sure what the options are for Wary Racy Carolina.

I find that recent official builds of Firefox are very slow and heavy. I think they include lots of unneeded optional features and "hacks" to broaden version compatibilities. On older hardware speed is poor and hard disk drives can be heard grinding and churning. For that reason I have been experimenting with compiling Firefox myself and I have had some success, but not all Firefox versions compile in all Puppies in my experiments so far.

When compiling Firefox you do have the option to select gtk-2 or gtk-3 or even qt as the default toolkit so I presume this will still be one way of avoiding the gtk-3 dependency.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1004
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2016, 07:52    Post subject:  

Apart from doing a GTK update in new puppies, going to version 45.1 ESR still works, and is long term support, so won't update / change too quickly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce_n_Duane

Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 71
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2016, 15:45    Post subject: Have Lucid 5.8.2
Subject description: Have Lucid and Dead Firefox 46 and Dillo
 

I updated Firefox to V46 which needs libgtk3.
Running Lucid 5.2.8-5 and now only browser is Dillo which does not support https.
Is there a way to get Lucid running Firefox v45 and working again?
Please give complete commands to fix this.
(Include what I need to delete of the existing Firefox V46)
I do not want to move to a new Puppy now.
Thanks.

Getting a new computer in Nov --- UDOO x86 = quad 64-bit now in at Kickstart.
This will hopefully run Barry's latest Quirky.

Edited: changed Lucid version to 5.2.8-5 which included Dillo (version unknown)

Last edited by Bruce_n_Duane on Thu 28 Apr 2016, 16:11; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2016, 15:51    Post subject:  

Just installed libgtk-3 in tahr64. Firefox 46 up and running.

Thank for the work around.

Irishrm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1335
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2016, 16:29    Post subject: Re: Have Lucid 5.8.2
Subject description: Have Lucid and Dead Firefox 46 and Dillo
 

Bruce_n_Duane wrote:
I updated Firefox to V46 which needs libgtk3.
Is there a way to get Lucid running Firefox v45 and working again?

Use Firefox ESR 45.1.0 from here:-
http://mozilla.org/firefox/organizations
Just unpack the download, it will be just a single folder named "firefox". Delete the one you now have in /usr/lib (which is the V46) and put this one in its place.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2101
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2016, 16:56    Post subject:  

I replaced the Firefox ESR version in X-Slacko 6.3.0 with the latest Firefox 46, installed gtk+3.3.8.2 from the PPM, Firefox now runs.
_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce_n_Duane

Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 71
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2016, 17:08    Post subject: Dillo does not support https
Subject description: can not access mozilla
 

Hello Oscar,

Thanks for the reponse.
My version of Dillo in Lucid 5.2.8-5 will not access a https page.
I don't have another browser and can not seem to be able
to download anything from Puppy Program Manager now.

Can I do this from a terminal window?
If so, what should I type in the terminal?

Thanks again for your support and for Dillo!!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moat

Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 572
Location: Mid-mitten, USA

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2016, 17:19    Post subject: Re: Dillo does not support https
Subject description: can not access mozilla
 

Bruce_n_Duane wrote:
Can I do this from a terminal window?
If so, what should I type in the terminal?


Hmm... not sure, as I'm not on Linux ATM, but maybe something like this...?

Code:
wget https://download.mozilla.org/?product=firefox-45.1.0esr-SSL&os=linux&lang=en-US


???

Just a wild a$$ed guess... Shocked

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 6959
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2016, 17:22    Post subject:  

Not on Linux ATM??? Shame on you Bob! Very HappyWink
_________________
>>> Great minds discuss ideas; Average minds discuss events; Small minds discuss people. <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moat

Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 572
Location: Mid-mitten, USA

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2016, 17:25    Post subject:  

Oh dear... I knew I probably should have kept my trap shut. Embarassed Laughing

I'll just crawl off to my corner now...

Semme = Linux under-cover cop = busted! Laughing

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 1618
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2016, 17:35    Post subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
I replaced the Firefox ESR version in X-Slacko 6.3.0 with the latest Firefox 46, installed gtk+3.3.8.2 from the PPM, Firefox now runs.

Your mileage may differ to mine Geoffrey. I found FF 46.0 to grab 100% CPU and take longer to load/startup than FF 45.0. I've ditched it and gone for iceweasel (ESR version). Running DebianDog Jessie Openbox and after initially installing iceweasel after running a update (apt-get update; apt-get upgrade) it updated to a later version. Unlike FF there's no internal Help/About/Update i.e. looks like Debian sync the browser version to the stable core.

Going through that highlighted to me how FF and Debian seem to have resolved their differences and iceweasel will be rebadged as Firefox again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moose On The Loose


Joined: 24 Feb 2011
Posts: 658

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2016, 22:16    Post subject:  

rufwoof wrote:

Your mileage may differ


I am using chrome to post this.

There were things I preferred about how firefox does the menus and the like but the struggle with it updating to a new version that doesn't work has soured me on it. I replaced it with an older version but I couldn't find a way to kill the automatic updates.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce_n_Duane

Joined: 01 Nov 2005
Posts: 71
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2016, 23:14    Post subject: Firefox on Lucid 5.2.8-5
Subject description: SOLVED now have Firefox v45.1.0 running
 

SOLVED

Hello Oscar and all lucid puppy users

I now have Firefox v45.1.0 running in my Lucid 5.2.8-5 puppy

The wget command did not work, but set me on the path for the fix.

I installed an old firefox v7.0 using Quickpets
Let it update to version 12.0
Then went to Firefox website and downloaded Firefox v45.1.0.
I am using it now.

Process:
At Background Screen, bring up menu with right-click
Setup->Setup Puppy->Quickpet Install Popular Programs
tab->Internet Pets
button->Firefox
scroll down list and select "Firefox-7.0-lucid525.pet
select install with petget
confirm->Install

{Now to get the Firefox v45.1.0 }
Start Firefox v12.0
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/install-older-version-of-firefox
click on the "website" link

Select the version, language, os (linux-i686 in my case)

https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/45.1.0esr/linux-i686/en-US/
download the File firefox-45.1.0esr.tar.bz2 49M 26-Apr-2016 13:08

Lucid Puppy will download and install this version of Firefox

Exit Firefox v12.0
Start Firefox and that Firefox will be v45.1.0
Go immediately to set preferences
Edit->Preferences->Advanced->Update
Make sure it is set to "Never"


thanks for the help!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1103

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2016, 00:16    Post subject:  

Moose On The Loose wrote:
I replaced it with an older version but I couldn't find a way to kill the automatic updates.


Is still working the following workaround?

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=97435&sid=b4b8349f633d0154187aa4f46937dcc1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 5 [62 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0703s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]