Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 15 Jul 2019, 14:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Sound Not Working (Quirky Xerus 8.0 final)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 3 [35 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
jlst

Joined: 23 Nov 2012
Posts: 571

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2016, 13:12    Post subject:  

Thank you BuddhaDog, this is revealing. The alsa-base.conf with the new entries seems to have worsen the situation.

I get the whole picture now, and I have something in mind to address this issue.

Meanwhile, please revert the changes in /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf... remove the last 4 lines starting from "# Keep HDA HDMI from being loaded as first soundcard"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jlst

Joined: 23 Nov 2012
Posts: 571

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2016, 16:34    Post subject:  

Ok, BDD:

Try this MSCW experiment. Download and install the pet file.
Reboot... play a media file (check retrovol)

Is sound working?
mscw-20160429-noarch.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  mscw-20160429-noarch.pet 
Filesize  9.65 KB 
Downloaded  84 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BuddhaDog

Joined: 26 Oct 2008
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2016, 10:17    Post subject:  

jlst wrote:
Ok, BDD:

Try this MSCW experiment. Download and install the pet file.
Reboot... play a media file (check retrovol)

Is sound working?


Jlst: I downloaded and installed the pet file. After I rebooted, I went into Retrovol Config (by right clicking on the volume icon in the panel and selecting Config Window) and on the hardware tab I changed Sound Card to hw:2.

After I hit Apply and opened it up again, I found the usual sliders you would expect to see such as Master, PCM, Headphone, Mic, etc.

I added PCM and Master to the active sliders. Then I opened up Retrovol (from the menu) and made sure that they were selected.

After this I opened Radio Streamer and was able to set it to use PCM. The volume control and sound seems to be working this way. I was able to play Youtube videos as well as audio files on my computer. The lingering problem is that the volume controls work in the individual applications but the main volume control doesn't work. It seems like progress though so YAY!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jlst

Joined: 23 Nov 2012
Posts: 571

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2016, 11:27    Post subject:  

Good. I guess my experiment didn't work,
so you're doing it manually.

I think you can do the same with MSCW:
Code:
Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard


From the list, select this:
card 2: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 0: ALC892 Analog [ALC892 Analog]

Then click on the "Select card/device" button

By doing that you'll create a global alsa config
that will be used by all your programs,
that's why it's called Multiple Sound Card Wizard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BuddhaDog

Joined: 26 Oct 2008
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2016, 11:54    Post subject:    

I ran MCSW and it makes no difference. The only thing the volume control in the panel will do is mute the sound when I scroll it to 0.

I did however get my dual monitors working properly so that's a win!

I don't know what else to try at this point. At least I have sound and can adjust each application's sound.

Thanks again for all your help. If you come up with any more ideas, i will be happy to give them a shot.

I am having the same issue with Tahr Pup so it's not just Quirky.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 [35 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0365s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0085s) ][ GZIP on ]