Xenialpup CE 7.5 / 25 Nov 2017

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
williams2
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri 14 Dec 2018, 22:18

#796 Post by williams2 »

Every time the system boots, it reports that the file was not cleanly unmounted, and does a repair
This is very common and is (mostly) harmless.
ext3 and ext4 have journals and a file system check works much faster (almost instantaneously) than ext2.

If fsck does a repair, it is often just releasing an inode and freeing the blocks belonging to the inode. If a file was deleted (the file name was removed from the dictionary) but the inode was still in the dictionary and the blocks still associated with the inode because something was still accessing that file, it can cause this to happen.
the time stamp is in the future
Puppy first copies the kernel vmlinuz into ram memory and starts executing the instructions in ram, which then copies initrd to ram (that is, the initial ram drive) and starts executing it. This is before the Puppy sfs files are found and mounted and before your save file is found and mounted.

The init script in the initrd file does this:

Code: Select all

[ "$TZ" ] && export TZ
hwclock -l -s
which sets the system clock which fsck will use when checking time stamps in the file system that it is checking.

The -l hwclock option tells it to use local time, but at this point, Puppy does not know your time zone. So the system time may not agree with the time stamps in the file system you are checking.

You can add the parameter TZ to your kernel boot parameters, for example:

Code: Select all

... pfix=ram TZ=EST5EDT ...
but the TZ variable usually is the name of a timezone file, and the initrd does not have those files. Maybe something like TZ=UTC+5 would work, I haven't tried it.

You should not fsck a savefile that is being used by a running Puppy, it can corrupt it. You can force a fsck with the -f option, for example:

Code: Select all

fsck.ext2 -vf savefile.2fs

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#797 Post by bigpup »

In the Xenialpup repository is a pet for qbat.
A battery charge monitor for the tray.
Really good program when it works.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pe ... -0.2.2.pet

Qbat will not run.
Needs Qt5 stuff that is not in Xenialpup.

Why is qbat in the repository if it will not work in Xenialpup?
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

User avatar
RetroTechGuy
Posts: 2947
Joined: Tue 15 Dec 2009, 17:20
Location: USA

#798 Post by RetroTechGuy »

williams2 wrote:
Every time the system boots, it reports that the file was not cleanly unmounted, and does a repair
This is very common and is (mostly) harmless.
ext3 and ext4 have journals and a file system check works much faster (almost instantaneously) than ext2.
It cannot be good that the main filesystem /mnt/sda1 is being left corrupted. This will eventually result in data loss...
the time stamp is in the future
Puppy first copies the kernel vmlinuz into ram memory and starts executing the instructions in ram, which then copies initrd to ram (that is, the initial ram drive) and starts executing it. This is before the Puppy sfs files are found and mounted and before your save file is found and mounted.

The init script in the initrd file does this:

Code: Select all

[ "$TZ" ] && export TZ
hwclock -l -s
As it turns out, this error does not occur when the file is clean. I suspected that it was from the unclean dismount -- it appears that it is.
You should not fsck a savefile that is being used by a running Puppy, it can corrupt it. You can force a fsck with the -f option, for example:

Code: Select all

fsck.ext2 -vf savefile.2fs
I have multiple save files. I only check them when they are unmounted. If the umount worked correctly, I wouldn't need to check them at all... ;-)

The basic fsck should select the appropriate tool to check a particular volume. The current tool takes space, and does nothing...

BTW, I should add that this is the 64 bit version.
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=58615]Add swapfile[/url]
[url=http://wellminded.net63.net/]WellMinded Search[/url]
[url=http://puppylinux.us/psearch.html]PuppyLinux.US Search[/url]

User avatar
RetroTechGuy
Posts: 2947
Joined: Tue 15 Dec 2009, 17:20
Location: USA

#799 Post by RetroTechGuy »

Hi Rerwin,

OK, I have installed both the sns 2.2.1 and the network_connect_update-20180930.

Seem to have the same behavior. Tried a couple reboots. It ends up that the connect button fails to connect, so I delete the configuration and then connect via eth0. It then took me 2 attempts to get a connection.

It appears that the initial (upon boot) attempt to connect fails with a beep. The connect button fails with a beep. I don't recall if there was a beep on the first attempt to connect via eth0 (it might have failed silently), and the next click on eth0 was successful... Very weird!
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=58615]Add swapfile[/url]
[url=http://wellminded.net63.net/]WellMinded Search[/url]
[url=http://puppylinux.us/psearch.html]PuppyLinux.US Search[/url]

soj
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu 02 May 2019, 23:44
Location: nigeria

#800 Post by soj »

I was running xenialpup 7.5 32bit on my pc with windows as frugal install,i formatted my windows partition and installed puppy on my hard drive,now I can't access my bios menu any more.my pc just goes blank for about 10 seconds then boots into xenialpup.how do i restore my bios menu.
Laptop is LG X140
BIOS is INSYDE version: UL2F3F73
Motherboard: QUANTA UL2

User avatar
bigpup
Posts: 13886
Joined: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:15
Location: S.C. USA

#801 Post by bigpup »

Not good to post the same question or problem in two different locations.
See my answer in the other Xenilpup topic.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 20#1061220
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected :shock:
YaPI(any iso installer)

soj
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu 02 May 2019, 23:44
Location: nigeria

#802 Post by soj »

bigpup wrote:Not good to post the same question or problem in two different locations.
See my answer in the other Xenilpup topic.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 20#1061220
That was a big mistake from me!.I used the search button for enquiring "xenialpup" but i forgot that there are separate threads for 32 and 64 bits.I truly am sorry.
Will look up your help in the other thread,thank you

gyro
Posts: 1798
Joined: Tue 28 Oct 2008, 21:35
Location: Brisbane, Australia

#803 Post by gyro »

williams2 wrote:You can add the parameter TZ to your kernel boot parameters, for example:

Code: Select all

... pfix=ram TZ=EST5EDT ...
but the TZ variable usually is the name of a timezone file, and the initrd does not have those files. Maybe something like TZ=UTC+5 would work, I haven't tried it.
For Brisbane, Australia the correct parameter is:

Code: Select all

TZ=AEST-10
The letters are comment only, they can be anything, only the number and it's sign is significant.
Note: the sign is the opposite of what wouid normally be expected; Brisbane, Australia is at UTC +10.

AD: If you use any of the "FrugalPup" utilities to do your frugal install an approprriate TZ paramter should be included in the generated "grub2" "kernel" line.

gyro

Post Reply