Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Nov 2019, 18:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Xenialpup CE 7.5 / 25 Nov 2017
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 51 of 54 [799 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54 Next
Author Message
thinkpadfreak

Joined: 17 Oct 2016
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2018, 03:52    Post subject:  

ethplorer wrote:

> run as spot didn't work.

I run as spot the version of chromium which I installed from ubuntu deb packages.

To enable user spot, I open Login and Security Manager, uncheck "chromium-browser" and press "OK."
Then again I open Login and Security Manager, check "chromium-browser" and press "OK."

It is my understanding that user spot is enabled when the status is changed from "unchecked" (disabled) to "checked" (enabled).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bird Dog

Joined: 15 Jun 2014
Posts: 68
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2018, 16:03    Post subject: Browsers  

Hi ethplorer have you tried Palemoon. If you have a minimum P4 computer it receives updates, is the default browser for Xenialpup and I haven't had any problems (crashes etc)except when Palemoon switched to version 28 which quickpet will take care of when you update it.
Just want to thank some of the posters here for mentioning quickpet (was included in previous pups) and for the people who spend the time to fix problems which helps puppy users keep using this great operating system.

Thanks
Bird Dog

_________________
Frugal Tahrpup 646.0.5 & Xenialpup 64 save folder on core2 quad Q6600 2 gigs ram & AMD 6 core 4 gigs ram, Frugal Tahrpup 6.0.6 CE save folder on P4 3.0 ghz 1 gig ram and Dell P4 Celeron 2.4 ghz 1 gig ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
glene77is


Joined: 17 Aug 2010
Posts: 149
Location: Memphis, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sat 10 Nov 2018, 11:34    Post subject:  

BigPup

I have noticed an extra 30 odd seconds of System Boot Time
when switching from Tahr-pup to Xenial-pup.

IMO, the difference is do partly to the different software
used to control Disk Writes.
There is some difference in required Bootup time
as I test between several vintage PC's and a vintage LapTop,
and then between different types of bootable USB FlashDrives.
The same events occur on my bootable HardDrive system,
and my bootable FlashDrive systems.

Thus far:
(1) The Linux Xenial pup system seems to have a 30 second onger boot time
than the Linux Tahr pup system.
(2) Also two different USB FlashDrive brands have different times.
(3) IMO, there are soft-ware differences which cause these differences.

Focusing on the Xenial pup slow shutdown on USB :
Format Fat32 , so that M$ XP can read, in an emergency.

I have been using USB (SanDisk) for 7 years, bootable.
Normally, a 32 GB, SanDisk. Lupu to Xenial systems.

The SanDisk write speed is about as advertised.
with no stalling or waiting.
(1) LED blinks when working .
(2) LED stops blinking and control returns to system.

When I tried using a different ( Lexar ) USB,
then the write speed on shutdown slowed 50% more.

Measurements are by timing the wait until actual full return
to system and user control is allowed.

IMO,
The SansDisk USB appears to flush the out-going data immediately
into the Ram storage areas on the USB chip ,
and stops LED blinking just a second before real control is returned
to the system.

The Lexar USB appears to buffer the out-going data ,
and then shuffle it out to the final area on the layered RAM chips.
The Lexar LED blinking continues for a dozen extra seconds
before real control is returned to the system.

When using 128 GB and 256 GB USB flash drives,
the difference in shutdown speed of Lexar USB is a minute longer.

IMO,
I think this slower Real-Time Write speed ( Lexar )
is due to different soft-ware
used by Lexar.
If Lexar is using a quick loading buffer for common small writes,
(1) then re-writing out to the real RAM area,
(2) then the user will see a quicker apparent save of 1 MB data files,
and will not notice that Lexar is re-shuffling the data.
(3) Very Large Data Saves will seem to go faster,
but the persistent write will be much slower.

I found this Lexar overall speed slow and un-acceptable
when doing backups of 100 GB of data onto a USB drive.
Therefore, I have continued to use the SansDisk
( with slightly slower large file save speed )
because the large file backup is saved and control returned to system
in a faster time. Control is returned to the system as expected.

For example of this problem
with Lexar backup on 100 GB data :
(1) I do a "save2flash" , and then request to "unmount' Lexar.
(2) then Xenial system stalls
(3) then Lexar blinking LED continues for several minutes.
(4) then Lexar LED stops blinking,
(5) then Xenial system is responsive again.

*******
I was curious about where Xenial was spending much of its time
during sysinit , so I wrote logging-with-date-time routines
into all the scripts running : rc.sysinit, sfs_load, fixmenus, init.
Results are: sfsload is the script using most of the time, not fixmenus.

So, that is for today.

PS: Your Results May Vary.


.

_________________
Puppy Linux is more fun than a barrel of M$ monkeys Razz
www.geocities.WS/glene77is
glene77is --- {^,^} --- electricity is shocking, Memphis, TN, USA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sendwho

Joined: 10 Nov 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun 11 Nov 2018, 13:23    Post subject:  how to take backup?
Subject description: ...
 

I used the use the full drive option and now the pupsave backup doesn't do anything when I try to use it. How can I take backup of my system, in order to restore it later?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12871
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 11 Nov 2018, 15:09    Post subject:  

Pupsave Backup program only works for making backups of the save file/folder used in frugal installs.

What exact program are you trying to use?

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sendwho

Joined: 10 Nov 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2018, 01:22    Post subject:  

I tried taking backup and only found pupsave backup in utility but it shows the welcome screen and then does nothing. All I want is to take back up of my system as it is right now.

It is frugally installed but it doesn't have any backup file or folder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James186282


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 269
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2018, 01:58    Post subject:  
Subject description: Probably just me auto mounted usb drives not showing up.
 

My internal hard disc sda loads up and the icons for the 3 different partitions show up on the desktop. When I first got it installed (Frugal AMD 64 Bit dual core) plugging in USB drives always worked as expected with an icon showing up shortly after plugging one in or seeing icons for an external drive I have that is always plugged in.

Now that has stopped for some reason. I can mount the drives and a window opens but no drive icons. I'm not sure how this works. I know a little bit about fstab and thought maybe putting in some lines for my always plugged in external drive would make it appear as an Icon as I'm used to but... no soap.

Could someone give me the 101 on how the process of auto mounting drives you plug in works? Maybe some ideas on how to fix this without doing a reinstall.

I've tried a couple things with fstab here are a couple lines from my latest attempts.
/dev/sdf1 /mnt/sdf1 vfat nofail,x-systemd.device-timeout=1,auto 0 2
UUID=e6af1e54-bbac-4c90-bec7-3681b72706ba /mnt/sdg1 ext4 auto,root,rw 1 2

I decided to give up on Virtual Box for Xenialpup and started up a Win7 laptop thats collected dust for two years. OMG how does anyone have the patience to sit for two days waiting for the updates (And the system for doing it) to finish? I thought I could speed things up by downloading the updates and doing it from the computer. I found several hundred pages of updates and nearly pulled my own head off. I gave up on updating everything and am pondering just setting up a fresh frugal tharpup to do my cad stuff on virtualbox. BTW how is it that Microsoft exists? Its an insult to garbage to call Windows garbage ware.

_________________
Science is what we understand well enough to explain to a computer.
Art is everything else we do.
Donald Knuth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12871
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 12 Nov 2018, 07:27    Post subject:  

sendwho wrote:
pupsave backup in utility but it shows the welcome screen and then does nothing. All I want is to take back up of my system as it is right now.

Need more info.
After Pupsave Backup starts and opens to the first window.
You make no selection changes and select backup button?
Nothing happens?

What size is the Xenialpupsave?
Is there free space to make a copy of the save?
What format is the partition Xenialpup frugal install is on?

does nothing could be saying many different things.
Does not go to next window.
Does not make a backup.
Program just closes.
Says it made a backup, but can not find it.
You need to give specific details. You are our eyes.
You do what?
You see what?

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sendwho

Joined: 10 Nov 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2018, 14:04    Post subject:  

when i click on pupsave backup in utility , the pupsave backup help window shows up and says bunch of things and then i click ok and it goes away and nothing happens after it.

i accidentally clicked on "resize personal storage file" below it and window popped up saying that puppy is currently using a savefolder there is no reason to resize it or something like that.

the drive is currently using 6 gigabytes and the drive partition is ext2/ and there is plenty of space on the drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Wed 14 Nov 2018, 14:41    Post subject:  

sendwho wrote:
when i click on pupsave backup in utility , the pupsave backup help window shows up and says bunch of things and then i click ok and it goes away and nothing happens after it.

i accidentally clicked on "resize personal storage file" below it and window popped up saying that puppy is currently using a savefolder there is no reason to resize it or something like that.

the drive is currently using 6 gigabytes and the drive partition is ext2/ and there is plenty of space on the drive.

Use ext3 !!!

_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sendwho

Joined: 10 Nov 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2018, 06:08    Post subject:  

any other way of taking back up, i don't want to format the drive before taking a snapshot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3497
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2018, 06:30    Post subject:  

hi sendwho,

one simple way to backup a save folder is to drag and drop the save folder onto the zip icon on the desktop. this creates a zipped archive of your savefolder

another way is to use menu >> utility >> GADmin-rsync . after the first backup (takes a while) subsequent backups will be quicker only adding changed files. GADmin-rsync creates a backup script in /etc/gadmin-rsync/scripts which can be run whenever you want to add to the backup.
either manually or through its gui

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sendwho

Joined: 10 Nov 2018
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 20 Nov 2018, 02:49    Post subject:  

i chose the single profile option so i don't have a save folder. what directory should i choose as source directory to backup "/" or "/root"?

one more thing, i created xlock lock screen password, is it possible to ask for it when booting up?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12871
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jan 2019, 00:18    Post subject:  

666philb,

You really need to release a new fully updated Xenialpup 7.5 iso.
With all the Xenialpup updates and the atheros_kernel_modules fix.

I just helped another new Puppy user get his atheros wifi adapter working in Xenialpup 7.5, after doing the Xenialpup updates and installing the atheros_kernel_modules-4.4.95noPAE-xenial32.pet.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
FatBeard

Joined: 02 Feb 2019
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2019, 08:08    Post subject: Arrr! APT Has abandoned ship!
Subject description: Problems with APT-GET Xenialpup CE 7.5
 

Hi ...

Tried to use APT ... no joy even after installing it from a .deb ---

root# apt-get update
Reading package lists... Error!
W: Unable to read /etc/apt/sources.list.d/ - DirectoryExists (2: No such file or directory)
W: Unable to read /etc/apt/sources.list - RealFileExists (2: No such file or directory)
W: No sandbox user '_apt' on the system, can not drop privileges
E: flAbsPath on /var/lib/dpkg/status failed - realpath (2: No such file or directory)
E: Could not open file - open (2: No such file or directory)
E: Problem opening
E: The package lists or status file could not be parsed or opened.
root#

Is there a way to make APT work?

Arrr!

Later ...

So had a chat with the ladz on HexChat ty ...

So APT isnt intended to be used within Xenial Puppy eh? So ... what do I do when I see a cool piece of software and its install instructions start with ...

apt-get update

???

Arrr ye broke mi hearrrt! Arrrr!


Later still ...

Actually ... apt has been a pain in my stern for so long I would be HAPPY to see the back of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 51 of 54 [799 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1237s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0634s) ][ GZIP on ]