Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

READ-ONLY-MODE: PLEASE DO NOT POST NEW STUFF!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile       

The time now is Mon 10 Aug 2020, 02:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Xenialpup CE 7.5 / 25 Nov 2017
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 45 of 54 [803 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, ..., 52, 53, 54 Next
Author Message
sancxjo


Joined: 29 Apr 2013
Posts: 93
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2018, 01:55    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
I tested this system in Xenialpup-32 and it worked.

You will need to install two packages - wlanmaker and libnl1.

1. Download them.
2. Remove the fake .gz extension from the name.
3. Click-install them.

Follow the instructions. For example:
Code:
wlanmaker wlan0 sancxjo woof1234 eth0


What model WiFI adapter do you have?


Thank you.
I installed the packages.
I do not have an adapter. I want to buy exactly what it will work.
Judging from this
https://wireless.wiki.kernel.org/en/users/drivers/ath9k_htc/devices
must work adapter TL-WN722N . I think to take it.

In the team, apparently, I will have usb0, since the usb-modem.

Code:
apt-get install iptables
gives an error message.
_________________
DebianDog-Jessie, Xenialpup 7.5
Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU D525 @ 1.80GHz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 13129
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2018, 05:07    Post subject:  

sancxjo wrote:
In the team, apparently, I will have usb0, since the usb-modem.

Please explain. Are you getting internet into your computer through a usb modem? Is this working?

In that case, the command should be
Code:
wlanmaker wlan0 sancxjo woof1234 usb0

But I have never tried this.

Quote:
Code:
apt-get install iptables
gives an error message.

Xenial already has iptables built-in.

Be aware that some Xenials are missing the drivers for Atheros devices. There are special instructions somewhere for fixing this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sancxjo


Joined: 29 Apr 2013
Posts: 93
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2018, 06:13    Post subject:  

Yes, I connect through the USB-modem.
I understood about iptables.
About the adapter you have to think about. The distance is very small enough for me, unnecessary exposure is not necessary.

Code:
wlanmaker wlan0 sancxjo woof1234 usb0
wlan0     No such device
Naturally, there is no adapter right now.
_________________
DebianDog-Jessie, Xenialpup 7.5
Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU D525 @ 1.80GHz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 13129
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2018, 07:06    Post subject:  

For the TL-WN722N adapter, you may need this driver PET.

https://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/puppy-xenial/32/atheros_kernel_modules-4.4.95noPAE-xenial32.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sancxjo


Joined: 29 Apr 2013
Posts: 93
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2018, 07:40    Post subject:  

And I also found a list of adapters for Ralink rt2800usb
https://wireless.wiki.kernel.org/en/users/drivers/rt2800usb/devices
Do you need to install the TL-WN727N adapter?

_________________
DebianDog-Jessie, Xenialpup 7.5
Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU D525 @ 1.80GHz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 13129
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2018, 14:44    Post subject:  

sancxjo wrote:
Do you need to install the TL-WN727N adapter?

There are a number of versions of that model. The newest ones will NOT work with wlanmaker.

Go here for information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april

Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 1241
Location: Green Island baby!

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jun 2018, 18:18    Post subject:  

Back on the provision of programs huh.

Phil I am after epdf or epdfviewer in 64 bit for this release . Is it possible to add it to the quickpet?

qepdf does not give the text copy option which I often need to place quotes in posts . Well not in any easy way anyhow
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
sancxjo


Joined: 29 Apr 2013
Posts: 93
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jun 2018, 02:11    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:

Go here for information.

Strangely among the popular there is no TL-WL821N, which has 300Mbps

_________________
DebianDog-Jessie, Xenialpup 7.5
Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU D525 @ 1.80GHz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jss83

Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 267

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jun 2018, 13:01    Post subject:  

How come xenialpup has no boot image logo like tahrpup did? or does it have one or it doesn't show up on mine? All I see after bios is a lot of text "loading initrd.gz ... ready. early console in extract_kernel, input data, etc, etc, etc, decompressing linux.. booting the kernel.

And then after above.. xenialpup x.x.x.x linux .. waiting for usb storage and then the .sfs files start to load, shouldn't there be a logo before this? Confused

Also, what are the default settings with regards to repositories selection in PPM, I think changed something and now it can't find subliminal, it showed it earlier but when I updated it, I must have clicked or unclicked something? Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jun 2018, 15:47    Post subject:  

Quote:
How come xenialpup has no boot image logo like tahrpup did?

How is it installed?
Details???
On what?
Used what to install it?

As a live CD, burned as a iso image to the CD, it should boot to a menu, with the Xenialpup boot logo image.

Installed any other way or device, by using some other installer. It may be booting using a boot loader other than what comes with a live CD install.

For PPM problem.
How is Xenialpup installed?
Frugal or full?

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jss83

Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 267

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2018, 00:02    Post subject:  

I downloaded the iso on windows system then burned the iso to a smaller usb(1gb) using rufus then took it to the computer with bigger usb(16gb) and installed it there using the puppy installer by booting into the live system on the first partiton of the usb and I use the second partition for the save file.

It did show a boot image logo on the 1gb usb live system iirc a blue one but doesn't shows it on the installed one. And this is the same install with which I am having trouble with PPM. I guess that is frugal install. Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2018, 19:57    Post subject:  

Looks like a different boot loader is being used on that install and that boot loader does not have the logo.
puppy installer uses a generic boot loader when it does installs to USB flash drives.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jun 2018, 20:04    Post subject:  

PPM repository info is in these files.
There are two local files that you need to know about:
/root/.packages/DISTRO_PET_REPOS
/root/.packages/DISTRO_COMPAT_REPOS

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jss83

Joined: 06 Jan 2015
Posts: 267

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jun 2018, 02:06    Post subject:  

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 13129
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jun 2018, 11:26    Post subject:  

@sancxjo: No reply?

What is the status of this project?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 45 of 54 [803 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, ..., 52, 53, 54 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2351s ][ Queries: 12 (0.1232s) ][ GZIP on ]