Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 24 Jan 2018, 08:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Xenialpup CE 7.5 / 25 Nov 2017
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 36 of 41 [609 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41 Next
Author Message
Bird Dog

Joined: 15 Jun 2014
Posts: 66
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 09 Dec 2017, 16:41    Post subject: Xenialpup CE 7.5  

@artsown

Thanks for the reply art but I couldn't figure out how to bookmark as cups.

@bigpup

Thanks for the reply bigpup,.I was in the applications chooser but looking for cups. The HTML viewer was set to autodetct so I changed it to palemoon and it works great. Thank you and Art for your help.

Thanks
Bird Dog

_________________
Frugal Tahrpup 646.0.5 & Xenialpup 64 save folder on core2 quad Q6600 2 gigs ram & AMD 6 core 4 gigs ram, Frugal Tahrpup 6.0.6 CE save folder on P4 3.0 ghz 1 gig ram and Dell P4 Celeron 2.4 ghz 1 gig ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jimcraven

Joined: 08 Dec 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 10 Dec 2017, 07:19    Post subject: Xenialpup CE 7.5  

rerwin asked me to post a request for the ath9k driver in XenialPup 7.5 (32-bit).

You can read about my problem "Unable to get wireless to work on eeePC 1005HA, Puppy 7.5" at

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=976524

I'd be happy to test a new version with the ath9k driver on my Asus eeePC 1005HA with an Atheros Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI).

Thanks,
Jim Craven
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jimcraven

Joined: 08 Dec 2017
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 10 Dec 2017, 15:19    Post subject:  

As a follow up to my previous post regarding ath9k drivers, 666philb provided the solution. See the original post at
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=976787
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3156
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 11 Dec 2017, 15:09    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
Xenial 7.5 worked well on my IBM thinkcentre desktop

One small fault I noticed .....

I set up a samba server with Samba Simple managment
and by default the share folder is /mnt/home. (see image)

This doesn't exist by default so I had to create it.
___________________________________________


thanks don570,

i've re-uploaded the samba .pets so it'll be fixed in future builds

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3156
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 11 Dec 2017, 15:13    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Xenialpup 7.5 fresh frugal install with fresh new save.

I am going to report this again, because I have seen several others reporting on this same problem.
Trying to use the Nvidia drivers in Quickpet.

I downloaded and installed the 380 driver.
It is suppose to be the one that supports my hardware. (340 will also)

After reboot driver is not working.

I noticed in startup there is no Nvidia file.
I copied one from another Puppy and rebooted.
(this may be a file Getnvidia makes)

On this boot up I got this error.
See image.

Update:
The next bootup after a complete shutdown.
Booted to screen with warning about x server was not shutdown cleanly.
Ran xorgwizard.
Selected the modeset driver and correct resolution.
Xwin
Booted to a working desktop and it was now using the Nvidia driver correctly, with everything working as it should.
What the @$&!* Shocked Rolling Eyes Twisted Evil Evil or Very Mad Laughing

That Nvidia file I put in startup could be what caused this to now work. Idea


hi bigpup,

i've made some changes to the nvidia driver .pets. can you test these for me
32bit http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-xenial/nvidia-384.98-b_K4.4.95-i386.pet
64bit http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-xenial64/nvidia-384.98-b_K4.9.58-x86_64.pet

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3156
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 11 Dec 2017, 15:18    Post subject: Re: Gnumeric / goffice bug  

peebee wrote:
I'm reporting this here because Xenialpup-7.5 is the most prominent pup affected but this bug also affects 64-bit XenialPup64-7.5 and Slacko-6.9.9.9 both 32 & 64bit. (Does not affect Dpup-Stretch from @radky as that is using an older version of Gnumeric from Precise).

The way to see the bug is to open Gnumeric spreadsheet and put some data into a column. Select the cells containing the data then goto "Search & Replace" in the "Edit" menu.

Search for an item of data and replace by something different - choose Scope=Range. (see attached)

Click "Apply" and Gnumeric instantly crashes with an error like:
(gnumeric:19877): GLib-ERROR **: gmem.c:328: overflow allocating 4294967295*8 bytes
Trace/breakpoint trap

The bug is caused by goffice rather than Gnumeric, and can be cured by reverting the version of goffice to the Wheezy version (for 32-bit systems ***):
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-wheezy/goffice-0.8.17.pet

32-bit Versions which exhibit the bug include:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-xenial/goffice-0.8.17-i686.pet

http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko14.2/goffice-0.8.17-i686_s700.pet

[added-10-dec]
64-bit with bug:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-tahr64/goffice-0.8.17-april64.pet

*** Unfortunately, an equivalent fix for XenialPup64 has not been found.

thanks peebee,

using ubuntu's goffice fixes it, .... bugfix coming!

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4887
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 11 Dec 2017, 19:01    Post subject:  

I reported to BarryK about problems with the probedisk command

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=976680#976680

Xenialpup was one of the distros I had problems with.
____________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9891
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Dec 2017, 19:39    Post subject:  

Quote:
hi bigpup,

i've made some changes to the nvidia driver .pets. can you test these for me
32bit http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-xenial/nvidia-384.98-b_K4.4.95-i386.pet
64bit http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-xenial64/nvidia-384.98-b_K4.9.58-x86_64.pet

So far I tried the 64 bit one for Xenialpup64 7.5.
No help.
It still does not bootup using the driver correctly.

I noticed the driver pets that seem to work have this file nvidia loaded into the startup directory.
This pet did not have this file or did not put it into startup.
File attached.
Remove the tar from name to see the actual nvidia file.

Update:
I put this nvidia file in startup and rebooted.
Got to a desktop with the correct resolution, but the mouse was frozen up.
So that file helped, but not 100% good.

Update, update:
Tried the one for Xenialpup 7.5 (32bit)
The same problems as above.
So, this one did not work.
nvidia.tar
Description 
tar

 Download 
Filename  nvidia.tar 
Filesize  13.38 KB 
Downloaded  23 Time(s) 

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1184
Location: Saint-Gérard / Walloon part of Belgium

PostPosted: Wed 13 Dec 2017, 04:03    Post subject: gnumeric preview needs symlink to qpdfview  

Hi Phil,

on this 7.5 version, gnumerics preview reports in terminal: Sad
Code:
root# gnumeric
/usr/bin/evince: line 13: exec: epdfview: not found

as qpdfview is the onboard pdfviewer, just made the following symlink to fix it ! Smile
Code:
ln -s /usr/bin/qpdfview /usr/bin/epdfview

(to mention:
1) on previous versions, it happened that gnumeric asked for evince-previewer; now it claims for epdfview ; now it is evince that claims for epdfview instead of evince-previewer;
2) this xenialpup-7.5 runs like a charm Razz ! )

HTH and have a nice day whatever the weather today Very Happy !
charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
proebler

Joined: 24 Jan 2012
Posts: 122
Location: TAS

PostPosted: Wed 13 Dec 2017, 06:39    Post subject:
Subject description: curious experience with savefile
 

A curious experience with a xenialpup-7.5 frugal install to USB flash with Grub4Dos boot loader.
I created a small savefile to preserve the localization and some Rox filer options.
I did this on an HP 6930p laptop, then used the USB on an HP-8200 desktop.
It boots on the desktop, using the savefile, but both keyboard and mouse are inactive.
All I can do is to use power off in order to shut down.

I rebooted with pfix=ram, no problem, keyboard and mouse are working ok.
So I then created a new 2nd small savefile, again with settings for localization and Rox options.
With this second savefile I can now boot both on the desktop and on the laptop.

The initial 1st savefile appears to contain machine specific information which makes it unsuitable for the desktop.
I don't think that I have experienced such a thing with a Puppy before.
What is going on?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9891
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 13 Dec 2017, 08:20    Post subject:  

What format is the partition the save is on?
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
proebler

Joined: 24 Jan 2012
Posts: 122
Location: TAS

PostPosted: Wed 13 Dec 2017, 16:00    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
What format is the partition the save is on?

the partition is FAT32
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4887
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 13 Dec 2017, 20:29    Post subject:  

proebler wrote:
I created a small savefile


The name of the save file is important if it is stored on a FAT32 partition
because FAT32 doesn't allow certain symbols like ":"

Avoid these...

Quote:
" * ? . , ; : / \ | + = < > [ ] signs


___________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
proebler

Joined: 24 Jan 2012
Posts: 122
Location: TAS

PostPosted: Thu 14 Dec 2017, 08:15    Post subject:
Subject description: curious experience with savefile
 

I have now used the USB on two more machines; I booted with pfix=ram and then crated savefiles in the same manner as described in my previous post.
The machines are a HP P4 desktop and a HP 8460p laptop (i5).

Now I have 4 very similar savefiles to use.
Two were created on (different) laptops, the other two were created on (different) desktops.
All 4 savefiles were created from the same system xenialpup-7.5 , run from the same frugal install on the one USB and saved to the same FAT32 partition on that USB.

On the two laptops all 4 savefiles work together with the base system.

On the two desktops the two savefiles created on desktops work together with the base system.

On the two desktops the two savfiles created on laptops will lead to a booted system with no input possible from either keyboard or wired (USB) mouse.
That the savefile does get loaded is evident from the desktop appearance and also from the way the (forced) shutdown takes place when the power button is pressed.
Meaning, that the option whether to save or not to save is presented (having set the system up in that way).
It is interesting to note, that at that point the keyboard does become active, i.e. allowing me to use arrow and Enter keys.

The kernel line I use is pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck psubdir=/some_subdir

No disallowed characters are used in the name of the savefile(s).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2138
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Thu 14 Dec 2017, 13:49    Post subject:  

I'm surprised that bigpup hasn't responded yet. Perhaps he was exaggerating when he told me he never sleeps. Laughing At any rate, he --or someone else-- may be able to provide a better understanding of what may have caused your 'curious experience'.

Edited: wrote laptop a couple time meaning to write USB-key.

Xenialpup's system resides on your USB-Key. The SaveFiles you create on a laptop don't work when you try to use them on a desktop.

According to your last post, "The kernel line I use is pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck psubdir=/some_subdir ".

If I take this at face value, that's the kernel line you have on your USB-Key used for your laptop. I have to wonder how you created them. If you installed grub4dos to your usb-key and ran it to create a menu.lst on that key, it would have created a kernel line like the following:

pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck psubdir=/some_subdir ## emphasis supplied.

With pmedia=atahd as the boot argument on a USB-Key, I would have expected that the effect would have been either to prevent booting or to ignore that improper argument when booting from the USB-Key. But, perhaps it did more, somehow enabling you to boot while instructing Xenialpup that you have a peculiar system. That peculiarity may have been incorporated into the Savefile. When you later try to boot using the SaveFile lacking that peculiarity, the curious effect you noticed may be the result.

Just guessing.

Try creating a SaveFile from your Laptop after booting into it with the kernel argument

pmedia=usbflash pfix=fsck psubdir=/some_subdir

and see if that SaveFile is usable on your Desktops.

Alternatively, don't include your customizations of rox in the SaveFiles you create on your laptops and see if such SaveFile is usable on your Desktops.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 36 of 41 [609 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1364s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0322s) ][ GZIP on ]