Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 19 Sep 2018, 07:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Wifi-Connect 2017B beta (Deprecated)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 10 [145 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 600
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 15 Apr 2016, 05:29    Post subject:  

EDUWIFI...

What is that? Sounds like something neat Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2262
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Fri 15 Apr 2016, 07:27    Post subject:  

EDUWIFI is the name of my script for connecting to a university wifi 'eduroam'. I removed that discreet script because wifi-connect does the same job better!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2262
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Fri 15 Apr 2016, 07:29    Post subject:  

@Pelo hotspot does not work yet!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 1668
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Fri 15 Apr 2016, 08:47    Post subject:  

Pelo... what do you tink of Network Wizard, it was absent from your post. I find it very useful, and I don't really need SNS or Frisbee.

Stemsee... keep up the good work. Though I don't use anything you build (limited resourses with a netbook), these builds, pets, etc look fine for folks with a modern computer.

_________________
Linux user #498913

Some people need to reimagine their thinking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2262
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Fri 15 Apr 2016, 10:18    Post subject:  

8Geee wrote:
Stemsee... I don't use anything you build.

Network Wizard is standard in most pups, I think. It has been for a long time. I hope that everyone who dislikes my efforts to the point of criticising them without trying them first, using only lame excuses based upon their lack of funds to not download an 80kb wrapper, does not announce it here by redirecting attention to an established and well used alternative! In fact wifi-connect is the alternative!

If there is another connection tool that can connect your pc to an AP in fewer clicks, I will take it in preference over my own!? Even better 8Geee, how about YOU write one for us, combining all the best features, and packing it as you see fit to your fine standards?

kind regards
Stemsee
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 600
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 15 Apr 2016, 12:03    Post subject:  

Please just continue the great efforts to move towards new ideas and thinking.

What you do is very smart with combining Wlanmaker and Shareinternet.

Thats a killa if you ask me...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
corvus


Joined: 12 Jun 2015
Posts: 127
Location: In the peninsula shaped like a boot.

PostPosted: Fri 15 Apr 2016, 12:58    Post subject:  

Back to the point and go forward with testing, tried the last version, the browser icon now appears. Default start not working:

Code:
# ./defaultwifi
/root/.wifivarsdef: line 2: be: command not found
awk: cmd. line:1: {print $2
awk: cmd. line:1:          ^ unexpected newline or end of string
Usage: grep [OPTION]... PATTERN [FILE]...
Try 'grep --help' for more information.
killall: wpa_supplicant: no process killed
killall: dhcpcd: no process killed
./defaultwifi: line 103: unexpected EOF while looking for matching `"'
./defaultwifi: line 105: syntax error: unexpected end of file
# EXIT="Exit on timeout"


if I restart X the tray icon disappears and the wifi disconnects. I would suggest to move the wifiprofi entry in Puppys menu because to get access to an saved profile you must first run wifi-connect but I believe once a profile is saved a user would like to start it directly rather than having to start first WiFi-connection.

stemsee wrote:
corvus wrote:

P.S.: How do I write something after the image ?


Do you mean in the tray menu?

Like this
Code:
MENU="Text!command!image.png|text!command!image.png|"

That is the format. Using variables in any position is ok too.

No stemsee, my question is off topic, I meant how to write something after the image attached to the post on the forum.

My regards and thanks for your work and efforts on this Forum.

_________________
Hoc unum scio, me nihil scire. Socrate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 600
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 15 Apr 2016, 14:02    Post subject:  

@Stemsee

As for hotspot, what is great there is the built in webserver to serve or exchange files.

There are plenty of nice services that can run over Wlanmaker and ShareInternet.

And those are already built in mostly or can be found as pets. I think think of things that are like communication, such as chat and videochat. Games... I would like to challenge anyone anywhere in chess for instans. Files up and down. Sharing your videos and music.

Want to check my digital DVD backup directory? Wink

What is most desperately missing is what i believe is DNSmasque.

The ability to make your "hotspot" redirect clients to a url.


I prey Smile

EDIT
After some googling I at least know what i ask for. Its called a "captive portal"...

https://personaltelco.net/wiki/CaptivePortal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2262
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Fri 15 Apr 2016, 15:00    Post subject:  

@corvus

Argh! I must have worked on a copy script in another location! Thanks!

I believe it is corrected now!

What do you think of the idea that wifiprofi only offers for selection profiles that have an Access Point available? Or leave it as it is to show all saved configs?

Last edited by stemsee on Tue 21 Nov 2017, 03:39; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2262
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Fri 15 Apr 2016, 15:09    Post subject:  

@Atle
that one is obsolete. I found this
https://github.com/LogicalBricks/wicap-php
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 600
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 15 Apr 2016, 15:12    Post subject:  

Wow... That looks like a great start... I think maybe even I might be able to figure that one out. Or at least try Smile

I even found a "Puppy", that is not really a puppy, but still somewhat called that...

http://www.authpuppy.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2262
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Fri 15 Apr 2016, 16:17    Post subject:  

Well, Atle, that is for Windows!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
corvus


Joined: 12 Jun 2015
Posts: 127
Location: In the peninsula shaped like a boot.

PostPosted: Fri 15 Apr 2016, 16:26    Post subject:  

stemsee wrote:
@corvus
What do you think of the idea that wifiprofi only offers for selection profiles that have an Access Point available? Or leave it as it is to show all saved configs?


I think the best choice is to offer the selection of only the profiles that have an available Access Point, provided the selection is dynamically updated with a scanning routine before the selection otherwise it is better to leave it as it is.

_________________
Hoc unum scio, me nihil scire. Socrate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
corvus


Joined: 12 Jun 2015
Posts: 127
Location: In the peninsula shaped like a boot.

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2016, 03:47    Post subject:  

Tried the corrected version, works well but choosing the network to connect to I have selected, saved and setted as default the wrong Access Point when I realised the error I repeated the selections with the right one but after reboot wifi-connect does not connect automatically. I have to start wifiprofi and choose the right one to connect but I get two icons in the tray and on reboot the problem persist. How can I delete the wrong Access Point ?
_________________
Hoc unum scio, me nihil scire. Socrate
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2262
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2016, 09:14    Post subject:  

So, run 'wifi-connect' and select AP, check 'default' box and 'save' box enter ok.

If that doesn't work then
Code:
rm -f /root/.wifivars
rm -f /root/.wifivars2
rm -f /root/.wifivarsdef
rm -f /root/Startup/defaultwifi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 10 [145 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0508s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]