How can I make an sfs of my xampp installation?

Using applications, configuring, problems
Message
Author
panoss
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 13:36

How can I make an sfs of my xampp installation?

#1 Post by panoss »

I have a xampp installation and I want to make an sfs out of it in order to be able to use it on other puppy instllations.
Is this possible?
How can I do it?
I used mksquashfs <path_to_directory> <path_to_directory>.sfs -noappend
But it mounts on the root when I load it.

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#2 Post by Semme »

>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<

panoss
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 13:36

#3 Post by panoss »

Semme as always you were very helpfull.
It worked (almost) perfectly! (the PetMaker)
It did everything correctly exept for the permissions of the folders and files.
Is there some way to also copy the permissions of the original?

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#4 Post by Semme »

Hmm.. The same pkg on *other* pups is rather vague.

@ a hundert'n twenny-fi mb's, methinks too much of a challenge for me's advices.

To note: mksquashfs carries several cmdline options that should help you overcome your permissions hurdle.

panoss
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 13:36

#5 Post by panoss »

I meant other installation of the same puppy, Precise 5.4.3.
Anyway, I can restore permissions manually, no big deal, thank you very much!

BTW, it's great to have this possibility to make sfs files, isn't it?
Fantastic!

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#6 Post by Semme »

:mrgreen::D Pup has spoiled you Panoss!
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<

panoss
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 13:36

#7 Post by panoss »

That's the bare truth! :mrgreen:

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#8 Post by Semme »

>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<

panoss
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 13:36

#9 Post by panoss »

Unfortunatelly I have bad news.
PetMaker doesn't work correctly.
It adds the parent folder in each folder.
For example:
Original:
/opt/lampp/joomla/administrator
-------------------------folder1
-------------------------folder2
-------------------------folder3

PetMaker sfs:
/opt/lampp/joomla/administrator
-------------------------administrator
-------------------------folder1
-------------------------folder2
-------------------------folder3

I guess I'll go to a simple zip of the folder, I suppose it 'll be ok.

User avatar
Ted Dog
Posts: 3965
Joined: Wed 14 Sep 2005, 02:35
Location: Heart of Texas

#10 Post by Ted Dog »

no it works as it should you need a bit more work on your end to set the correct path.

you need a fake root directory which has the path to the files set up, then build at the fake root level

/tmp/fakeroot/opt/lampp/joomla/administrator/XCXCXCX

now copy those folder into where XCXCXCX is XCXCXCX is whatever those are.

cd /tmp/fakeroot

then run script :wink:

panoss
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 13:36

#11 Post by panoss »

Ted you 're talking about PetMake, right?
The dir I want to convert to sfs is:/opt/lampp

I 'll have to create a folder in /tmp?
/tmp/fakeroot/opt/lampp

Which is a copy of the original? (/opt/lampp)

User avatar
OscarTalks
Posts: 2196
Joined: Mon 06 Feb 2012, 00:58
Location: London, England

#12 Post by OscarTalks »

I don't know anything about xampp but are you saying that the package name is "xampp-1.2.3" (or whatever the number) and ALL of the files of this package are installed under /opt/lampp?

Is there nothing installed anywhere else, under /etc or /usr for example?

If that is the case then you could create a new directory named xampp-1.2.3 and then go into it and create a directory named opt

Then copy your lampp directory and contents into your new opt
Then run dir2sfs xampp-1.2.3 to create an .sfs which can be loaded in other Puppies.
Oscar in England
Image

panoss
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 13:36

#13 Post by panoss »

Yes, there are files installed in /etc and elsewhere.

User avatar
OscarTalks
Posts: 2196
Joined: Mon 06 Feb 2012, 00:58
Location: London, England

#14 Post by OscarTalks »

Ignore any files which are created when the program runs.
You need to determine if there are any other needed files which are part of the package when it is originally installed.
If any exist in other locations, copy them into corresponding locations inside your xampp-1.2.3 directory before running the dir2sfs script.
Oscar in England
Image

User avatar
Ted Dog
Posts: 3965
Joined: Wed 14 Sep 2005, 02:35
Location: Heart of Texas

#15 Post by Ted Dog »

panoss wrote:Ted you 're talking about PetMake, right?
The dir I want to convert to sfs is:/opt/lampp

I 'll have to create a folder in /tmp?
/tmp/fakeroot/opt/lampp

Which is a copy of the original? (/opt/lampp)
Answering orginal sfs title, if you are going pet method then others are answering. Actually what is confusing is jumping back and forth pet vs. sfs They are not setup to work the same way. Easy methods are based on how you installed orginal and how soon you run the package scripts. The dir2 methods are from a terminal and current directory that you also call to install the files you wish to package. Once you leave that terminal session there goes the environment that is needed for scripts dir2pet dir2sfs etc to work.

User avatar
rockedge
Posts: 1864
Joined: Wed 11 Apr 2012, 13:32
Location: Connecticut, United States
Contact:

#16 Post by rockedge »

I have successfully built XAMPP into an .sfs file and loaded into a similar Puppy Tahr install.
Try this method->
find an empty USB thumbdrive of 4Gb and plug it in;

note what number pops up under the new icon at the bottom left of the screen
(for example, sdc1 or sdb1) after you plugged in the new thumbdrive

Open a terminal then type:

Code: Select all

cd /
type, exactly:

Code: Select all

mksquashfs etc opt /mnt/thumbdrive_name+number-as-above/xampp.sfs

Experiment whether or not you can leave the /etc out of the .sfs, it may be possible.

It may take a while and it's an unusual procedure but I had luck in making a XAMPP install an xampp.sfs which I could load. I think it was XAMPP 1.8.3 at the time.
Good Luck.

User avatar
OscarTalks
Posts: 2196
Joined: Mon 06 Feb 2012, 00:58
Location: London, England

#17 Post by OscarTalks »

I took a brief look at xampp and it seems that the installer does install everything self-contained under /opt/lampp (by default) and then it is up to the user to do any steps for auto start at boot. There is also a manager GUI in there so you have to set up a way of launching that if you feel you need to (menu entry, desktop icon or whatever).

I tried running the installer of one of the current versions (5.6.19) and it all went OK except for the MySQL not starting because it was set up to run as user mysql and not root. If I change it to root in the config file it runs but I'm not sure what the implications of doing that are.

Anyway, it is quite a large beast so making an .sfs (by the manual method I described) and loading that is a good way of doing it in a frugal install I would think.
Oscar in England
Image

panoss
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 13:36

#18 Post by panoss »

Now MySQL won't start! omg

panoss
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 13:36

#19 Post by panoss »

Finally, I reinstalled everything: the puppy, JDK, DevX, xampp, xdebug, Netbeans, Firefox.
It took me 85 minutes (by the clock).

Is there some way I can make an image (or something) of this installation?
So that if something goes wrong again, I will just copy everything from the image to a partition?
(it's a full installation)
Is this possible?

Atle
Posts: 596
Joined: Wed 19 Nov 2008, 12:38
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

#20 Post by Atle »

Hi panoss

I have installed Xampp into Lupu 5.2.8..7 and its "brother" Sulu004 and Fatdog.

I the use the Bitnami installer from Apache and friends...

Are the installation you do somehow different or becomes smaller i size?

Fatdog became so fat that the remaster will not boot, while the others went perfectly fine.

Atle

Post Reply