Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Jul 2017, 09:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
IRON 32 bit browser is BACK!
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 4 [51 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1549
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat 18 Feb 2017, 09:48    Post subject:  

Now testing Iron 58.0.3050.0 (32bit) with modification suggested by 666philb using bbe to enable run-as-root with sandbox and infobars enabled. Results will vary in different Puppies. Pepper Flash version is the latest, use http://adobe.com/software/flash/about to test.
Download from:-
https://yadi.sk/d/_S5b4g7tpcyZn?force_show=1

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
spiritwild


Joined: 03 Oct 2016
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jul 2017, 19:02    Post subject:  

For the life of me, I've always downloaded their "update" and managed to keep things plugging along. Now I can't seem to remember what I did before. I always kept the wrapper script but now it's suddenly spitting the (run as a normal user) window.

Did something change in the latest upgrade? No matter what I try fails. I went as far as loading as spot but that doesn't seem to load any personal settings. I reinstalled iron from the 58 pet here. That works just fine.

Is there something edited in the pet that can be edited manually

Distro: LxPupXenial 16.08
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1415
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jul 2017, 19:54    Post subject:  

I use the script below and make it executable in /root/my-applications/bin Then a do a drag and drop to the desktop. Well, actually, I package a pet like that includes the desktop but it's 64bit. Anyway, the script below works for me just be mindful of the path. I keep it in /opt/iron directory.... Hope this helps...

if su -l -c "PATH=$PATH LANG=$LANG DISPLAY=$DISPLAY /opt/iron/chrome-wrapper" spot ; then
echo ""
else
cd /
cd /opt/iron
chown root chrome-sandbox
chmod 4755 chrome-sandbox
chmod 4755 chrome-wrapper
cd /
su -l -c "PATH=$PATH LANG=$LANG DISPLAY=$DISPLAY /opt/iron/chrome-wrapper" spot
yad --text="Note: Script needed to fix Iron. Should be fine going forward..."
fi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
spiritwild


Joined: 03 Oct 2016
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jul 2017, 21:22    Post subject:  

Thanks! that worked like a charm. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1415
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jul 2017, 23:45    Post subject:  

My pleasure! Credit where credit's due, the first "if" in the script was received from RCRSN51. The "else" part of the script is what the SRWare provided to allow for proper permissions so the darn thing works.

Just another light note, you can do the following for incognito in the script above:

/opt/iron/chrome-wrapper -incognito
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
spiritwild


Joined: 03 Oct 2016
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jul 2017, 07:53    Post subject:  

I haven't used chrome much and forgot that it syncs the bookmarks to my account. from trying the different installs in usr/lib usr/share, I manage to fool myself by not being logged in.

Then it loaded with crazy menus. 1$ is trying to log in to 2$ kept showing in the addy bar. Then it was pulling random gtk into the menu. I thought, man I screwed this up real good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 [51 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0642s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0082s) ][ GZIP on ]