Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Nov 2019, 23:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
DebianDog64 - 64 bit DebianDog-Jessie
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 37 of 38 [560 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 35, 36, 37, 38 Next
Author Message
ocpaul20

Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 255
Location: PRC

PostPosted: Thu 01 Feb 2018, 23:46    Post subject:  

Quote:
Are you using pcmanfm or thunar as your file manager? If so, select /usr/local/bin/desktop_drive_icons, to to menu edit-create link, and put a link in /root/startup. That should start it up automatically every time.]


I think I am using Rox, but I have added items to Startup before so I can do that again now.

I will give it a whirl and see if that sorts it out. At least now I know the name of the program I can run if they disappear again in another lifetime (instance of Debiandog) !!

Thanks for all your help.

_________________
==================
Running DebianDog Jessie Frugal with /live and maybe with changes or savefile or.., who knows?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ocpaul20

Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 255
Location: PRC

PostPosted: Fri 02 Feb 2018, 00:14    Post subject:  

It is strange, because I have added a link to /root/Startup and am sure it is executable. When I click on it as you suggested, it runs and shows the drive icons correctly.

However, after all that, when I reboot, expecting this to run as part of the startup routine, I get no drive icons but I get a message which tells me that I am using the default pinboard.

To test it all, I placed a line at the end of another shell script which runs at my startup.
nohup /root/Startup/desktop_drive_icons &

and nohup.out gives me a message
(desktop_drive_icons:3539): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display:

Maybe this is a total Red Herring and the real problem is to do with the lost pinboard and the nohup.out message above?

With linux, nothing is as simple as you think it is going to be, huh?

_________________
==================
Running DebianDog Jessie Frugal with /live and maybe with changes or savefile or.., who knows?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1388

PostPosted: Fri 02 Feb 2018, 02:03    Post subject:  

Sorry, don't know. If Fred (posted the first message in this thread) doesn't see this in a day or two you might send him a pm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4165
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 02 Feb 2018, 07:48    Post subject:  

Hi ocpaul20,

Quote:
It is strange, because I have added a link to /root/Startup and am sure it is executable. When I click on it as you suggested, it runs and shows the drive icons correctly.

However, after all that, when I reboot, expecting this to run as part of the startup routine, I get no drive icons but I get a message which tells me that I am using the default pinboard.


I tried to reproduce that (made symlink to /usr/local/bin/desktop_drive_icons in /root/Startup and reboot) , but couldn't, all is fine for me, and rox pinboard configuration should not have anything to do with desktop_drive_icons .
So it looks like that the problem is caused by something else you did.
You can try to restore to the original rox pinboard, from terminal:
Code:
cp -af /mnt/live/memory/images/01-filesystem.squashfs/root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/pinbd-OB /root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/

Then restart X (Exit X and type startx from console)
If that doesn't help, just copy all the files inside /mnt/live/memory/images/01-filesystem.squashfs/root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/ to:
/root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/ and restart X.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ocpaul20

Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 255
Location: PRC

PostPosted: Sat 03 Feb 2018, 03:42    Post subject:  

Hi Fred,
Thanks for your comment.

I have managed to get back my drive icons and the message about the default pinboard no longer shows on bootup. I am not sure what I did, but I did restore some stuff as you suggested so it was most probably that which sorted it out.

The only problem now I have is that I have lost some menu items which I thought would have been restored in the same series of operations when I restored the ROX-filer directory.

In particular, the JWM menu, Network item at bottom right has lost a few entries such as Deluge and Icedove etc. I can reinstall them and the menu items will probably be re-installed too.

Anyway, thanks for all the help on this everyone.

=====================
I found the missing menu items in a couple of files /root/.jwmrc & /root/.jwmrc-mjwm so I restored them too and everything is fine now.
======================

_________________
==================
Running DebianDog Jessie Frugal with /live and maybe with changes or savefile or.., who knows?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ocpaul20

Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 255
Location: PRC

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2018, 04:32    Post subject:
Subject description: Python GTK2 DISPLAY: puppy user
 

I have another small problem but it may not be anything to do with DD at all. I have found other posts about it online but none of them really seem to make it any better. I will describe it and see if anyone has any ideas.

I am developing an application using python and gtk 2.

The program runs OK if I am root but not if I am puppy. When I am puppy, the error message is as follows:
Code:
puppy@debiandog:/mnt/sdb2/home/paulw/all_python/python_pyaudio$ python llab_pup_start.py 
No protocol specified
/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gtk-2.0/gtk/__init__.py:57: GtkWarning: could not open display
  warnings.warn(str(e), _gtk.Warning)
llab_pup_start.py:562: Warning: invalid (NULL) pointer instance
  window = gtk.Window(gtk.WINDOW_TOPLEVEL)
llab_pup_start.py:562: Warning: g_signal_connect_data: assertion 'G_TYPE_CHECK_INSTANCE (instance)' failed
  window = gtk.Window(gtk.WINDOW_TOPLEVEL)
llab_pup_start.py:472: GtkWarning: IA__gtk_settings_get_for_screen: assertion 'GDK_IS_SCREEN (screen)' failed
  scrolled_window = gtk.ScrolledWindow()
treeselection= <gtk.TreeSelection object at 0xb57c457c (GtkTreeSelection at 0x9e8ef40)>
llab_pup_start.py:517: GtkWarning: IA__gtk_settings_get_for_screen: assertion 'GDK_IS_SCREEN (screen)' failed
  self.treeview.append_column(column) # add column to treeview
llab_pup_start.py:517: Warning: g_object_get: assertion 'G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed
  self.treeview.append_column(column) # add column to treeview
llab_pup_start.py:614: GtkWarning: IA__gtk_settings_get_for_screen: assertion 'GDK_IS_SCREEN (screen)' failed
  scrolled_window = gtk.ScrolledWindow()
llab_pup_start.py:616: GtkWarning: IA__gdk_pango_context_get_for_screen: assertion 'GDK_IS_SCREEN (screen)' failed
  scrolled_window.add(self.textview)
llab_pup_start.py:616: PangoWarning: pango_context_set_font_description: assertion 'context != NULL' failed
  scrolled_window.add(self.textview)
llab_pup_start.py:616: PangoWarning: pango_context_set_base_dir: assertion 'context != NULL' failed
  scrolled_window.add(self.textview)
llab_pup_start.py:616: PangoWarning: pango_context_set_language: assertion 'context != NULL' failed
  scrolled_window.add(self.textview)
llab_pup_start.py:616: Warning: g_object_unref: assertion 'G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed
  scrolled_window.add(self.textview)
llab_pup_start.py:616: GtkWarning: IA__gtk_settings_get_for_screen: assertion 'GDK_IS_SCREEN (screen)' failed
  scrolled_window.add(self.textview)
llab_pup_start.py:616: GtkWarning: IA__gdk_screen_get_display: assertion 'GDK_IS_SCREEN (screen)' failed
  scrolled_window.add(self.textview)
llab_pup_start.py:616: GtkWarning: IA__gdk_keymap_get_for_display: assertion 'GDK_IS_DISPLAY (display)' failed
  scrolled_window.add(self.textview)
llab_pup_start.py:616: Warning: g_object_get: assertion 'G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed
  scrolled_window.add(self.textview)
Segmentation fault
puppy@debiandog:/mnt/sdb2/home/paulw/all_python/python_pyaudio$


I know from other posts elsewhere it is to do with the DISPLAY env variable so I have this at the end of my env print
Code:
...
SHLVL=1
HOME=/home/puppy
XDG_SEAT=seat0
LOGNAME=puppy
DISPLAY=:0
XAUTHORITY=/root/.Xauthority
_=/usr/bin/env


Anything I can try would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Paul

_________________
==================
Running DebianDog Jessie Frugal with /live and maybe with changes or savefile or.., who knows?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4165
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2018, 04:43    Post subject:  

Hi Paul, just guessing, but maybe try before running your script:
Code:
xhost +local:puppy


Or run with sudo ?

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ocpaul20

Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 255
Location: PRC

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2018, 04:51    Post subject:  

Hi Fred,
Thanks for your quick reply.

Code:
puppy@debiandog:~$ xhost +local:puppy
No protocol specified
xhost:  unable to open display ":0"


sudo works OK but essentially I am running as root aren't I? I would prefer to run as puppy if possible because other people may be running the application and I dont really want them messing about as root.
Paul

_________________
==================
Running DebianDog Jessie Frugal with /live and maybe with changes or savefile or.., who knows?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4165
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2018, 05:14    Post subject:  

Is it DebianDog64 Jessie you are on ? Or... ?
Anyway, it's different for me when I do the xhost command logged in as puppy:
Code:
puppy@jessie64:~$ xhost +local:puppy
non-network local connections being added to access control list
puppy@jessie64:~$


So if you have a custom Debiandog setup, there maybe something wrong with permissions for user puppy.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ocpaul20

Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 255
Location: PRC

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2018, 05:25    Post subject:  

It is a bog-standard one as far as I know.

What does your environment DISPLAY variable show?

When I logout from root and login as puppy (as opposed to doing su as I was before) I get:
$ xhost +local:puppy
xhost: unable to open display ""

and env DISPLAY is not present at all in env variables.

What do I need to do to get in in there? Where does it come from?

================
I tried this
Code:
puppy@debiandog:/mnt/sdb2/home/paulw/all_python/python_pyaudio$  export DISPLAY=:0
puppy@debiandog:/mnt/sdb2/home/paulw/all_python/python_pyaudio$ xhost +local:puppy
Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 keyxhost:  unable to open display ":0"





Thanks,
Paul

_________________
==================
Running DebianDog Jessie Frugal with /live and maybe with changes or savefile or.., who knows?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4165
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2018, 05:49    Post subject:  

ocpaul20 wrote:
It is a bog-standard one as far as I know.

Still having my doubts about that because your shell prompt is:
Code:
puppy@debiandog

different from mine.
But it could be that you changed hostname to "debiandog"
My env and DISPLAY:
Code:
puppy@jessie64:~$ env
....
....
PATH=/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/local/games:/usr/games
PWD=/home/puppy
SHLVL=6
HOME=/home/puppy
LOGNAME=puppy
DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS=unix:abstract=/tmp/dbus-gYwcHwdCyE,guid=f5677f65cca06088f7556be95a97ca2f
WINDOWPATH=3
DISPLAY=:0
XAUTHORITY=/home/puppy/.Xauthority
_=/usr/bin/env
puppy@jessie64:~$ export DISPLAY=:0
puppy@jessie64:~$ xhost +local:puppy
non-network local connections being added to access control list
puppy@jessie64:~$


EDIT: You may want to try creating another user: System > Add new user
(to test if there's any difference then)
I created user fred and after login:
Code:
fred@jessie64:~$ export DISPLAY=:0
fred@jessie64:~$ xhost +local:fred 
non-network local connections being added to access control list
fred@jessie64:~$


Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ocpaul20

Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 255
Location: PRC

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2018, 06:04    Post subject:  

Yes, I changed my host name as I am running it from a memory stick on another computer. This changing my PCs hostname helps me be certain of which one I am on. I need to ssh to other copies of DD.

Maybe if I go back to the iso and load that I will find the DISPLAY env variable I need.

OK, well thanks for the help. I will have to try a few things and see if I can get DISPLAY set up on user puppy like you have.

Paul

edit
------
I have created another user as you suggested, but the env still does not create the DISPLAY variable for the new user.

I am going to have to create another memory stick from the iso I think thats the answer maybe.

_________________
==================
Running DebianDog Jessie Frugal with /live and maybe with changes or savefile or.., who knows?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ocpaul20

Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 255
Location: PRC

PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar 2018, 01:16    Post subject:  

Couple of quick questions -
1) on boot, where do I change the boot process to login as puppy rather than as root?

2) I just want to copy a simple file from one machine to another but the scp command is executing my ~/.bashrc & ~/.profile as well which appears to make the scp fail. Am I doing something wrong?

# scp -v testfile root@192.168.1.27:/home/puppy/llabdir

the '/root' in the code below is a pwd command I have in my .bashrc file

Code:
...
debug1: Authentication succeeded (publickey).
Authenticated to 192.168.1.27 ([192.168.1.27]:1728).
debug1: channel 0: new [client-session]
debug1: Requesting no-more-sessions@openssh.com
debug1: Entering interactive session.
debug1: Sending environment.
debug1: Sending command: scp -v -t /home/puppy/llabdir
/root
root@debiandog:~# debug1: client_input_channel_req: channel 0 rtype exit-status reply 0
debug1: channel 0: free: client-session, nchannels 1
debug1: fd 0 clearing O_NONBLOCK
debug1: fd 1 clearing O_NONBLOCK
Transferred: sent 3388, received 1840 bytes, in 0.0 seconds
Bytes per second: sent 96132.9, received 52209.1
debug1: Exit status 0


Thanks,
Paul

_________________
==================
Running DebianDog Jessie Frugal with /live and maybe with changes or savefile or.., who knows?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4165
Location: holland

PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar 2018, 05:25    Post subject:  

Hi Paul,
Quote:
1) on boot, where do I change the boot process to login as puppy rather than as root?

In the file /etc/inittab change root to puppy in the the line starting with "1:2345:respawn:/bin/login", so becomes this:
Code:
1:2345:respawn:/bin/login -f puppy tty6 </dev/tty1 >/dev/tty1 2>&1


Second question I can't answer, hopefully someone else can (who knows more about these things)

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3631

PostPosted: Wed 28 Mar 2018, 10:30    Post subject:  

Try adding a dot to the end of that command i.e. copy to the same filename.

Or have you tried transferring files from the command line?
Code:
scp testfile puppy@192.168.1.27:/home/puppy/.


and enter the puppy userid password when prompted

or
Code:
scp testfile root@192.168.1.27:/tmp/.


etc.

For root scp under Debian I believe you have to edit /etc/ssh/sshd_conf and change PermitRootLogin without-password to PermitRootLogin yes
and then restart the ssh server so that you can ssh as root. Not a good idea however as ssh tends to generally soon get blitzed with brute force attacks. Even without root ssh access, ssh will also get hit and best to put limits on the number of attempts a remote might make before barring further attempts. ssh and scp however are better (more secure) than ftp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 37 of 38 [560 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 35, 36, 37, 38 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1039s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0438s) ][ GZIP on ]