Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 13 Nov 2019, 04:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
DebianDog64 - 64 bit DebianDog-Jessie
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 36 of 38 [560 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 34, 35, 36, 37, 38 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12768
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 22 Jan 2018, 16:56    Post subject:  

Did you pass the basic connection test?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 402
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Mon 22 Jan 2018, 17:17    Post subject:  

Alas No, it seems...

root@jessie64:~# iwconfig
eth0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 unassociated Nickname:"<WIFI@REALTEK>"
Mode:Auto Frequency=2.412 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Sensitivity:0/0
Retry:off RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

lo no wireless extensions.

root@jessie64:~# ifconfig
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
RX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:100 (100.0 B) TX bytes:100 (100.0 B)

root@jessie64:~# iwlist wlan0 scan
wlan0 No scan results

root@jessie64:~#

Confused K

_________________
PC is Not Political Correctness Razz , it's a Personal Computer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12768
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 22 Jan 2018, 17:28    Post subject:  

I don't see all of the commands:
Code:
ifconfig wlan0 up
ifconfig
iwlist wlan0 scan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 402
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Mon 22 Jan 2018, 17:36    Post subject:  

root@jessie64:~# ifconfig wlan0 up
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not permitted
root@jessie64:~# ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1c:c0:ed:3f:25
inet addr:192.168.178.56 Bcast:192.168.178.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21c:c0ff:feed:3f25/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:6690 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5636 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:5618321 (5.3 MiB) TX bytes:902625 (881.4 KiB)
Interrupt:20 Memory:e0200000-e0220000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
RX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:100 (100.0 B) TX bytes:100 (100.0 B)

root@jessie64:~# iwlist wlan0 scan
wlan0 No scan results

Like this?

Confused K

_________________
PC is Not Political Correctness Razz , it's a Personal Computer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12768
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 22 Jan 2018, 17:41    Post subject:  

Max Headroom wrote:
root@jessie64:~# ifconfig wlan0 up
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not permitted

That command works in my setup.

If it doesn't work for you, then changing connection apps won't fix anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 402
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Mon 22 Jan 2018, 17:54    Post subject:  

rcrsn51, I've Confirmed that We're Both Using the eXact same Release, so I don't understand whY We get Different Results?

Any other Suggestions Please?

Confused K

_________________
PC is Not Political Correctness Razz , it's a Personal Computer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12768
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 22 Jan 2018, 17:57    Post subject:  

Have you posted the results of "lsusb" and identified the vendor/product ID codes?

Your next step is a temporary clean install with no "changes" folder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 402
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Mon 22 Jan 2018, 18:21    Post subject:  

I Thought i did...

root@jessie64:~# lsusb
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 058f:6362 Alcor Micro Corp. Flash Card Reader/Writer
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 008 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0bda:0179 Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 1005:b128 Apacer Technology, Inc.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 005 Device 003: ID 0458:0037 KYE Systems Corp. (Mouse Systems)
Bus 005 Device 002: ID 03f0:0024 Hewlett-Packard KU-0316 Keyboard
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

I Guess ReBooting as Always Fresh, should be the same...

SmileK

_________________
PC is Not Political Correctness Razz , it's a Personal Computer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 402
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Mon 22 Jan 2018, 18:29    Post subject:  

So as it's Booting as Always Fresh, I Can See....

SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not permitted
Failed to connect to non-global ctrl_ifname: wlan0 error: No such file or directory

I don't understand the Meaning of the Error? or How 2 Fix it!...

Confused K

_________________
PC is Not Political Correctness Razz , it's a Personal Computer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12768
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 22 Jan 2018, 19:15    Post subject:  

Max Headroom wrote:
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0bda:0179 Realtek Semiconductor Corp.

My device is 0bda:8179.

Maybe there is some slight difference that is causing the driver to fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 402
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Mon 22 Jan 2018, 20:51    Post subject:  

I'm being Challenged 2 understand whY this same Nano USB Wireless Network Adapter Worked in this same PC Previously when it had as its Base OS 32-bit XenialDog, that had a 4.4 Ke*nel & Now No Go w/ 3.16.0 Ke*nel, Debi'Dog 64-bit.

Maybe a Ke*nel issue?

How 2 Update?

Confused K

_________________
PC is Not Political Correctness Razz , it's a Personal Computer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
ocpaul20

Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 255
Location: PRC

PostPosted: Thu 01 Feb 2018, 20:23    Post subject:  

Hi,
I posted this in General but it seems there is something which is more of a DebianDog thing than a Puppy thing. Hope someone can help me.

I tried all kinds of search terms "drive and icons", "drive icons" but nothing obvious came up in a title.

I am using Debian Dog (maybe not 64 one?) The other thread closed then reopened and last post was june 2017.

Anyway, I rebooted and the drive icons were gone along with the Pinboard I was using. That means I get to use the Default Pinboard and missing all my drive icons at the bottom of the screen. Thankfully I had copied the contents of /root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer so I think I have the pinboard back...

Is there a program I can run to regenerate these drive icons at the base of the screen please?
Or.. can anyone suggest how I can get them back?

Thanks.
Paul

_________________
==================
Running DebianDog Jessie Frugal with /live and maybe with changes or savefile or.., who knows?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1387

PostPosted: Thu 01 Feb 2018, 22:35    Post subject:  

In my Debian Dog, the drive icons are created by a program
/usr/local/bin/desktop_drive_icons

First, see if it is installed by running by running "desktop_drive_icons" from the terminal.
Assuming that works, then you need to set that to run automatically at bootup.

Several different ways to do that, one of which would be to create a link from /usr/local/bin/desktop_drive_icons to /root/startup.

If you don't have a /usr/local/bin/desktop_drive_icons file, then search for it and install it with apt-get or synaptic.

If you need more to figure it out, let us know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ocpaul20

Joined: 31 Jan 2008
Posts: 255
Location: PRC

PostPosted: Thu 01 Feb 2018, 22:58    Post subject:  

Thats marvellous, thanks. I now have my drive icons back.

I have the program but it does not return cleanly to the command line so I have to Ctrl+C to finish it. It does generate my drive icons though which is good. I wonder what it is trying to do? If I can find that out, I can fix that so that it finishes properly.

Ahh.. I see. When I Ctrl+C to stop it, the drive icons disappear from the bottom of the screen, so do I have to run it as part of the startup ?

_________________
==================
Running DebianDog Jessie Frugal with /live and maybe with changes or savefile or.., who knows?

Last edited by ocpaul20 on Thu 01 Feb 2018, 23:05; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1387

PostPosted: Thu 01 Feb 2018, 23:03    Post subject:  

ocpaul20 wrote:
Thats marvellous, thanks. I now have my drive icons back.

I have the program but it does not return cleanly to the command line so I have to Ctrl+C to finish it. It does generate my drive icons though which is good. I wonder what it is trying to do? If I can find that out, I can fix that so that it finishes properly.


Running from terminal was just a test. It doesn't "finish", it keeps running so it keeps showing you the icons. If you go to /usr/local/bin/desktop_drive_icons and just click on it, it should keep running in the background.

Are you using pcmanfm or thunar as your file manager? If so, select /usr/local/bin/desktop_drive_icons, to to menu edit-create link, and put a link in /root/startup. That should start it up automatically every time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 36 of 38 [560 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 34, 35, 36, 37, 38 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1353s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0875s) ][ GZIP on ]