Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 13 Feb 2016, 15:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
How to add puppy PC to Teamviewer? (Frugal installation)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
puppyfan76

Joined: 09 Dec 2015
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 09 Dec 2015, 11:23    Post subject:  How to add puppy PC to Teamviewer? (Frugal installation)
Subject description: How can I add my Tahrpup (Frugal) PC to my Teamviewer account PC list?
 

Hello,
I installed Teamviewer on my Tahrpup PC (Frugal installation).
It works fine, but only with ID and password. When I try to add the PC to my computer list on Teamviewer it says that it's impossible because Teamviewer is not "permanently" installed on my PC.
How can I solve this problem?
In alternative, can you suggest me some other good remote desktop softwares to control my Puppy PC from other locations (other linux PCs, windows machines, android devices, ecc.)?
Thank you Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4065
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 09 Dec 2015, 15:17    Post subject:  

Did you read this puppy forum site.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=54638&start=30

Quote:
In case anyone would prefer to run as a user instead of root, you can download and install the .deb file as it is in Puppy 431 and higher, directly from http://www.teamviewer.com/download/

Before installing the .deb file do the following:

Just paste this code in a newly created file named "teamviewer.desktop" and place it in "/usr/share/applications"
Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Teamviewer
Icon=/opt/teamviewer/teamviewer/6/desktop/teamviewer.png
Comment=Remote Desktop Application
Exec=su -c /opt/teamviewer/teamviewer/6/bin/teamviewer spot
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Categories=X-Internet
GenericName= teamviewer


You'll now launch Teamviewer as user "spot"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyfan76

Joined: 09 Dec 2015
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 09 Dec 2015, 18:42    Post subject: Not working...  

The deb file downloaded from Teamviewer site failed to install...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cimarron

Joined: 30 May 2013
Posts: 285

PostPosted: Thu 10 Dec 2015, 12:20    Post subject:  

From where do you want to access your Puppy? If it's just from within your LAN, it is possible to set up without adding the Puppy computer to your TV account, using a static IP instead. You would need to leave TV running on the Puppy computer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyfan76

Joined: 09 Dec 2015
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 10 Dec 2015, 13:10    Post subject: From everywhere  

I need to access the Puppy PC from everywhere.
I used to have windows xp installed on it and everything works well with teamviewer.
But xp is slow and I love the speed that Puppy gives to this old Nettop.
Anyway, Puppy is useless if I can't control it from the internet.
I can use some VNC software, but I would like something that is easy to use as teamviewer.
Any suggestion?
I'm running Tahrpup 6.0.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 5966
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 11 Dec 2015, 19:15    Post subject:  

@GoingNUTs provided this to the community awhile ago. Merely add this small utility to your any PUP you want to connect to!

Then, on your LAN, without installing ANY software, use Windows/MACs/Linux PC RDP client to connect to your PUP.

Once it is tested, you can use open port 3389 on your router for WAN access. You can use Windows/MACs/Linux PC RDP client to connect to your PUP over the WAN as long as you know your router's Public IP location (URL/IP address).

His approach intends to allow PUP access from other LAN clients which merely use their built-in RDP client software. Thus, nothing is needed on those client machines to be installed.
Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0489s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]