Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 12 Feb 2016, 22:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Graphics
Photoscape under Wine
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 1267
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Sun 29 Nov 2015, 18:03    Post subject:  Photoscape under Wine  

Hi All,

This Program was called to my attention by Mike Walsh. See his post here for a link to its download page and his review. http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=874678#874678. It seems to be a capable and versatile application for managing various graphics tasks, and has received the highest compatibility rating from WineHQ.

I discovered its previous mention by stowpirate, http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=646424&sid=682f274b0e82ca30f902da7dd3beb98d#646424 when, hoping it was already mentioned in the Additional Software SubForum, I ran a search.

There is only one "fly in the ointment" that I can see. It is not a portable. Expecting to be installed to Windows, it "unpacks" in the Drive_C within wine's folder, and places its desktop-file (which would create a menu entry in Windows) together with a link to its executable in a folder named Desktop in /root.

On my system, at least, this does not generate a menu entry. So I created a pet which will. I've attached it for your convenience.

As my wine version is wine-portable –note the name and location bolded below-- the bash-script in /root/my-applications/bin is as follows:

#!/bin/sh
wine.sh /mnt/home/wine-portable-1.6.2-2/wine-data/drive_c/'Program Files'/PhotoScape/PhotoScape.exe

The bolding is not part of the script. It is there, above, just to make clear what you must edit after installing the pet in order for it to work with your wine-portable if located or named differently.

If you're running wine (not portable) after installing the pet, open the bash-script in your text editor and change the second line to read:

wine /root/.wine/drive_c/'Program Files'/PhotoScape/PhotoScape.exe

Once Photoscape opens from the Menu, its files in /root/Desktop can be deleted. Probably the entire /root/Desktop folder unless its being used by some other application.

happy computing,

mikesLr
PhotoscapeXP-portable-0.8.pet
Description  Pet creates Menu listing for Photoscape -- requires Wine & XP's Photoscape
pet

 Download 
Filename  PhotoscapeXP-portable-0.8.pet 
Filesize  22 KB 
Downloaded  24 Time(s) 

Last edited by mikeslr on Mon 07 Dec 2015, 11:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 1110
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 29 Nov 2015, 21:03    Post subject:  

Hi, Mike.

As promised, here's my own personal PhotoScape icon, for the use of anybody who might be interested. It's quite a bit 'prettier' than the stock one, too.

I know it's a wee bit on the large side (@ 256 x 256). But Puppy automatically shrinks icons on the desktop to 48 x 48.....and I find that the larger and more detailed the original icon is, then the sharper it appears on the desktop when Puppy's shrunk it..!

I've also included another one, that I use on the Winstep 'Nexus' launcher dock in XP.

Enjoy!
Photoscape_folder_icon.png
 Description   My fave PhotoScape icon for use in Puppy...
 Filesize   21.39 KB
 Viewed   210 Time(s)

Photoscape_folder_icon.png

photoscape_a2.png
 Description   XP Winstep 'Nexus' launcher icon for PhotoScape...
 Filesize   37.57 KB
 Viewed   207 Time(s)

photoscape_a2.png


_________________
If the advice given has helped you, please have the courtesy to post back & say 'Thanks!' Wink Laughing
----------------------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 1110
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 04 Dec 2015, 11:40    Post subject:  

Hi again, Mike.

Thanks for the Menu .pet! Just tried it in Slacko (running 'standard' WINE); after modifying the entry it works nicely. Cheers for that.

I'll probably use it in modified format in 'Chromebook' Pup & X-Slacko; they both use standard WINE, too. I will, however, be trying it in original format in Tahrpup, as I'm running Shinobar's portable there (1.7.27). I'll let you know how I get on with it.

Nice one..!.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If the advice given has helped you, please have the courtesy to post back & say 'Thanks!' Wink Laughing
----------------------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 1267
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Sat 05 Dec 2015, 00:07    Post subject: Your Icons  

Hi again Mike,

Like your icons. The one I included in the pet was a matter of convenience --the first I ran across on the Web.

If you edit your post to attach either --your choice-- I'll substitute it for the one I used and re-upload the pet.

I Just found the link at the bottom-right of this Webpage leading to the list of file-types which can be attached. Learn something new every day. Laughing I find it easier to remember where I can find things, that remembering what I find. Sad

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 1110
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 05 Dec 2015, 05:35    Post subject:  

Mornin', Mike!

I've just installed your 'Menu' .pet into 'Chromepup'. (My name for ETP's 'Chromebook' Pup.) Modified it to suit 'normal' WINE, and changed the icon path in the .desktop entry to use one straight from my permanent PNG icon store, a copy of which I keep in /mnt/home of every Pup I run.

All working very nicely. Hope you don't mind, but I've extracted your .pet, so's I can see how it's put together. I'm trying to understand .pet 'construction techniques', so I can in the near future start making some of my own. Thought I'd pick something fairly easy to begin with.

Now; clue me in, here, please. When you say you want the icon as an attachment.....isn't that what I've provided above? Or d'you want it as a 48 x 48?


Mike. Wink

_________________
If the advice given has helped you, please have the courtesy to post back & say 'Thanks!' Wink Laughing
----------------------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 6852
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 05 Dec 2015, 14:18    Post subject:  

Hello mikesir and Mike Walsh.

Thank you for your work in collaboration making this [f|w]ine Smile program
available to Puppyists.

You did rouse my curiosity. How does PhotoScape compare to PhotoFiltre
and / or IrfanView, which also work well over wine?

Would you say that those programs are interchangeable? They do
pretty much the same thing, no?

Thanks in advance for any leads.

musher0

_________________
musher0
/ Torture, according to Dostoievsky: "To only have enough intelligence to know that you're lacking in it."
/ La torture, d'après Dostoïevski : "Être juste assez intelligent pour savoir qu'on ne l'est pas assez."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 1110
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 06 Dec 2015, 18:15    Post subject:  

Hi, musher0.

Mmm. Not sure, actually! I have heard a lot of references to Irfanview; I'm going to have a look-see, and investigate it myself. Then I'll be in a better position to give an informed comment... Laughing

Will investigate, and let you know. I mean, PhotoScape is just a basic image editing app.....but it's got more than a few surprising tricks up its sleeve (if you know what I mean). I've been using it ever since it was in beta, back in 2007.....then the first official release came out, in 2008. This is the main reason I wanted to get it working under WINE.....and I was very pleasantly surprised by just how well it does run.

I have Adobe's Photoshop CS2 installed in my locked-down, offline install of XP; I keep it for a few specialist graphics apps like this, which just won't run satisfactorily under WINE; not for want of trying, I assure you.

CS2 will install, and run once under WINE.....but refuses to start again after that, so....I gave it up as a bad job, and decided to use it in its native environment. Works better like that! I'll use CS2 and/or the GIMP for big projects.....but I use PhotoScape for small-to-middling tasks; the sort of things it's not worth firing the others up for.

Hope you like PhotoScape, anyway.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If the advice given has helped you, please have the courtesy to post back & say 'Thanks!' Wink Laughing
----------------------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 1110
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 06 Dec 2015, 21:04    Post subject:  

Hi, Mike & musher0.

Perhaps you guys can help me with something. I know I created the BitMeterOS thread:-

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=99025

However, when I first started off with Puppy last year, I didn't really know much about just what you could do with WINE. Anyway; to cut to the chase...

There's this dinky little app that I used for several years in XP, which does the same job.....'cept it uses even less memory (around 450K or so), called ShaPlus Bandwidth Meter.

http://www.shaplus.com/bandwidth-meter/

Gives a running readout of bandwidth used for 'current session', 'today', and 'this month'. Well, I've tried on & off to get this running under WINE, with a singular lack of success. Until today. By dint of research. I discovered that it needs Visual Basic Runtime files to work. And shaplus.com provide the specific runtime files required for it:-

http://www.shaplus.com/vb/

And it installed under WINE (version_2014's 1.7.51 at the moment), and is running perfectly. Now; in Windows, it's supposed to start automatically upon boot, yes? Obviously, it's not doing that in Puppy, 'cause it'll need a startup script, so's I can place it in the /root/Startup directory. And this is where I'm coming unstuck a bit.

ETP used a startup script called 'silent_launch' for Chrome, in his 'Chromebook' Pup (in my kennel at present).

Code:
#!/bin/sh
# This is silent_launch. ETP Dec 2014
google-chrome --silent-launch &


...and Chrome starts up in about 2 seconds flat with this. Since I run Chrome in all my Pups, I now use it with all of them; works nicely.

Anyway; I thought I'd try and modify this to launch ShaPlus Bandwidth Meter at boot. Accordingly, I've done this:-

Code:
#!/bin/sh

# Shaplus Bandwidth Meter startup script

wine /root/.wine/dosdevices/c:/Program Files/ShaPlus Bandwidth Meter/ShaPlus Bandwidth Meter.exe


Naturally enough, for a very first attempt, I'm not in the slightest bit surprised it doesn't work! Currently, I'm starting it manually from a desktop shortcut; as I say, it works perfectly.....as well as it did under Windows. I would, however, love to make it 'auto-start', so.....what am I doing wrong? I should probably post this elsewhere, but I thought I'd ask you guys first, since I know you've both done some of this kinda stuff...

I've attached a piccie to show what it looks like 'in service'.


Mike. Wink
Screenshot - ShaPlus.png
 Description   ShaPlus Bandwidth meter
 Filesize   116.94 KB
 Viewed   129 Time(s)

Screenshot - ShaPlus.png


_________________
If the advice given has helped you, please have the courtesy to post back & say 'Thanks!' Wink Laughing
----------------------------------------------------


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Sun 06 Dec 2015, 21:47; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11749
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 06 Dec 2015, 21:20    Post subject:  

Perhaps someone could explain what Photoscape is, what it's good for? Why would I want to use it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 1110
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 06 Dec 2015, 21:43    Post subject:  

Hi, Flash.

Well, now. To answer your last question first, I don't for a moment suppose that you, personally, would be interested in using PhotoScape; a Windows photo-editing graphics app. I know from reading many of your posts that you're happy using mtPaint, one of Puppy's native apps. I'm also making rather a large assumption here, but I daresay you're probably one of the very large percentage of Linux users who simply cannot understand why people want to run Windows apps under Linux. Where's the point, when there are plenty of perfectly good Linux apps which will do the same job?

I've used it since it was in beta, back in 2007, and I've got so proficient with it that it's almost second nature. I also use PhotoShop CS2, and the GIMP, for larger projects.....but I often use PhotoScape for laying out 'templates', before I transfer into the 'serious' graphics applications to continue the bulk of a project.

If it wasn't for the fact that I discovered, well over a year ago, that it has the WINE 'Platinum' rating (and runs 100% perfectly), I probably wouldn't have bothered to invest as much time as I have done in getting it to run in Puppy. To tell the truth, I'm a lazy so-and-so; I simply can't be bothered to keep booting backwards and forwards from Puppy to XP (and back again)!

I know there are a number of forum members who, like myself, like to run certain Windows apps under WINE in Puppy. I know this much; I prefer Puppy over XP, any day of the week; but, just sometimes, there are certain Windows applications whose functionality can't quite be matched by their Linux 'equivalents'. And I use WINE solely for this one app.....


Mike. Wink

_________________
If the advice given has helped you, please have the courtesy to post back & say 'Thanks!' Wink Laughing
----------------------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 6852
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sun 06 Dec 2015, 22:49    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
Hi, Mike & musher0.

Perhaps you guys can help me with something. I know I created the BitMeterOS thread:
(...)

And it installed under WINE (version_2014's 1.7.51 at the moment), and is running perfectly. Now; in Windows, it's supposed to start automatically upon boot, yes? Obviously, it's not doing that in Puppy, 'cause it'll need a startup script, so's I can place it in the /root/Startup directory. And this is where I'm coming unstuck a bit.

ETP used a startup script called 'silent_launch' for Chrome, in his 'Chromebook' Pup (in my kennel at present).
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# This is silent_launch. ETP Dec 2014
google-chrome --silent-launch &
...and Chrome starts up in about 2 seconds flat with this. Since I run Chrome in all my Pups, I now use it with all of them; works nicely.

Anyway; I thought I'd try and modify this to launch ShaPlus Bandwidth Meter at boot. Accordingly, I've done this:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# Shaplus Bandwidth Meter startup script
wine /root/.wine/dosdevices/c:/Program Files/ShaPlus Bandwidth Meter/ShaPlus Bandwidth Meter.exe
Naturally enough, for a very first attempt, I'm not in the slightest bit surprised it doesn't work! Currently, I'm starting it manually from a desktop shortcut; as I say, it works perfectly.....as well as it did under Windows. I would, however, love to make it 'auto-start', so.....what am I doing wrong?
(...)

Mike. Wink

Hi, Mike.

In no order! Wink

Because the file name of the app contains spaces, I would try putting
quotations marks around the command, like so:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# Shaplus Bandwidth Meter startup script
wine "/root/.wine/dosdevices/c:/Program Files/ShaPlus Bandwidth Meter/ShaPlus Bandwidth Meter.exe"

I don't know google-chrome, I think I gave it a go a couple of years ago,
and that was that for me. But I suspect that "--silent-launch" is a
google-chrome parameter, not an independent "helper" program.

Try typing < google-chrome --help > in a terminal. It may show you its
launch parameters. And if "--silent-launch" is in that list, well, you'll have
your answer: it will be a google-chrome launch parameter.

As for me, I'd rather tie up your shaplus program with your browser in a
script. I wouldn't necessarily launch shaplus at the Puppy startup, unless
you also routinely use other Internet programs such as an ftp, a P2P and /
or an Internet-Phone app.

Expanding your above launch line for shaplus, I think that something like :
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# Shaplus Bandwidth Meter startup script
wine "/root/.wine/dosdevices/c:/Program Files/ShaPlus Bandwidth Meter/ShaPlus Bandwidth Meter.exe"
sleep 0.5s # a breather so the programs don't step on each other's toes in RAM
defaultbrowser # if google-chrome is your default browser, of course
would work nicely.

Perhaps move this sub-thread about shaplus in its own thread dealing with
wine progs? (Create one if it doesn't exist?) Smile

Or rename the current thread to a more general title about wine
programs and include an index, i.e. pointers to the particular posts for
program x, y or z in the first post? Just a thought. Maybe ask Flash for
advice about this?

I agree with you that some WhineDose GPL, open-source or free
apps are better crafted than some of our own Linux programs. "Talent
knows no borders," as the saying goes. Physical, or mentally created.

Personally, I think that Sumatra_PDF is such a program. Purists will try to
make you feel otherwise, but there is no shame in using a good app over
wine in a Linux distro. The capacity to integrate apps from various
sources is one of the strengths of Linux and all to its credit, IMO.

I hope this helps. BFN.

_________________
musher0
/ Torture, according to Dostoievsky: "To only have enough intelligence to know that you're lacking in it."
/ La torture, d'après Dostoïevski : "Être juste assez intelligent pour savoir qu'on ne l'est pas assez."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 1110
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 07 Dec 2015, 07:08    Post subject:  

Morning, musher0!

Well, thank you very much for that morsel of advice, mon ami. The quotation marks did the trick.

Changing

Code:
#!/bin/sh
# Shaplus Bandwidth Meter startup script
wine /root/.wine/dosdevices/c:/Program Files/ShaPlus Bandwidth Meter/ShaPlus Bandwidth Meter.exe


...to...

Code:
#!/bin/sh
# Shaplus Bandwidth Meter startup script
wine "/root/.wine/dosdevices/c:/Program Files/ShaPlus Bandwidth Meter/ShaPlus Bandwidth Meter.exe"


...was all it took; and reminded me, yet again, of just how important it is with Linux shell scripts to get your punctuation and syntax spot-on. That's something else I've learnt today. Many thanks!

I'm very new to this business of writing your own stuff, which is why I wanted to start off with something relatively simple, that wasn't 'essential'. Simply something that would be nice to have if it would work. Out of curiosity, what do the quotation marks actually do in this instance?

(And please don't feel too bad that I didn't take you up on your other suggestion to 'tie-in' ShaPlus with the browser itself. I've always been one for taking the 'course of least resistance', and the simpler I can make something, I will. Less to 'break', that way; and you don't need me to tell you there are many different ways of achieving the same result in Linux...)

As far as Linux apps & programs go, the majority of them work extremely well, and more than fulfill their functions as far as I'm concerned. I suspect I'm like a lot of former Windoze users, though; there are certain apps that you get so used to using in your particular 'work-flow' (PhotoScape being one of them in my case, in conjunction with Photoshop and the GIMP),that if, by a small miracle, they will run under WINE, it honestly makes more sense to do so than to re-learn a whole new way of doing things. Although I'm more than happy to do so if it's unavoidable.

I hope that makes sense. Thanks again. My learning-curve is starting to show signs of 'flattening out' a touch; though in my estimation, the day you stop learning is the day you give up on life... Cheers!

Have thoroughly 'hijacked' mikeslr's thread (even though it was inspired by some of my own ramblings!), I feel it's time to gracefully retire... Laughing


Mike. Wink

_________________
If the advice given has helped you, please have the courtesy to post back & say 'Thanks!' Wink Laughing
----------------------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 1490
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Mon 07 Dec 2015, 08:28    Post subject:  

The quotation marks preserve the entire string including spaces. You could also quote only the parts with spaces. You could also have escaped '\' the spaces, if I am not wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 1110
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 07 Dec 2015, 08:45    Post subject:  

Hi, stemsee.

Thanks for the info on that; much appreciated. I've still got a long way to go, though..! But every little bit adds to my store of knowledge.

Cheers.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If the advice given has helped you, please have the courtesy to post back & say 'Thanks!' Wink Laughing
----------------------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 1267
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Mon 07 Dec 2015, 12:05    Post subject: Photoscape Menu Pet Updated  

Hi Mike Walsh & All,

I downloaded the Photoscape_folder_icon.png Mike Walsh provided, used it to replace the png I originally used and re-uploaded the pet.

In answer to Mike's question, " When you say you want the icon as an attachment.....isn't that what I've provided above?"

I'm not sure what I was thinking, or if I was thinking at all. Laughing

Your question jogged me out of complacency. I knew that if an attachment has a download button, clicking it would download the attachment. I also know that I could take a snapshot of a graphic and edit it into a usable icon. I also knew that on other Webpages, graphics could be clicked and downloaded. I don't know if I ever realized that right-clicking a graphic attachment on the Forum produced a drop-down menu with a Save Image Option. Embarassed

I'll be back later to consider if I have anything useful to add regarding the subsequent posts. Breakfast now.

mikesLr

P.S. If Flash or one of the other moderators is reading this, I just realized that this Thread should be in the Graphic Section.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Graphics
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1404s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]