Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 15 Dec 2017, 10:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko(32/64) 6.3.2/6.3.0 bug reports.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 18 of 19 [279 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2659
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2016, 19:35    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Instead of messing with a firmware SFS, you would be better off going to gyro's up-to-date repo here and getting the exact files you need.


I wasn't aware of his site. I did download the firmware from the intel site and it worked too.

_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 696

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jul 2016, 01:24    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
Griot wrote:
Code:
rpm2tgz vivaldi-beta-1.0.303.52-2.x86_64.rpm
/usr/bin/rpm2tgz: line 253: /sbin/makepkg: No such file or directory


Install "pgktools" with PPM


Which repository is it located in?

Perhaps this isn't available for the newest 64bit version of slaco.

**Edit I found it. Weird thing was searching for "pkgtools" didn't find it but searching for "package" did. I'm not sure why.

I also have the radio button set on "puppy-slacko6414.1" Not sure if that matters. How do I do a search across all repositories?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9681
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2016, 23:56    Post subject: wifi adaptor druver module not loading  

I have tried Slacko (64/32) versions from 5.7 to present versions.

Same result with all.
All fresh frugal installs.
Initial bootup.

Wifi device is a Intel wireless 7260
Needs the iwlwifi driver

At bootup the wireless device is detected, but no driver is loaded, so it does not show up in the Network Wizard.
In Network Wizard.
If I try to load the iwlwifi driver module, it says it loads, but still no wireless device found.

In Tahrpup 64 6.0.5 and Xenialpup 64 7.0.7 wireless device is detected and available with no problems.
iwlwifi driver module loads as normal bootup process.

Info from a Xenialpup 64 7.0.7
Quote:
Network controller
• Intel Corporation Wireless 7260
• VendorID=8086 DeviceID=08b1 Rev=c3
• Kernel Driver=iwlwifi
• Kernel Module=iwlwifi


Update:
Slacko is missing the firmware for this wireless controller.

I copied the firmware from Xenialpup 64 7.0.7 and it now works.

Copied firmware for iwlwifi-7260-7.ucode thru iwlwifi-7260-16.ucode and placed them in /lib/firmware.
On bootup firmware is loaded and Network Wizard shows the wireless controller for wlan0.

Posting from Slacko 64 6-3.0.6-uefi with updated firmware.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slenkar

Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 228

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2016, 20:04    Post subject:  

The programming language Python has a module installer called pip

When I boot Slacko 6.3 32bit from an iso I can install devx, then pip and then a python module perfectly.

But when using a Full install of Slacko,
I install devx and reboot then
python complains when trying to do anything,

I always download a python script called get-pip.py to install pip

# python get-pip.py
/tmp/tmp1Dw0Ci/pip.zip/pip/_vendor/requests/packages/urllib3/util/ssl_.py:318: SNIMissingWarning: An HTTPS request has been made, but the SNI (Subject Name Indication) extension to TLS is not available on this platform. This may cause the server to present an incorrect TLS certificate, which can cause validation failures. You can upgrade to a newer version of Python to solve this. For more information, see https://urllib3.readthedocs.org/en/latest/security.html#snimissingwarning.
/tmp/tmp1Dw0Ci/pip.zip/pip/_vendor/requests/packages/urllib3/util/ssl_.py:122: InsecurePlatformWarning: A true SSLContext object is not available. This prevents urllib3 from configuring SSL appropriately and may cause certain SSL connections to fail. You can upgrade to a newer version of Python to solve this. For more information, see https://urllib3.readthedocs.org/en/latest/security.html#insecureplatformwarning.
/tmp/tmp1Dw0Ci/pip.zip/pip/_vendor/requests/packages/urllib3/util/ssl_.py:122: InsecurePlatformWarning: A true SSLContext object is not available. This prevents urllib3 from configuring SSL appropriately and may cause certain SSL connections to fail. You can upgrade to a newer version of Python to solve this. For more information, see https://urllib3.readthedocs.org/en/latest/security.html#insecureplatformwarning.

Also when installing python3 from the package manager it stops here:
+ for ONEFILE in '$FNDFILES'
++ grep --extended-regexp 'LSB executable|shared object'
++ file --brief 3
+ ISANEXEC=
+ '[' '!' '' = '' ']'
+ for ONEFILE in '$FNDFILES'
++ grep --extended-regexp 'LSB executable|shared object'
++ file --brief -

+ for ONEFILE in '$FNDFILES'
++ grep --extended-regexp 'LSB executable|shared object'
++ file --brief 3
+ ISANEXEC=
+ '[' '!' '' = '' ']'
+ for ONEFILE in '$FNDFILES'
++ grep --extended-regexp 'LSB executable|shared object'
++ file --brief -
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
duckguy


Joined: 01 Nov 2015
Posts: 49
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 15 Jun 2017, 08:52    Post subject:  32 Bit Compatibility - How to Install???
Subject description: I am running Slacko64
 

Puppus Dogfellow wrote:
...running slacko64 with the 32 bit lib compatibility sfs loaded. ... it's pretty wonderful so far--fast, quiet, and easy on cpu and memory use.
I am running Slacko64, and have been trying to load the 32 bit library compatibilty sfs (32bit-slacko6.sfs).

Here is the screenshot: [img]http://goo.gl/NvLGOh[/img] ( the screenshot )

So after installing, I went to the TERMINAL and typed in 'LDCONFIG'. The result was "bash - command not found." I tried it several times and using several spellings - none of them work!! Screenshot below:

( LDCONFIG-screenshot )

Has anyone else come across this? This may be a bug or system failure? I am guessing this is due to user error though, probably because I am making some sort of blundering mistrake. Please, if there is anyone out there in the cybernetic universe of the Grand Poobah of Puppy Linux - offer up a sacrifice on the altar of the puppy in my behalf, with a request to absolve me of this burden.

Either that, or perhaps you please might simply tell me what I've done incorrectly. B'H.
2017-06-15-32bit-slacko6.sfs_2017-06-15_08.18.42.jpg
 Description   SFS file loaded into system. B'H.
 Filesize   56.68 KB
 Viewed   347 Time(s)

2017-06-15-32bit-slacko6.sfs_2017-06-15_08.18.42.jpg

2017-06-15-LDCONFIG_not_found_2017-06-15_08.17.49.jpg
Description  LDCONFIG command not found. B'H.
jpg

 Download 
Filename  2017-06-15-LDCONFIG_not_found_2017-06-15_08.17.49.jpg 
Filesize  29.49 KB 
Downloaded  69 Time(s) 

Last edited by duckguy on Thu 15 Jun 2017, 10:32; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1327

PostPosted: Thu 15 Jun 2017, 09:56    Post subject:  

@duckguy: I can't see the image, but I think ldconfig needs to be all lowercase. Now that you mention this, maybe this is why I couldn't compile wine in 64-bit... not typing ldconfig. That laptop is R.I.P. now though so I guess it doesn't matter any more...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
duckguy


Joined: 01 Nov 2015
Posts: 49
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 15 Jun 2017, 10:43    Post subject:  32 Bit Compatibility - How to Install???
Subject description: I am running Slacko64
 

Sailor Enceladus wrote:
@duckguy: I can't see the image, but I think ldconfig needs to be all lowercase. Now that you mention this, maybe this is why I couldn't compile wine in 64-bit... not typing ldconfig. That laptop is R.I.P. now though so I guess it doesn't matter any more...
I uploaded the images to the forum , I guess the link on the Google host is blocking you.

As far as context, and spelling. I entered the command with several different spelling variations. That's in the screenshot (which you were unable to view). I am wondering if my terminal was opened up to an incorrect host, by default? How should I know, if my terminal is not on speaking terms with my operating system.

So, on the positive side, at least the SFS file is the correct add-on for the operating system. Thanks. I was worried I was trying to load an incompatible add-on into Slacko64!!

In any case. Thanks for the prompt response to my confused inquiry. Your efforts, unnoticed, are not. B'H.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kerl

Joined: 16 Apr 2013
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Fri 30 Jun 2017, 19:31    Post subject: Xz-compressed data is corrupt  

Hi! Slacko 6.3.2 32 stopped working. It doesn't boot anymore from hd.
Message error says something like:
Quote:

Loading /slacko-6.3.2-uefi/initrd.gz
early console in decompress_kernel
Decompressing Linux...
XZ-compressed data is corrupt
-- System halted

Can it be fixed? Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2659
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jul 2017, 04:00    Post subject:  

@kerl, maybe replacing the four main files will do the trick. Just don't play with your save file.
_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kerl

Joined: 16 Apr 2013
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jul 2017, 05:37    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
@kerl, maybe replacing the four main files will do the trick. Just don't play with your save file.

Thanks. There is still hope for a solution! Which files? Should I download the iso again and extract them from there?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2659
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jul 2017, 06:29    Post subject:  

@kerl, just click on the iso to mount it then replace the files on the hard drive with the ones from the iso as below:

initrd.gz
puppy_slacko_6.3.2.sfs
vmlinuz
zdrv_slacko_6.3.2.sfs

If this doesn't work repost and we will try something else.

_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kerl

Joined: 16 Apr 2013
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jul 2017, 11:32    Post subject:  

@smokey01
I replaced those four files and it boots again though everything is slow or doesnt get to load, no internet, cannot poweroff so i have to hardware reset.
Now when booting it takes a lot more and I think it makes something that it did not happen before switching to layered filesystem
Also resolution is adjusted to another one different than before
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kerl

Joined: 16 Apr 2013
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jul 2017, 15:21    Post subject:  

I've taken these photos showing the errors I get when booting or shutting down when I managed to boot puppy:



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2659
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jul 2017, 16:49    Post subject:  

@kerl, looks like a hardware issue, RAM or HDD. what happens when you boot with pfix=ram or booting clean off a cd/dvd without a save file?
_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kerl

Joined: 16 Apr 2013
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jul 2017, 17:52    Post subject:  

Hi Smokey.
I have a multi os boot system created with Lick, that is a few puppies along with winxp. I've just tried xslacko slim and the save file seems to work well. Perhaps some configuration from slacko 6.3.2's save file went wrong? its save file is over 6gb Smile perhaps the os could auto-magically fix this issue if I "resize personal storage" once more? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 18 of 19 [279 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0754s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0122s) ][ GZIP on ]