Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 21 Aug 2017, 01:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko(32/64) 6.3.2/6.3.0 bug reports.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 17 of 19 [275 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
openocean555


Joined: 13 Jan 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2016, 18:00    Post subject:  

Slacko64 is awesome. I did notice as chillinfart has just posted that there are some interesting intel graphics issues on my Dell Inspiron dual core. Slacko64 is using the intel driver as default.
Many of my steam games that work on lucid and tahrpup 32 bit will not work on slacko64 but older steam games do work. I installed the 32 bit sfs as many have suggested.
The steam error says "glget error cant find required opengl entry point ,Either your video card is not supported or your opengl driver needs to be updated.
I do know that these games do work on 32 bit puppies such as lucid and tahrpup but not on slacko64.
I thought this info might help with future versions of Slacko64.
Thanks for Making Slacko64. Keep up the Slacken.
Cheers....

_________________
Dell Inspiron 2x Pentium (r) dual-core cpu 2 gig ram with Slacko64 frugal install on 32 gig thumb drive
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cokolo

Joined: 02 Jun 2016
Posts: 6
Location: Nigeria

PostPosted: Thu 02 Jun 2016, 17:29    Post subject: HELP
Subject description: 3G MODEM
 

HUAWEI E3531
Interface: eth1
Type: wired
Driver: rnds_host
Bus: usb
Discription: USB host side RNDIS Driver
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8656
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 03 Jun 2016, 07:59    Post subject: Re: HELP
Subject description: 3G MODEM
 

cokolo wrote:
HUAWEI E3531
Interface: eth1
Type: wired
Driver: rnds_host
Bus: usb
Discription: USB host side RNDIS Driver


What are you trying to say?

I have Huawei K4203 which I believe is similar - connects as eth1 too (if computer has an rj45 wired network port). Works fine if you run the provided install program on the stick.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bobc

Joined: 14 May 2014
Posts: 86

PostPosted: Sun 05 Jun 2016, 02:24    Post subject: Slacko 6.3.0 poss bug - touchpad & thumb mouse dont work  

It worked fine in 5.7.0. I'm guessing its xorg related, and I tried to follow the instructions to reconfigure xorg, save and reboot on the Dell Inspiron, but was not able to get it to boot again from the CD,

The first laptop it didn't work on is a Dell Latitude D620 Laptop. It also doesn't work on my Dell Inspiron 8100 Laptop. I haven't installed, just running from the CD to test it out. It works fine on my HP dv-9700 series machines. I haven't tried any others yet. I'm trying one at a time to see if they will all work, and will convert to the newer version if possible.

In general, save the one problem, I like it. I've been running a tweaked 5.7.0 on all my machines for about a year now without and major problems, but would like to try to keep them current if I can.

I will try to go look at xorg's config to see what is different. I don't have internet when booted to 6.3.0 due to a horrible password on the cable router that takes 5 min to type, and without a mouse its hopeless trying to use the computer these days.

Ok, looked at the D620 while booted from 6.3.0 CD. xorg.conf has synaptics commented out. I notice in /etc/X11 that there is another file with same date/time/size as xorg.conf named xorg.conf.Intel_r__82945GM_ChipsetKC232 but don't know how things work to fix it. I would guess that if I fix the file, there is some automatic process that will overwrite my fixes, and don't know the root cause of the problem. Next I will try following the instructions on the D620 since it boots from CD more reliably. The Inspiron boots reliably from HD and Floppy and can boot some OS's from USB via PlopBoot. I've never tried it from network because my wifi password is so bad.

I tried to follow the instructions and edit xorg.conf to uncomment the synaptics lines bu then x won't startt, so giving up for now.

I'll follow the thread in case there is more info needed or a potential solution.

Thanks for 5.7.0. I'm lucky its working well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6701
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jun 2016, 01:43    Post subject:  

Code:
# inxi -Fxx
System:    Host: puppypc7292 Kernel: 4.1.11 x86_64 (64 bit, gcc: 4.8.2)
           Desktop: JWM 2.3.2 dm: N/A Distro: Slacko64 Puppy 6.3.2
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: M5A97 LE R2.0 version: Rev 1.xx serial: 150545593600028
           Bios: American Megatrends version: 2601 date: 03/24/2015
CPU:       Hexa core AMD FX-6300 Six-Core (-MCP-) cache: 12288 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 42156
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1400.00 MHz 2: 3500.00 MHz 3: 1400.00 MHz 4: 1400.00 MHz 5: 1400.00 MHz 6: 1400.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GT218 [GeForce 210] bus-ID: 01:00.0 chip-ID: 10de:0a65
           X.org: 1.14.3 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) tty size: 80x25 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Audio:     Card-1: AMD/ATI [Advanced Micro Devices ] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2 chip-ID: 1002:4383
           Card-2: NVIDIA High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1 chip-ID: 10de:0be3
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k4.1.11
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller
           driver: r8169 ver: 2.3LK-NAPI port: d000 bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:8168
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 1c:87:2c:5a:bb:e2
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1120.2GB (-)
           1: id: /dev/sda model: KINGSTON_SV300S3 size: 120.0GB serial: N/A
           2: id: /dev/sdb model: WDC_WD10EZEX size: 1000.2GB serial: N/A
Partition: ID: swap-1 size: 8.60GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
RAID:      System: supported: linear raid0 raid1 raid10 raid6 raid5 raid4
           No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
           Unused Devices: none
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 127 Uptime: 11 min Memory: 359.1/15927.5MB Runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 4.8.2
           Client: Shell (bash 4.2.53 running in urxvt) inxi: 1.9.17



Code:
# free
             total         used         free       shared      buffers
Mem:      16309768       923052     15386716       270252        79280
-/+ buffers:             843772     15465996
Swap:      8396796            0      8396796
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1203

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jun 2016, 17:45    Post subject:  

32-bit Slacko 6.3.2, a few things I noticed in my 5 minutes of usage:

- Started compiling on it and went to the doctors, came back 4.5 hours later and screensaver didn't come on even though it said it would be enabled after 600 seconds in pupx
- Opening a link in HexChat didn't open firefox with either "Open Link in Browser" or "Open Link in Puppy Browser" (the second one worked in older versions)
- Clicking on the edit tray icon on the top bar (second last one) then removing Tray 1 from the option in top menu bar leaves a white line in the top middle of my screen
- Firefox 38 still has black dots appearing on the tabs, pinboard bug still exists, gnome mplayer is still below the line in Multimedia, Sylpheed is still on the menu twice same with CUPS, heh heh

Now someone else can post good things because I'm going upstairs to make supper Laughing

edit: Looks like the screensaver actually works as long I have "Allow Exposures" and/or "Blank the screen" checkmarked, it only doesn't work when neither are checkmarked (although it doesn't display a pattern either way). The weirdest part is the first time I booted neither were checkmarked by default when I looked, but every other time both were checkmarked. Something, somewhere, must have actually removed those 2 checkmarks in the 4.5 hours my laptop was on (but I'm not sure what, yet) lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2016, 04:56    Post subject:  

Please advise: Is this the correct thread for the latest Slacko6x issues?
If not, this post should be moved.

Booted the latest ISO for Slacko64 to my HP Touchscreen Laptop. Everything seems OK except for 2 problems:
  • Touch screen tracking is off (about 40mm to the left of finger)


    Code:
    01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: AMD/ATI [Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.] RS780M [Mobility Radeon HD 3200]
    08:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4322 802.11a/b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller (rev 01)
    09:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 02)
  • The system has not found my WiFi adapter. (I do remember this was an issue before with an earlier edition)

Requesting any guidance to resolve these 2 laptop issues.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3166
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2016, 09:03    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:

08:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4322 802.11a/b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller (rev 01)
09:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 02)
[/code][*]The system has not found my WiFi adapter. (I do remember this was an issue before with an earlier edition)


Is there a b43 folder in /lib/firmware?

Mine didn't until I copied the one from April64, then rebooted, now wireless works.
wirelessworks.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   40.67 KB
 Viewed   938 Time(s)

wirelessworks.jpg

fireware.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   19.57 KB
 Viewed   1011 Time(s)

fireware.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Fri 24 Jun 2016, 14:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1203

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2016, 14:17    Post subject:  

I apologize if my last message sounded negative, I was in a rush to eat when I got home so just threw a bunch of random junk into the textbox and pressed Send. Truth be told I always like seeing new slacko updates, and would probably download a new Slacko iso weekly or daily if bugfixes were rolled out that fast (luckily some you can add in by watching the Woof-CE commit log too). Slacko 6.3.2 32-bit looks smooth and actually seems to boot up faster than 5.7 on my machine despite being larger, and I think Firefox 38.8 is working better than I remember Firefox 38.4 being, among other nice little updates. Slackoers 4 lyfe! lol

edit: Since this is a bug report thread though, here's another random one Twisted Evil Laughing
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=908556#908556
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 10657
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2016, 16:53    Post subject:  

Hi mick.

I just noticed that your icewm_menu_gen-0.1.pet package at
ftp://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko14.1/icewm_menu_gen-0.1.pet
is missing the small but very important icewm-xdgmenu executable.

If it's not included, the user cannot generate an icewm menu with fixmenus, and
of course, having no menu makes icewm hardly useable.

The one from uPup-Raring is attached.

Note to users:
These two pcakages -- icewm_menu_gen and icewm-xdgmenu -- are also required
in Puppy to generate a menu for the lxp-icewm derivative of icewm, since the
Python menu-generator script in the lxp-icewm package seems to generate no
menu file in Puppy. In this case, the user will have to link ~/.icewm to
~/.lxp-icewm, to enable the lxp-icewm wm to use the icewm menu.


I hope this helps.

BFN.
icewm-xdgmenu.zip
Description  To use, unzip in /usr/sbin and make executable.
zip

 Download 
Filename  icewm-xdgmenu.zip 
Filesize  2.58 KB 
Downloaded  106 Time(s) 

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
« Un insensé sur le trône n'est qu'un singe sur le haut d'un toit. » / "A madman
on the throne is just a monkey on top of a roof." (Bernard de Clervaux)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jun 2016, 10:50    Post subject:  

Circumvention
    Thank @Billtoo for guidance on the WiFi problem on this HP touch laptop. As advised, I copied the B43 directory to Slacko64 from Just-Lighthouse64 into /lib/firmware. Saved the session to DVD on reboot and rebooted to find the wlan0 is now seen in Slacko64.

    I realize that this is not an official solution.
Request
    Anyone have advice on touch screen tracking mentioned earlier?
Problem found
Code:
# find / -name boot.ini
find: WARNING: Hard link count is wrong for `/proc/fs' (saw only st_nlink=12 but we already saw 10 subdirectories): this may be a bug in your file system driver.  Automatically turning on find's -noleaf option.  Earlier results may have failed to include directories that should have been searched.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 2807
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jun 2016, 11:33    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Problem found
Code:
# find / -name boot.ini
find: WARNING: Hard link count is wrong for `/proc/fs' (saw only st_nlink=12 but we already saw 10 subdirectories): this may be a bug in your file system driver.  Automatically turning on find's -noleaf option.  Earlier results may have failed to include directories that should have been searched.


See:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=905879#905879

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2616
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2016, 09:32    Post subject:  

My ProBook 4540s will not work with wireless. It appears to be a firmware problem. From /var/logs/messages

Jul 6 12:10:37 puppypc1109 user.warn kernel: iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: can't disable ASPM; OS doesn't have ASPM control
Jul 6 12:10:37 puppypc1109 user.warn kernel: iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-2030-6.ucode failed with error -2
Jul 6 12:10:37 puppypc1109 user.err kernel: iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: request for firmware file 'iwlwifi-2030-6.ucode' failed.
Jul 6 12:10:37 puppypc1109 user.warn kernel: iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: Direct firmware load for iwlwifi-2030-5.ucode failed with error -2
Jul 6 12:10:37 puppypc1109 user.err kernel: iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: request for firmware file 'iwlwifi-2030-5.ucode' failed.
Jul 6 12:10:37 puppypc1109 user.err kernel: iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: no suitable firmware found!

It works fine in Fatdog64 630/631/700/701/702 and 710.

My card
iwlwifi - Intel Corp Centrino Wireless-N 2230 (Rev c4)

_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2616
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2016, 11:05    Post subject:  

Sorted it.
Grabbed the iwlwifi-2030-6.ucode file from the sfs file Mick mentioned.http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=873135#873135 Loading the sfs didn't work. I had to remove the file from the sfs and put it in /lib/firmware. As this was installed on a 64G USB3 flash drive, formatted as vfat/fat32 the permissions were mangled. I had to change the permissions to rwx,r--,r--
I then loaded the module via the network wizard and away she went.
Now I need a beer, too late it's already 0034h.
Night.

_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11528
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2016, 11:17    Post subject:  

Instead of messing with a firmware SFS, you would be better off going to gyro's up-to-date repo here and getting the exact files you need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 19 [275 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0854s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0105s) ][ GZIP on ]