(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Sep 2020, 14:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
DLNA Quirky Werewolf64 Pup V3 – released 23rd March 2016
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 5 [67 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1202
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jan 2016, 17:46    Post subject: V1 & Bravia  

Hi again Sylvander,

TVs remember and display servers that they have connected to in the past. So unless the server
named "puppypc:root" happened to still be running it would not connect.

The server you are looking for on the TV will be named "ETPs DLNA Server".
Explore some more menus on the TV it should pop up on one of them possibly
with any trailers on Sony Playstation. Another possibility is that you have a
filter engaged on the TV which is only allowing jpegs or audio to be seen rather than video.
Quote:
Does the content need to be shared using Samba?

Definitely NOT.

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4439
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jan 2016, 19:27    Post subject:  

Did you read the updates I made to my last post?
e.g.
"Went back to "Video->ETPs DLNA Server and chose that.
Tried browsing "Folders" and got nothing.
Tried browsing "All" and got nothing.
Couldn't display any content.
Any ideas? "
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1202
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2016, 05:32    Post subject: V1 plus Bravia  

Good Morning Sylvander,

Our posts crossed but I did then see that you had found ETPs DLNA server.
You now seem very close to success. Smile The Puppy side of things seems fine and it is now a
matter of TV menu navigation/settings. They are all different. Rolling Eyes

Try pressing your HOME button on the remote. Across the top of the screen there will
probably be multiple choices. (Ignore the Media Servers choice for the time being)

Select MOVIES which may display trailers with the title of the screen being something
like "Playstation USB/HomeNetwork"

Use your down arrow to select one of the trailers then keep pressing your right arrow
until you scroll right to the next screen which should be USB/Home Network.

If the above does not work return to the TV picture and start again by pressing the
HOME button. Move across to MEDIA SERVERS then down to just highlight ETPs DLNA server
then press the OPTIONS button on the remote to see what if any choices it offers.

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4439
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2016, 08:09    Post subject:  

1. SUCCESS! Very Happy [of a kind]

The TV sees, and can display, the jpg image files, BUT...
It CANNOT see/play the mp4/mov files.
I think that is because my Sony Smart TV is very choosy about the form taken by such files.
I've had this problem in the past.
e.g. mp4 files MUST be in their original form.
i.e. They MUST-NOT have been converted from some other form to mp4, AND...
They MUST be mp4, and no other form.
Hence, I need to find mp4 files that have NOT been converted to that form, and copy them to the /mnt/pool folder.
Why is it, that I cannot just mount /mnt/sdb3 and view the files?
/mnt/sdb3 shows empty, whilst /mnt/pool displays the photo and video files.

2. It was for the above reason that I bought a low-cost "mini media player", that connected to the TV's hdmi socket [if I remember right], and was capable of playing any file type ever invented up to that time.
The files had to be on an sd/mmc memory card or USB Flash Drive, and plugged into 1 of the 2 input slots on the small unit/player.
Came with a remote that controlled it.

3. But I figure it's better to be able to display the stuff that the desktop PC can see.
Hence why I'm attempting to do this here.

4. Having some trouble here: attempting to connect and mount the 2 partitions on my external USB2-connected external HDD.
When I power-on the external HDD, the 2 partitions show on the desktop as sdd1 & sdd2, and then disappear, and then re-appear.
They are showing right now.
If I then click [say sdd1] to mount, it doesn't just mount, instead Pmount appears, and [if I'm lucky, which I am right now] sdd1 & sdd2 are displayed under "usbdrv".
If I click [say sdd1] to mount it, [this time] it has mounted OK.
I then clicked sdd2, and it too mounted OK.
Seems to have settled now, and be doing what it aught.
Now to search for mp4 files on there.
OK, none of the mp4 files I found and tried are seen by the Sony TV. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1202
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2016, 09:55    Post subject: v1 & Bravia  

Hi Sylvander,

I will spare you a long essay on mount points.
In your case where the stick is seen as device sdb, sdb3 in effect becomes /mnt/pool.

If you click on the drive icon sdb3 (the one with the red cross)the contents should display
in a Rox window but the name of the window at the top will be /mnt/pool.
Please check that it does that.

I think there is still a problem with the TV settings. AFAIK the TV should display all
media files and only display an error when you attempt to play one that it cannot handle.

At the very least it should display the test mp4 file.
Under what menu did the TV display the 3 jpeg image files?
What if anything happens when you highlight one of them and then press enter on the remote?

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4439
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2016, 11:24    Post subject:  

@ETP

1. "If you click on the drive icon sdb3 (the one with the red cross)the contents should display
in a Rox window but the name of the window at the top will be /mnt/pool.
Please check that it does that.
"
Here's what happens:
a. When I click on the sdb3 icon, Pmount appears with sdb3 shown mounted [no ROX window appears].
b. I click sdb3 [within Pmount] to dis-mount it, and it dis-mounts.
c. I then click sdb3 to mount it; it mounts, and a ROX window named /mnt/sdb3 appears displaying the multimedia files.
d. If I then run a file browser [tried both ROX & Xfe], the multimedia files are located at /mnt/sdb3, NOT /mnt/pool.
e. Prior to doing all of this, the files were at /mnt/pool NOT /mnt/sdb3.
Understand that if you can, I cannot.

2. "I think there is still a problem with the TV settings. AFAIK the TV should display all
media files and only display an error when you attempt to play one that it cannot handle.
"
I see the good sense of what you are saying, but it just isn't behaving that way.

3. "At the very least it should display the test mp4 file."
I agree, but it just is NOT doing it.
No doubt there will be a good reason; we've just got to find that reason.
Moments_of_Everyday_Life.mp4 is surely the original/unconverted and aught to work OK.

4. "Under what menu did the TV display the 3 jpeg image files?"
a. "Photo->ETPs DLNA Server->Pictures->All pictures->Making the Google Chrome Speed Tests" [jpg in a little box].
Choose that and I get...
"File could not be found".
It isn't working now, whereas it DID work at 1st attempt.
I think this is because the files are not now available [at this time], because they do not show at /mnt/pool...
But instead are seen at /mnt/sdb3.
b. I'll reboot to clear this, and try again, and report back.

5. I'm back after rebooting, and...
a. It worked! Very Happy
3 photos were seen, and would each display when chosen.
b. I tried going to:
"Video->ETPs DLNA Server->Video->All Video" chose that and got "There are no items to display". [= failure]
Compare that to:
"Photo->ETPs DLNA Server->Pictures->All pictures"
...And you can see that it is an address/location of the same form.

Last edited by Sylvander on Sun 24 Jan 2016, 11:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2016, 11:47    Post subject: A distro which opens our eyes a wee-bit more!  

Hello all. This post is, merely, a very informal view of this distro's advantages it offers to users.

This distro, as reported by its author, run FAST!!! And, as I have found boots to desktop in about 10sec using a USB2 stick on a USB2 path to an old sub-par P4 (circa 2007).

Unlike version 2 offers Maintenance from @BarryK's 7.3x to 7.4 along with some increases to resolve a couple problem which surfaced from V1 to V2.

VERY, Very nice home system and a great addition to anyone's home network which has smartTVs because any local PC programming which is captured to this PC, will be shared directly to smartTVs (or any device that has DLNA playback ability; namely smartPhones/smartTablets/smart...

Version 1 to Version 2 Difference
    In Version 1, which still works, it created a 3 partition USB (16GB requirement). In that USB it has a FAT partition for bootmanager needs ONLY, a F2FS partition for system's operation, and an EXTx partition for OOTB DLNA multimedia storage use. Chrome is enabled so that a user could THROW his running desktop to another smartDevice on the LAN (or vice-versa).

    I found in V1 use, that without increasing the Multimedia partition's size, I needed to merely add links to my multimedia folders spread across many LAN devices I have and at my TV, I would see ALL of the media. Thus by adding EITHER files, folders, or links to the multimedia partition, all media would be served to DLNA enabled device across the wide range of smartDevices one has within their home.

    Thus a home network is now afforded a Central DLNA location for all home's needs using V1.

    And, those with Chromecast dongles, well, this, V1, is right at home with it.

    Observing Version 2, this too has the FAT and F2FS of V1, BUT does NOT create the 3rd Multimedia partition for user and OOTB multimedia storage. Instead, the author has chosen to provide a sample OOTB storage location within the F2FS files-system as well as providing a Menu>Utility guide for users to "point" the system to their own, personal, multimedia locations of their own choosing.
Steps to follow
    Either version; FirstRUN should be run by everyone as soon as you boot the very first time. Pay attention to your local setup in that screen. Do NOT enable the firewall under any circumstance, until you verify that your distro is adequately serving files to your LAN devices. Once you have assured yourself that the distro is providing all of the services you need, then restart the FirstRUN utility, and enable the Firewall should you need so OR click the Firewall icon on your taskbar to enable.

    For Version 2, I recommend that one opens Menu>Utility to instruct it to use your local (or SAMBA mounted) multimedia folders so that your smartDevices with DLNA support can playback media it sees coming from this distro.
Needs for the Version 2 distro, IMHO
    FirstRUN should be the very 1st thing the user sees when the system arrives at desktop. This localization is a VERY important user feature for any number of very good reasons. It poses NO system penalty and allows the user to have a good successful system launch without the need to scurry.

    2: I can understand the author would want the user to have or gain knowledge in the multimedia needs for DLNA, so if would be nice if, instead of the "Guide" that is posted, a user-friendly window app would make it both apparent and easy to follow where drag and drop could be useful to know what folders currently exist, and to increase/decrease/change the multimedia needs that DLNA provides to the LAN users.

    3: Wondering if a DLNA Management GUI in Menu or Taskbar would be a good user feature for starting, stopping, restarting or add'l tailoring. (something along the lines of the Samba Simple Management, for example.)

Summary
    Again, I really like the approach that the author provides us in delivering a very useful "Home LAN PUP" for DLNA media management. With its SAMBA component along side, this distro uniquely positions a user's home for media and information serving, no matter what other devices exist on your home's LAN.

    Hope there is some clarity in this post. And a hearty THANKS goes to @ETP for this contribution
This distro opens our eyes as to the many things a PUP can do in home assistance!

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Sun 24 Jan 2016, 22:10; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1202
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2016, 13:28    Post subject: v1 & Bravia  

Hi Sylvander,

From your last post I can see that your mount points are out of sync.

To correct that simply restart X ---- nothing more, and then try the TV again.

If the videos fail to appear I can only speculate that either the install is corrupt or
something extra that you have installed such as Xfe has had an adverse effect.
Where did you get that package? (Forum or QPM)

If restarting X fails to fix matters it is probably best to abandon V1 and do a fresh
install of either V2 or DNLA Tahr64 which you might prefer anyway. I cannot however
rule out the possibility of a TV setting issue.

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4439
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jan 2016, 14:20    Post subject:  

@ETP

1. "From your last post I can see that your mount points are out of sync.
To correct that simply restart X ---- nothing more, and then try the TV again.
"
Thanks, that'll save me some time.

2. "If the videos fail to appear I can only speculate that either the install is corrupt or
something extra that you have installed such as Xfe has had an adverse effect.
"
Interesting you should say that.
At one point when composing a reply, and using Xfe to copy the names of multimedia files [using right-click begin-rename-but-not, copy and paste]...
Xfe FROZE...
Couldn't close it, or anything else.
It was on top of everything else on the desktop, so couldn't work.
Had to restart-X-server to get rid of it.

3. "Where did you get that package? (Forum or QPM)"
QPM.
It has xfe_1.40-4.
I've now uninstalled it, and I see at least 1 immediate elimination of a problem as follows:
When composing a post [in Seamonkey-2.39], I copy and paste the necessary to make text blue.
When I was pasting it, it was jumping down to the line below where the cursor had been placed.
With Xfe uninstalled->reboot, this is no longer happening.

4. "If restarting X fails to fix matters it is probably best to abandon V1 and do a fresh
install of either V2 or DNLA Tahr64 which you might prefer anyway.
"
I'll be switching to "DNLA Tahr64" ASAP.
Will just give this a last try before doing so.
Tried it again, still no fix, so...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jan 2016, 03:40    Post subject: TV sees DLNA like this  

DLNA sources on one of my TVs

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1202
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 14 Feb 2016, 07:01    Post subject: DLNA Quirky Werewolf64 Pup V2 – released 21st Jan 2016  

Don't forget to apply your handbrake:

Allegedly the best ripper for anything that is not copy protected:

1. Update QPM

2. Install Handbrake together with all its dependencies

Full sized screen shot here: (Press F11 to toggle into full screen then click on link)
https://drive.google.com/uc?export=view&id=0B_iVVJCd9q09NkFaS2tsYUxXRlU

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1202
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 29 Feb 2016, 12:35    Post subject: DLNA Quirky Werewolf64 Pup V2 – released 21st Jan 2016
Subject description: Google Chrome Stable 64bit
 

Google Chrome Stable for DLNA Quirky Werewolf64 V2.

Attached for anyone wanting to add Chrome in addition to Firefox & SeaMonkey is a pet to do so.
This latest version (V2) of the "Get Chrome" pet has some minor improvements as follows:

1. Quicker.

2. Visual & audible alert at end of install/subsequent upgrade which remains on screen until OK is clicked.

3. Confirmation of new version number.

4. New version is launched upon clicking OK.

The pet creates a new item on the Internet submenu entitled "Get Latest Chrome Version".
First use of that item will download, install and set Google Chrome Stable 64 bit as
the default browser. It may then be launched via the desktop icon named "browse".
Firefox can still be launched from wbar.

Please note that before using it again to upgrade to a new version the current version of Chrome
must first be uninstalled via QPM.

For testing streaming from YouTube's own play on smart TV or Chromecast here is a link to the best
HD playlist that I have come across from Evosia Studios.

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLE-yExNp1HSdSrsDhrZiKOR3TkbJ91eGD

Finally another screenshot of DLNA Werewolf64 V2.

(Press F11 to toggle into full screen then click on link)

https://drive.google.com/uc?export=view&id=0B_iVVJCd9q09ZnZteER5NXBNdmc

.
GetLatest64bitChromeVersionWolf-V2.pet
Description  Only for use with DLNA Quirky Werewolf64 Pup V2
pet

 Download 
Filename  GetLatest64bitChromeVersionWolf-V2.pet 
Filesize  52.13 KB 
Downloaded  178 Time(s) 

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1202
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 23 Mar 2016, 12:51    Post subject: DLNA Quirky Werewolf64 Pup V3 - released 23rd March 2016
Subject description: For Smart TVs & other DLNA renderers.
 

DLNA Quirky Werewolf64 Pup V3 - released 23rd March 2016
For Smart TVs & other DLNA renderers.


This V3 release contains general usability improvements. There is no change to the DLNA aspects.
Install is to an 8GB USB 2/3 stick if the true capacity of the stick is sufficient. If it is not, a larger stick must be used.
It is still based on BarryK’s Quirky Werewolf64-7.4 that was released on 10th Dec 2015. The kernel is 4.2.6.

Full sized screen-shot here: (Press F11 to toggle into full screen then click on link)

http://drive.google.com/uc?export=view&id=0B_iVVJCd9q09YWpVSjJ4UzJTcFk

Main Changes in V3:

• Handbrake 0.10.2 included.

• Default setting of firewall set to OFF in "Quick Setup" (It should not be engaged with DLNA or Videostream/Google Cast)

• Easier OOTB setup using a new automated faux first-run procedure. Following the completion of Quick Setup, if DHCP has acquired an IP address,
Internet access will be tested and confirmed by a brief on-screen message. Firefox will then launch.
If not confirmed, "Puppy Network Wizard" will instead launch so that you may setup your connection.

• Google-Chrome-Stable 64-bit (49.0.2623.87) re-introduced together with latest utility to update it.
(NB Existing version must first be uninstalled using QPM before using the "Get Latest Chrome Version" utility to update)

• Videostream is enabled by default.

• Google Cast is included & needs to be enabled if a Chromecast dongle is in use or if the YouTube feature "Play on Smart TV" is needed.

• Chrome extension "vGet Cast (DLNA Controller) 0.1.11" included OOTB. This may be used to push local media to a DLNA renderer.

• Firefox (45.01) & Thunderbird (38.7.0) changed over to update/release channels for simple updating.

• Tree 1.7.0, packit-1.14, p7zip-full_9.20.1, debbi-1.2 added & uextract updated to 3.20.

• 32-bit shared libraries for AMD64 added.

• For the UK, BBC iPlayer HTML5 Beta enabled in Chrome.

• Links to Pale Moon's "start.me" page in both Chrome & Firefox. Tip:- Click "more" & then on "more" again in the discover section.

• Slightly improved boot speed.

DLNA: (ReadyMedia a.k.a. minidlna – Version 1.1.5_x86_64)

The primary purpose of this Pup is to act as preconfigured DLNA server. No setup of that feature is required for testing.
The idea is that having gone through the usual quicksetup & network settings DLNA should work OOTB.
Following setup, just reboot and then head off to the TV to test whether or not it works with your particular TV make & model.

In this version the first partition on the stick too small to house additional media. It does contain the two test videos.
The intention is that having tested that it works with your TV; you then switch over to your main media repository
which may be on any accessible drive or partition including another USB stick.

At the bottom of the Utility menu is a new option “Change DLNA Repository”. When selected, it will first display the UUID of your current
repository which OOTB will be that of the first partition on the stick. It then displays a list of all available UUIDs and guides you through
the simple process of changing it.

Using an 8GB stick:

An 8GB may be used if and only if its true capacity is not a single byte less than 7,998,799,872 bytes.
To test the true capacity of any 8GB stick that you possess use the following command substituting the drive letter for x
# fdisk -l /dev/sdx
If it does not meet this requirement you must use a larger stick.
You may opt to use a larger stick at the outset if you intend to create a media repository partition in the free unused space.

Where to obtain the image: (dlnawerewolf64v3.img.xz [741 MB] & md5sum)

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_iVVJCd9q09UEtpWjN0SDhtOGM

Installation:
Using Windows: (This is the recommended method when available)

7-Zip should be used to decompress the image. It will decompress to 7.44 GB so please ensure that you have at least that much free space available on an NTFS volume.
Use win32diskimager to place the image on the stick.
A detailed win32diskimager guide plus a link to it is to be found here:
www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=765457#765457

Using Linux:
Extract the xz compressed image with UExtract first making sure that you have enough free space as it will expand to 7.44GB. Pet here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=87864

Then use the following command in a terminal to place the extracted image on the stick:
(This may take up to 30 minutes with just a flashing cursor as feedback until it finishes)

Code:
dd bs=4M if=/root/Downloads/dlnawerewolf64v3.img of=/dev/sdx && sync


If the stick is seen as sdb1 you would target the device /dev/sdb. No special preparation of the stick is required. Anything on it will be wiped.

Final thoughts:

It is recommended that a wired connection is used between the box that this server is running on and your wireless router.
W3_800.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   50.76 KB
 Viewed   518 Time(s)

W3_800.jpg


_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels

Last edited by ETP on Tue 05 Jul 2016, 07:16; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 298

PostPosted: Wed 30 Mar 2016, 14:17    Post subject: V3  

I did a couple of V3 installs. First was to an old USB2 16Gb Corsair Flash drive - the DD took nearly I hour 20 mins. Then I used a new USB3 16GB ScanDisk Flash drive and the DD only took about 21 minutes. Both seem to work well - I have used them to boot on another quite different system - a Toshiba Laptop with ATI graphics and AMD CPUs. It is connected to an external monitor and for perhaps the first time both the laptop screen and the external screen were properly formatted.

Thanks ETP. I am impressed with this V3 - everything just seems to work OK and very swiftly and with portability too! I use my laptop much less frequently these days - like many I do practically all my computing through my smartphone - but I will be using this as my go-to laptop system for now.

B

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1202
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 30 Mar 2016, 15:00    Post subject: DLNA Quirky Werewolf64 Pup V3 - released 23rd March 2016  

Hi Barburo,

Thanks for your report. One word of caution is to avoid touch screens as you tend to get fingerprints
on the car bodywork. I did polish it last weekend but sadly only in mtPaint. Laughing

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 5 [67 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1014s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0331s) ][ GZIP on ]