Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 18 Jun 2018, 00:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
DLNA Quirky Werewolf64 Pup V3 – released 23rd March 2016
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 5 [67 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4352
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jan 2016, 14:04    Post subject:  

1. Followed the instructions in the 1st post to write the image to:
"Sandisk Cruzer U 32GB" Flash Drive.
It tooks quite a long time to do that, but completed eventually.

2. No partitions showed up on the desktop when the write had been completed, so...
a. I ran GParted and took a look at the Flash Drive.
The 1st partition showed OK, but...
The 2nd & 3rd partitions showed as BLACK, with a warning.
b. At 1st I chose not to fix, but there still seemed to be a problem, so...
c. I shut down and restarted GParted, and at 2nd run I chose to "FIX" the problem.
d. Eventually, all 3 partitions showed on the desktop.
Once back into GParted:
sdb1 = FAT32, quirky1, 512.00MiB, 5.05MiB used, 506.95MiB unused, boot flag set.
sdb2 = f2fs, quirky2, 6.49GiB.
sdb3 = pool, 7.91GiB.
Unallocated = 14.90GiB.
Right now...
Information:
sdb1 &sdb2:
"Unable to read the contents of this file system!
Because of this some operations may be unavailable.
The cause might be a missing software package.
The following list of software packages is required for f2fs file system support: f2fs-tools.
"

3. When I rebooted to the USB Flash Drive...
[I normally have no problem booting Flash Drives]
Although the Flash Drive could apparently be seen...
And although I had hit F11, and chosen to boot USB...
My Desktop PC behaved as though no Flash Drive was present.
In so much as it didn't boot USB, AND...
Instead of falling back to booting Optical Disk [top of the boot list]...
It began booting XP held on sda1=C:
Hence...

IT WOULDN'T BOOT THE FLASH DRIVE!
Any ideas anyone?

a. I had this kind of problem when I made "Quirky Werewolf 64-bit 7.4".
I eventually got it to work.
I think by using GParted to repair the problems with something like:
The partition File Table.
I think the copy at the beginning [of the drive] didn't match the copy at the end, and I agreed to copy the end version in place of the beginning version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jan 2016, 15:54    Post subject:  

Hello @Sylvander

I think you may have shot yourself in the foot, quite by accident.

I, same as you, built the USB and it, too, was NOT seen on the desktop upon completion. I did not make any attempt to mount or review the newly created USB.

Instead, I unplugged it and took it to my 64bit PC, plugged it in, and in about 10 seconds was at desktop.

Hope this is useful.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jan 2016, 15:56    Post subject:  

Hi sylvander,

@All
I should point out that this query relates to DLNA Quirky Werewolf64 Pup (V1) rather than the later V2.
V1 contained a 3 partition layout with the target install device being a 16GB or larger USB2 or 3 stick.

@sylvander,

Your description of the stick produced with dd and the view of it in GParted sound perfectly normal.
For comparison I attach a view of V1 placed on a working 32GB SanDisk Ultra USB3 stick.

Once dd has completed its job the partitions will not pop up on the screen unless you force them to do
so by restarting X.

The orange warning triangles and information message you posted in red are also perfectly normal as years
after the introduction of f2fs GParted still lacks complete support for it.

GPT is supposed to be smart enough to sort itself out when its second hidden backup partition table is not at
the very end of the disc or USB stick in this case.

I think the failure to boot is more likely to be a BIOS transient memory issue rather than a GPT issue.

Can I therefore ask you to:
1. Compare the image below with what you are seeing and to highlight any major difference.

2. To power off your PC & then remove the mains supply for 5 minutes before attempting to boot from the stick again.
image-11.png
 Description   View in GParted of normal install to 32GB stick
 Filesize   68.24 KB
 Viewed   535 Time(s)

image-11.png


_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jan 2016, 17:09    Post subject:  

Just tested. If I ask GParted to repair, it screws up my USB stick so that it will not boot. Need to rebuild the stick all over again.

Better NOT to allow GParted to do anything with F2FS handling if you want your stick to remain bootable.

Hope this is helpful

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4352
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jan 2016, 19:21    Post subject:  

@ETP

Here's what I see:
00_2016-01-22_231730.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   49.43 KB
 Viewed   514 Time(s)

00_2016-01-22_231730.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4352
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jan 2016, 19:23    Post subject:  

@gcmartin

I'll do as you say ASAP [tomorrow].
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jan 2016, 20:17    Post subject:  

Rebuilt the USB, booted, FirstRUN is a requirement in my local. All is well.

Insure you launch FirstRUN and set your locales BEFORE proceeding.

As is the case for all of @ETP's distros, this is swift and smooth.

Thanks
Update1: 1 nagging issue I find is that upon each desktop restart, the firewall is started. This is not a requirement on my network as I have hardware firewall solution. Is this an inadvertent remnant?

Update2: Bad report from Update 1. The problem appears to be a FirstRUN issue where EACH time it is run, the Firewall and date-time boxes are checked. Is this limited to FirstRUN or does it mean these subsytems are currently active?

Update3: Noticed missing icons on this screen.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jan 2016, 05:50    Post subject: V2 issues  

Issues:

@Sylvander,

Thanks for your first post which has brought out some salient points.
As stated previously, GParted still does not include anything like full f2fs support.
It gets confused with GPT and can offer to fix what is not broken.
Your screenshot clearly shows that accepting the spurious offer to fix GPT has
broken the install in a number of respects including removal of 2 flags & renaming of
partitions!

You will not however be alone when having used dd to write the image you took a curious peek
with GParted at what had been produced and was greeted with the spurious fix offer.

It is the intention that GParted be used for creating a 3rd partition in any unallocated space
so the misleading message may pop up at that stage and cause confusion.
I will therefore amend the release post with a warning that any such offer should be refused.

@gcmartin,

In Quick Setup/First-Run the firewall tick box defaulting to on whenever it is launched is a new
feature introduced in Quirky by BK. I can understand why Barry did it but like you find it annoying
as I have no need of the Puppy Firewall. All DSL routers issued in the UK run their own firewalls
and IMHO that is sufficient for Linux. If you were to launch Qsetup just to check that the numlock
was on and then clicked on "O/K" rather than using the X to close the window you could inadvertently
engage those 2 setting.

The "FlatOrange" icon issue was logged as a bug in the Quirky thread some time back so i did not
bother fixing it. (BK may just decide to remove that icon-set with a SP)

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4352
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jan 2016, 09:40    Post subject:  

Did as instructed above, and...

Now typing this from DLNA Quirky Werewolf64 Pup (V1)->Seamonkey Very Happy

This is REALLY FAST!

How do I get a "Save..." icon on the desktop, and how to be given the choice at shutdown/reboot "to save or not to save"?

How/where to get that wonderful cityscape desktop wallpaper image?

Updated to 7.3.3, then to 7.4, and will now reboot.

Back after rebooting.
Drive icons: sdb were on top of sda, moved them manually, erase and redraw, and restarted xserver, and they are now sequentially all in a bottom row.
How should I set coarse/medium/fine spacing?

My little story:
Some time back, I came across something [this thread?], and thought "I need to get a 32GB Flash Drive".
Eventually I bought the 32GB Flash Drive, but couldn't remember what it was for.
I thought "eventually it will turn up", "only hope I'll recognize it when I see it".
So it did turn up, and I did recognize it [I think], and here I am. Rolling Eyes

So how do I use my Sony Bravia smart TV with this OS?
I'll begin reading through the thread to see if I can find any helpful info.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jan 2016, 11:28    Post subject: V1  

Hi Sylvander,

Good to hear that you have DLNA Quirky Werewolf64 Pup (V1) working.
Please note that BK's service pack to upgrade from 7.3.3 to 7.4 will remove vlc but that
I have put it back in in V2.

Quote:
How do I get a "Save..." icon on the desktop, and how to be given the choice at shutdown/reboot "to save or not to save"?


DLNA Wolf64 is a full install so changes are saved on the fly. No such option is possible.

If you require that feature you need to look instead at:
DLNA Tahr64Pup which does offer that feature.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=101756

Quote:
How should I set coarse/medium/fine spacing?


If you mean in Rox Pinboard set it to medium but that does not affect drive icons.
If you mean the spacing between drive icons there is no option to adjust it in this Pup.
There is an option to adjust the height of the tray beneath the drive icons.

Quote:
So how do I use my Sony Bravia smart TV with this OS?


Once you have the OS running access the menu with the "Home" button on the remote and then
select MEDIA SERVER or MOVIES. "ETPs DLNA Server" should appear on the MEDIA SERVER menu and
you can try the included test trailers. I cannot be more specifc as it will depend on your
particular model and type of remote.
Edit:
Quote:
How/where to get that wonderful cityscape desktop wallpaper image?

The new themes and wallpaper are in V2. In V1 I stuck with Barry's themes and did not alter the cosmetics apart from adding wbar.

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels

Last edited by ETP on Sat 23 Jan 2016, 13:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4352
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jan 2016, 12:33    Post subject:  

@ETP

1. "DLNA Wolf64 is a full install so changes are saved on the fly. No such option is possible.
If you require that feature you need to look instead at:
DLNA Tahr64Pup which does offer that feature.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=101756
"
I'll do this as soon as is sensible.
Now that I have this version working, I'll try to first learn how this works.
Do you see them as both equally good?
Or is this one better than that regarding this feature or that?
e.g. Which is fastest?
What are their strengths and weaknesses?

2. "...access the menu with the "Home" button on the remote and then
select MEDIA SERVER or MOVIES. "ETPs DLNA Server" should appear on the MEDIA SERVER menu and
you can try the included test trailers.
"
I assume you refer to using the Sony TV remote "Home" button.
I'm well accustomed to using that, but...
I see no "MEDIA SERVER" item in the menus.
There are "Video", and "Music", and "Photo" headings, and under these I see various "devices" [puppypc:root (another Puppy with minidlna that I had working with the TV); specific: smartphone, smart-tablet] listed beneath each of these headings, but...
Nothing I'd recognize as "ETPs DLNA Server".
I cannot now remember if there was a method for adding a NEW server.
Perhaps I'll need to phone Sony's technical service...YET AGAIN!
At ENORMOUS EXPENSE! [I have 24/7 un-metered phone access to all UK landlines, but they use non-geographic numbers]

3. "The new themes and wallpaper are in V2."
I assume this is the version explained in THIS POST?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jan 2016, 13:26    Post subject: V1 & Bravia  

Hi Sylvander,

Quote:
Do you see them as both equally good?
Or is this one better than that regarding this feature or that?
e.g. Which is fastest?
What are their strengths and weaknesses?


The main objective of the V2 release was to give it the same improved DLNA Repository selection method used in DLNA Tahr64.
Wolf which is a full install is slightly quicker. (Blowfish 2.94 running off SSD)
DLNA Tahr64 has the very desirable feature of being able to save or not at the end of the session, does not use GPT and
has support for tricky bioses.
Unless you have a strong preference try both then decide, but first establish that Wolf works with your TV.

Bravia menus & settings are a bit of a trial with options in unexpected places!
Sony TV user manuals are available for free here:

https://www.sony.co.uk/support/en/series/prd-tvhc-tv-lcd

Quote:
"The new themes and wallpaper are in V2."
I assume this is the version explained in THIS POST?

Yes.

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4352
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jan 2016, 15:33    Post subject:  

1. Sony manual: Support for KDL-32EX503
The manuals are generally not detailed enough.
I may try to yet afain read every word, but after a speed-read, I need to find info on the "Home Network Function".

2. See THIS POST reporting success with minidlna after DISABLING THE PUPPY FIREWALL.
I believe I enabled the werewolf64 firewall.
Has doing this caused the TV to be unable to see the werewolf64 content?

3. I'm guessing that if I disable the werewolf64 firewall, then go to the TV, and navigate to video->puppypc:root I'll see the content.
Wish me luck.
Hmm, I've just now rebooted into werewolf64, but how to disable the firewall?
No firewall icon displayed down at bottom right, that I can right-click and disable.
Or would it be better to complete a "Custom Installation", and specify that the TV should not be blocked?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1078
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jan 2016, 16:25    Post subject: V1 - Bravia  

Hi Sylvander,

The Puppy firewall should not be enabled when running a DLNA server.
I think I put that in a PM to someone but have failed to include that fact in the notes for either DLNA Pup. Embarassed
I will rectify that!

To ensure that the firewall is off launch Quicksetup and remove the tick.
Click on O/K then reboot. (That toggles the executable permission on /etc/rc.d/rc.firewall)

When you have rebooted also check the following:

1. In HTOP (blue part of composite screenshot) you should see 2 instances of DLNA running.

2. Open up /var/log/minidlna.log in a text editor (Top part of screenshot). In V1 you
should see that(6 files) have been parsed (i.e. read)

If all of the above are O/K the problem is with the TV settings.
image-2.png
 Description   HTOP and /var/log/minidlna.log
 Filesize   120.81 KB
 Viewed   382 Time(s)

image-2.png


_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4352
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jan 2016, 16:42    Post subject:  

@ETP

1. "To ensure that the firewall is off launch Quicksetup and remove the tick.
Click on O/K...
"
Done.

2. "...then reboot."
Will do ASAP.
Doing now.
Done.

3. "In HTOP (blue part of composite screenshot) you should see 2 instances of DLNA running."
I see them not; they are not there.
Whoa, something amiss with the scroll-bar; it's filling the space [no gap] and yet I've managed to display more lines.
Hitting the down arrow to move the highlight/select.
1 of them [in the middle] ends minidlnad.conf, and there's a 2nd at the very bottom.
Ran HTOP a 2nd time, and they're both at the bottom.

4. "Open up /var/log/minidlna.log in a text editor (Top part of screenshot). In V1 you
should see that(6 files) have been parsed (i.e. read)
"
Done.
I get exactly what you have shown.

5. Will now attempt to connect using the TV and its remote.
That FAILED to connect! Sad
a. I went to the TV and used the remote to go to:
Home->Settings->Network->Server Display Settings
There was displayed:
Server = puppypc:root
Display = yes, so that setting was OK/enabled.
b. My TV connects to my router using a pair of "Powerline Adapters".
c. I tested those were connecting OK by going out onto the web [via a Sony website] to BBC iPlayer, and that worked OK.
d. At "Video->puppypc:root" I hit OK, and it tried and failed to connect to the server.

6. PROGRESS! Very Happy
a. Went back to the TV and tried:
Home->Settings->Network->Server Display Settings
There was displayed:
Server = ETPs DLNA Server [failed to look for that previously]
Display = yes, so...
Went back to "Video->ETPs DLNA Server and chose that.
Tried browsing "Folders" and got nothing.
Tried browsing "All" and got nothing.
Couldn't display any content.
Any ideas?
Does the content need to be shared using Samba?

Last edited by Sylvander on Sat 23 Jan 2016, 17:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 5 [67 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2052s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0273s) ][ GZIP on ]