Can't load webpages over wireless connection

Booting, installing, newbie
osomuchtrouble

Can't load webpages over wireless connection

#1 Post by osomuchtrouble »

Please bear with me, though I'm good with hardware and savvy with Windows, I am a total Linux noob and I'm at the end of my rope.

I'm running Puppy 2.02 on my laptop. Puppy has taken over my hard drive and is not coexisting with any other OS. I'm having a bear of a time getting my wireless connection working properly.

I have already successfully installed the driver for my wireless card using ndiswrapper and configured my connection using RutilT.

Under the Link Status tab in RutliT it shows I am connected to my router 100% link quality, IP address aquired, the whole bit. But when I try to load a webpage, I just get a problem loading page error. I have tried this in SeaMonkey, Firefox, and Dillo to no avail.

What am I missing??

Thanks in advance!

Runemaster

Basics

#2 Post by Runemaster »

OK, lets run through the basics just to be sure, make sure you have no frayed or disconnected cables, if you have recently installed this wireless router make sure you used the right type of cables, because theres one RJ-45 cable out there but there are many different varients also and if you are not using the right one it could cause a problem. Make sure that your DSL/Cable modem is running properly and has no conflicts with the router. make sure there is no other wireless interference i.e. telephones. Some cordless telephones run on the same 2.4Ghz frequency as the router and and wireless card, making it hard sometimes to acheive wireless fidelity, make sure that those phones are not in use when trying to connect to the internet. just try those things and if you're still not up and running then just post again, hope this helps. :)

fluxit

#3 Post by fluxit »

osomuchtrouble,

After establishing a connection, open rxvt(console.) Type netstat -nr<enter>. You should see output similar to this:

Code: Select all