Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 24 May 2016, 04:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Suggestions
To who might have control of Networking tray icon in Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [30 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 531
Location: The Great Barrier Reef & Port Hacking

PostPosted: Wed 09 Sep 2015, 17:21    Post subject:  To who might have control of Networking tray icon in Puppy  

Looking closely at this I have noticed it is pretty well meaningless as it stands and is detached from what is happening in the script.

My suggestion is this .
Icon plus a cross when it is not connected
Icon flashing when it is being connected
Icon with a tick through it when ,and only when , it is successfully connected with the usual activity indicator.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 7501
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Sep 2015, 19:10    Post subject:  

In Tahrpup 6.0.3

Quote:
Icon plus a cross when it is not connected.

Yes, it does this already.

Quote:
Icon flashing when it is being connected.

May do this, but it usually connects so fast that not much time to show.

Quote:
Icon with a tick through it when ,and only when , it is successfully connected with the usual activity indicator.

The icon is just there with no red X over it to indicate connected.
Does flash to show activity.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 531
Location: The Great Barrier Reef & Port Hacking

PostPosted: Thu 10 Sep 2015, 17:29    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
In Tahrpup 6.0.3
Quote:
Icon flashing when it is being connected.

May do this, but it usually connects so fast that not much time to show.It takes up to about 20 seconds to connect a wifi adaptor properly so it is useable . This is the problem area. Sitting with say an email reader ,browser or other program which needs to acess the internet open, waiting for it to connect properly but the icon shows "connected" when it is not .

Quote:
Icon with a tick through it when ,and only when , it is successfully connected with the usual activity indicator.

The icon is just there with no red X over it to indicate connected.
Does flash to show activity.Thats why I suggest the tick so you can be sure we are now properly and completely connected , the flashing bit is terrific and useful
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 852
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 11 Sep 2015, 16:08    Post subject:  

@ april,

You are correct that the wireless may take up to 20 seconds or so to connect.
During that period there is a process of "negotiation" going on between the
adaptor & the wireless router/access point.
During that period it is not a good idea to launch anything that attempts to
connect to the internet. At best it will slow down that process at worst it
may interfere with it.
Only after an I/P address has been aquired should you launch your browser or email.

A small pet to display when that has happened can be found here:
www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=810739#810739

It requires conky to be installed which can generally be found via PPM if it is not already installed.

EDIT - 12th Sept:

If the V1 pet in the link above does not give transparency with your particular Pup
please use instead the V2 version from Rapid Pup attached which should force transparency
so that the IP address is not permanently surrounded by a black block.
ConkyIPshow-V2.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  ConkyIPshow-V2.pet 
Filesize  975 Bytes 
Downloaded  82 Time(s) 

_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 531
Location: The Great Barrier Reef & Port Hacking

PostPosted: Sat 12 Sep 2015, 05:35    Post subject:  

Thanks .I gave them both a run but see no difference and no new menu entry or boxes around icons and did the restart x and reboot. Where should I look and what am I looking for?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 852
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 12 Sep 2015, 06:36    Post subject:  

Hi april,

There is no new menu entry as one is not needed.
Assuming you did install Conky you should see something similar to that below
with the I/P address showing in the top right hand corner of the screen once
the wireless card/adaptor has aquired it.
ipshow.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   63.27 KB
 Viewed   361 Time(s)

ipshow.jpg


_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 531
Location: The Great Barrier Reef & Port Hacking

PostPosted: Sun 13 Sep 2015, 17:41    Post subject:  

OK Thanks
I tried both, carefully ,doing all the x restarts and even reboots but nothing appears in Precise 5.7.1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 852
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 14 Sep 2015, 03:03    Post subject:  

Hi april,

1. Please check in HTOP that the pet is running. If it is you should see this entry on the list:
    conky -c /etc/conky/conkyip.conf

2. If that does appear then conky is correctly installed and it may be that you just need to
change your wallpaper as white text on a white background would be invisible.

3. If that entry does not appear in HTOP then there is a problem with conky itself.
Make sure that you have installed the version in the shot below.
image-3.png
 Description   
 Filesize   72.31 KB
 Viewed   277 Time(s)

image-3.png


_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 531
Location: The Great Barrier Reef & Port Hacking

PostPosted: Mon 14 Sep 2015, 06:25    Post subject:  

Tried it from PPManager to no avail first screenshot is after x restart Changed backgrounds on all tries in case.

But getting a better idea of what you are trying to get to . Conky is an image viewer yeh? So I need all of conky installed then add your pet which just shows the IP on the desktop. Checked on htop
conky -c /etc/conky/conkyip.conf


OK When I restart x I get an error loading a background image that looks like this second screenshot

So clearly its not finding the image it seeks on my machine
After install.png
 Description   
 Filesize   94.21 KB
 Viewed   223 Time(s)

After install.png

error report conky.png
 Description   OK When I restart x I get an error loading a background image that looks like this
 Filesize   8.47 KB
 Viewed   241 Time(s)

error report conky.png


Last edited by april on Mon 14 Sep 2015, 07:16; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8481
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 14 Sep 2015, 06:42    Post subject:  

april,

The old 'network_tray' as it was known is inefficient and uses too many resources. I rewrote it almost from scratch recently (with much help from forum member mikeb ) and it includes the IP address in the 'tool tip' (the 'balloon' when you hover your cursor over the icon) so you know when you are connected.

Your suggestions in the OP are valid and possible but they too would introduce unnecessary CPU cycles.

if you would like to try it see this post and I recommend you peruse the thread for a bit of background information.

Cheers

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 531
Location: The Great Barrier Reef & Port Hacking

PostPosted: Mon 14 Sep 2015, 06:53    Post subject:  

No sweat Micko Its just that I like to know when it is properly connected and right now the only way is to watch the adaptor flashes as it negotiates .

That thread getting into cairo ,pango and other deep stuff is beyond me .Guess Ill just leave it all as it is . At least it works at that.

Last edited by april on Tue 15 Sep 2015, 00:11; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 531
Location: The Great Barrier Reef & Port Hacking

PostPosted: Mon 14 Sep 2015, 07:26    Post subject:  

I got that message to disable the tray and that threw me but I eventually just changed permissions to non executeable in /root/Startup.

Then your tray came up and the network stuff as advertised and it does indeed not say connected until it actually is !
Pity there is no activity flashes though . Guess its all a compromise hey.

Brilliant Thanks Micko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 531
Location: The Great Barrier Reef & Port Hacking

PostPosted: Tue 15 Sep 2015, 00:07    Post subject:  

Just a couple of things I have since noticed .

Firstly Micko your tray program does not realise when it has been disconnected by the router. Barry's doesn't either which gives the rather strange result that the icons say connected and the modem is switched off.

A bit like modern cars . Everything is connected to the computer so if it floods you can't hold your foot on the gas pedal to clear it anymore . It isn't connected to the gas.

Secondly in addition to your program "Conky" not running at all ETP your IP pet actually removes whatever background image I am using.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 852
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 15 Sep 2015, 05:08    Post subject:  

Hi April,
You are not having much luck with this issue.
The "error loading backdrop" appeared IIRC, in 5.7.1, Slacko & Quirky 6 before finally
getting fixed in woof & woof CE in later Pups. I suspect that the ConkyIPshow-V2.pet
is provoking that error in 5.7.1.

Try uninstalling that using PPM then reboot a few times and get your wallpaper back to normal.
Then install the ConkyIPshow-V1.pet to see if that then works. (It will not have any effect on
the wallpaper)

If the above does not work you may be best switching to the latest "official Puppy"
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=805294#805294
which resolved a lot of problems and enjoys ongoing support & updates.

_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 531
Location: The Great Barrier Reef & Port Hacking

PostPosted: Tue 15 Sep 2015, 06:49    Post subject:  

Yerh Thanks I am D/ling it now to have a look .How time flys Precise 5.7.1 is about 2 years old already.Usually though my Wi Fi adaptor does not work without a driver compile in the used kernel so we will see.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [30 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Suggestions
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0604s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]