Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 19 Feb 2018, 04:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to turn JWM menu items into desktop shortcuts
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 1449
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 02 Sep 2015, 08:59    Post subject:  How to turn JWM menu items into desktop shortcuts  

JWM provides no easy way to turn a menu item of the main menu into a ROX pinboard ( aka "desktop") shortcut (see also this post). JWM also obscures the name and location of the related executable behind a more or less useful menu label.

The attached script tries to provide more information on each JWM menu item and makes it easy to create a desktop shortcut.
The script does not create any tmp or config files. Sorry, no pet, just a single file.

Step 1: Download script, remove fake .gz extension, make it executable and run it.
Step 2: From the tiny MI window select a menu item
Step 3: From the JWM Menu Info dialog you can
- Select and copy info into clipboard
- Run the item (just like from the "real" menu)
- Open a ROX-Filer window with the executable already selected
- Create a desktop shortcut

That's all. Should work in all recent puppies.


Version History
-------------------------------------------
2018-02-08
 Improved: Supports JWM version 2.3 ( <Dynamic> tag )
 Improved: Supports (multiline) comments in .jwmrc
 Improved: Ignores garbage strings in .jwmrc (created by 3rd party menu editors)
 Improved: Performance (e.g. speed)

2015-09-25
 Added: Drag&Drop support (accepts any menu file as long as it complies with main menu syntax)
 Added: Accepts menu file from mounted sfs puppies and adapts PATH to that of mounted sfs
 Added: Optional shortcut to ROX panel instead of pinboard (requires editing of script variable SHORTCUT_TYPE)
 Added: Tooltip indicating the name of the menu file
 Improved: Using 'Script' ,'Binary' or 'Executable' to describe the program type

2015-09-01
 Initial version
mm_menuinfo.gz
Description  Version 2018-02-08 ; Please remove fake .gz extension
gz

 Download 
Filename  mm_menuinfo.gz 
Filesize  4.61 KB 
Downloaded  250 Time(s) 
mm_menuinfo_20180208.jpg
 Description   Version 2018-02-08
 Filesize   75.33 KB
 Viewed   1228 Time(s)

mm_menuinfo_20180208.jpg


Last edited by MochiMoppel on Thu 08 Feb 2018, 01:37; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10046
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 03 Sep 2015, 01:11    Post subject:  

Very good!!!!

Tahrpup 6.0.3

Seems to be all working.

Thanks!!

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4823
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2015, 16:19    Post subject:  

Nice. Working well for me in my Slacko 5.6 derivative.
Is there any chance of you building a version of this that is able to graft the icon into the taskbar as an alternative to placing it on the desktop?
cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 1449
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2015, 23:08    Post subject:  

Which taskbar? JWM tray? The script doesn't need JWM to run. In Lucid 5.28 the default wm is openbox and the script still works, but openbox uses a taskbar different from JWM's tray. It's difficult to determine which of the many different taskbars is currently running, almost impossible to decide which one should receive a shortcut. A user can run multiple taskbars concurrently.

Edit
I'm afraid above statement was not clear enough. It means: No, I will not do that. Let's keep it simple.

.

Last edited by MochiMoppel on Mon 07 Sep 2015, 08:41; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4823
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Mon 07 Sep 2015, 01:32    Post subject:  

MochiMoppel wrote:
Which taskbar? JWM tray?
Yes, I think that is what I mean. I am referring to the "quickstart" tray just to the right of the menu icon at the bottom of the desktop on a Slacko 5.6 pup. (which I think is a standard woof pup?).
These days I tend to find it easier to start my programmes from the tray rather than closing windows or switching to a fresh virtual desktop to access desktop icons. I would find it quite handy to use your script to set up my "hot icons" on the tray at the start of the session rather than menu hunting each time I want to start or restart something during the session.
taskbar.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   4.97 KB
 Viewed   903 Time(s)

taskbar.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 1449
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 20 Sep 2015, 02:47    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:
I would find it quite handy to use your script to set up my "hot icons" on the tray at the start of the session
You are using the wrong kind of taskbar. The JWM tray is a semi-permanent place for application shortcuts, very limited and cumbersome to configure and not "hot" at all. ROX panels are much more versatile and allow drag&drop, icon repositioning etc. etc.

The next version of MenuInfo will add optional support for ROX panel shortcuts. Not that I think it's necessary, but it's only 3 lines of additional code, so what the heck Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4823
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Sun 20 Sep 2015, 05:33    Post subject:  

MochiMoppel wrote:
The JWM tray is a semi-permanent place for application shortcuts, very limited and cumbersome to configure and not "hot" at all.
Ok, thanks for trying anyway. Much appreciated. Looking forward to giving the rox panels a go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 1449
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 29 Sep 2015, 23:40    Post subject:  

I've uploaded a slightly improved version.

It now supports any .jwmrc as argument (e.g. via drag&drop). This makes it easy to click and mount an alternative main puppy sfs, drag the file /root/ .jwmrc of such sfs onto the script mm_menuinfo and examine the menu of a different puppy. Not much use for creating shortcuts, but interesting in many ways.

The generic description "Executable" is now replaced by "Script" or "Binary", depending on the MIME type. "Executable" only used as fallback if MIME type can't be determined, but this hopefully will never happen.

Greengeek's idea of panel shortcuts is included, but requires to edit 2 variables in the script. Looking forward to hearing from him if this is useful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4823
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Wed 30 Sep 2015, 05:02    Post subject:  

MochiMoppel wrote:
Greengeek's idea of panel shortcuts is included, but requires to edit 2 variables in the script. Looking forward to hearing from him if this is useful.
I believe this will be very useful but I am so far unable to see how to make this work. I have tried changing SHORTCUT_TYPE and PANEL_EDGE but I can't see how the script would use these variables to add a rox panel. Does the rox panel need to exist beforehand? If so would this be part of .jwmrc-tray or something different such as .jwmrc-tray2? (It is probably self explanatory but my brain is fried tonight...). Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 1449
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 30 Sep 2015, 05:20    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:
Does the rox panel need to exist beforehand?
Yes. The same as the pinboard has to exist in order to put shortcuts on it.
Quote:
If so would this be part of .jwmrc-tray or something different such as .jwmrc-tray2?
No, this has nothing to do with JWM! We are talking about ROX here. For creating panels see the manual
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4823
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Wed 30 Sep 2015, 07:55    Post subject:  

Aaaah yes - I had confused jwm panels with ROX panels. My bad.

I have now followed the manual instructions you linked and have created rox panels on different edges successfully, and also dragged items onto each side of the panel - but I am still unable to get menuinfo to send a menu entry onto the panel.

Unsure what I am doing wrong. I will try again tomorrow.

(The menuinfo icon shown on the panels was manually dragged there. Nothing appeared when I attempted to use menuinfo to do the placement of other items in the jwm menu - although the desktop shortcut function of menuinfo works properly)
panel_active.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   96.64 KB
 Viewed   708 Time(s)

panel_active.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 1449
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 30 Sep 2015, 08:30    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:
although the desktop shortcut function of menuinfo works properly)
That's not possible with the version shown in your screenshot. Are you sure you are running your edited version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4823
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Wed 30 Sep 2015, 08:37    Post subject:  

If I use your original version the desktop shortcuts appear as designed. However if I use my edited version (editing the two parameters shown in the screeny) I cannot see anything appear within the rox panel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 4823
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Wed 30 Sep 2015, 08:42    Post subject:  

Oops, now its working ok. Now how did that happen?

Excellent. Thanks! More testing to follow after I get some sleep. I knew I shouldnt have had that coffee today. Cant concentrate. Cant sleep. Cant think. Darn caffeine..... why do I enjoy it so much Crying or Very sad
working_ok.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   47.96 KB
 Viewed   685 Time(s)

working_ok.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10046
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jan 2018, 05:45    Post subject:  

Would be nice if you made this a pet.

It is small enough to still post in the forum as a pet.

256KB is the forum limit for a attachment.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0638s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0168s) ][ GZIP on ]