Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 25 Jul 2016, 08:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
How to get XP up & running in VirtualBox?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Author Message
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 1653
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jul 2015, 13:09    Post subject:  How to get XP up & running in VirtualBox?
Subject description: .....am I going about this the right way? (Bet I'm not!)
 

Afternoon, all.

So help me, I must be losing it..!

15 months ago, when XP went EOL, I wiped it off my Compaq Presario desktop and went all-Linux literally overnight. Couldn't wait to get rid of it; after 12 years I'd had enough.

Now, here I am, wanting to install it again, for the sake of a few graphics apps which won't run under WINE. My machine is my sister's old one; she bought it new, but it had XP installed as OEM, so of course she didn't have an installation disk for it.....only the Compaq 'recovery partition' (which went the way of everything else on that night, 15 months ago!) And of course, the re-install disk off my old Dell laptop won't work, due to M$'s practice of tying an install to a specific motherboard.

I also took great care to remove every trace of M$ labels and stickers from the tower, so I've got absolutely NO proof that XP was ever installed on the old girl. So I can't use that as 'proof' of having had a licence in the past, and being able to re-download it...

Accordingly, I've installed shinobar's most recent VirtualBox .sfs from here:-

http://shinobar.server-on.net/puppy/opt/

Version 4.3.12.....which I've installed in ETP's 'ChromeBook' Pup (based on Precise 5.7.1). It works fine. Getting hold of an XP .iso image, though, is next to impossible. They're rarer than hen's teeth; I suspect M$ have gone out of their way to make sure there's no copies of it floating around the web.....though why, when it's long since EOL, and they just want to wash their hands of it, beats me. I wouldn't have thought they'd care what people did with it any more!

This being the UK, and the govt being the awkward so-and-so's that they are, the Pirate Bay & similar sites have been long since blocked by all British ISPs. I tried getting a copy late last year, but no soap. So; I've downoladed one of these:-

http://dev.modern.ie/tools/vms/linux/

I've gone for the XP with IE8 version. It 'untars' to a .ova file, which contains a VirtualBox .vm image (which I understand is what VirtualBox works with?) Can't get VBox to load the 'virtual' image, though. It more or less insists it has to be loaded in the traditional way, via an .iso image on a disc.

Is this right? I'm absolutely green as grass, when it comes to virtualization; I haven't got a clue if I'm even doing things in the right order. I've read the .pdf manual that comes with the .sfs package, but it's heavy going.


Any advice would be, as always, much appreciated.

Mike. Confused

_________________
If the advice given has helped you, please have the courtesy to post back & say 'Thanks!' Wink Laughing
----------------------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 6544
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jul 2015, 13:22    Post subject:  

Mike, name those graphic apps.
_________________
>>> Great minds discuss ideas; Average minds discuss events; Small minds discuss people. <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 1653
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jul 2015, 14:20    Post subject:  

Hi, Semme.

Well; believe it or not, one of them is the very same PhotoScape that I run successfully under Wine. Anyway, this is something I want to have a play with. I came across this article:-

http://pclosmag.com/html/issues/201309/page15.html

Which told me how to do it; I was going about things the wrong way. No need to set up a virtual machine manually; simply load the file with 'Import Appliance', and click on the download. Up & running in about 5 mins!

See, I've still got all my old XP apps; I've tried running a lot of them under Wine, but many of them don't work. On top of all that, I just wanted to remind myself of why I couldn't wait to see the back of XP. I must be loopy..!


Mike. Wink

_________________
If the advice given has helped you, please have the courtesy to post back & say 'Thanks!' Wink Laughing
----------------------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 6544
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jul 2015, 14:30    Post subject:  

Hey, no doubt.. PCLOS is a top level distro. Whilst not virtually versed myself, that article, @ a quick look appears spot on.
_________________
>>> Great minds discuss ideas; Average minds discuss events; Small minds discuss people. <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 1653
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jul 2015, 14:49    Post subject:  

Hah! I'm just as much of a beginner in the 'virtual world' as you are. I shan't have any problems with XP (aside from all the usual!)

Just gotta figure out how to 'share' a folder between guest and host now. I can see a whole lotta fun'n'games about to head my way...!! Laughing

(*Sheesh*)


Mike. Wink

_________________
If the advice given has helped you, please have the courtesy to post back & say 'Thanks!' Wink Laughing
----------------------------------------------------


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Thu 30 Jul 2015, 19:53; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 1653
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jul 2015, 17:33    Post subject:  

Well, I'm quite happy with that. XP installed; shared folder in place; Comodo Firewall & Malwarebytes in place and functioning. Next thing is to get Firefox installed, given that Chrome has now ceased to support XP. Mozilla have given NO indication of stopping support...and there isn't an ice-cube's chance in hell that I'm going to use IE8. No way.

Hopefully I can start playing around with it shortly. I'm even more amazed that VBox seems to work at an almost 'normal' speed, given that the Athlon X2 doesn't support vitualization. I'm really rather impressed.

Hmmm...


Mike.

_________________
If the advice given has helped you, please have the courtesy to post back & say 'Thanks!' Wink Laughing
----------------------------------------------------


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Thu 30 Jul 2015, 19:55; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 1653
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jul 2015, 19:47    Post subject:  

D'oh!

Me, being the chump that I am, goes ahead with trying to install SP3.....not realizing that the VBox image has already got SP3 built-in! And there's me, wondering why the VM spontaneously aborted...

Hah!

Only thing with these M$ developer images is that they're 'time-limited'. 90 days, to be precise. But that's alright; 'cos on the desktop, the installed 'wallpaper' has got instructions from M$, reminding you to take a 'snapshot' of the system, as soon as it's set-up.....so you can 're-set' it, as soon as the trial-period expires!

So I have. Did I mention that I'm seriously impressed with the way VBox runs.....considering my CPU doesn't have V/T support? Un-believable. That X2 is definitely earning its keep.....in spades. I'm well chuffed.

Might try some other Linux stuff next.


Mike. Very Happy

_________________
If the advice given has helped you, please have the courtesy to post back & say 'Thanks!' Wink Laughing
----------------------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6562
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 01 Aug 2015, 01:22    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
Next thing is to get Firefox installed, given that Chrome has now ceased to support XP.


For what it's worth, I just happen to be running XP and I just updated Chrome to the latest 44.0.2403.125 version ........ looks like they'll still support XP for a while longer.
xp sp3.JPG
 Description   
 Filesize   52.34 KB
 Viewed   329 Time(s)

xp sp3.JPG

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 1653
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 01 Aug 2015, 07:46    Post subject:  

@ James C:-

Thanks for that, Jim. I understood Google were knocking Chrome support for XP on the head by mid-2015. If that's the case, I'll install Chrome; I much prefer it, as it's normally my day-to-day browser.

Cheers!


Mike. Wink

_________________
If the advice given has helped you, please have the courtesy to post back & say 'Thanks!' Wink Laughing
----------------------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 1408
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Sun 08 Nov 2015, 13:27    Post subject: Peppermint OS ate my Windows
Subject description: Questions regarding Microsoft's virtualbox applications
 

Hi Mike Walsh or any one else,

I'm interested in what you had to do to enable microsoft's application for Virtualbox to access the internet. Anything special? Or if “just the standard routine”, what is the standard routine? Either way a step by step recipe would be helpful.

I'm not entirely adverse to just stumbling along blindly and hoping for the best. Just prefer to start with some kind of road map. Smile

Seem I'm not as proficient in multi-tasking as I used to be. Confused

My cat and Newton having conspired to silence my Thinkpad T42, I replaced it with a Dell Latitute E6400 from ebay. Windows 7 Home was installed, but a re-installation disk was not part of the purchase.

There are only two kinds of applications I am unable to run under Puppies: US Income Tax Software (pretty much a necessity as I don't care to e-file) and Speech-to-Text (something I thought might be useful were I ever able to get my blog beyond the planning stage). The 10.5 version of Dragon Naturally Speaking will run under Wine in true Ubuntus.

And, like you, there are a couple of Window programs whose availability I find convenient.

Using Puppy's gparted, I resized the E6400's hard-drive, creating a nice partition for Peppermint Linux. Then, with the TV running in the background, I set about installing Peppermint. Seems the TV program must have had my attention at the installation point where I'm supposed to choose “something else” regarding where to install the distro. I must have just clicked “continue”. The default selection ran. And when all was said and done, Peppermint Linux had eaten my Windows OS. Shocked

As the E6400 only has 2 Gb of RAM, I'd much prefer XP to Windows 7. Also, I don't own a Windows 7 installation disk. Having a couple Dell XP installation disks acquired with now defunct computers, I tried unsuccessfully to install them. It seems that some form of virtualization would be the least expensive way to re-acquire Windows.

Too much time has passed for me to remember why I decided to explore virtual OS's. But I recall why I abandoned the effort: I could never get the client system to access the internet. That is probably a necessity while running Tax Software. So – if case my tale of woe has caused you to forget what this post is about-- please refer to the post's first paragraph.

Second question: On the link you provided, Paul Arnote's article in the PCLinux Magazine warns that the application down-loadable from Microsoft become unresponsive 90 days after its installation. He also explains:

'As for "overcoming" the 90 day time limit, this recommendation comes straight out of Microsoft's PDF file containing detailed requirements and installation instructions:
"It is also highly recommended that you implement a rollback strategy for any virtual machines that you download. This could be as simple as holding onto the original archive that you downloaded, or you could take advantage of your virtualization platform's snapshotting capability so that you can start over with a fresh VM at any time and not have to worry about the guest operating system running out of trial time."
So, to remove any ambiguities in the above statement, make a snapshot of your Windows virtual machine right after you install it and any programs you are planning to run. If you are getting close to the 90 day time limit, secure your files (copy them over to your host PCLinuxOS system by setting up some shared folders). Then, first clone your snapshot, then work off of the snapshot copy. This way, you will always have a pristine copy of your Windows virtual machine stored as a snapshot.'

Actually having to do Taxes is several months off. But I figured it might be prudent to reconnoiter before April 14th. So, I wondered if you had some insight as to either preservation technique mentioned. Is the snapshot facility something you can just click to run? And then, what do you do to employ the snapshot? Are Arnote's instructions as simple as they seem?

Thanks in advance,

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 983
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Nov 2015, 23:25    Post subject:  

mikeslr

I have found that installing XP in virtualbox works on the internet straight away. If need be, you may have to click on the Settings, Network and tick the box that says "Enable Network Adaptor". Beyond that, you should have a perfectly running XP.

YMMV, but I seem to recall that Dell's recovery CDs have specific drivers for Dell PCs, so might install the wrong drivers for Vbox. Not sure, you'd have to install and see what happens there. Either way, that can't be too hard to rectify.

The notes you found about the downloadable virtualbox appliances is about doing a test install to test Internet Explorer. (sounds horrible right!) If you're installing from CD, you don't have to worry about any of the snapshot stuff. That said, I have used those before, and they continue to work fine for me much longer than their use by dates imply.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 2193
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Mon 09 Nov 2015, 08:19    Post subject:  

You do NOT need, nor should you use machine specific drivers within VirtualBox.
VB uses virtual devices and has all the drivers built in. When you install VB it links all its virtual devices to the physical devices in the host OS and uses the devices VIA the host OS.

There is a set of add ons that you need to install called Guest Additions that install in the guest OS that optimise the Virtual Machine.

_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 1408
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Mon 09 Nov 2015, 22:22    Post subject: Thanks  

Thanks Mike Walsh and Burn_IT. Very Happy

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 223
Location: Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.

PostPosted: Mon 09 Nov 2015, 23:08    Post subject:  

After setting up XP its easy to make a backup of the .vdi container file. Insurance to keep from having to do a reinstall.

I compress mine with tar and keep it in the same directory as the original
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0632s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]