Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 03 Aug 2015, 07:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Installed Puppy LInux with the .exe installer, can't go back
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
yarubiks

Joined: 20 Jul 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jul 2015, 20:31    Post subject:  Installed Puppy LInux with the .exe installer, can't go back
Subject description: Can't go back to windows 7 after Installing puppy linux
 

I installed puppy linux with the .exe installer and I can't go back to windows 7 after that. Can someone help me with this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 6371
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jul 2015, 01:32    Post subject:  

Are you talking about this installer?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=61404
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=61404&start=390

You have to give us details.
We only know what you tell us.

If yes.
I would post the question in that topic.
The developer should be able to help you.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3674
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jul 2015, 03:06    Post subject:  

yarubiks ...please post your hardware and specs for the best answer.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yarubiks

Joined: 20 Jul 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jul 2015, 10:07    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Are you talking about this installer?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=61404
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=61404&start=390

You have to give us details.
We only know what you tell us.

If yes.
I would post the question in that topic.
The developer should be able to help you.


Yes, that is what I am talking about, Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yarubiks

Joined: 20 Jul 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jul 2015, 10:08    Post subject:  

cthisbear wrote:
yarubiks ...please post your hardware and specs for the best answer.

Chris.


I have a Toshiba Satellite L655-s5150

Intel Pentium Dual Core 2.16?GHz
4GB RAM
Integrated Graphics Card
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3674
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2015, 01:12    Post subject:  

Specs:

http://www.pcworld.com/product/1300849/toshiba-satellite-l655-s5150-notebook.html

"""""
http://superuser.com/questions/315399/recreate-faulty-mbr

Here is the official Microsoft link.
I'll cut and paste it, but the formatting isn't gonna translate.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/927392

"""

http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/104341-bootmgr-missing-fix.html

http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/20864-mbr-restore-windows-7-master-boot-record.html

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11069

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2015, 04:39    Post subject:  

The mbr and boot record are not altered by the windows installer.

What might be affected is the uuid of the disc if it had some partitioning done...eg a swap partition.

It would make more sense to check the BCD entries ..one tool that might help is
bootice
https://sites.google.com/site/gbrtools/home/software/bootice-portable/information
though you need some form of windows to run it ...eg XP
Otherwise you would be dealing with windows boot discs and such.


When you say you cannot go back do you even get a boot entry for 7 or only puppy... if so then some other boot loader has been installed.

If it does boot to puppy you can add
Code:
title Windows 7
chainloader (hd0,0)/bootmgr


as a menu.lst entry and it might work...assuming the path is correct for bootmgr.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 1604
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2015, 08:55    Post subject:  

Hiren's boot CD includes a Ram XP.
_________________
"Just think of it as leaving early to avoid the rush" - T Pratchett
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cimarron

Joined: 30 May 2013
Posts: 227

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2015, 10:49    Post subject:  

Yarubiks, it seems likely that your Windows 7 is fine, but there is a problem with the bootloader (that starts Windows). It just needs sorting out what the problem is and what is the easiest way for you to correct it.

When you start the computer, do you see a menu that gives you the option to boot Windows 7 or Puppy linux? Or does it simply boot Puppy?

Do you have a Windows 7 installation CD (or recovery CD) that could be used to restore the bootloader, if necessary?


To others (who may be more helpful than I can be), it looks like the installer attempts to use the Windows bootloader and add a Puppy entry. And the Windows 7 entry seems to have gotten messed up somehow. The Windows bootloader seems complicated to edit, though, especially for an inexperienced user. Would it be easier to use Puppy (since it's currently bootable) to install Grub4dos in the MBR instead, and use that to boot Windows 7 and Puppy?

If that fails, a Windows 7 CD could be used to restore the original Windows bootloader...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yarubiks

Joined: 20 Jul 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2015, 13:04    Post subject:  

cimarron wrote:
Yarubiks, it seems likely that your Windows 7 is fine, but there is a problem with the bootloader (that starts Windows). It just needs sorting out what the problem is and what is the easiest way for you to correct it.

When you start the computer, do you see a menu that gives you the option to boot Windows 7 or Puppy linux? Or does it simply boot Puppy?

Do you have a Windows 7 installation CD (or recovery CD) that could be used to restore the bootloader, if necessary?


To others (who may be more helpful than I can be), it looks like the installer attempts to use the Windows bootloader and add a Puppy entry. And the Windows 7 entry seems to have gotten messed up somehow. The Windows bootloader seems complicated to edit, though, especially for an inexperienced user. Would it be easier to use Puppy (since it's currently bootable) to install Grub4dos in the MBR instead, and use that to boot Windows 7 and Puppy?

If that fails, a Windows 7 CD could be used to restore the original Windows bootloader...


I have windows 7 on a usb, if that helps.
It does boot to puppy straight away.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cimarron

Joined: 30 May 2013
Posts: 227

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2015, 15:18    Post subject:  

Yes, you should be able to repair your Windows 7 bootloader from your USB installer. I've done that before.

That might be the best solution, then try installing Puppy again using a different method. Or try it live on a CD or USB drive to see if you like it without changing your hard drive at all.

I'd like to hear if anyone else has other insights...


EDIT: If you don't want to wait, to get Windows back, boot from your Windows installer USB and choose "Repair your computer" (see picture below) then "Startup Repair." This should restore your access to Windows, but you won't be able to boot Puppy any more. Puppy could be installed again later using a different method.
windows-7-mbr-fix.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   19.49 KB
 Viewed   32 Time(s)

windows-7-mbr-fix.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3674
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jul 2015, 20:47    Post subject:  

Whirlpool Forums Australia.

Lazesoft Recovery Suite Home Edition

Help an idiot fix their win7

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=2431811

Download from the site...not CNET...dodgy.

Free versions are listed.

http://www.lazesoft.com/download.html

Okay use this download from Softpedia.

http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/Back-Up-and-Recovery/Lazesoft-Recovery-Suite-Home.shtml

I always use Majorgeeks myself.

http://www.majorgeeks.com/

"""""""""""""
fiftycalibre

Holy crap it works! Thank you so much!

And it was so easy and quick!

What kind of black magic is this?

"""""""""

Whirlpool is an excellent help site.

Chris..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0716s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0093s) ][ GZIP on ]