Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 06 May 2016, 07:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Multiple Sound Card Wizard
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [31 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2017
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jun 2015, 08:21    Post subject:  Multiple Sound Card Wizard
Subject description: rewritten Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard
 

Here is a new Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard, rewritten by rg66 and I, the original in Tahr pup wouldn't set the correct mixer setting for the cards that were selected.

This version now uses buttons to select the cards and saves the custom setting of each card, which are recalled upon card selection.

Backup the old Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard in /usr/bin and extract the tar.gz to replace it.
Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard.tar.gz 
Filesize  1.46 KB 
Downloaded  216 Time(s) 
mscw.png
 Description   
 Filesize   29.45 KB
 Viewed   888 Time(s)

mscw.png


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1272
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jul 2015, 11:19    Post subject:  

Thanks Geoffrey and rg66 for working on MSCW.
I do use multiple soundcard machines quite a lot and don't normally use the wizard because the problem remains that on reboot the card numbers (index numbers) can get randomly shuffled, so if card 1 has been set that is all well and good but the card that has been allocated as card 1 can change. This tends not to happen with USB soundcards but does happen with integrated mobo and PCI soundcards.

My solution for locking this down is to edit alsa-base.conf and reboot. I never need the wizard after that and I have often wondered if it would be possible for the wizard to approach things this way.

I did a test of your re-write in Dpup Wheezy and there is a blank splash message that appears when I run the wizard. I don't think it is anything that is affecting the function though.

EDIT:-
Perhaps it just needs to be pointing to an icon that actually exists in older Pups than Tahr? If you do that then the text also shows in the splash.
mscw-splash2.jpg
 Description   Is this more like how the splash is supposed to look?
 Filesize   33.21 KB
 Viewed   805 Time(s)

mscw-splash2.jpg

mscw-splash.jpg
 Description   Blank splash message in Multiple Sound Card Wizard
 Filesize   34.19 KB
 Viewed   826 Time(s)

mscw-splash.jpg


_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 1023
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Wed 01 Jul 2015, 16:06    Post subject:  

Yes, your right. If it doesn't find the icon it won't show the text either. It looks like dpup doesn't have either icon it uses, will have to sort that out, thanks.
_________________
X-slacko-4.0 - X-tahr-1b3 - X-precise-2.4
X-series repo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2516
Location: near here

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jul 2015, 09:36    Post subject:  

Will have to try this. Multiple sounds cards haven't worked for me since Slacko 5.3.1.
_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 7439
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Fri 28 Aug 2015, 22:13    Post subject:  

@Geoffrey:

Thanks for this.

I saw your contribution of this new Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard on the
Woof-CE github forum the other day, and was thinking of sending you a
PM about it. Nice coincidence.

With your edited script, now the sound wizard correctly shows only the
unique sound card that I have (no doubles), which is the one incorporated
on the motherboard.

However, I still cannot get any sound on my PuppyPrecise-5.4.3. I was
wondering if you or someone reading this thread could help me.

Is there a file I have to erase, or some special procedure I need to follow
to get the sound back?

To make a long story short, the computer on which this PPrecise-5.4.3
("CanBike" variant) lived died on me, so I have migrated the sfs's
and the pupsaves to my back-up computer. The sound did work fine on
the now defunct computer.

If it may help the "Hard Info" report for my replacement machine, an old
Acer with the AMD 2600+ CPU, is attached.

Many thanks in advance. BFN.

musher0
~~~~~~~~~~~~
P.S. I have the same problem with the Puppy CE published in late 2013
(I can't remember who the author is, sorry), although this Puppy CE set-
up wasn't "migrated". The sound just stopped for no apparent reason,
other than that the computer was not used for +/- a year and a half.
hardinfo_report.html.gz
Description  This ten year old Acer with the AMD 2600+ CPU is for the time being my active computer.
gz

 Download 
Filename  hardinfo_report.html.gz 
Filesize  7.61 KB 
Downloaded  82 Time(s) 

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"The greatest of minds are the ones that never close." | "Les plus grands esprits sont ceux qui ne se ferment jamais."
(starhawk, Resident Philosopher | philosophe en résidence) Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 7439
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 31 Aug 2015, 16:37    Post subject:  

Hello, Geoffrey and all.

I finally solved the problem by making a new pup-save of PPrecise-5.4.3 and looking
at the differences in /etc between the new one and the old pup-save.

(NOTE. In any Puppy, you can mount a not-in-use pup-save file for info, copy or
delete, etc., by double-clicking on it. But be sure you know what you're doing before
deleting anything
.)

First thing I did once in the the new pup-save is to test the sound. Hurray! It worked
OOTB, I could play mp3's !

Looking at the differences in the save files, I noticed that in /etc, the new pup-save didn't
have any asound.conf files. Also, the sizes of the asound.state file in the pup-saves
were different.

So I removed the asound.conf files in the old pup-save and copied over the
asound.state from the new pup-save to the old.

When I rebooted in the same PPrecise-5.4.3 with my old pup-save file, I had the
sound back! Very Happy

Now that I knew the trick, I rebooted in wanderer's CE-3 Puppy and did the same thing
-- plus in this one I ventured to remove the asound.state file as well. Upon rebooting,
same result: I had the sound back in CE-3 Puppy. I noticed that in this case, the
asound.state file in /etc had been re-created automatically at boot time.

Since I had my sound back, I didn't dare touch or edit the retrovol or alsa mixer
configs... Wink in any of these Puppies for fear of re-creating the problem.

I hope the above can help anyone in the same situation!

BFN.

musher0

~~~~~~~~~~~~;
P.S. Although I didn't use any of its info directly, I found this trouble-shooting article
very knowledgeable and informative about how sound comes to be heard -- or not -- in
any Linux distro. (This is not uniquely a Puppy issue; Linux Mint has the problem too.)

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"The greatest of minds are the ones that never close." | "Les plus grands esprits sont ceux qui ne se ferment jamais."
(starhawk, Resident Philosopher | philosophe en résidence) Wink

Last edited by musher0 on Thu 24 Mar 2016, 03:12; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jlst

Joined: 23 Nov 2012
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Thu 11 Feb 2016, 21:06    Post subject:  

I have updated this utility... check it out and provide some feedback..
Last edited by jlst on Thu 11 Feb 2016, 21:24; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
moeppyfan


Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Thu 11 Feb 2016, 21:12    Post subject:  

Hello jlst,

For me, the "Report" button doesn't do anything. Changing this fixes it.

Code:
function MSCW_REPORT() {
   bash -c cardinfo > /tmp/mscw.report.txt
   defaulttextviewer /tmp/mscw.report.txt
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jlst

Joined: 23 Nov 2012
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Thu 11 Feb 2016, 21:24    Post subject:  

Thanks moeppyfan. I have fixed the script
Last edited by jlst on Sat 13 Feb 2016, 12:21; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2709

PostPosted: Fri 12 Feb 2016, 17:53    Post subject:  

Looks like it has a lot of additions compared to the previous version .
Works fine though.
Is it suppose to ignore HDMI cards or not? (it does not)

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jlst

Joined: 23 Nov 2012
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Fri 12 Feb 2016, 18:43    Post subject:  

HDMI detection works when there is no selected card.

Code:
rm /var/log/mswc-selected


Even when that file exists there is an automatic behavior to correct possible issues... that is when delayedrun calls it: M.... start, I guess you're using the delayedrun i sent you..

Reboot, then I want to see the contents of /tmp/services/mscw.start.log
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 7439
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Fri 12 Feb 2016, 21:48    Post subject:  

@jlst:

Here is the report produced by your edited MSCW.

I tested your script on our "Experimental Pooch" dpw-3.14.56. Visually I can see no
noticeable difference with the old MSCW, except the report button.

I can hear no difference either when I click on the test sound button in the general
ALSA sound wizard. I mean: the dog barks! Smile

I hope this helps your research somehow.

BFN.
mscw.report.txt.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  mscw.report.txt.zip 
Filesize  481 Bytes 
Downloaded  41 Time(s) 

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"The greatest of minds are the ones that never close." | "Les plus grands esprits sont ceux qui ne se ferment jamais."
(starhawk, Resident Philosopher | philosophe en résidence) Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2709

PostPosted: Sat 13 Feb 2016, 01:47    Post subject:  

jlst wrote:
Reboot, then I want to see the contents of /tmp/services/mscw.start.log

I will but tell me what you want checked. Should the build include the modified delayedrun and 10alsa? Should it be in pupmode 5? Is it expected to autorun when alsa is not configured or it detects a non/mal-functioning sound card but not run if it detects a working sound card?
Should I modify my sfs (for pupmode 5) or is ok to install afterwards?
ie give a list of the expected behaviour and added functions Wink

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2017
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sat 13 Feb 2016, 02:30    Post subject:  

@jlst:

I haven't looked to closely at it, but from running it I don't see a lot of difference,
though the button text as reverted back to the original and it shows the current active card as a button also
which in mine and rg66 version was removed as it wasn't required.

Maybe you could give a changes explanation on the script, it's a big change from 87 lines to 359 Wink

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE

Last edited by Geoffrey on Sat 13 Feb 2016, 04:37; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 2709

PostPosted: Sat 13 Feb 2016, 04:28    Post subject:  

@jlst
Tried your 0212 version in pupmode 5 (modified SFS) with the new 10alsa and modified delayrun.
mscw comes up indicating the (correct) analog cart is picked. However this is not the case.
I need to first pick a wrong card through mscw and then pick the correct one for the card to be selected and function.
Even then adjusting the volume through the retrovol slider does not work, however, right-click > main window you can adjust the volume through the master slider.
Some logs are attached.
I have the feeling that the 0208 version was better behaved.
mscw_logs.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  mscw_logs.tar.gz 
Filesize  2.55 KB 
Downloaded  36 Time(s) 

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [31 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0808s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]