Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Aug 2015, 13:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » REQUESTS
Qt 5.4 and MuseScore 2.0.1
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
pa_mcclamrock


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 691
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

PostPosted: Sun 28 Jun 2015, 17:18    Post subject:  Qt 5.4 and MuseScore 2.0.1  

I want to be able to use MuseScore 2.0.1 (see http://www.musescore.org) on Puppy. It requires Qt 5.4 (or at least 5.3). I'm running vividpup beta 2. I'd like to have a Qt 5.4 SFS that I could then use in compiling MuseScore. Compiling Qt 5.4 from source is beyond me. Is there an Ubuntu or Slackware package for Qt 5.4 that could be turned into an SFS? Any help will be greatly appreciated!
_________________
It's stupid to use inferior software for ideological reasons.
--Linus Torvalds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
capoverde


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 235
Location: Sanremo (Italy) with fine seaview

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jul 2015, 06:35    Post subject:  

Hi,

tested MuseScore 2.01 Portable (Win$ version) in Puppy Precise 5.7.1 with Wine (wine-1.7.23-i486_v2.1.pet) half an hour ago: starts much faster than under Win$ (7 Pro) and also seems more responsive, sound OK, works like a charm on my Dell Latitude E6400.

IMHO it's the ideal solution, not only because a MuseScore package for Puppy would be about twice as large as Wine: you install Musescore 2 under Win$ then you can run it, as well as other Win$ programs, with either OS. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pa_mcclamrock


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 691
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jul 2015, 08:19    Post subject:  

capoverde wrote:

IMHO it's the ideal solution, not only because a MuseScore package for Puppy would be about twice as large as Wine: you install Musescore 2 under Win$ then you can run it, as well as other Win$ programs, with either OS. Cool


No, I can't, because I've only had Linux, not "Win$," on my home computers since 1999. Surprised But it sounds like it would be worth a try, although I haven't used Wine so far. I've downloaded the stable version of Wine, 1.6.2, from the Ubuntu repo (I'm running Vividpup beta 2). After I get MuseScore 2.0.1 for Windows, I guess I could create a "win" directory, or something, and install it in there. After that, would I just run, like, "wine /root/win/mscore"--or is there more to it than that? And how about the initial installation--would I run Wine on the self-installer, or what?

_________________
It's stupid to use inferior software for ideological reasons.
--Linus Torvalds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
capoverde


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 235
Location: Sanremo (Italy) with fine seaview

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jul 2015, 17:27    Post subject:  

There shouldn't be any problems, except maybe in the installation process: on my PC there's Win 7 Pro in a partition, so I've first downloaded MuseScore 2.0.1 Portable (MuseScorePortable_2.0.1.paf.exe) then installed it there under Win$. It opens up into a much larger directory, where you can then strip off all localized files you'll never use: the actual executable is just 175 KB but lots of other data are needed.

Most probably you can run the installer under Wine and have everything in place, but I haven't tested this; if you give it a try, I'll be very interested to know about it -- I also love Linux-only computers!
In the worst case, I could upload all the unzipped MuseScore Portable files somewhere (about 85 MB), for you and other Win-free musicians to test.

Once you have Wine installed, just clicking on the desired *.exe should have it running; there are other ways, but this is what I usually do...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pa_mcclamrock


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 691
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

PostPosted: Mon 27 Jul 2015, 16:35    Post subject:  

The installer worked under Wine, but MuseScore didn't.I got an error message saying MuseScore.exe encountered a serious problem and needs to close.
_________________
It's stupid to use inferior software for ideological reasons.
--Linus Torvalds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1833
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Mon 27 Jul 2015, 20:08    Post subject:  

I installed this in Carolina with the wine from the ppm, appears to be a goer.
I install it to /opt, here's my musescore.desktop
Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=MuseScore
Comment=Music Notation
Icon=/opt/MuseScorePortable/App/AppInfo/appicon_32.png
Exec=wine start /Unix "/opt/MuseScorePortable/MuseScorePortable.exe"
Terminal=false
StartupNotify=false
Type=Application
Categories=Document
GenericName=MuseScore
NoDisplay=false
musescore.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   75.05 KB
 Viewed   92 Time(s)

musescore.jpg


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pa_mcclamrock


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 691
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

PostPosted: Mon 27 Jul 2015, 20:36    Post subject:  

I tried executing MuseScorePortable.exe with "wine start /Unix" instead of just "wine," but I got the same error message.
_________________
It's stupid to use inferior software for ideological reasons.
--Linus Torvalds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1833
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Mon 27 Jul 2015, 22:05    Post subject:  

pa_mcclamrock wrote:
I tried executing MuseScorePortable.exe with "wine start /Unix" instead of just "wine," but I got the same error message.


I used wine 1.5.28, I don't know much about wine and what's required, try opening a terminal in the MuseScorePortable directory and run "wine cmd", then run the MuseScorePortable.exe that may give you more info.

Code:
# wine cmd
Wine CMD Version 5.1.2600 (1.5.28)

Z:\opt\MuseScorePortable>MuseScorePortable.exe

Z:\opt\MuseScorePortable>fixme:system:SetProcessDPIAware stub!
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x8391f141) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x82766301) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x82383301) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x82c6b301) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x82a36301) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x82b8d301) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x8745b8d9) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x8744d411) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x829f4301) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x81686301) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x83924621) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x8154ee09) stub
fixme:ntdll:NtLockFile I/O completion on lock not implemented yet
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x81247fb1) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x8130d301) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x81083301) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x81faa301) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x81d6b301) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x81a75301) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x81273d79) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x8127fbb9) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x81ae2301) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x81bbc301) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x8127a4d1) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x81269709) stub
fixme:font:RemoveFontMemResourceEx (0x8f2aa6e1) stub


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 2630
Location: wales

PostPosted: Fri 21 Aug 2015, 16:12    Post subject:  

hi pa_mcclamrock,

i've managed to get musescore 2.0.0 running in vividpup but it needs proprietory graphic drivers.... what graphics card have you got?

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » REQUESTS
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0601s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0083s) ][ GZIP on ]