Lupu-515 Beta New Version DEC 18

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#981 Post by playdayz »

It has got me wondering as hardinfo gives this, which suggests core 1 is running harder than core 0
Will try conky
Yes indeed. Look in /root/Startup/cpu-frequncy-scaling.sh Whoa, we need tasmod or iguleder.

Tasmod or iguleder. I just looked at /root/Startup/cpu-frequncy-scaling.sh and see 'modprobe acpi-cpufreq, BUT when I installed I choose the K8 frequency module. It seems to be working for me but this seems odd.

User avatar
Iguleder
Posts: 2026
Joined: Tue 11 Aug 2009, 09:36
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert
Contact:

#982 Post by Iguleder »

Here's the original code from pcpufreq 003 by me:

The code that makes it auto-start:

Code: Select all

echo "#!/bin/busybox ash
  
modprobe `cat /etc/pcpufreqdriver`
modprobe cpufreq-$scalingGovernor

cd /sys/devices/system/cpu
   
for i in \`ls -d1 cpu[0-9]*\`; do
  
  echo $scalingGovernor > \$i/cpufreq/scaling_governor
    
done" > /root/Startup/cpu-frequency-scaling.sh
The code that changes the driver:

Code: Select all

  # a function that loads a CPU driver
  setDriver()
  {
	
    cpuDriver=${cpuDriver%%" "*} 
    echo $cpuDriver > /etc/pcpufreqdriver
    modprobe $cpuDriver
	
  }
Here's the original code from pcpufreq 003 by me:

The code that makes it auto-start:

Code: Select all

echo "#!/bin/busybox ash
  
modprobe `cat /etc/pcpufreqdriver`
modprobe cpufreq-$scalingGovernor

cd /sys/devices/system/cpu
   
for i in \`ls -d1 cpu[0-9]*\`; do
  
  echo $scalingGovernor > \$i/cpufreq/scaling_governor
    
done" > /root/Startup/cpu-frequency-scaling.sh
The code that changes the driver:

Code: Select all

  # a function that loads a CPU driver
  setDriver()
  {
	
    cpuDriver=${cpuDriver%%" "*} 
    echo $cpuDriver > /etc/pcpufreqdriver
    modprobe $cpuDriver
	
  }
EDIT: setDriver() filters "ondemand" from "ondemand (blah blah blah)" and "performance" from "performance (blah blah blah)", that's the first line of the subroutine.

This code should work.
Last edited by Iguleder on Sun 14 Nov 2010, 17:18, edited 1 time in total.
[url=http://dimakrasner.com/]My homepage[/url]
[url=https://github.com/dimkr]My GitHub profile[/url]

nancy reagan
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu 22 Jan 2009, 14:20

Re: eamonkey2-2.0.10-flashplayer-10.1.102.64-jre-1.6.0.22.sfs

#983 Post by nancy reagan »

Bert wrote:[
Fried potato with mayonnaise: you really know this part of the world don't you :wink: :lol:
Belgian "friets" are great, however in Holland they try to sell them too, but by far nothing compared with when I once ate them 50 yearts or so ago in Belgium in a "frietkot", very greasy dirty doors etc. but superb.

Just like their bonbons and Rombouts coffee. The French have the reputatation of being good cooks I prefer the "Bels".

BTW Bert could you explain me how you managed to get moon- or silverlight running in FF ?

Have no clue while Dutch tv streams nowadays only in this format.

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#984 Post by playdayz »

Edit2: In /etc/X11/xorg.conf I changed "MaxTapTime" to "0", restarted X, no more tapping. Awesome.
shinobar and tubeguy. Is this the problem? Tubeguy, we turned that on in order to get flsynclient to work. Shinobar knows.
Last edited by playdayz on Sun 14 Nov 2010, 17:34, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#985 Post by playdayz »

As Playdayz suggested I tried to install Shinobar's LupQ language pack in Luci-237 for my language ( Dutch, 604MB pet)

SUCCESS!!
Great news Bert. Thanks. We can put them in PPM for easy access.

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#986 Post by playdayz »

Got the new retrovol for luci-238pre.

User avatar
tubeguy
Posts: 1320
Joined: Sat 29 Aug 2009, 01:04
Location: Park Ridge IL USA
Contact:

#987 Post by tubeguy »

playdayz wrote:
Edit2: In /etc/X11/xorg.conf I changed "MaxTapTime" to "0", restarted X, no more tapping. Awesome.
shinobar and tubeguy. Is this the problem? Tubeguy, we turned that n in order to get flsynclient to work. Shinobar knows.
Last version I ran on the lappie before this was 232 and flsynclient worked, tapping was not enabled by default. On 237 tapping was enabled by default, which it probably should be because that's how most people use their touchpads, but I have a habit of touching the touchpad when I shouldn't. :?
Still would like to get horizontal scrolling to work though.
[b]Tahr Pup 6 on desktop, Lucid 3HD on lappie[/b]

User avatar
Bert
Posts: 1103
Joined: Fri 30 Jun 2006, 20:09

Re: eamonkey2-2.0.10-flashplayer-10.1.102.64-jre-1.6.0.22.sfs

#988 Post by Bert »

nancy reagan wrote:[
BTW Bert could you explain me how you managed to get moon- or silverlight running in FF ?
Have no clue while Dutch tv streams nowadays only in this format.
Nancy, this must be a misunderstanding. I have no experience with running moonlight or silverlight on FF. Must be someone else who talked about it.

User avatar
Karl Godt
Posts: 4199
Joined: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 13:52
Location: Kiel,Germany

#989 Post by Karl Godt »

but I have a habit of touching the touchpad when I shouldn't.
me to
Still would like to get horizontal scrolling to work though
flsynclient > 3.TAB > Check 'Horizontal Edge Scroll'

it is flsynclient 0.6 (c)2006 Matteo Lucarelli and the luci touchpad is much more sensitive than at dpup, perhaps because of the driver.
I had this restartX message, too, but it didn't bother me much.
This message hadn't been at dpup, perhaps because dpup is running some parts of the older CCE at bootup.

User avatar
tubeguy
Posts: 1320
Joined: Sat 29 Aug 2009, 01:04
Location: Park Ridge IL USA
Contact:

#990 Post by tubeguy »

Karl Godt wrote:
but I have a habit of touching the touchpad when I shouldn't.
me to
Still would like to get horizontal scrolling to work though
flsynclient > 3.TAB > Check 'Horizontal Edge Scroll'

it is flsynclient 0.6 (c)2006 Matteo Lucarelli and the luci touchpad is much more sensitive than at dpup, perhaps because of the driver.
I had this restartX message, too, but it didn't bother me much.
This message hadn't been at dpup, perhaps because dpup is running some parts of the older CCE at bootup.
Yeah but I can't get into flsynclient at all. Restart X doesn't make the error message stop.
[b]Tahr Pup 6 on desktop, Lucid 3HD on lappie[/b]

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

#991 Post by edoc »

Video failure on Pansonic Toughbook CF-28 (dpup 040 works fine).

There is something altered in the newer Puppy versions because they all are failing to display on this laptop whereas the older ones, e.g. dpup 040, work fine.

If I do a CTRL-ALT-Backspace I can see a light column up the middle and a flicker so I know it is trying to display.

If I type "xwin" and hit enter I see filckering of the display as well.

So the problem appears to be in xorgwizard.

Video is Intel 82830.

WDYT?
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#992 Post by playdayz »


User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#993 Post by playdayz »

Nooby, Can you try Pmusic and see if it does what you want? Thanks.

User avatar
playdayz
Posts: 3799
Joined: Fri 25 Apr 2008, 18:57

#994 Post by playdayz »

Good news about Wine.

I went to get the latest wine from green_dome so I could make an sfs, thinking having wine installed without using any lucisave memory would be convenient, and green_dome has already done it!

So, wine will be in the SFS-getter in the next version. Thanks green_dome.

The wine programs foobar2000 and Exact Audio Copy are already available in PPM. One piece of bad news is that it seems wine can only play audio through the default device.

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#995 Post by nooby »

I use 237 daily now so that tells me it is a good one. I would not use it if it failed in any way that I know of.

One thing I wonder about.

Now that Wolfe or MyWolfe exists that do something that many many linux users are very accustomed to that they have to log in to use the distro.

Could that be next project to make a choice puppy which behave as puppy for all those that have become to love puppy as it is with frugal install and all and if one want it a puppy that behave as any other puppy distro with log in and restrictions and such to make puppy familiar?


Maybe I should not mention it at all because I fail to use common distros I am too used to Puppy to be able to work in other distro's more restricted formats.

And I have no idea if Wolfe really is more secure than Lupu is?

But choice is a good thing?
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
Iguleder
Posts: 2026
Joined: Tue 11 Aug 2009, 09:36
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert
Contact:

#996 Post by Iguleder »

MyWolfe isn't secure, you're logged in as root - you can remove root's password in a one-liner :lol:

Anyway, no matter how hard it is to log in, you're still root.
[url=http://dimakrasner.com/]My homepage[/url]
[url=https://github.com/dimkr]My GitHub profile[/url]

User avatar
peebee
Posts: 4370
Joined: Sun 21 Sep 2008, 12:31
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Contact:

Trinity time - solved

#997 Post by peebee »

I have solved the time problem when using Trinity on luci23x - there was a missing #!/bin/sh line in the settime file in /root/Startup.

If edited to:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

#added by playdayz to make timezone persistent
hwclock --hctosys --localtime
then the time is displayed correctly and both hwclock and date show the same correct time.

Cheers
Peter

User avatar
Bert
Posts: 1103
Joined: Fri 30 Jun 2006, 20:09

#998 Post by Bert »

Iron is Gold :D

Thank you!

Seems the fastest of them all.

The fonts seem better, or is that my imagination?

You know what? It installed in my language 8)

Youtube is definitely better (fullscreen) than the other browsers, or is that my imagination again?

Would love to hear what others think about Iron.
Last edited by Bert on Sun 14 Nov 2010, 20:22, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Iguleder
Posts: 2026
Joined: Tue 11 Aug 2009, 09:36
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert
Contact:

#999 Post by Iguleder »

playdayz, I made a xchat template for Woof and it works perfectly with Debian Squeeze ... do you want me to upload it? I also made templates for about 15-20 packages, I'm trying to use more Debian/Ubuntu and less Puppy packages to make things more future-proof.

I'm writing this from a dpup built this way, no size penalty for some reason :)

I use Iceape and almost all applications from Debian, seems very solid. That's the first stage in the trinitypup roadmap :lol:
[url=http://dimakrasner.com/]My homepage[/url]
[url=https://github.com/dimkr]My GitHub profile[/url]

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#1000 Post by nooby »

iguleder, thanks.
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Post Reply