Page 5 of 10

Posted: Sat 11 May 2013, 11:51
by rcrsn51
Do you have Windows Live Essentials installed on your Win7 machine? It is known to block Linux Samba clients.

Do you have a second Windows machine on your network? You could use it to test that the Win7 share is set up correctly.
If, I click the 'Shares' button in the credentials dialog I get a dropdown list with 'NONE' as the only item so it seems the pupshare directory isn't visible.
Using the Win7 username and password, run this command

Code: Select all

smbclient -U username%password -L acer
Does that list the share?

Also try the command using the Acer's IP address instead of its name.

Posted: Sat 11 May 2013, 12:21
by PaulR
Thanks for the very quick reply!

No, I don't have Windows Essentials installed.

We have an infrequently used Vista machine..I'll check if that recognizes the share later.
Using the Win7 username and password, run this command
Code:
smbclient -U username%password -L acer

Does that list the share?
No, it gives 'protocol negotiation failed' whether I use the name or the IP address.

Certainly seems like something is amiss on the Win 7 box.... I'll take another look at that end.

Thanks again

Paul

Posted: Sat 11 May 2013, 12:28
by rcrsn51
Maybe this will help?

I found a post by a Ubuntu user who fixed the problem by rebooting his Win7 machine.

Posted: Sat 11 May 2013, 12:43
by PaulR
Thank you - rebooting has done the trick! (Insert equal amounts of Grrrr and :D here)

So glad I didn't have to work through another load of instructions, I've been at this all day so far as it is!

Cheers

Paul

PS the Vista machine recognized the share before rebooting.

Posted: Sat 11 May 2013, 12:49
by rcrsn51
That's good news. It sounds like the problem is a memory cache issue on the Win7 machine as described in the link above. Rebooting cleared it.

Posted: Sat 11 May 2013, 13:03
by PaulR
That's good news. It sounds like the problem is a memory cache issue on the Win7 machine as described in the link above. Rebooting cleared it.
Certainly is - thanks for creating this nice clear and easy-to-use set of utilities.

Paul

Wifi problems

Posted: Sat 18 May 2013, 17:13
by peebee
This is a follow-up attempt to solve the conundrum described in:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83929

The setup is:

A desktop and a laptop both running Slacko5.5
The desktop has samba-4.0.0-i486.pet installed
With the desktop hard wired to my router and the laptop connected by wifi (Broadcom B4312) then YASSM is able to faultlessly find the Samba share on the desktop.

However....
I need to relocate the router close to the main phone socket in preparation for the installation of fibre broadband.

This has meant that the desktop also has to be connected to the router with wifi - rt2800usb driver
VendorID=148f ProductID=5370 Rev= 1.01
Manufacturer=Ralink
Product=802.11 n WLAN
SerialNumber=1.0
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 148f:5370 Ralink Technology, Corp.
rt2800usb : Ralink RT2800 USB Wireless LAN driver.
YASSM can no longer find the share in this new setup.

However....
If I probe the connection with PeasyPort - using various combinations of the "Scan" and "Names" tools then I am able to convince YASSM to access the share. A combination of scan + names + scan again seems to be needed.
Looking at the PeasyPort shellscript it seems to be issuing the mpscan and the pnscan commands - I also saw the nmblookup command recommended - the results of issuing these commands in a terminal are:

Code: Select all

# nmblookup ATHOME
querying ATHOME on 192.168.1.255
192.168.1.64 ATHOME<00>
# nmblookup ATHOME
querying ATHOME on 192.168.1.255
name_query failed to find name ATHOME
# 
# mpscan -p 139 -v 192.168.1.64
ip: 192.168.1.64 139 OK
# pnscan -t 2000 -v 192.168.1.64 139
192.168.1.64    :   139 : ERR : read() failed: Connection timed out
So what I'm wondering is, can I wrap /usr/local/yassm/samba-login in a wrapper that issues the necessary mpscan and pnscan commands to make YASSM connect reliably? and how do I work out which commands I need?

Or is there some other way to make Samba work in my setup?

And finally is there any diagnostics I should be looking at on the desktop to see why the connection is not succeeding?

Cheers & thanks for any advice and assistance
peebee

p.s. apologies for the rather long post

Posted: Sat 18 May 2013, 17:22
by rcrsn51
What happens if you run samba-login, but use the desktop's IP address instead of its server name?

Posted: Sat 18 May 2013, 18:31
by peebee
rcrsn51 wrote:What happens if you run samba-login, but use the desktop's IP address instead of its server name?
After a short delay that works OK - thanks - should work OK as I can set my router to always use the same IP address I think.
Cheers
peebee

Posted: Sat 18 May 2013, 18:37
by rcrsn51
Excellent.

Was samba-search able to find the desktop's share when connected by wifi?

Posted: Sat 18 May 2013, 19:14
by peebee
rcrsn51 wrote:Was samba-search able to find the desktop's share when connected by wifi?
No shares found by samba-search on initial boot

however after having made a connection using the ip address and then dismounting and running samba-search again the share on the server name was detected.....

Posted: Sat 18 May 2013, 19:20
by rcrsn51
It sounds like your USB adapter needs some coaxing to wake up and reveal the Samba server to the network.

Try using the combo server name in samba-login as described in the Help.

Code: Select all

ATHOME?192.168.1.0
This will force a network scan. If it finds the share, you won't need to give the desktop a static IP address.

Posted: Sat 18 May 2013, 20:02
by peebee
rcrsn51 wrote:It sounds like your USB adapter needs some coaxing to wake up and reveal the Samba server to the network.

Try using the combo server name in samba-login as described in the Help.

Code: Select all

ATHOME?192.168.1.0
This will force a network scan. If it finds the share, you won't need to give the desktop a static IP address.
That just gives a "No Connection to Puppy" message - no share found....

:(

Posted: Sat 18 May 2013, 20:10
by rcrsn51
That's too bad. So the only reliable method is to use a static IP address as the server name.

I wonder if Pnethood is any better at finding the server.

Posted: Sat 18 May 2013, 20:13
by peebee
rcrsn51 wrote:That's too bad. So the only reliable method is to use a static IP address as the server name.

I wonder if Pnethood is any better at finding the server.
Would have to try a different puppy - no pnethood any more in Slacko5.5....

Tried Precise5.5 - pnethood does not detect any share :(

Posted: Sun 19 May 2013, 02:48
by disciple
peebee wrote:Would have to try a different puppy - no pnethood any more in Slacko5.5....
Try installing it. It is more informative if you test on the same system.

Posted: Sat 08 Jun 2013, 06:22
by tomfoo13ry
Thank you for this pet rcrsn51. It is very useful.

I was having a problem with automount but it seems to have resolved itself after a few reboots.

Posted: Thu 11 Jul 2013, 23:03
by sc0ttman
I can never find any shares with YASSM...

Why do I get this error? I've got your packages installed, samba-tng, yassm, etc.. What else am I missing?!

Code: Select all

/usr/local/yassm/samba-search: line 103: nmblookup: command not found
From which (wary) pet package can i get this file any any other related files??

Posted: Thu 11 Jul 2013, 23:11
by pemasu
# find /mnt/sda6/woof-july3-raring/woof-out_x86_x86_ubuntu_raring/packages-raring -name nmblookup
/mnt/sda6/woof-july3-raring/woof-out_x86_x86_ubuntu_raring/packages-raring/samba_client/usr/bin/nmblookup

http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_pa ... 3.0.37.pet

Posted: Thu 11 Jul 2013, 23:36
by rcrsn51
sc0ttman wrote:From which (wary) pet package can i get this file any any other related files??
What Puppy are you using? Nmblookup has been included since 4.3.1 or earlier. However, it was sometimes located in /opt/samba/bin and that folder was added to the search path.