Page 42 of 42

want to stretch the width of a pixmap...

Posted: Sat 21 Nov 2015, 18:31
by TecnoGuy458
its just the buttons that are the keys often vary in size. oh well, i guess the number bar can still serve as a visual aid of sorts.

you see the number bar is above the keys. it shows the key numbers in order. the technical side of things work. the 21-40 piano keys and 4 piece percussion all work.

EDIT: those examples didn't help the number bar issue, but i was able to get the "piano keys" to scale up when you enlarge the window!

Posted: Sat 21 Nov 2015, 19:19
by don570
A trick I often use is to center a button in a column

Code: Select all

<hbox homogeneous="true">
<hbox>
<button>
				<text><label>"mtpaint"</label></text>
                             <action>mtpaint</action>
</button>
</hbox></hbox>

http://gtkdialog.googlecode.com/svn/tru ... _alignment

____________________________________________


...and a column width can be controlled by a width request

Code: Select all

<vbox  width-request="500">
...
...
...
</vbox>

http://gtkdialog.googlecode.com/svn/tru ... scrollable

worked around it.

Posted: Sat 21 Nov 2015, 20:48
by TecnoGuy458
ended up splitting the number bar into icons. which worked.

EDIT: its now finished, PET can be found here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=101714

Posted: Mon 23 Nov 2015, 21:52
by don570
Here's a change I suggest for the about button...

Code: Select all

[url]<window title="Thomas Virtual Piano -about" image-name="Thomas-Virtual-Piano.png"  resizable="false">[/url]

resizable="false" ---> fixes strange resizing of window in some cases

_____________________________________________________

It would be cool if pressing the keyboard keys worked as well
but that might take some C programming.

___________________________________________

Putting the version number in the window title is good practice..
I first start my scripts by defining VERSION

Code: Select all

VERSION=1.3
then I can use it latter in script

______________________________________________

If you want to make the window color stand out
Here is an example pupmemo that is simple to understand

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 09d2fd2cae

___________________________________________

Posted: Fri 08 Jul 2016, 22:21
by mcewanw
With the recent news that Roxterm is not going to be further developed owing to major issues getting to working with gtk3, I was wondering if gtkdialog is still being developed such that it is gtk3 compatible?

I imagine, gtk2 will mainly vanish from our systems one day in the not-so-distant future, just as gtk1 did previously.

William

Posted: Sat 09 Jul 2016, 01:28
by technosaurus
Gtk3 isn't even compatible with gtk3. There is no point except to beta test for gtk4 (which will hopefully be stable, but I wouldn't hold my breath)

Posted: Sat 09 Jul 2016, 05:56
by mcewanw
Gtk3 gtk4... either way, if we take the time to write apps based on gtkdialog (or yad or Bacon or ...) that needs to keep up with developments or wise to use a different approach guaranteed to still be usable in a few years time. And I'm talking about simple gui frontends for scripts not complex apps that are best programmed in complex programming languages like gtk... or qt themselves (programming in which are beyond the skills of most of us anyway).

So question remains: is gtkdialog being maintained or is gtk2 the end of the line for it?

William

Posted: Sun 18 Jun 2017, 21:41
by disciple
Regardless of whether gtk2 is the end of the line, does anyone know if there has been any maintenance anywhere since the google code shutdown? I see there are plenty of people that exported the repository to github. I didn't click on them all, but I did sort by most recently updated, and didn't see any actual recent commits.

gtk3

Posted: Mon 30 Apr 2018, 18:07
by woodenshoe-wi
To set the record straight, Thunor did add support for GTK+ 3. It just got broken by some changes to the library interface. VTE was the main culprit, and it was relatively easy to fix. After fixing a misplaced #endif it is also possible to compile gtkdialog without VTE.

I think the problem Thunor was having with GTK+ 3 itself was actually an incompatibility between GTK+ 3 and an older version of GNOME GLib. Some functionality was being moved from GTK to GLib and had been removed from GTK+ 3 but was not yet present in GLib.

If you want to use gtkdialog on a GTK+ 3 distro I compiled six variants on the "Releases" tab of my fork at github.

https://github.com/woodenshoe-wi/gtkdialog/releases

I think it would be a shame to abandon gtkdialog when the fixes needed to get it working again with GTK+ 3 are so minor.

Re: gtk3

Posted: Mon 30 Apr 2018, 21:19
by wiak
woodenshoe-wi wrote: I think it would be a shame to abandon gtkdialog when the fixes needed to get it working again with GTK+ 3 are so minor.
I doubt GTK+ 2 will be going away any day soon, but good that you've fixed GTK+ 3 replacement for future use - there being so many Puppy app/utils written in bash/gtkdialog some people may still want to dig them up in year 2084... ;-)

Admittedly, I think it is time programming on Puppy moved on a bit from bash/gtkdialog in terms of future efforts - but there will maybe be a lot of inertia before that can come to pass or maybe not many are interested in programming for Pups now anyway; now that so many full-featured apps can so readily be installed via the Ubuntu/Debian repos.

wiak

Posted: Mon 30 Apr 2018, 22:05
by vovchik
Dear woodenshoe-wi,

Thanks. I had thought about doing that myself but was put off by the sheer volume of work. Your gtk3 version works nicely in Tahr. I suppose gtk4 will use the same css business, so porting from gtk3 to gtk4 may not be as onerous as what you have already done. Great work.

With kind regards,
vovchik

Posted: Mon 30 Apr 2018, 22:17
by woodenshoe-wi
I can't take credit for GTK+ 3 support. Thunor had already added it, I just fixed some problems with newer versions of VTE.

There was only one thing that I had to fix for GTK itself and that was only one line plus a #if GTK_CHECK_VERSION(2,2,0)

https://github.com/woodenshoe-wi/gtkdia ... 0900da04c8

Posted: Tue 01 May 2018, 05:33
by zigbert
@woodenshoe-wi
Really great stuff!
I have linked your work in the Tips an Tricks thread

Posted: Tue 22 May 2018, 06:44
by scsijon
UHHHH

GTK+4

Really,
do we have too.

Does anyone have an idea of what's the gains, against gain in size yet?

Zigbert, technosaurus, vovchick, thunor, etc, any ideas from the prelims?

thanks
scsijon
ps i'm still trying to work out gtk+3 changes for sourcery (mainly scrambled gtk2 due to age) that i need some bits from, let alone having to deal with gtk4 (a totally unknown to me).

EDIT1: AH, this may be of much interest https://blogs.gnome.org/desrt/2016/06/1 ... not-gtk-4/. It settles me a bit. Buit https://blogs.gnome.org/desrt/2016/06/1 ... not-gtk-5/ doesn't!