Page 39 of 76

Posted: Sun 14 Apr 2013, 12:02
by hannysabbagh
Hello.

anybody knows how to get out of this? :)
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=85640

ThankS!

Hyperlinks

Posted: Tue 16 Apr 2013, 05:41
by DocSalvage
I'm working on an awk program that converts Zim pages to GtkDialogs for checklists and such so it needs to have functional hyperlinks.

I've learned that the Pango markup "<span><a>..." formats the hypertext just fine but taking action on the click is the problem. I've made it work by wrapping the GtkDialog <text> widget in its own <hbox> which is, in turn, wrapped in an <hbox > for the entire line of text. Conceptually, the code looks something like...

Code: Select all

<hbox>
  <hbox>
    <text>
      <label>"<span>non-link-text</span>"</label>
    </text>
  </hbox>
  <hbox>
    <text>
      <label>"<span><a href="...">link-text</a></span>"</label>
      <action signal="button-press-event">...</action>
    </text>
  </hbox>
  <hbox>
    <text>
      <label>"<span>non-link-text</span>"</label>
    </text>
  </hbox>
</hbox>
Very much a work in progress, but maybe this will help others trying to use hyperlinks.

One cuestion.

Posted: Thu 23 May 2013, 14:12
by mister_electronico
Why don't work this program, and how I can get work.

#! /bin/bash
export CHOOSER
export MAIN_DIALOG='
<vbox>
<chooser>
<height>500</height><width>600</width>
<variable>CHOOSER</variable>
</chooser>
<hbox>
<button help></button>
<button ok></button>
</hbox>
</vbox>
'
gtkdialog --program=MAIN_DIALOG
exec mplayer CHOOSER

I was searching everywhere and I can't see how choose one file and open with some application program, like this example or if I want open file by Menubar.

Thanks for any help.

Posted: Thu 23 May 2013, 15:43
by zigbert

Code: Select all

exec mplayer "$CHOOSER"

No work.

Posted: Sat 25 May 2013, 10:42
by mister_electronico
Thanks zigbert for answering but don't work.

The problem with the variable CHOOSER inside of GTKDIALOG is local variable, I not know how export variable outside of GTKDIALOG.

The only way I met is :

Code: Select all

#! /bin/bash
export MAIN_DIALOG='
<vbox>
  <chooser>
   <height>500</height><width>600</width>
   <variable>CHOOSER</variable>
  </chooser>
 <hbox>
   <button ok>
      <action>"echo $CHOOSER > /tmp/tmp"</action>
	  <action>exit:Exit</action>
   </button>
 </hbox>
</vbox>
'
gtkdialog --program=MAIN_DIALOG
A=$(cat /tmp/tmp)
echo "$A"
exec mplayer $A

But I think is not very elegant.

Anyway Thanks for you reply.

Posted: Sat 25 May 2013, 11:43
by Geoffrey
Making it a function works

Code: Select all

#! /bin/bash
CHOSEN(){
mplayer $CHOOSER
}
export -f  CHOSEN
export MAIN_DIALOG='
<vbox>
  <chooser>
   <height>500</height><width>600</width>
   <variable>CHOOSER</variable>
  </chooser>
 <hbox>
   <button ok>
	  <action>CHOSEN</action>
	  <action>exit:Exit</action>
   </button>
 </hbox>
</vbox>
'
gtkdialog --program=MAIN_DIALOG

Works...

Posted: Sat 25 May 2013, 14:17
by mister_electronico
Amazing Geoffrey! Works.

When call to the variable trough function works.

Have a problem when you try to choose mplayer file in other partition or hard drive.

Thanks for teaching this way

Posted: Sat 25 May 2013, 15:36
by seaside
You can also do it this way-

Code: Select all

eval `gtkdialog --program=MAIN_DIALOG`


This runs the gtkdialog program between the backtics and then evaluates (sets the variables for further use)

Cheers,
s

Thanks seaside

Posted: Sat 25 May 2013, 19:07
by mister_electronico
Thanks seaside... works perfect.

I check it in the first program, and work perfect and I can open one mplayer file well, even if the file is in other partition or other hardrive.

So thanks for teaching this way too.

Good teachers in this Forum.

Multiple defaults in tree

Posted: Wed 29 May 2013, 18:06
by jmrichardson
Hello,

Does anyone know of a way set multiple defaults in the tree widget? I see a selected-row tag but that only sets a single default. Does anyone know of how to do this? Thanks in advance!

John

gtkdialog changing shell variable

Posted: Thu 06 Jun 2013, 19:25
by jmrichardson
Hello,

I have been trying to figure out how to change a bash variable value within gtkdialog. That is, I load a config file to set my variables within gtkdialog. However, i would like to change the variable value based on user input. When i change the value with an action, it doesn't change the value on exit (it stays the same). I think the action function is kicking off a sub shell, changig the variable there, then returning back to the main shell. If that is correct, any way to change the parent shell variable value without using files for storage?

Thanks,
John

Posted: Sat 08 Jun 2013, 20:25
by don570
I'm no expert but if 'export VARIABLE' doesn't work
then I use 'echo $VARIABLE > /path/to/file'

Then I reload in a new function or application.

VARIABLE=`cat /path/to/file`

or

read VARIABLE < /path/to/file

________________________________

list/tree/table with checkbox

Posted: Tue 30 Jul 2013, 04:05
by box579
Hey guys,

is there any option to have checkboxes within a gtkdialog tree/list/table? I would like to select multiple items.

Input is optained from a textfile:
monitor1|true|option1
monitor2|false|option2
monitor3|true|option3
Output is written to a textfile.

Thanks & regards,
box579.

Posted: Tue 30 Jul 2013, 15:25
by ASRI éducation
Hello !
I'm trying to create a GUI (GTK) and I need help.
I use the combobox option and I do not want the user could edit the items offered (so that he can choose only in the list of items proposed by the script).
Currently, my combobox like this:

Code: Select all

<vbox>
<text><label>Live Support</label></text>
<combobox width-request=\""$COMBOBOX_WIDTH"\" tooltip-text=\" Select the live support \">
<variable>CheckLiveSupport</variable>
$LIVE_SUPPORT_ITEMS
</combobox>
</vbox>
My question: is it possible to prevent the publishing of the items proposed by the combobox?

Cordialement,

Posted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 09:34
by box579
Hi ASRI education,
to prevent users from editing your items use <comboboxtext> instead of <combobox>. See below, for specs read this:
http://code.google.com/p/gtkdialog/wiki/comboboxtext

Code: Select all

<vbox>
<text><label>Live Support</label></text>
<comboboxtext width-request=\""$COMBOBOX_WIDTH"\" tooltip-text=\" Select the live support \">
<variable>CheckLiveSupport</variable>
$LIVE_SUPPORT_ITEMS
</comboboxtext>
</vbox>
BR, box579.

Posted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 09:47
by ASRI éducation
box579 wrote:Hi ASRI education,
to prevent users from editing your items use <comboboxtext> instead of <combobox>. See below, for specs read this:
http://code.google.com/p/gtkdialog/wiki/comboboxtext

Code: Select all

<vbox>
<text><label>Live Support</label></text>
<comboboxtext width-request=""$COMBOBOX_WIDTH"" tooltip-text=" Select the live support ">
<variable>CheckLiveSupport</variable>
$LIVE_SUPPORT_ITEMS
</comboboxtext>
</vbox>
BR, box579.
This is exactly what I needed.
A big thank you!
:wink:

Posted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 11:09
by ASRI éducation
@ zigbert
May be, it could be interesting to add this info in the first message.
Cordialement,
ASRI éducation wrote:Hello !
I'm trying to create a GUI (GTK) and I need help.
I use the combobox option and I do not want the user could edit the items offered (so that he can choose only in the list of items proposed by the script).
Currently, my combobox like this:

Code: Select all

<vbox>
<text><label>Live Support</label></text>
<combobox width-request=""$COMBOBOX_WIDTH"" tooltip-text=" Select the live support ">
<variable>CheckLiveSupport</variable>
$LIVE_SUPPORT_ITEMS
</combobox>
</vbox>
My question: is it possible to prevent the publishing of the items proposed by the combobox?

Cordialement,
box579 wrote:Hi ASRI education,
to prevent users from editing your items use <comboboxtext> instead of <combobox>. See below, for specs read this:
http://code.google.com/p/gtkdialog/wiki/comboboxtext

Code: Select all

<vbox>
<text><label>Live Support</label></text>
<comboboxtext width-request=""$COMBOBOX_WIDTH"" tooltip-text=" Select the live support ">
<variable>CheckLiveSupport</variable>
$LIVE_SUPPORT_ITEMS
</comboboxtext>
</vbox>
BR, box579.
ASRI éducation wrote:This is exactly what I needed.
:wink:

Nested expanders

Posted: Tue 13 Aug 2013, 18:39
by SFR
Does anyone did it before?
Nested expanders - can be used for 'tree-view' of folders.
Hack on a hack pushed by another hack, but works beautifully!

Ok, so who's gonna write a routine that recursively parses directory tree and dynamically builds a GUI?
Not me - no way! :lol:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

# Pure Mess v1.0 ;)
# Nested expanders example by SFR'2013
# Tricky as hell (chaos with vbox/hbox and alignment), but works like a charm!
# Requires Gtkdialog >= 0.8.1

file_select () {
  xmessage --center "'$@' has been selected..."
}
export -f file_select

export MAIN='
<window title="Recursive expander">
  <vbox spacing="0">
    <expander label="directory 1" space-fill="false" space-expand="false">
      <vbox spacing="0">
        <hbox>
          <text space-fill="false" space-expand="false"><label>" "</label></text>
          <vbox spacing="0">
            <expander label="directory 2" space-fill="false" space-expand="false">
              <vbox spacing="0">
                <hbox>
                  <text space-fill="false" space-expand="false"><label>" "</label></text>
                  <vbox spacing="0">
                    <expander label="dir3" space-fill="false" space-expand="false">
                      <vbox spacing="0">
                        <hbox>
                          <text space-fill="false" space-expand="false"><label>" "</label></text>
                          <button relief="2" space-fill="false" space-expand="false">
                            <label>bla bla 1</label>
                            <action>file_select bla bla 1</action>
                          </button>
                          <text space-fill="true" space-expand="true"><label>" "</label></text>
                        </hbox>
                        <hbox>
                          <text space-fill="false" space-expand="false"><label>" "</label></text>
                          <button relief="2" space-fill="false" space-expand="false">
                            <label>bla bla 2</label>
                            <action>file_select bla bla 2</action>
                          </button>
                          <text space-fill="true" space-expand="true"><label>" "</label></text>
                        </hbox>
                      </vbox>
                    </expander>
                  </vbox>
                  <text space-fill="true" space-expand="true"><label>" "</label></text>
                </hbox>
                <hbox>
                  <text space-fill="false" space-expand="false"><label>" "</label></text>
                  <button relief="2" space-fill="false" space-expand="false">
                    <label>somefile1 in dir2</label>
                    <action>file_select somefile1</action>
                  </button>
                  <text space-fill="true" space-expand="true"><label>" "</label></text>
                </hbox>
                <hbox>
                  <text space-fill="false" space-expand="false"><label>" "</label></text>
                  <button relief="2" space-fill="false" space-expand="false">
                    <label>somefile2 in dir2</label>
                    <action>file_select somefile2</action>
                  </button>
                  <text space-fill="true" space-expand="true"><label>" "</label></text>
                </hbox>
                <hbox>
                  <text space-fill="false" space-expand="false"><label>" "</label></text>
                  <button relief="2" space-fill="false" space-expand="false">
                    <label>and one more file in dir2</label>
                    <action>file_select one more file</action>
                  </button>
                  <text space-fill="true" space-expand="true"><label>" "</label></text>
                </hbox>
              </vbox>
            </expander>
            <hbox>
              <button relief="2" space-fill="false" space-expand="false">
                <label>File in directory 1</label>
                <action>file_select file from first dir</action>
              </button>
              <text space-fill="true" space-expand="true"><label>" "</label></text>
            </hbox>
          </vbox>
          <text space-fill="true" space-expand="true"><label>" "</label></text>
        </hbox>
      </vbox>
    </expander>
  </vbox>
</window>
'

gtkdialog -cp MAIN
Greetings!

Posted: Wed 14 Aug 2013, 07:03
by zigbert
Nested expanders - can be used for 'tree-view' of folders.
Really nice :D

Posted: Wed 14 Aug 2013, 07:53
by smokey01
Is it possible to have variables in gtkdialog that include dots? EG: firstname.surname="Billy Bloggs"

Can this be saved to a config file and be reloaded after changes have been made.

Without the dots it works fine but the variables I need to use, have dots in the name.

TIA