Page 4 of 23

Re: savefile/folder Auto selection?

Posted: Wed 10 Jan 2018, 09:40
by jamesbond
borzeh wrote:Is it possible after some seconds/minutes it will autoselect first one?
No ... it's a good idea though! :D (Assuming you can ensure that your first entry is the correct one).

Posted: Wed 10 Jan 2018, 23:19
by step
snayak wrote:Package description of pip says:

Code: Select all

python-pip 7.0.3 (Python Package Installer)
pip is package manager for python. You only need to use this if the python package you need is not available in gslapt repository. This package is only needed for python < 2.7.9 (pyton 2.7.9 onwards includes pip as standard).
But I see

Code: Select all

~# pip
bash: /usr/bin/pip: No such file or directory
~# 
python version on Fatdog 720 is:

Code: Select all

Python 2.7.11 (default, Mar  8 2016, 14:58:29) 
[GCC 4.8.3] on linux2
I'm not too familiar with the set of python packages in the Fatdog64 repository but I think that the description of python-pip 7.0.3 is wrong. I checked the build recipe for python-2.7.11 and it doesn't include pip. So if you need pip you should install package python-pip, I think.
python build recipe, file misc/NEWS wrote: A configure option, --with-ensurepip[=upgrade|install|no], is available to set the option for subsequent installs; the default for Python 2 is "no" (do not install or upgrade pip).
We should fix the repository either by changing the description of package python-pip, or by building package python with --with-ensurepip=install.

edit: No fix is needed. Just run this command once to install pip -- of course with the devx sfs loaded or python package installed)
python -m ensurepip
Cf: https://www.python.org/dev/peps/pep-0453/

Re: savefile/folder Auto selection?

Posted: Thu 11 Jan 2018, 00:10
by dr. Dan
borzeh wrote: When booting , If we have more than one save file , it will prompt which one to use , 1 , 2 etc..
Is it possible after some seconds/minutes it will autoselect first one?

<!-- I need all of them! but use first one most of the time! -->

Thank! :)
Which boot loader are you using? I have been able to do what I think you want on syslinux and grub2.
Dan

Posted: Thu 11 Jan 2018, 05:33
by fatdog
Fatdog64 721 has been released which includes new kernel that protects against Spectre and Meltdown.

See first post.

Posted: Thu 11 Jan 2018, 05:57
by snayak
Dear Friends,

https://ftp.nluug.nl/os/Linux/distr/fat ... md5sum.txt

and

https://ftp.nluug.nl/os/Linux/distr/fat ... md5sum.txt

reports same md5sum for both the corresponding binaries.

But actual md5sum of these two binaries vary.

https://ftp.nluug.nl/os/Linux/distr/fat ... md5sum.txt

should say

Code: Select all

 8518a7eaea5902e02bf38ee3b0a48a73  teamviewer-12.0.71510-portable.sfs 
or the binaries should be the same?

Sincerely,
Srinivas Nayak

Posted: Thu 11 Jan 2018, 08:00
by fatdog
snayak wrote:

Code: Select all

 8518a7eaea5902e02bf38ee3b0a48a73  teamviewer-12.0.71510-portable.sfs 
That's the correct md5sum. If the binaries don't match, the binary is corrupt.

Posted: Thu 11 Jan 2018, 08:39
by step
@snayak, I update my previous answer about python pip.
TLDR; Install pip with

Code: Select all

python -m ensurepip

Posted: Thu 11 Jan 2018, 11:46
by fatdog
EDIT: Notice no longer applicable, so this post is deleted.

Fatdog64-720 and 721 Final [11 Jan 2018]

Posted: Thu 11 Jan 2018, 17:02
by Billtoo
I installed to a 32gb flash drive:

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Thu 11 Jan 2018 on Fatdog64 721 Linux 4.14.12 x86_64
2.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 18 )
oem: Intel(R)Ironlake Desktop Graphics Chipset Accelerated VGA BIOS
product: Intel(R)Ironlake Desktop Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0

X Server: Xorg Driver: intel
X.Org version: 1.19.5
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (508x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Intel Open Source Technology Center
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ironlake Desktop
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 17.2.8

Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU 540 @ 3.07GHz
Core 0: @3067 1: @1200 2: @1200 3: @3067 MHz

I installed FirefoxESR-52.5.3 from the Fatdog control panel.
There is a pause of 5-10 seconds when bookmarking a web site.

Thanks.

Posted: Thu 11 Jan 2018, 22:58
by Marv
fatdog wrote:Note: 721 has been re-uploaded within a couple of hours of being published and it now includes the latest Intel microcode update dated 8 Jan 2018. If you have downloaded before you see this note, it's best if you download again. This note will be removed in a couple of days.
I've been running this kernel with pretty good sucess in several pups checking against meltdown and spectre vuln. The meltdown (kpti) patches are working correctly in all cases but I haven't yet gotten the microcode to work. The microcode version should cover my i5 2520. Going from rather distant memory, but I believe line 585 in the kernel .config needs to be set to CONFIG_MICROCODE=y to load code into the kernel at boot.

Thanks,

Posted: Thu 11 Jan 2018, 23:48
by jake29
What is the correct way to upgrade from 720 > 721? I have installed to HDD. I replaced initrd and vmlinuz in /boot/. Upgrade appears to have worked (new Kernel and build number are there) but now I have this issue.

Screenshot: https://imgur.com/795mqxr

Posted: Fri 12 Jan 2018, 00:33
by jamesbond
@Billtoo: I will need to check on that FF slowness. Did you have KPTI enabled or not? (If you don't do anything on the boot line, it will be enabled).
Marv wrote:I've been running this kernel with pretty good sucess in several pups checking against meltdown and spectre vuln. The meltdown (kpti) patches are working correctly in all cases but I haven't yet gotten the microcode to work. The microcode version should cover my i5 2520. Going from rather distant memory, but I believe line 585 in the kernel .config needs to be set to CONFIG_MICROCODE=y to load code into the kernel at boot.
We do indeed have it enabled. "zgrep MICROCODE /proc/config.gz" will confirm that. Every other configuration entries in .config are correct though, that CONFIG_MICROCODE is the only thing missing (added on the last minute but we didn't rebuild the kernel-source.sfs).

Your i5 2520 seems to be introduced in 2011 (http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Core_i5/I ... 0M%29.html). If what belham2 posted is correct (http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 933#979933) - I haven't verified it - then you're sadly out of luck; you won't be getting any fixes.

I've got two i5, one from 2012 and one from 2014. The one from 2014 gets an update (last update is Nov 2017), the one from 2012 doesn't (last update is 2015).

Btw you can see if your microcode is indeed updated by checking "dmesg | less" and reading the first line.

@jake29: You did correctly. The problem you showed has nothing to do with the upgrade (I think); I've got that occasionally too and so far has not been able to pinpoint the cause. I think it's lxqt-panel bug.

Posted: Fri 12 Jan 2018, 00:43
by jake29
jamesbond wrote:@jake29: You did correctly. The problem you showed has nothing to do with the upgrade (I think); I've got that occasionally too and so far has not been able to pinpoint the cause. I think it's lxqt-panel bug.
Restarting X has resolved it. Thanks for the quick reply.

Posted: Fri 12 Jan 2018, 01:02
by Marv
jamesbond wrote:
Marv wrote:I've been running this kernel with pretty good sucess in several pups checking against meltdown and spectre vuln. The meltdown (kpti) patches are working correctly in all cases but I haven't yet gotten the microcode to work. The microcode version should cover my i5 2520. Going from rather distant memory, but I believe line 585 in the kernel .config needs to be set to CONFIG_MICROCODE=y to load code into the kernel at boot.
We do indeed have it enabled. "zgrep MICROCODE /proc/config.gz" will confirm that. Every other configuration entries in .config are correct though, that CONFIG_MICROCODE is the only thing missing (added on the last minute but we didn't rebuild the kernel-source.sfs).

Your i5 2520 seems to be introduced in 2011 (http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Core_i5/I ... 0M%29.html). If what belham2 posted is correct (http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 933#979933) - I haven't verified it - then you're sadly out of luck; you won't be getting any fixes.

I've got two i5, one from 2012 and one from 2014. The one from 2014 gets an update (last update is Nov 2017), the one from 2012 doesn't (last update is 2015).

Btw you can see if your microcode is indeed updated by checking "dmesg | less" and reading the first line.
Thanks both for the great kernel and the clear explanation. I've been forcing an update to be sure and checking the date and version of the update using dmesg | grep microcode and have come to the same sad conclusion. The 2520 processor is on intels covered list on their ucode download site but obviously it isn't. Grrrr!

Cheers,

Posted: Fri 12 Jan 2018, 01:06
by Billtoo
jamesbond wrote:@Billtoo: I will need to check on that FF slowness. Did you have KPTI enabled or not? (If you don't do anything on the boot line, it will be enabled).
I didn't do anything on the boot line so it's enabled.
I'm getting pauses in other things too, I opened Firefox and it wouldn't go fullscreen right away but it did after maybe 10 seconds.
Also opening VLC isn't immediate but opens and works fine after a pause, it's playing a movie dvd now.
Redrawing the screen isn't working properly at first, both firefox and vlc windows work fine now.
So I get random pauses.

This dual core i3 is around 8 years old.

Posted: Fri 12 Jan 2018, 02:23
by jake29
Billtoo wrote:This dual core i3 is around 8 years old.
Core2Duo E4500 @ 2.20GHz, even older and weaker - yet exhibits none of your FF / VLC issues.

Posted: Fri 12 Jan 2018, 02:27
by jamesbond
Billtoo wrote:I didn't do anything on the boot line so it's enabled.
I'm getting pauses in other things too, I opened Firefox and it wouldn't go fullscreen right away but it did after maybe 10 seconds.
Also opening VLC isn't immediate but opens and works fine after a pause, it's playing a movie dvd now.
Redrawing the screen isn't working properly at first, both firefox and vlc windows work fine now.
So I get random pauses.

This dual core i3 is around 8 years old.
Ok. Can you try to boot with "pti=off" in the boot parameter? Just want to see if that's what's changed, or is there something else.

Posted: Fri 12 Jan 2018, 04:42
by Billtoo
jamesbond wrote:
Ok. Can you try to boot with "pti=off" in the boot parameter? Just want to see if that's what's changed, or is there something else.
I tried that but I think I'll do a new install, the checksum of the iso matched but gparted took a long time to format the flash drive,maybe a problem there.

I'll give it another try in the morning on a different flash drive.

Thanks.

Fatdog64-720 and 721 Final [11 Jan 2018]

Posted: Fri 12 Jan 2018, 11:55
by Billtoo
I prepared a 32gb flash drive with gparted live then booted the 721 DVD
and installed to the flash drive.
Did the setup and rebooted creating a 5gb savefile.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Fri 12 Jan 2018 on Fatdog64 721 Linux 4.14.12 x86_64
2.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 18)
oem: Intel(R)Ironlake Desktop Graphics Chipset Accelerated VGA BIOS
product: Intel(R)Ironlake Desktop Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0

X Server: Xorg Driver: intel
X.Org version: 1.19.5
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (508x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Intel Open Source Technology Center
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ironlake Desktop
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 17.2.8

Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU 540 @ 3.07GHz
Core 0: @1200 1: @1200 2: @1467 3: @1200 MHz


It's working fine, no delays.
Thanks.

Fatdog64-720 and 721 Final [11 Jan 2018]

Posted: Fri 12 Jan 2018, 19:17
by Billtoo
I installed to a usb-3.0 SSD:

System: Host: fatdog64-e81 Kernel: 4.14.12 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Openbox 3.5.2 Distro: Fatdog64 Linux 721
Machine: Device: desktop System: LENOVO product: 7491B8U v: ThinkCentre M58e serial: MJ01509
Mobo: LENOVO model: N/A serial: INVALID BIOS: LENOVO v: 5HKT39AUS date: 06/17/2009
CPU: Dual core Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (-MCP-) speed/max: 2003/3003 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: X.Org 1.19.5 driver: nvidia Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz
OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2 version: 4.3.0 NVIDIA 384.111
Network: Card: Marvell 88E8057 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: sky2
Drives: HDD Total Size: 508.8GB (9.0% used)
Weather: Conditions: 39 F (4 C) - light rain mist Time: January 12, 2:07 PM EST
Info: Processes: 142 Uptime: 1:03 Memory: 437.1/3949.1MB Client: Shell (sh) inxi: 2.3.53

Installed sfs files, proprietary nvidia driver.

It works well so far,
Thanks.