Fatdog64-810 Final [17 Jan 2020]

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#61 Post by s243a »

So, I installed dropbox on fatdog64:

Code: Select all

#Install python3 and python-pygtk from gsplat
pip3 install PyGObject
#Install the dropbox deb file from the dropbox website
dropbox start -i
However, I'm not able to use it on the PC, which I installed dropbox because dropbox won't let me sync to a ntfs filesystem from linux.

See Thread:
Has anyone tried, "Maestral" - A dropbox client Alternative

It also won't let me sync to a ext4 save file...at least I don't think it will. Perhaps I can with one of the hacks but if I do so I'd want to do a selective sync. Anyway, before trying one of the hacks, I'm going to give Maestral a try.

Edit: It doesn't seem to work for me:

Code: Select all

# maestral gui
qt.qpa.plugin: Could not load the Qt platform plugin "xcb" in "" even though it was found.
This application failed to start because no Qt platform plugin could be initialized. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.

Available platform plugins are: eglfs, linuxfb, minimal, minimalegl, offscreen, vnc, wayland-egl, wayland, wayland-xcomposite-egl, wayland-xcomposite-glx, webgl, xcb.
Find me on [url=https://www.minds.com/ns_tidder]minds[/url] and on [url=https://www.pearltrees.com/s243a/puppy-linux/id12399810]pearltrees[/url].

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#62 Post by s243a »

Since, dropbox doesn't let you use ntfs on linux I thought I'd try wine. No lock :(

Code: Select all

# wine DropboxInstaller.exe
0026:err:hid:PNP_AddDevice Cannot parse Report Descriptor
0026:err:plugplay:handle_bus_relations AddDevice failed for driver L"WineHID"
0026:err:hid:PNP_AddDevice Cannot parse Report Descriptor
0026:err:plugplay:handle_bus_relations AddDevice failed for driver L"WineHID"
0026:err:hid:PNP_AddDevice Cannot parse Report Descriptor
0026:err:plugplay:handle_bus_relations AddDevice failed for driver L"WineHID"
0026:err:hid:PNP_AddDevice Cannot parse Report Descriptor
0026:err:plugplay:handle_bus_relations AddDevice failed for driver L"WineHID"
0026:err:hid:PNP_AddDevice Cannot parse Report Descriptor
0026:err:plugplay:handle_bus_relations AddDevice failed for driver L"WineHID"
0026:err:hid:PNP_AddDevice Cannot parse Report Descriptor
0026:err:plugplay:handle_bus_relations AddDevice failed for driver L"WineHID"
0026:err:hid:PNP_AddDevice Cannot parse Report Descriptor
0026:err:plugplay:handle_bus_relations AddDevice failed for driver L"WineHID"
0026:err:hid:PNP_AddDevice Cannot parse Report Descriptor
0026:err:plugplay:handle_bus_relations AddDevice failed for driver L"WineHID"
0026:err:hid:PNP_AddDevice Cannot parse Report Descriptor
0026:err:plugplay:handle_bus_relations AddDevice failed for driver L"WineHID"
0026:err:hid:PNP_AddDevice Cannot parse Report Descriptor
0026:err:plugplay:handle_bus_relations AddDevice failed for driver L"WineHID"
0026:err:hid:PNP_AddDevice Cannot parse Report Descriptor
0026:err:plugplay:handle_bus_relations AddDevice failed for driver L"WineHID"
0026:err:plugplay:try_add_device Building report descriptor failed, removing device
0026:err:hid:PNP_AddDevice Cannot parse Report Descriptor
0026:err:plugplay:handle_bus_relations AddDevice failed for driver L"WineHID"
0026:err:hid:PNP_AddDevice Cannot parse Report Descriptor
0026:err:plugplay:handle_bus_relations AddDevice failed for driver L"WineHID"
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0xe, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x3)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x1, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x5, bType: 0x3)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x3, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:PNP_AddDevice Cannot parse Report Descriptor
0026:err:plugplay:handle_bus_relations AddDevice failed for driver L"WineHID"
0026:err:hid:PNP_AddDevice Cannot parse Report Descriptor
0026:err:plugplay:handle_bus_relations AddDevice failed for driver L"WineHID"
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x5, bType: 0x3)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x3, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:plugplay:try_add_device Building report descriptor failed, removing device
0026:err:hid:PNP_AddDevice Cannot parse Report Descriptor
0026:err:plugplay:handle_bus_relations AddDevice failed for driver L"WineHID"
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x5, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x5, bType: 0x3)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x3, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x4, bType: 0x3)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x5, bType: 0x3)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x3, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x3, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x3, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x3, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:hid:parse_descriptor Unknown (bTag: 0x0, bType: 0x0)
0026:err:plugplay:try_add_device Building report descriptor failed, removing device
0026:err:hid:PNP_AddDevice Cannot parse Report Descriptor
0026:err:plugplay:handle_bus_relations AddDevice failed for driver L"WineHID"
0026:err:plugplay:try_add_device Building report descriptor failed, removing device

It is supposed to work though:

https://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager. ... &iId=12798
Find me on [url=https://www.minds.com/ns_tidder]minds[/url] and on [url=https://www.pearltrees.com/s243a/puppy-linux/id12399810]pearltrees[/url].

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#63 Post by jamesbond »

The first run wizard gives you the opportunity to set the time correctly. If one doesn't do this then the scripts to download and install a browser might not work and also the browsers won't work properly for https sites. You'll get false (and scary) warnings about invalid certificates.
True, but this only happens when your computer time is badly skewed (as in, a few years behind). Situation like this usually only happens if your computer's RTC has gone dead. This is not a common situation.

Setting the time via first-run wizard is not the way to fix this; I have other solutions for in from the days of FatdogArm (because most ARM boards don't come with RTC) but I didn't carry it forward in Fatdog64 since I don't think it would ever be needed.

Anyway, Fatdog Quick-setup won't fix this because it only offers to set the "timezone" and not the system time itself.
On another note, It would be nice if the ISO had some kind of file in it (maybe a readme) that simply give the version of fatdog64.
Yes, added for next release.

@step: I didn't realise that s243a was asking about Fatdog64. He was involved in so many different projects, I thought he was asking a generic question about how to sync time with Internet time servers for use with his other projects :)
It also won't let me sync to a ext4 save file...at least I don't think it will. Perhaps I can with one of the hacks but if I do so I'd want to do a selective sync. Anyway, before trying one of the hacks, I'm going to give Maestral a try.

Edit: It doesn't seem to work for me:

Code: Select all

pip3 install maestral
pip3 install pyqt5
LD_LIBRARY_PATH= maestral gui
Shows me the maestral setup screen. I didn't go further since I don't have dropbox account.

The Fatdog's built-in Qt5 interferes with PyQt5's included Qt5 libs. Hence the need to remove it from LD_LIBRARY_PATH. We probably should build Fatdog's own copy of PyQt5 (we already have it for pyhon2, we need to do it for Python3).

EDIT: I've built python3-pyqt5. If you install this from gslapt (instead of "pip3 install pyqt5") then you don't need to specify LD_LIBRARY_PATH= and can type "maestral gui" to launch it directly.
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#64 Post by s243a »

jamesbond wrote:.

Edit: It doesn't seem to work for me:

Code: Select all

pip3 install maestral
pip3 install pyqt5
LD_LIBRARY_PATH= maestral gui
Shows me the maestral setup screen. I didn't go further since I don't have dropbox account.

The Fatdog's built-in Qt5 interferes with PyQt5's included Qt5 libs. Hence the need to remove it from LD_LIBRARY_PATH. We probably should build Fatdog's own copy of PyQt5 (we already have it for pyhon2, we need to do it for Python3).

EDIT: I've built python3-pyqt5. If you install this from gslapt (instead of "pip3 install pyqt5") then you don't need to specify LD_LIBRARY_PATH= and can type "maestral gui" to launch it directly.
Thankyou :). I'll give your version of python3-pyqt5 a try. BTW Maestral seemed to be working with your previous instructions, although I now got an error that I need to submit to github:

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python3.6/site-packages/maestral/sync/monitor.py", line 1725, in download_worker
    sync.get_remote_dropbox()
  File "/usr/lib/python3.6/site-packages/maestral/sync/monitor.py", line 243, in wrapper
    res = func(self, *args, **kwargs)
  File "/usr/lib/python3.6/site-packages/maestral/sync/monitor.py", line 1305, in get_remote_dropbox
    success.append(self.apply_remote_changes(root_result, save_cursor=False))
  File "/usr/lib/python3.6/site-packages/maestral/sync/monitor.py", line 1413, in apply_remote_changes
    success += [f.result()]
  File "/usr/lib64/python3.6/concurrent/futures/_base.py", line 425, in result
    return self.__get_result()
  File "/usr/lib64/python3.6/concurrent/futures/_base.py", line 384, in __get_result
    raise self._exception
  File "/usr/lib64/python3.6/concurrent/futures/thread.py", line 56, in run
    result = self.fn(*self.args, **self.kwargs)
  File "/usr/lib/python3.6/site-packages/maestral/sync/monitor.py", line 243, in wrapper
    res = func(self, *args, **kwargs)
  File "/usr/lib/python3.6/site-packages/maestral/sync/monitor.py", line 1597, in _create_local_entry
    self._save_to_history(entry.path_display)
  File "/usr/lib/python3.6/site-packages/maestral/sync/monitor.py", line 1651, in _save_to_history
    recent_changes.append(dbx_path)
AttributeError: 'str' object has no attribute 'append'
Presumably, this error has nothing to do with fatdog64.

Edit: I installed the new version of python3-pyqt5 from gsplat. For this to work with maestral-gui I had to first uninstall the pip version:

Code: Select all

pip uninstall pyqt5
everything appears to be syncing now. We'll see if I get that above error again.

Edit 2: I'm still getting the "AttributeError: 'str' object has no attribute 'append' #78". Maybe the maestral developer will provide some help :)

Edit 3: It's been running a while now without errors so maybe the above errors aren't serious. Time will tell.
Find me on [url=https://www.minds.com/ns_tidder]minds[/url] and on [url=https://www.pearltrees.com/s243a/puppy-linux/id12399810]pearltrees[/url].

darry19662018
Posts: 721
Joined: Sat 31 Mar 2018, 08:01
Location: Rakaia
Contact:

#65 Post by darry19662018 »

Hi James and Team,
First time user of Fatdog - thank you very nice distro so far.

Can you tell me how to configure firewall - if there is one installed by default?
Puppy Linux Wiki: [url]http://wikka.puppylinux.com/HomePage[/url]

[url]https://freemedia.neocities.org/[/url]

LateAdopter
Posts: 361
Joined: Fri 27 May 2011, 17:21
Location: Reading UK

#66 Post by LateAdopter »

Hello kirk & jamesbond

I built a 5.4.7 kernel a couple of days ago and tested it on my new Athlon 3000G with Bionicpup64, but it didn't work.... The boot stopped at the Loading Kernel Modules... point. Since I hadn't built a kernel for six months when my old AMD system broke, I decided to wait for someone else to do a 5.4.x kernel.

I have just tried your 5.4.7 kernel and it stops at the same point with Bionicpup64.

Someone (not me) has posted a bug on freedesktop that looks like the same problem.https://lists.freedesktop.org/archives/ ... 44427.html

I'll wait and see what Alex Deucher has to say...

User avatar
SFR
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 21:52

#67 Post by SFR »

darry19662018 wrote:Can you tell me how to configure firewall - if there is one installed by default?
Yes, it's eztables: http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/firewall.html
You can also make executable and run this script: /etc/xdg/Startup/firetray, to have a status icon in systray.

Greetings!
[color=red][size=75][O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource[/size][/color]
[b][color=green]Omnia mea mecum porto.[/color][/b]

User avatar
rufwoof
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 17:47

#68 Post by rufwoof »

You can view the firewall help page using cli ...

mdview /usr/share/doc/fd-help/firewall.md

Or access the help via Menu, System, Fatdog Help ... and search for 'firewall'
[size=75]( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq[/size]
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1028256#1028256][size=75]Fatdog multi-session usb[/url][/size]
[size=75][url=https://hashbang.sh]echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh[/url][/size]

darry19662018
Posts: 721
Joined: Sat 31 Mar 2018, 08:01
Location: Rakaia
Contact:

#69 Post by darry19662018 »

Thank you Gentlemen,

Nice and easy thanks.
Puppy Linux Wiki: [url]http://wikka.puppylinux.com/HomePage[/url]

[url]https://freemedia.neocities.org/[/url]

darry19662018
Posts: 721
Joined: Sat 31 Mar 2018, 08:01
Location: Rakaia
Contact:

#70 Post by darry19662018 »

Well have to say this thing is fast and reminds me of old Puppies, I guess it is faster because of the LFS Base.

I wish Puppy would follow this lead makes the system very fast.
Puppy Linux Wiki: [url]http://wikka.puppylinux.com/HomePage[/url]

[url]https://freemedia.neocities.org/[/url]

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#71 Post by s243a »

delete
Last edited by s243a on Sun 05 Jan 2020, 04:08, edited 1 time in total.
Find me on [url=https://www.minds.com/ns_tidder]minds[/url] and on [url=https://www.pearltrees.com/s243a/puppy-linux/id12399810]pearltrees[/url].

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#72 Post by s243a »

winetricks seems to expect the sudo command. Should I install sudo or should I modify the wintricks script to use su -c instead?

Code: Select all

No user mount tools detected, using sudo + mount
------------------------------------------------------
Gtk-Message: 21:02:17.178: GtkDialog mapped without a transient parent. This is discouraged.
Running sudo umount /mnt/winetricks
/usr/bin/winetricks: line 1744: sudo: command not found
Executing sudo rm -rf /mnt/winetricks
/usr/bin/winetricks: line 383: sudo: command not found
------------------------------------------------------
Note: command sudo rm -rf /mnt/winetricks returned status 127. Aborting.
I was running winetricks as spot via, "su - spot" and then export DISPLAY=:0

Here are the commands that caused an issue:

Code: Select all

                    "$WINETRICKS_SUDO" umount -l "$W_ISO_MOUNT_ROOT"
                    w_try "$WINETRICKS_SUDO" rm -rf "$W_ISO_MOUNT_ROOT"
Here is where WINETRICKS_SUDO is set. Maybe I can add an option to use "su -c" if sudo doesn't exist:

Code: Select all

winetricks_detect_sudo()
{
    WINETRICKS_SUDO=sudo
    if test "$WINETRICKS_GUI" = "none"; then
        return
    fi

    if test x"$DISPLAY" != x""; then
        # This should be the default option because some of GUI sudo programs are unmaintained
        # See https://github.com/Winetricks/winetricks/issues/912
        if test -x "$(command -v pkexec 2>/dev/null)"; then
            # Maintained and recommended, part of Polkit, desktop-independent
            # Usage: pkexec command ...
            WINETRICKS_SUDO=pkexec
        # Austin said "gksu*/kdesu* should stay (at least for a while)" in Feb 2018
        # See https://github.com/Winetricks/winetricks/pull/915#issuecomment-362984379
        elif test -x "$(command -v gksudo 2>/dev/null)"; then
            # Unmaintained [2009], part of gksu
            # Usage: gksudo "command ..."
            WINETRICKS_SUDO=gksudo
        elif test -x "$(command -v kdesudo 2>/dev/null)"; then
            # Unmaintained [2015] (latest is for KDE4, no KF5 version available)
            # https://cgit.kde.org/kdesudo.git/
            # Usage: kdesudo "command ..."
            WINETRICKS_SUDO=kdesudo
        # fall back to the su versions if sudo isn't available (Fedora, etc.):
        elif test -x "$(command -v gksu 2>/dev/null)"; then
            # Unmaintained [2009]
            # Usage: gksu "command ..."
            WINETRICKS_SUDO=gksu
        elif test -x "$(command -v kdesu 2>/dev/null)"; then
            # Maintained, KF5 version available
            # https://cgit.kde.org/kdesu.git/
            # Usage: kdesu -c "command ..."
            WINETRICKS_SUDO=kdesu
        fi
    fi
}
Find me on [url=https://www.minds.com/ns_tidder]minds[/url] and on [url=https://www.pearltrees.com/s243a/puppy-linux/id12399810]pearltrees[/url].

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#73 Post by s243a »

So debian has a package called pmount which allows non root users to mount stuff. The name of this package conflicts with the puppy & fatdog programs called pmount. I'm not sure whether this debian package can exist at the same time as the puppy tool by the same name.

I bring this up because I recall that with the winetricks script if you have a tool like this then you might not have to type passwords as much, when running winetricks as spot, due to the wintricks script calling sudo. Fatdog doesn't have sudo, so I made a hack of it with the su command (see post). Alternatively, I could install the sudo package.

Anway, looking at the current wintricks code I see:

Code: Select all

fuseiso, archivemount (Linux), or hdiutil (macOS) is used to mount .iso images.

https://github.com/Winetricks/winetrick ... tricks#L31

Code: Select all

            # FUSE-based tools or hdiutil
            if test -d "$W_ISO_USER_MOUNT_ROOT"; then
...
        else
            # sudo + umount
            echo "Running $WINETRICKS_SUDO umount $W_ISO_MOUNT_ROOT"
https://github.com/Winetricks/winetrick ... icks#L1844

So maybe if I install either fuseiso or archivemount then I won't have to enter passwords as much for sudo (or my su version of sudo), when running winetricks as user spot.
Find me on [url=https://www.minds.com/ns_tidder]minds[/url] and on [url=https://www.pearltrees.com/s243a/puppy-linux/id12399810]pearltrees[/url].

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#74 Post by jamesbond »

@"su spot" problem:
- You could have run "run-as-spot" instead. But of course, running "su - spot" would work too.

@winetricks seems to expect the sudo command.
- You have done what I would have suggested anyway: that is, write a script which emulates "sudo" command. I have seen your script and it is a good idea but I'd probably expand on it a little bit more.

@So debian has a package called pmount which allows non root users to mount stuff
- In Fatdog, there is very little dependency to "pmount". The actual name of the script in Fatdog is fatdog-drive-mounter.sh; and "pmount" is just a small compatibility wrapper. You can remove /usr/sbin/pmount and install Debian's pmount and everything should still work (with very minor exceptions, there are two places where reference to /usr/sbin/pmount must changed. I will make the change for 810 final).

@So maybe if I install either fuseiso or archivemount
- Both seems to be useful. I'd probably add both of the to the repo.

Thanks for exploring this previously-unexplored oddities of winetricks.
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

artsown
Posts: 403
Joined: Wed 12 Sep 2012, 18:35

cups installation

#75 Post by artsown »

The 810 beta refused to print using my canon pixma mg2520 "all in one".
After trying various things, I discovered that cups-filters 1.22.5-x86_64-1
installation fixed the problem.

Oddly, fatdog 802 also refuses to print. But 710 is ok.

Why haven't (many) others reported this issue using various printers?
I wonder what's going on here.

Art

step
Posts: 1349
Joined: Fri 04 May 2012, 11:20

Re: cups installation

#76 Post by step »

artsown wrote:The 810 beta refused to print using my canon pixma mg2520 "all in one".
After trying various things, I discovered that cups-filters 1.22.5-x86_64-1
installation fixed the problem.

Oddly, fatdog 802 also refuses to print. But 710 is ok.

Why haven't (many) others reported this issue using various printers?
I wonder what's going on here.

Art
The package you installed to enable your printer provides additional printer drivers by the Open Printing team. They focus on getting old and new printer models work with Linux and Unix systems. Some printer models may need vendor specific drivers to work, and cups-filters doesn't help. For instance, for my Samsung printer I still use the Samsung ULD drivers that I downloaded from the Samsung site for Fatdog-720. I don't know what/if other people are using to get their printer to work with Fatdog64.
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Fatdog64-810[/url]|[url=http://goo.gl/hqZtiB]+Packages[/url]|[url=http://goo.gl/6dbEzT]Kodi[/url]|[url=http://goo.gl/JQC4Vz]gtkmenuplus[/url]

artsown
Posts: 403
Joined: Wed 12 Sep 2012, 18:35

#77 Post by artsown »

The package you installed to enable your printer provides additional printer drivers by the Open Printing team. They focus on getting old and new printer models work with Linux and Unix systems. Some printer models may need vendor specific drivers to work, and cups-filters doesn't help. For instance, for my Samsung printer I still use the Samsung ULD drivers that I downloaded from the Samsung site for Fatdog-720. I don't know what/if other people are using to get their printer to work with Fatdog64.
Vendor specific drivers from the canon site or a ppd file were of no help in my case. I
got a clue by looking at job error messages. One of them mentioned the word "filter".
I used gslapt to search on the word "cups" which brought up a couple of cups-filters
possibilities. I chose the latest version ... which fixed the problem.

This was all new to me since the pups I use don't give me any problems installing
this canon printer.

Thanks, step, for your input.

Art

User avatar
rcrsn51
Posts: 13096
Joined: Tue 05 Sep 2006, 13:50
Location: Stratford, Ontario

Re: cups installation

#78 Post by rcrsn51 »

step wrote:I don't know what/if other people are using to get their printer to work with Fatdog64.
Any mainstream distro will have the cups-filters package as part of their CUPS install.

artsown
Posts: 403
Joined: Wed 12 Sep 2012, 18:35

#79 Post by artsown »

rcrsn51 wrote
Any mainstream distro will have the cups-filters package as part of their CUPS install.
Snippet from a article on cups filters:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From CUPS 1.6.0 on, this package is required for using printer drivers with
CUPS under Linux.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Art

step
Posts: 1349
Joined: Fri 04 May 2012, 11:20

#80 Post by step »

Art, can you please start the Gslapt-package manager and tell me which versions of the cups-filter packages are installed? Please include also cups-filters-avahi versions, if installed. Did you test the 810 beta with a new savefile, or did you carry your 802 savefile into the beta?
Fatdog's cups-filters packages were last updated in April 2019, which could explain why you were unable to print in Fatdog 802.
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Fatdog64-810[/url]|[url=http://goo.gl/hqZtiB]+Packages[/url]|[url=http://goo.gl/6dbEzT]Kodi[/url]|[url=http://goo.gl/JQC4Vz]gtkmenuplus[/url]

Post Reply