Wary and Racy 5.3 final

Please post any bugs you have found
Message
Author
User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

momanager

#58 Post by L18L »

vicmz wrote:On another topic, the attached file contains eight more menu entry files that have translations that can only be fixed by replacing the equivalent files in Woof. This time I made sure there weren't any more of them. No need to rush, they can be included for future releases.
see:
Wary/Racy 5.3RC2

On other words, my experience:
Updates of menu entries (in applications.in)
are made ONLY IF there is no menu entry existing in applications.

I have changed pinstall.sh
if [ -d usr/share/applications.in ];then
# for ADESKTOPFILE in `find usr/share/applications.in -mindepth 1 -maxdepth 1 -type f -name '*.desktop' | tr '\n' ' '`
# do
# ABASEDESKTOP="`basename $ADESKTOPFILE`"
# if [ -f usr/share/applications/${ABASEDESKTOP} ];then
# if [ "`grep '^Name\[de\]' usr/share/applications.in/${ABASEDESKTOP}`" != "" ];then
# if [ "`grep '^Name\[de\]' usr/share/applications/${ABASEDESKTOP}`" = "" ];then #L18L
# #aaargh, these accursed back-slashes! ....
# INSERTALINE="`grep '^Name\[de\]' usr/share/applications.in/${ABASEDESKTOP} | sed -e 's%\[%\\\\[%' -e 's%\]%\\\\]%'`"
# sed -i -e "s%^Name=%${INSERTALINE}\\nName=%" usr/share/applications/${ABASEDESKTOP}
# fi
# fi #L18L
# fi
# done
#rm -r -f usr/share/applications.in
#...don't remove it. might be useful for ppm when install future packages.
# copy applications.in in applications
cp -u /usr/share/applications.in/* /usr/share/applications #L18L

fi
and update of menu entries was perfect :!:
------------------------------
edited 20120420
not quite perfect :oops:
In the menu there were items of not installed apps
I will have to investigate further :wink:
------------------------------
==edited 20120423========================
Found and tested a solution which allows change of translated menu item.
pinstall.sh of langpack_* line 14 ff.:

Code: Select all

if [ -d /usr/share/applications.in ];then
 for ADESKTOPFILE in `find /usr/share/applications.in -mindepth 1 -maxdepth 1 -type f -name '*.desktop' | tr '\n' ' '`
 do
  ABASEDESKTOP="`basename $ADESKTOPFILE`"
  #if [ -f usr/share/applications/${ABASEDESKTOP} ];then
   #if [ "`grep '^Name\[de\]' usr/share/applications/${ABASEDESKTOP}`" = "" ];then
    if [ "`grep '^Name\[de\]' /usr/share/applications.in/${ABASEDESKTOP}`" != "" ];then
     #aaargh, these accursed back-slashes! ....
     #INSERTALINE="`grep '^Name\[de\]' /usr/share/applications.in/${ABASEDESKTOP} | sed -e 's%\[%\\\\[%' -e 's%\]%\\\\]%'`"
     #sed -i -e "s%^Name=%${INSERTALINE}\\nName=%" /usr/share/applications/${ABASEDESKTOP}
     #append a line (easier) 
     INSERTALINE="`grep '^Name\[de\]' /usr/share/applications.in/${ABASEDESKTOP} `"
     echo  "${INSERTALINE}" >> /usr/share/applications/${ABASEDESKTOP}
    fi
   #fi
  #fi
 done
 #rm -r -f usr/share/applications.in
 #...don't remove it. might be useful for ppm when install future packages.
fi
=====================================

edit
vicmz,
maybe

Code: Select all

cp -u /usr/share/applications.in/* /usr/share/applications
will solve your problem?


=====================================
2012-05-03 edited for the record
Tested another solution in langpack_de-20120503.pet

Put this code into pinstall.sh

Code: Select all

#Need to delete all Name[$LANG1]=..... in /usr/share/applications
cd /usr/share/applications
for AFILE in `ls *.desktop` ;do sed -i "/Name\[${LANG1}/d" $AFILE ;done
cd - # thus changes are possible too

edited Names in /usr/share/sss/menu_strings.de
ex:
s%"Restart JWM"%"JWM neustarten"%
s%"Abiwordprocessor"%"Abiwort-TextVA"%
s%"Abiword word processor"%"Abiword Textverarbeitung"%
s%"FFConvert multimedia converter"%"FFConvert Multimedia-Konverter"%
...

and deleted /usr/share/applications.in from langpack


=====================================
Last edited by L18L on Thu 03 May 2012, 15:58, edited 5 times in total.

rodin.s
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed 22 Sep 2010, 19:50
Location: Ukraine

partview

#59 Post by rodin.s »

Partview and 'df -h' show free space of my /dev/sdb4 drive differently: partview-4.3Gb and 'df -h' -2.6Gb. I tend to trust df -h. Something wrong with partview.
Attachments
partview.png
(42.67 KiB) Downloaded 1365 times

rodin.s
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed 22 Sep 2010, 19:50
Location: Ukraine

mplayer fullscreen

#60 Post by rodin.s »

gmplayer doesn't work in fullscreen mode. I don't care much about it as I always run mplayer in urxvt and it works ok, but people say...

kommisar
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun 20 Feb 2011, 13:50

unrar?

#61 Post by kommisar »

I can't seem to unrar some archive using the "zip" icon on the desktop. The application apparently doesn't work with rar files. Is there any easy way to add this functionality to Racy 5.3?

User avatar
puppy_apprentice
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue 07 Feb 2012, 20:32

#62 Post by puppy_apprentice »

u can try to find a tool called unrar or try to convert your rar file to eg. zip or tar and later use tools installed in Puppy:

http://www.online-convert.com/

User avatar
Billtoo
Posts: 3720
Joined: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 13:47
Location: Ontario Canada

Wary and Racy 5.3 final

#63 Post by Billtoo »

Edit: removed

Pence
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat 30 Jul 2005, 13:27

#64 Post by Pence »

Racy 5.3 seems to work fine with Intel core i3-2120 and Asus P8 H67-M PRO with 4gb ram. Only video setting is 1024x768 60.0* but that is the one I would have selected. Edit: Now I have that problem of no shutdown or reboot and then xorg problem after manual shutdown.
Last edited by Pence on Tue 01 May 2012, 20:46, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

momanager

#65 Post by L18L »

Edited my solution for translating menu items, see
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 3&start=57

User avatar
vtpup
Posts: 1420
Joined: Thu 16 Oct 2008, 01:42
Location: Republic of Vermont
Contact:

#66 Post by vtpup »

Racy 5.3 ...ditto on gmplayer not working in any resolution but original file resolution -- ie "half size, double size, full screen, etc all simply show the video in original resolution with a big yellow frame around it to match the request.

Also ditto on real dislike of the Racy 53 electric blue wallpaper theme and icons -- I'm not a bling fanatic, I usually just use the stock Puppy theme, but this time I had to change everything, the desktop was so jarring and uncomfortable to look at. If I was a new user, I'd wonder whether I'd want to use Racy.

I realize that's personal, but unusual for me to have such a strong reaction. I imported icons from earlier puppies, since didn't particularly like what was available (Puppy 431 was blue, too, but very easy to work with and accept. Seemed friendlier.)

Sorry, no desire to offend anyone, just a personal reaction in case user reactions are useful.
[color=darkblue]Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop Tahrpup.[/color]
[color=blue]Acer R11 and C720 Chromebks Bionicpup64[/color]
[color=olive]Acer Iconia A1-830 tablet no pup[/color]
[color=orange]www.sredmond.com[/color]

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 12:27
Location: wales ... by the sea

#67 Post by 666philb »

gnome-mplayer may need you graphic drivers installed to change the screen size
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

User avatar
vtpup
Posts: 1420
Joined: Thu 16 Oct 2008, 01:42
Location: Republic of Vermont
Contact:

#68 Post by vtpup »

666philb wrote:gnome-mplayer may need you graphic drivers installed to change the screen size
Thanks 666philb, but which drivers do you mean? (my graphics hardware is reported as: Intel 2nd generation core processor family integrated graphics controller )

btw VLC has no problem with graphics screen sizing on this same computer. Why would Mplayer require specialized video drivers?
[color=darkblue]Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop Tahrpup.[/color]
[color=blue]Acer R11 and C720 Chromebks Bionicpup64[/color]
[color=olive]Acer Iconia A1-830 tablet no pup[/color]
[color=orange]www.sredmond.com[/color]

B.K. Johnson
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon 12 Oct 2009, 17:11

Revol incomplete

#69 Post by B.K. Johnson »

Retrovol in wary-5.3 seems to provide for output only. I cannot record from line input. See attachment.
Attachments
retrovol.png
(8.84 KiB) Downloaded 1533 times

User avatar
OscarTalks
Posts: 2196
Joined: Mon 06 Feb 2012, 00:58
Location: London, England

#70 Post by OscarTalks »

Is there nothing more further down in that Retrovol window? It seems cut off in the screenshot.

These things depend on your hardware. The input / record / capture controls may show up as a different device.

You could try alsamixer (type it in to the terminal). It shows all the soundcards using the F6 key and switches between them. The F4 key will isolate and show all the capture controls.
Oscar in England
Image

voronv
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue 24 Apr 2012, 02:07

Wireless setup is not getting saved to save file in Racy

#71 Post by voronv »

Is this a bug or my illiteracy?
I boot my Dell Mini 9 with Racy 5.3 from flash drive and set up a wireless connection, over Broadcom B4312 card.
It works until reboot.
It takes entire minute or 2 to "save" my settings at shut down, but when it reboots - it never auto connects to my router. It alwaqys shows some 192.168.33.0 IP address (where only it comes from?).

Sucks. Please advise.

firak
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon 14 Apr 2008, 14:07

#72 Post by firak »

Racy - is the ounly puppy that support properly my sound card, and I can use the mike -also.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 799#622799

B.K. Johnson
Posts: 807
Joined: Mon 12 Oct 2009, 17:11

Retrovol incomplete

#73 Post by B.K. Johnson »

OscarTalks

There is nothing below; what u see is what I got.

The snapshot I posted came from my laptop running wary-5.3. I get the same with racy-5.2.2. But on my desktop the GUI is OK for both. So as you said it must be hardware related.

[EDIT]
I had just added saluki and wary-5.3 to my flashdrive kennel. Saluki performance on my desktop was poor because of insufficient memory (512MB) so I switched the testing to my laptop (3 GB). When done I rebooted to test the new wary-5.3. Being accustomed to puppies having mic input as the default setting whereas my needs are for line input I routinely launched mhWaveEdit and checked the mixer. Hence my alarm. But I am now thinking that the graphic reflects the fact that my laptop does not have a line input from which to record. Later, on checking saluki, I saw that there is only Playback.

So I conclude i have raised a false alarm :oops: .

BK

User avatar
Argolance
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sun 06 Jan 2008, 22:57
Location: PORT-BRILLET (Mayenne - France)
Contact:

#74 Post by Argolance »

Hello,
Why could I make my wacom tablet graphire3 working with Wary/Racy 5.2 and not with the latest release 5.3? Tried all what I could (following posts and tutorials found in this Forum) but without success... :?

Cordialement.

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 12:27
Location: wales ... by the sea

#75 Post by 666philb »

vtpup wrote:
666philb wrote:gnome-mplayer may need you graphic drivers installed to change the screen size
Thanks 666philb, but which drivers do you mean? (my graphics hardware is reported as: Intel 2nd generation core processor family integrated graphics controller )

btw VLC has no problem with graphics screen sizing on this same computer. Why would Mplayer require specialized video drivers?
i just found that gnome-mplayer requires your video drivers to change screen size (vlc doesn't though).... don't know why.... but on a fresh install i have the same problem as you until i either install nvidia /ati / or xorg high drivers.
video drivers is one of the first things i install on a fresh install
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 12:27
Location: wales ... by the sea

#76 Post by 666philb »

i'm trying to compile linphone on racy and i'm getting this error

Code: Select all

checking X11/Xlib.h usability... yes
checking X11/Xlib.h presence... yes
checking for X11/Xlib.h... yes
checking X11/extensions/Xv.h usability... yes
checking X11/extensions/Xv.h presence... yes
checking for X11/extensions/Xv.h... yes
checking for X11/extensions/Xvlib.h... yes
checking for XvCreateImage in -lXv... no
configure: error: No X video output API found. Please install X11+Xv headers.
configure: error: ./configure failed for mediastreamer2
i've tried install the .dev files for libx11 and libxv but still get this error..... what am i missing?
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#77 Post by pemasu »

# find /root/my-documents/x_xorg76_mega_pkg_DEV-7.6-5-w5c -name "Xv*"
/root/my-documents/x_xorg76_mega_pkg_DEV-7.6-5-w5c/usr/X11R7/include/X11/extensions/Xvlib.h

/root/my-documents/x_xorg76_mega_pkg_DEV-7.6-5-w5c/usr/X11R7/include/X11/extensions/Xv.h

http://her.gr.distfiles.macports.org/mi ... -5-w5c.pet

DISTRO_PKGS_SPECS:
yes|x_xorg76_mega_pkg|x_xorg76_mega_pkg|exe,dev,doc,nls| #RACY Xorg 7.6 mega-pkg

Post Reply